Ml NSELL, JOEL, an American printer, was born at .Ncrthfield, Mass., April 14, 1808. He settled at Albany m 1827, and published the Albany Minerva in 28. He afterwards published various papers, weekly and daily. He thoroughly studied the art of printing, practically and historically. A large part of his valul able collection of works relating to the history of print- ing was purchased for the New York State Li&ary He has edited and published Annals of (kfeST(tO vok, 1850-58), and several other works o^-fcVhis-
#857); (1858). societies
> - ~ — v/ J * ^ » ^J, IVi V/UH^i.
: Chronology of Paper and Pa
Every- Day Rook of History and „,„„,.
H<- published many antiquarian works
and individuals. He died Jan. 15. 1880
Presented to the
LIBRARY of the
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO
by
3ITTA.7.IO LEGISLATIVE LI3PJL1Y
^L I
ANNALS OF ALBANY.
BY JOEIvMUNSELL.
VOL. I.
SEEN BY
PRESERVATION SERVICES
DATE
ALBANY;
J. MUNSELL, 58 STATE STREET. 1850.
LA
PEEFACE.
This work was begun as an annual publication, in the year 1849, and the contents of this volume were principally comprised in the Albany Annual Register of the years 1849 and 1850. In this edition a part of the ephemeral articles of the first have been omitted, and historical and antiquarian matter substituted. The principal aim of the work was to preserve the memory of the time-honored institutions of the city. The form of a periodical was adopted for the convenience of continuing the publication from time to time as facts should be collected, and in the hope of enlisting others to collect materials. The coopera- tion of all who may take an interest in such matters is still solicited, in collecting whatever may tend to throw light upon the past, as well as to preserve authentic memo- rials of the present. Ancestral papers, of an historical, genealogical or statistical character ; memoirs of eminent citizens deceased ; historical accounts of religious, literary, charitable and benevolent institutions ; also of public and private corporations ; maps and charts of the city at dif- ferent periods, or of portions of it ; descriptions of antiqui- ties, and rare and curious relics ; in short, whatever, con- nected with the ancient or modern history of Albany, shall tend to illumine the path or lighten the labors of the future historian, will be duly appreciated. These are the main
6 Preface.
objects of the work, although other departments have been introduced, in keeping with the original plan, which will be omitted in the future volumes. A synopsis of the events of each year is given, descending sometimes to particulars which may, perhaps, be considered trivial by some readers. Undoubtedly many omissions will be observed of matters necessary to give completeness to the articles introduced ; we shall be glad to receive from those who may notice errors or omissions, the sum of their knowledge, for future use. Above all, we crave a liberal share of patience at the public offices, and of the oldest inhabitant, to whom we are already indebted for many favors, and much valuable information. We hope to be instrumental in arresting much that is perishable from entire oblivion, and out of the abundance of material at hand propose to compile a volume annually.
CONTENTS.
Discovery and first voyage up Hudson's River, 1609, 9
Names of settlers in Rensselaerswyck, from 1630 to 1646, 15
Sentence of Willem Juriansen Bakker, 24
Mayors of Albany from 1684 to 1849, 25
Streets, lanes, alleys, $c., 1849, 26
An act for the division and equalization of the wards, 28
Banks, with historical reminiscences, 31
Insurance companies, 34
Clergy, 1848, 35
Practicing attorneys, 1848, 36
Practicing Physicians, 1848, 37
Albany charter officers, 1686, 37
Officers of the city of Albany, 1848-9, 38
Officers of companies and societies, 1848-9, 39 45
Custom House, 46
Mohawk and Hudson Rail Road, 46
Income and expenditures of the city, 1842 to 1848, 48
County officers, 1848, 49
Alphabetical list of counties, towns and post-offices, 50
Stage and mail routes in olden time, 56
Principal routes of travel diverging from Albany, 61
Public offices, buildings, £c., . . 71 226
Albany Academy, 75
Albany Female Academy, 80
State Normal School. 84 297
Houses in Albany, 1786, 85
Reformed Protestant Dutch Church in Albany, 86
Evangelical Lutheran Ebenezer Church, 122
German Evangelical Lutheran Church, 129 293
First Presbyterian Church, 130
Bethel for Watermen, 133
Jewish Synagogues, 134
Universalist Church, 135
Ancient Albany, 137
City of Albany, 138
County of Albany, 142
Albany County Penitentiary, 149
Commission of John Abeel, 152
Lights and shadows of travelling in New York fifty years ago, 153
8 Contents.
Chronicle of events in Albany, 1847-8, 159
Colony of Rensselaerswyck, from 1614 to 1646, 183
Kiliaen van Rensselaer, 203
Executors of Jeremias van Rensselaer, 204
Arent van Curler, 205
Correctors of Rensselaerswyck, 1630, 206
Business directory, 1849, 209
Albany County Bible Society, . , , 229
List of freeholders of the city and county of Albany, 1720, 231
Dutch church burials, 1722 to 1757, 235
Family record from Groesbeck Bible, 249
Biographical sketch of Gen. Philip Schuyler, 250
Ancient commerce of Albany, 258
Voyage of an Albany sloop to China, 261
Visit of Peter Kalm to Albany, 1749, , ^62
Harmanus Bleecker, 276
Vanderheyden Palace, 278
The Wendell House, 280
The Stevenson House, 283
State Street in 1792, 285
A Canadian invasion, 288
A scene of the Revolution in Albany, 289
Births, marriages and deaths, 1848, 295
Civil officers of the city of Albany, 1693, 302
Operation of the cheap postage system in Albany, 1845, 303
Barlow's prediction of the Erie Canal, 1787, 304
Description of Albany in 1823, , , . . , 305
Distances of county towns from Albany, 313
Dr. Morse's description of Albany, 1789, 314
Albany in 1796, 316
Corporations and associations, 1849, 31 7
An Albany merchant's stock in 1790, 322
Hudson River, .... 324
Books in 1772, ,.,... 325
Closing and opening of the river since 1785, 326
Incidents of a northern winter. . , 328
Opening and closing of canal, 1824 to 1849, ,..'.. 329
Celebration of the adoption of the constitution, 1788, 330
Cold days sixty years ago, 329
Centennial anniversary, 335
Memoranda of 1784-5, , , , 336
Conditions and prospects of the city in 1789, 338
A Tobacco establishment of 1790, 339.
Annals of Albany for 1 849, 341
Schedule of real and personal estate, 1847, 367
Bond of the aldermen of Schenectady, 1766, 368
Index , , , ', . . , , 3
ANNALS OF ALBANY.
DISCOVERY AND FIRST VOYAGE UP HUDSON RIVER.
The third Voyage of Master HENRY HVDSON toward Noua Zembla, and at his returne, his passing from Farre I lands, to New-found Land, and along to fortie four degrees and ten minutes, and thence to Cape Cod, and so to thirtie three degrees; and along the Coast to the North- ward, to fortie two degrees and an halfe, and vp the Riuere neere to fortie three degrees. Written by ROBERT IVET, of Lime-house.
Henry Hudson sailed from Amsterdam on the 20th March, 1609, o. s., in the yacht Half-Moon, with a crew of about twenty Dutch and English sailors, on a voyage for the discovery of a north-west passage to India. He encountered ice and storms, which disabled his vessel, and about the middle of July ran into Penobscot bay, on the coast of Maine. From thence he proceeded along the coast southerly till he arrived at Chesapeake bay about the middle of August, when he tacked about and coasted north- ward until, on the third of September, at three o:clock in the afternoon, he came to three great rivers, and stood for the northernmost. Proceeding leisurely, on the sixth he passed through the Narrows, and was attacked by the Indians, who killed John Coleman, one of his men, who was buried at Coleman's point, at Sandy hook. On the ninth the vessel arrived in New York harbor, which they perceived to be a very good one for all winds, and rode all night. 4
On the twelfth of September, at two o'clock in the afternoon, Hudson weighed anchor, and began the memorable ascent of the great river which perpetuates his name. He proceeded two leagues against the wind, and came to anchor. Twenty-eisrht canoes full of men, women and children came out from the shore, of whom the mariners were wary. They brought oysters and beans, and had "great tabacco pipes of yellowr copper, and pots of earth to dresse their meate in." The remainder of the narrative is copied verbatim from the edition published by the New York Historical Society, Transactions, i, 138, et seq.
The thirteenth, faire weather, the wind northerly. At seuen of the clocke in the morning, as the floud came we weighed, and turned foure miles into the Riuer. The tide being done wee anchored. Then there came foure canoes aboord : but we suffered none of them to come into our ship. They brought great store of very good oysters aboord, which wee bought for trifles. In the night I set the variation of the compasse, and found it to be 13 degrees. In the afternoone we weighed, and turned in with the floud two leagues and a halfe further, and anchored all night, and had fiue fathoms soft ozie ground, and had an high point of land, which shewed out to us bearing north by east fiue leagues off vs.
10 Voyage of Henry Hudson, 1609.
The fourteenth, in the morning being very faire weather, the wind south-east, we sayled vp the Riuer twelue leagues, and had fiue fathoms and fme fathoms and a quarter lesse; and came to a streight between two points, and had eight, nine, and ten fathoms: and it trended north-east by north, one league, and we had twelue, thirteene and fourteene fa- thomes. The Riuer is a mile broad : there is very high land on both sides. Then wee went vp north-west, a league and an halfe deepe water. Then north-east by north fiue miles, then north-west by north two leagues, and anchored. The land grew very high and mountainous. The river is full of fish.
The fifteenth, in the morning was misty vntil the Sunne arose: then it cleered. So wee weighed with the wind at south, and ran vp into the Riuer twentie leagues, passing by high Mountaines. Wee had a very good depth, as six, seuen, eight, nine, ten, twelue and thirteen fathoms, and great store of Salmons in the Riuer. This morning our two Sauages got out of a port and swam away. After we were vnder sayle they called to vs in scorne. At night we came to other Mountaines, which lie from the Riuers side. There we found very louing people, and very old men: where wee were well vsed. Our Boat went to fish, and caught great store of very good fish.
The sixteenth, faire and very hot weather. In the morning our Boat went againe to fishing, but could catch but few, by reason their Canoes had beene there all night. This morning the people came aboord, and brought vs eares of Indian Corne, and Pompions, and Tabacco: which wee bought for trifles. Wee rode still all day, and filled fresh water; at night wee weighed and went two leagues higher, and had shoald water : so wee anchored till day.
The seuenteenth, faire Sun-shining weather, and very hot. In the morning as soon as the Sun was vp, we set sayle, and ran vp six leagues higher, and found shoalds in the middle of the channell, and small Hands, but seuen fathoms water on both sides. Toward night we borrowed so neere the shoare, that we grounded : so we layed out our small anchor, and heaued off againe. Then we borrowed1 on the banke in the channell, and came aground againe ; while the floud ran we heaued off againe, and anchored all night.
The eighteenth, in the morning was faire weather, and we rode still. In the after-noone our Master's Mate went on land with an old Sauage, a Gouernor of the Countrey; who carried him to his house and made him good cheere.
The nineteenth, was faire and hot weather : at the floud, being neere eleuen of the clocke, wee weighed, and ran higher vp two leagues aboue the shoalds, and had no lesse water than fiue fathoms: wee anchored, and rode in eight fathomes. The people of the countrie came flocking aboord, and brought vs Grapes, and Pompions, which we bought for trifles. And many brought vs Beuers skinnes, and Otters skinnes, which wee bought for Beades, Kniues, and Hatchets. So we rode there all night.
The twentieth, in the morning was faire weather. Our Masters Mate with foure men more went vp with our Boat to sound the Riuer, and found two leagues aboue vs but two fathoms water, and the channell very narrow; and aboue that place seuen or eight fathomes. Toward night they returned; and we rode still all night.
Voyage of Henry Hudson, 1609. II
The one and twentieth was faire weather, and the wind all southerly: we determined yet once more to goe farther up into the Riuer, to trie what depth and breadth it did beare ; but much people resorted aboord, so we went not this day. Our carpenter went on land and made a fore-yard. And our Master and his Mate determined to trie some of the chiefe men of the countrey, whether they had any treacherie in them. So they took them down into the cabbin, and gave them so much wine and aqua vitae, that they were all merrie; and one of them had his wife with him, which sat so modestly, as any of our countrey women would do in a strange place. In the end one of them was drunke, which had been aboord of our ship all the time that we had been there : and that was strange to them •, for they could not tell how to take it. The canoes and folke went all on shoare ; but some of them came againe, and brought stropes of Beades : some had six, seven, eight, nine, ten; and gaue him. So he slept all night quietly.
The two and twentieth was faire weather : in the morning our Masters Mate and foure more of the companie went vp with our Boat to sound the Riuer higher vp. The people of the countrey came not aboord till noone : but when they came, and saw the Sauages well, they were glad. So at three of the elocke in the after-noone they came aboord, and brought Tabacco, and more Beades, and gaue them to our Master, and made an Oration, and shewed him all the countrey round about. Then they sent one of their companie on land, who presently returned, and brought a great Platter full of Venison, dressed by themselues; and they caused him to eate with them : then they made him reuerence, and de- parted all saue the old man that lay aboord. This night at ten of the elocke, our Boate returned in a showre of raine from sounding of the Riuer; and found it to bee at an end for shipping to goe in. For they had beene vp eight or nine leagues, and found but seuen foot water, and vnconstant soundings.
The three and twentieth faire weather. At twelue of the elocke wee weighed, and went downe two leagues to a shoald that had two channels, one on the one side, and another on the other, and had little wind, whereby the tide layed vs upon it. So, there wee sate on the ground the space of an houre till the floud came. Then we had a little gale of wind at the west. So wee got our ship into deepe water, and rode all night very well.
The foure and twentieth was faire weather: the winde at the north- west, wee weighed and went downe the Riuer seuen or eight leagues; and at halfe ebbe wee came on ground on a bank of oze in the middle of the Riuer, and sate there till the floud. Then wee went on land, and ga- thered good store of chestnuts. At ten of the elocke wee came off into deepe water, and anchored.
The five and twentieth was faire weather, and the wind at south a stiffe gale. We rode still, and went on land to walke on the west side of the Riuer, and found good ground for Corne, and other garden herbs, with great store of goodly oakes, and walnut trees, and chestnut trees, ewe trees, and trees of sweet wood in great abundance, and great store of slate for houses, and other good stones.
The sixe and twentieth was faire weather, and the wind at south a stiffe gale, we rode still. In the morning our carpenter went on land with our Masters Mate, and foure more of our companie to cut wood. This morn.-*
12 Voyage of Henry Hudson, 1609.
ing, two canoes came vp the Riuer from the place where we first found louing people, and in one of them was the old man that had lyen aboord of vs at the other place. He brought another old man with him, which brought more stropes of beades, and gave them to our Master, and shewed him all the countrey there about, as though it were at his command. So he made the two old men dine with him, and the old mans wife •, for they brought two old women, and two young maidens of the age of sixteene or seuenteene yeeres with them, who behaued themselues very modestly. Our Master gaue one of the old men a Knife, and they gaue him and vs Tabacco. And at one of the clocke they departed down the Riuer, making signes that wee should come down to them 5 for wee were within two leagues of the place where they dwelt.
The seuen and tweniieth, in the morning was faire weather, but much wind at the north, we weighed and set our fore top-sayle, and our ship would not flat, but ran on the ozie bank at halfe ebbe. Wee layed out anchor to heaue her off, but could not. ,. So we sate from halfe ebbe to halfe floud: then wee set our fore-sayle and mayne top-sayle, and got downe sixe leagues. The old man came aboord and would have had vs anchor, and goe on land to eate with him: but the wind being faire, wee would not yeeld to his request. So hee left vs, being very sorrowful for our de- parture. At flue of the clocke in the afternoone, the wind came to the south-south-west. So wee made a boord or two, and anchored in fourteene fathomes water. Then our Boat went on shoare to fish, right against the ship. Our Masters Mate and Boat-swaine, and three more of the com- panie went on land to fish, but could not finde a good place. They tooke foure or five and twenty Mullets, Breames, Bases, and Barbils; and re- turned in an houre. We rode still all night.
The eight and twentieth, being faire weather, as soon as the day was light, we weighed at halfe ebbe, and turned downe two leagues belowe water ; for the streame doth runne the last quarter ebbe : then we anchored till high water.. At three of the clocke in the afternoone we weighed, and turned downe three leagues, vntill it was darke-, then wee anchored.
The nine and twentieth was drie close weather: the wind at south, and south by west, wee weighed early in the morning, and turned downe three leagues by a lowe water, and anchored at the lower end of the long Reach •, for it is sixe leagues long. Then there came certaine Indians in a canoe to vs, but would not come aboord. After dinner there came the canoe with other men, whereof three came aboord vs. They brought Indian wheat, which we bought for trifles. At three of the clocke in the after- noone we weighed, as soone as the ebbe came, and turned downe to the edge of the Mountaines, or the northermost of the Mountaines, and an- chored : because the high land hath many points, and a narrow channell, and hath many eddie winds. So we rode quietly all night in seuen fathoms water.
The thirtieth was faire weather, and the wind at south-east a stifFe gale between the Mountaynes. We rode still the afternoone. The people of the countrey came aboord vs, and brought some small skinnes with them, which we bought for kniues and trifles. This a very pleasant place to build a towne on. The road is very neere, and very good for all winds, saue an east-north-east wind. The Mountaynes look as if some metall or minerall were in them. For the trees that grow on them were all
Voyage of Henry Hudson, 1609. 13
blasted, and some of them barren, with few or no trees on them. The people brought a stone aboord like to emery (a stone vsed by glasiers to cut glasse), it would cut iron or steele. Yet being bruised small, and water put to it. it made a colour like blacke lead glistering; it is also good for painters colours. At three of the clocke they departed, and we rode still all night.
The first of October, faire weather, tha winde variable betweene the west and the north. In ihe morning we weighed at seuen of the clocke with the ebbe, and got downe below the Mountaynes, which was seuen leagues. Then it fellcalme and the flood was come,, and wee anchored at twelue of the clocke. The people of the Mountaynes came aboord vs, wondering at our ship and weapons. We bought some small skinnes of them for trifles. This afternoone, one canoe kept hanging vnder our sterne with one man in it, which we could not keepe from thence, who got vp by our rudder to the cabin window, and stole out my pillow and two shirts, and two bandeleeres. Our Masters Mate shot at him, and strooke him on the brest, and killed him. Whereupon all the rest fled away, some in their canoes, and some leapt out of them into the water. We manned our boat, and got our things againe. Then one of them that swamme got hold of our boat, thinking to ouerthrow it. But our cooke took a sword, and cut off one of his hands, and he was drowned. By this time the ebbe wras come, and we weighed and got downe two leagues, by that time it was darke. So we anchored in foure fathomes water, and rode well.
The seconde, faire weather. At break of day wee weighed, the wind being at north-west, and got downe seuen leagues-, then the floud was come strong, so we anchored. Then came one of the Sauages that swamme away from vs at our going vp the Riuer with many other, think- ing to betray vs. But we perceived their intent, and svffered none of them to enter our ship. Whereupon two canoes full of men, with their bowes and arrowes shot at vs after our sterne : in recompence whereof we discharged sixe muskets, and killed two or three of them. Then aboue an hundred of them came to a point of land to shoot at vs. There I shot a falcon at them, and killed two of them: whereupon the rest fle'd into the woods. Yet they manned off another canoe with nine or ten men, which came to meet vs. So I shot at it also a falcon, and shot it through and killed one of them. . Then our men with their muskets- killed three or four more of them. So they went their way; within a while after, wee got downe two leagues beyond that place, and anchored in a bay, cleere from all danger of them on the other side of the Riuer, where we saw a very good piece of ground : and hard by it there was a cliffe, that looked of the colour of a white greene, as though it were either copper, or siluer myne: and I think it to be one of them by the trees that grow vpon it. For they be all burned, and the other places are greene as grasse, it is on that side of the Riuer that is called Manna -hatta. There we saw no people to trouble vs : and rode quietly all night ; but had much wind and raine.
The third, was very stormie; the wind at east-north-east. In the morning, in a gust of wind and raine, our anchor came home, and we droue on ground, but it was ozie. Then as we were about to haue out an anchor, the wind came to the north-north-west, and droue vs off againe.
14 Voyage of Henry Hudson, 1609.
Then we shot an anchor, and let it fall in foure fathomes water, and weighed the other. Wee had much wind and raine, with thicke weather, so we rode still all night.
The fourth, was faire weather, and the wind at north-north-west, wee weighed and came out of the Riuer, into which we had runne so farre. Within a while after, wee came out also of The great mouth of the great Riuer, that runneth vp to the north-west, borrowing vpon the norther side of the same, thinking to haue deepe water: for wee had sounded a great way with our boat at our first going in, and found seuen, six, and fiue fathomes. So we came out that way, but we were deceiued, for we had but eight foot and an halfe water: and so to three, fiue, three, and two fathomes and an halfe. And then three, foure, fiue, sixe, seven, eight, nine and ten fathomes. And by twelue of the clocke we were cleere of all the inlet. Then we took in our boat, and set our mayne-sayle and sprit-sayle, and our top-sayles, and steered away east-south-east, and south- east by east, off into the mayne sea: and the land on the souther side of the bay or inlet, did beare at noone west and by south foure leagues from vs.
The fift, was faire weather, and the wind variable between the north and the east. Wee held on our course south-east by east. At noone I obserued and found our height to bee 39 degrees 30 minutes. Our com- passe varied sixe degrees to the west.
We continued our course toward England, without seeing any land by the way, all the rest of this moneth of October. And on the seuenth day of Nouember, stilo nouo, being Saturday, by the Grace of God, we safely arriued in the Range of Dartmouth, in Deuonshire, in the yeere 1609.
Settlers of Rensstlaerswyck from 1630 to 1646. 15
NAMES OF SETTLERS IN RENSSELAERSWYCK.
1630 TO 1646.
'Compiled from the books of Monthly Wages and other MSS. See O'Callaghan's Hist. ofN. Netlierland, i; 433.
1630.
Wolfert Gerritsen, superintendent of farms.
Rutger Hendricksen van Soest, superintendent of the brewery.
Seger Hejidricksen van Soest, shepherd and ploughman.
Brandt Peelen van Nieukerke, schepen; had two daughters, Lisbet and Gerritje. The latter married Goosen Gerritsen van Schaick. The father died in 1644. He is mentioned by the Rev. Mr. Megapolensis - in his tract on the Maquaa Indians, and by Van der Donck in his Beschryvinge van N. N., as having raised wheat off one field in Rensselaerswyck eleven years in succession. The land was ploughed twelve times in that period ; twice the first and once every succeed- ing lyear, when the stubble was ploughed and the wheat sown and harrowed under. Van der Donck adds: — "There are many thous- and morgens of as good land there as that of which we have spoken." Several descendants of this individual reside in Albany county, where they go by the name of Brandt.
Simon Dircksen Pos, was one of Minuet's council in 1624; died in 1645.
Jan Tyssen, trumpeter, Fort Orange.
Andries Carstenssen, millwright.
Laurens Laurenssen, \
Barent Tomassen, { sawyers.
Arendt van Curler, was a magistrate of the colony until the time of his death, and one of the leaders of the settlement at Schenectady, 1641.
Jacob Jansen Stol, succeeded Hendrick Albertzsen as ferry-master at Beverwyck.
Mertin Gerrittsen van Bergen, married Neeltje Meynderts; his oldest son was Gerrit; his second, Myndert van Bergen. In the year 1668, he had a lease of Castle Island, called after him, Martin Gerritsen's Island, and in 1690 he lived south of that island, on the west side of the river. He had property in Katskili, Coxsackie,, and Albany, of which place he was magistrate for a long time.
Claes Arissen.
Roeloff Jansen van Maesterlandt, wife and family; came out as farmer to the Patroon, at $72 a year. The Rev. Ev. Bogardus,, of New Amsterdam, married his widow.
Claes Claessen, his servant. Jacques Spierinck.
Jacob Govertsen. Raynert Harmensen*
Bastiaen Jansen Krol, Fort Orange.
Albert Andriessen Bradt, de Noorman, married Annetje Barents, by whom he had eight children, viz. Barent-, Eva, (who m. Roeloff Swartwout;) Storm; Engeltje, (who m. Teunis Slingerland. of Onisquathaw;) Gisseltje, (who m. Jan van EecheleH;) Andries, Jan, and Dirck. The tradition is, that one of the above children was
16 Settlers of Remselaerswyck from 1630 to 1646.
born on ship-board, on the passage out, in the midst of a heavy storm, in consequence of which he was called Storm van der Zee. Barent Albertsen succeeded his father, in 1672, as lessee of the water privileges on the Normans Kill, for which he was to pay $ 150 a year; and Slingerland succeeded, in 1677, as lessee of the farm which his father had occupied until then on the above stream. Albert de Noorman died 7th June, 1686, and Swartwout, mentioning the oc- curence, says: — he was "een van de oudste en eerste inwoonders der colonie Rensselaerswyck." At the time of his decease, he was proprietor of some lots arid houses on the island of Manhattans. It was after this man that the creek south of Albany was called the Noormans Kill. Many of his descendants are still met with in and around the latter city.
1631.
Maryn Adriaensen van Veere. This was the freebooter who afterwards played so prominent a figure in Kieft's time.
Thomas Witsent.
Gerrit Teunissen de Reus, schepen, had a well-stocked farm in Greenbush.
Cornells Teunissen van Westbroek.
Cornells Teunissen van Breukelen, Raedts persoon; the descendants of this man now call themselves van Brackelen.
Johan Tiers.
Jasper Ferlyn.
Gerrit Willems Oosterum.
Cornelis Maessen van Buren Maassen (in Galderland) and Catalyntje Martensen, his wife, came out in the ship Rensselaerswyck. In the passage out was born their first child, Hendrick; had besides him, four other children, viz. Martin, Maas, Steyntje, and Tobias, all of whom were living in the colonie in 1662. Steyntje married, 1663, Dirck Wessels, "free merchant here." The father had a farm at Papskenea. He and his wife died in 1648, and were both buried on the same day! (Beyde op eenen dagh zyn begraaven. MS.)
Cornelis Teunissen Bos, bouwknecht to Cornelis Maassen, was commis- sary at Fort Orange previous to 1662.
1634.
Jan Labbadie, carpenter, native of France, was subsequently commissary to the Patroon, and after that held a like office at Fort Orange, under the company. He married the widow of Mr. Harman van der Bogaert. He came out previous to this year, and was part owner of the Garce.
Robert Hendricksen. Adriaen Gerritsen.
Lubert Gysbertsen, wheelwright. Jan Jacobsen.
Jacob Albertzen Planck, officier, sheriff. Joris Houten, Fort Orange.
Hendrick Cornelissen.
Jan Jansen Dam, or Damen; married Ariaentje Cuvel. He removed subsequently to New Amsterdam, where he was elected one of the Eight Men-, amassed considerable wealth, and was one of the owners of the privateer La Garce. In 1649-50 he went to Holland with C.
Settlers of Rensselaerswyck from 1630 to 1646. 17
van Tienhoven, to defend Stuyvesant against the complaints of Van der Donck and others, and died on his return, 18th June, 1651. He does not seem to have had any children. He had three brothers, Cornells Jansen, Cuyper; Cornelis Jansen Damen-, and Willem Jansen Damen; and two sisters, Neiltje, and Hendrickje. He adopted the son of the last-named sister — Jan Cornelis Buys — who assumed his name, having been left 600 Car. guilders. Jan Damen, at his death, willed 400 Car. guilders to the poor of Bunick, province of Utrecht. The inventory of his personal property fills ten folio pages in the records.
1635.
Jan Terssen van Franiker. Juriaen Bylvelt.
Jan Cornelissen, Carpenter. Johannes Verbeeck ; Raedt Persoon,
1658, 1661.
1636.
Barent Pieterse Koyemans, alias Barent the Miller, entered the service of the first Patroon, at 30 guilders a year. Three brothers accom- panied him to Rensselaerswyck in 1636 : viz. David, Jacob, and Arent, who was a lad. It is presumed that they came originally from Utrecht. Barent worked in the Patroon's grist-mill until 1645, in the fall of which year he took charge, with Jan Gerritsen, his part- ner, (who came out with him,) of the Patroon's saw-mills, being al- lowed 150 gl. each a year for board, and 3 stivers a cut for every plank they sawed. He remained in this employment until 1647, having cut between three and four thousand boards in that time. Previous to 1650, he lived a little south of the 5th or Patroon's creek, and in 1655 took a nineteen years' lease of a farm of maize-land at 24 gl. per annum. In 1657 he rented, in company with Cornelis Theunis van Breukelen, for three years, the Upper Mills, (as the mills on the Patroon's creek were called, in contradistinction to those on the Norman's kill.) which he leased on his own account in 1660 for 13 years. This lease expired in 1673, about which time he purchased, by consent of the Commissioners at Albany, from the Katskill Indians, a large tract of land, some twelve or fifteen miles south of that city, on the west side of the river. The place had been known, for many years previous, as offering peculiar advantages for the erection of saw-mills, Cryn Cornelissen and Hans Jansen having erected saw-mills on the creek immediately north of Beeren Island as early as 1651. Coeymans had, no doubt, these advantages in view when he made his purchase, which began at a point on the shore called Sieskasin, opposite the middle of Jan Ryersens island called by the Indians Sapanakock, and ran south to the mouth of Pieter Bronck's kill, as Coxsackie creek was then called. Following up this creek to its head, the line then went west until it struck the head of the waters falling into the Hudson, all,the land on which be- longed to the Katskill Indians, the waters flowing west to the Scho- harie creek being the property of the Mohawks. The line then went
18 Settlers of Rensselaerswyck from 1630 to 1646.
northerly to the bounds of Rensselaerswyck, and thence returned to the Hudson River. A patent was obtained for this tract, twelve miles deep and some eight or ten front, from Gov. Lovelace, on 7th April, 1673. But falling as it did within the original bounds of Van Rens- selaer's colonie, Coeymans purchased out the Patroon's claims, 22d Oct., 170G, agreeing to pay a quit-rent of nine shillings a year, and he finally obtained letters patent from Queen Anne, confirming the whole to him and his heirs forever, 6th Aug., 1714. This purchase now constitutes the ancient town of Coeymans, in the county of Albany. — Barent Pietersen had five children — Andreas, Samuel, Peter, Ariantje, and Jannitje. Andreas moved to the Raritans, New Jersey, where he purchased a considerable tract of land, and where some of the Coeymans still reside. Peter married twice : by his first wife he had Mayica, who married Andreas Witbeck; and Elizabeth, the wife of Jacob van Allen. By his second wife, Charlotte Amelia Drawyer, he had Gerritje, who married John Barclay, mayor of Albany; Anne Margaret, who married Peter Ten Eyck, and Char- lotte A., who married John Bronck. Mrs. Abraham Verplanck of Coeymans is grand-daughter to this Mrs. Bronck. All the descend- ants of Barent Coeymans, after the first generation in a direct line, were females. Owing to this singular circumstance, the family name is now extinct in this state.
Pieter Cornelissen van Munnichendam, millwright.
Dirck Jansen van Edam. Mauritz Jansen,) -p ,,
Arent Andriessen van Frederickstad, Michel Jansen , f ^
This Michel brought out his wife and two children. Van Tienhoven says he came out as a "boereknecht," or servant. He amassed a fortune in a few years, in the fur-trade, but not being able to agree with the head men of the colonie, he removed, in 1646, to the island of Manhattans. He purchased Eversten Bout's farm in Pavonia, with some stock, for 8,000 gl., and was appointed one of the delegates to Holland in 1649, against the colonial administration, but owing to the unsettled state of his private affairs he could not accept that appointment. It was in a room in this man's house, in New Am- sterdam, that Van der Donk wrote his celebrated " Vertoogh," or Remonstrance against the maladministration of affairs in New Nether land.
Jacob Jansen van Amsterdam.
Simon Walings van der Belt; was killed at Pavonia, in 1648, by some savages from the south.
Gysbert Claessen van Amsterdam. Hans Zevenhuyzen.
Cristen Cristyssen Noorman van Adriaen Hubertsen.
Vlecburgh and wife. Rynier Tymanssen van Edam.
Tys Barentsen Schoonmaker van Ed:im. Thomas Jansen van Bunick.
Cornelis Tomassen, smith, and wife.
Arent Steveniersen, wife and two. children ; he married,, anno 1637, the widow of Cornelis Tomassen, by whom he had two, other children*
Johan Latyn van Verduym. Claes Jansen van Nykerk;.
Settlers of Rensselaerswyck from 1630 to 1646. 19
Rutger Jacobsen van Schoenderwoerdt ; married in New Amsterdam, anno 1646, Tryntje Jansen van Briestede, (who died at her son's in Rosendal, in 1711). By her he had two daughters and one son. Margaret, one of the daughters, married, in 1667, Jan Jansen Bleeck- er, who came from Meppel, province of Overyssel, to America, In 1658, and was the ancestor of the present highly respectable Bleecker family in this state. Rutger Jacobson was a magistrate in Rensselaerswyck as early as 1648, and continued to fill that office as late as 1662, and perhaps later. He owned a vessel on the river in 1649, in which year he rented, in partnership with Goosen Ger- rittsen., the Patroon's brewery, at 450 gl. a year, payable in addition one guilder for every ton of beer which they brewed. This duty amounted in the first year to 230 gl., and in the following season they worked up 1,500 schepels of malt. On the 3d of June, 1656, he laid the corner-stone of the "new church," in Beverswyck, and we find him subsequently part proprietor of Pachonakelick, called by the Dutch Mohican's, or Long Island, below Bethlehem. He had the character of an upright citizen, and to his credit it must be add- ed, he rose by his honest industry from small beginnings.
Ryckert Rutgerson-, was engaged, when he first came out, at 130 gl. per annum for a term of 6 years. In 1648 he took a 6 years' lease of Bethlehem Island, at 300 gl. per annum, besides the tenths. He re- ceived three horses, and two or three cows on halves, and the Pa- troon was to build him a barn and dwelling-house, he cutting and drawing the timber, and boarding the carpenters. He was exempt from rent and tithes for the first year. In 1652 he surrendered his lease to Jan Ryersen, after whom this island has since been named.
N. B. The Settlers of 1636 came out in the ship Rensselaerswyck, hav- ing sailed from Holland on the 1st October of that year.
1637.
Jan Michaelsen van Edam, tailor, and his boy.
Pieter Nicolaussen van Nordinge.
Teunis Cornelissen van Vechten, succeeded Michel Jansen on his farm in 1646, and lived in 1648 in the south end of Greenbush.
Burger Joris, smith,
Jan Ryersen; the island situate opposite the junction of the towns of Bethlehem and Coeymans, on the Hudson, was called Jan Ryersen's island, in consequence of this man having lived there in 1652.
Abraham Stevensen, surnamed Croaet, a boy.
Cornells Teunissen van Merkerk.
Goosen Gerritsen van Schaick; married, 1st, Gerritje Brants, daughter of Brant Peelen^, 2d, in July,, 1657, Annetje Lievens. He was a brewer in the colonie in 1649, in which year he accepted, after a good deal of solicitation, the office of magistrate, or Gerechts per- soon. Was afterwards one of the part owners of Nachtenack, the Indian name for the site of the present village of Waterford, Saratoga county.
Willem Juriaea«en Bakker, was banished from the colonie in 1650, at the age af seventy years, in consequence ,of his repeated misdeeds.
20 Settlers of Rensselaerswyck from 1630 to 1646.
1638.
Jan Dircksen van Amersfoort. Gerrit Hendricksen.
Wybrant Pietersen. Cornells Leendertsen.
Willem Meynten. Francis Allertsen, cooper.
Martin Hendricksen van Hamelwaard. RoeloffCornelissenvanHouten.
Adriaen Berghoorn. Volckert Jansen.
Hendrick Fredricksen. Jacob Jansen Nostrandt.
Christoffel Davits-, lived in 1650 on a farm at Dominie's Hoeck, now called Van Wie's Point.
Claes Jansen Ruyter. Jacob Flodder, his man.
Gysbert Adriaensen van Bunick; came out in the Key of Calmar.
Teunis Dircksen van Vechten; came out with wife, child, and two ser- vants, in the "Arms of Norway," and had a farm in 1648 at Green- bush, north of that occupied by Teunis Cornelissen van Vechten. He is referred to in 1663 as "an old inhabitant here."
1639.
Jacob Adriaensen van Utrecht. Ryer Stoffelsen.
Cryn Cornelissen; obtained a license in 1651 to erect a sawmill in com- pany with Hans Jansen van Rotterdam, on what is now Coeyman's Creek.
Adam Roelantsen van Hamelwaard ; previously a schoolmaster in New Amsterdam.
Sander Leendertsen Glen; married Catalyn Doncassen. He was one of the Indian traders at Beverswyck, and finally moved to Scotia, near Schenectada, of which tract he obtained a patent from Gov. Nicolls, in 1665. Reference is made probably to this gentleman by the French in their account of the burning of Schenectady, anno 1690, in the following terms: "At daybreak some men were sent to the dwelling of Mr. Sander, who was Major of the place at the other side of the river. He was not willing to surrender, and began to put himself on the defensive, with his servants and some Indians. But as it was resolved not to do him any harm, in consequence of the good treatment which the French had formerly experienced at his hands, M. d'Iberville and the great Agniez proceeded thither alone, promised him quarter for himself, his people and property, whereupon he laid down his arms on parole."
Pieter Jacobsen and wife. Johan Poog.
Gilles Barentsen. Claes Jansen van Breda.
Cornelis Spierinck. Class Tyssen.
1640.
Nys Jacobsen. Jannitje Teunissen.
Jan Teunissen, carpenter.
Teunis Jacobsen van Schoenderwordt, brother to Rutger Jacobsen ; had 90 gl. a year salary for the first three years, and 100 for the next three. He became a trader in 1651.
Andries Hubertsen Constapel van derBlaes; married Annetje Juriaen- sen; owned a tile kiln in Beverswyck, and died in 1662.
Settlers of Rensselaerswyck from 1630 to 1646. 21
Andries de Vos, brother-in-law to Barent Pieterse Coeymans-, was Gerechts persoon, or magistrate, in 1648.
Adriaen Teunissen van der Belt. Jan Creynen.
Jan Jansen van Rotterdam; was killed in the Indian war, 1644.
Jacob Jansen van Campen. Cornells Keyne van Houtten.
Jan Cornelissen van Houtten. Claes Gerritsen.
1641.
Adriaen van der Donck, officier, or Sheriff.
Cornells Antonissen van Slyck, alias Broer Cornelissen, was the first patentee of Katskill, anno 1646. Van Slyck's Island, opposite Sche- nectada, was so called after one of his sons, Jacques, to whom it was granted, 13th Nov., 1662, by Director Stuyvesant.
Claes Gysbertsen. Joris Borrelingen, Engelsman.
Jacob Wolfertsen, Claes Jansen van Ruth.
Tennis de Metselaer.
Cornelis Cornelissen van Schoonderwoerdt, alias " Vosje."
1642.
Dominie Johannes Megapolensis, Jun., Matheld Willemsen, his wife,
Hellegond, Dirck, Jan, and Samuel, their children. Samuel M., the last named son, was sent to Harvard;College in 1657 ; spent three years there, and then proceeded to the University of Leyden, where he was licensed, in 1662, as a minister, and obtained the degree of M. D. On his return, he became Collegiate pastor of the church at New Amsterdam, and was appointed by Gev. Stuyvesant one of the commissioners to negotiate with the British the articles relating to the capitulation of the Province. — Rev. Dr. De Witt.
Abraham Staes, surgeon.
Evert Pels van Steltyn, brewer, and wife; lived at the Mill Creek, Greenbush.
Cornelis Lambertsen van Doom. Joachim Kuttelhuys van Cremyn.
Johan Helms van Baasle.
Juriaen Bestval van Luyderdorp, (near Leyden).
Claes Jansen van Waalwyck. Paulus Jansen van Gertruydenburgh.
Hans Vos van Baden, court messenger; was sheriff's constable in New Amsterdam in 1661.
Lucas Smith van Ickemsburgh ; left the colonie in the spring of 1646, with the character of "een eerlyk ende vroom Jongman" — an honorable and virtuous young man.
Cornelis Crynnesen.
Cornelis Hendricksen van Es, Gerechts persoon or magistrate. His daughter, Elizabeth, married one Banckers. " Cryn Cornelissen declares that, in the spring of 1643, while conveying some of the guests, on the ice, to the wedding of Van Es's daughter, a mare be- longing to him, (Cryn), and a stud belonging to Van der Donk, were drowned in the neighborhood of Black, or Horse's point — (omtrent de Swarte, ofte Paerde Hoeck) — for which he understands Van der Donck received 150 guilders ($60) from the wedding party." MS.
22 Settlers of Rensselaerswyck from 1630 to 1646,
Cornells Gerritsen van Schoonderwoerdt.
Wm. Fredericksen van Leyden, free carpenter.
Antonie de HoogesM commis, afterwards Secretary of the Colonie. His daughter, and only child, says Bensen, "married Herman Rutgers, the ancestor of the respectable family of the name among us." De Hooges died 1658. The well-known promontory in the Highlands was called Anthony's Nose, after him.
Johan Holmes.
Juriaen van Sleswyck.
Johan Corstiaenssen, mariner.
Hendrick Albertsen; second time of <his coming out. He was the first ferrymaster in Beverwyck; died in 1648 or 1649,
Gertrude Dries van Driesbergen, Hendrick Dries, her brother,
his wife.
Albert Jansen, van Amsterdam. Jan Jansen Flodder, carpenter.
Geertje Mannix, widow, and two Pieter Wyncoop, commis. children.
Nicolaus Koorn, sergeant or wachtmeester; succeeded Van der Donck as Sheriff.
Adriaen Cornelissen van Bersingeren. Arendt Teunissen van Luyten.
Cornelis Segers van Voorhoudt ; succeeded Van der Donck on the farm called Weelysburgh, on Castle island-, married Bregje Jacobsen, by whom he had six children-, Cornelis, Claes, Seger, Jannitje, Neltje, and Lysbeth. The last named married Francois Boon, without her parents' consent, and was disinherited, having been left by will only £1 Flemish. Seger married Jannitje Teunissen van Vecthen, and was killed, anno 1662, by Andries Hubertsen in a brawl Many of the Segers family are still residents of the county of Albany.
Jacob Aertsen Wagenaar.
Jan Creyne van Houtten.
Jan Dircksen, Engelsman, van Amersfoort.
Kerry de Backer. " I have known a gunner, named Harry de Backer, who killed at one shot from his gun, eleven gray geese out of a large flock." — Van der Donck.
Adrian Willemsen; banished for theft in 1644.
1643, 1644, 1645.
Pieter Hertgers van Vee, was one of the commissaries of the court at Fort Orange in 1654; died in Holland, 1670.
Abraham Clock.
Jan Barentsen Wemp, removed subsequently to Schenectady, where he became proprietor of some land* His widow married Sweer Teu- nissen van Velde..
Richard Brigham.
Lambert van Valckenburg.
Jacob Jansen Schermerhorn, married Jannitje, daughter of Cornelis Se- gers. He was a prominent trader in Beverwyck in 1648, when he was arrested, by Stuyvesant, on a charge of selling fire-arms and ammunition to the Indians. His books and papers were seized, and
Settlers of Rensselaerswyck from 1630 to 1646. 23
himself removed a prisoner to Fort Amsterdam, where he was sen- tenced to banishment for five years, and the confiscation of all his property. By the interference of some leading citizens the first part of the sentence was struck out, but his property was totally lost. These proceedings against Schermerhorn formed, subsequently, a ground of complaint against Stuyvesant to the States General.
Claes Teunissen, alias " Uylenspiegel."
Gysbert Cornelissen van Wesepe ; called also Gysbert op de Berg, from the fact of his having lived on a farm called the " Hooge Berg," situate on the east side of the river, a little below Albany, which he rented in 1649 at 300 gl. a year. This farm still retains its origin- al Dutch name, and is now owned by Joachim Staats, Esq.
1646.
Jan Jansen van Bremen; lived in Bethlehem, and moved, anno 1540, to Katskill.
Harman Mynderts van der Bogaert, arrived in New Neterland, anno 1631, as surgeon of the company's ship the Eendracht; he continued in the company's service to 1633, after which he resided in New Amsterdam until appointed commissary to Fort Orange. He was highly respected, though from all accounts he appears to have been of an irascible temper, An instance is mentioned of his having at- tempted, in the excitement of a high quarrel, when both appear to have been in a violent passion, to throw the Director-general out of a boat in which they were sailing on the river; he was, it is added, with difficulty prevented from accomplishing his purpose. He oc- casionally wrote his name Harmanus & Boghardij. He came, I be- lieve, to a violent death in 1649. Carl van Brugge succeeded him as commissary at Fort Orange.
Jan van Hoosem. Hendrick Westercamp.
Jacob Herrick.
Jan Andriessen van Dublin, leased abouwerie in 1649, described as lying- "north of Stoney point, being the north half of the Flatt."
Tomas Higgens. Jan Willemsen Scuth.
Wolf Nyssen ; executed. Willem Leendertsen, brass-founder.
Pieter Bronck; built a tavern in Beverwyck, in 1651, which was then the third at that place ; afterwards lived at Coxackie, the creek at which place was called by the Dutch, Peter Bronck's kill.
Tomas Kenningh. Jacob Jansen van Stoutenburgh.
Jan de Neger; Scherprechter, or hangman to the colonie.
24 Sentence of Willem Juriaensen Bakker.
SENTENCE OF WILLEM JURIAENSEN BAKKER.
As the minute in the Gerechts rolle, or court register, of the sentence pronounced against this public disturber will afford some idea of the strictness of the police in those days, we are tempted to translate it. — CTCallaghan's Hist, of N. Netherland, p. 437.
"Their worships, the Commissioners and Council of the colonie of Rensselaerswyck, having duly considered and weighed the demand of the Honorable Director, as prosecutor against Willem Juriaensen Bakker, and finding that he was already banished out the colonie by their Worshipful Court, on the 4th February, 1644; and afterwards because that he at- tempted on the Lord's highway with a knife to stab the person of Antonie de Hooges, then commis to the Noble Patroon, whereby he, in as much as in him lay, did commit a murder, for which he, on the 28th August, 1647, was banished from the colonie; and he having by petition prayed for a respite, which was granted to him, he pledged all his goods, and also subjected himself to the banishment of his person, should he happen to insult any person within or without the court, or to do any thing that should be displeasing, or worthy of punishment. Therefore, the Honora- ble Prosecutor, recapitulating the same, has set forth, to wit, that he, the Delinquent, hath .so frightened and shocked a certain woman, [Saertje Cornelis, wife of Thomas Sanderssen Smith], £hat according to her com- plaint, she hath miscarried; Secondly, that he hath unjustly censured some honorable people, among others some of the Worshipful Court here, asserting, as relates to the agreement between him and Jan van Hoesem, that they had written a falsehood ; Thirdly, having been quietly spoken to about the purchase of two beasts, he entering the house, called out that he had a knife in his sleeve, and that, if he were meddled -with, he should pay the Honorable Prosecutor with it. Besides, being summoned on account of these enormities, he did openly insult the Honorable Prose- cutor here, saying, 'I must bury you; I am summoned before the court; I must hang.' Moreover have we been assured by trustworthy persons, 'that he hath said to certain females who were proceeding to partake of the Lord's Supper, 'Is it a bit of bread you want? Come to my house and I'll give you a whole loaf;' and divers other things. [On being asked his age, ' to the contempt of the court, he said he was about twenty- one, though it is known to us that he is at least seventy years of age.] WHEREFORE, he being a blasphemer, a street-scold, a murderer as far as his intentions are concerned, a defamer, a contemner of law and justice, and a disturber of the public peace, their Worships of the court aforesaid have adjudged and sentenced, as they do hereby sentence and adjudge, that the aforesaid sentence of banishment shall stand fast, and he Willem Juriaensen, is hereby banished out the district and jurisdiction of this colonie, from now henceforth and forever, to leave by the first vessel, and never more to return, on pain of corporal punishment: all with costs of court. Thus sentenced, £c., in College, this 18th July, 1650, to the knowledge of me, "A. DE HOOGES, Secretary.
"27th July, 1650. Resolved, that Willem Juriaensen shall be con- veyed on board of Rutger Jacobsen, and then released, Rutger Jacobsen promising to give him a passage in his yacht to the Manhattans."
Streets, Lanes, Alleys, fyc. 27
Franklin St., from Lydius to southern boundary, 1st east South Pearl.
Fulton street, from Lydius to Plain, 1st west South Pearl.
Gansevoort St., from river to western boundary, southernmost street.
Grand street, from Beaver to Arch.
Hawk street, from northern to southern boundary, 1st west Eagle.
Hamilton street, from river to western boundary, 1st north Lydius.
Hare street, from head of Orange to western boundary.
Herkimer street, from river to South Pearl.
Howard street, from South Pearl to Eagle, 1st south State.
Hudson street, from river to western boundary.
Hudson Square, fronts on Washington, Partridge and Ontario.
High street, from State to Lydius, 2d west Eagle.
Jackson street, from Colonie to Spencer, 1st east Broadway.
James street, from State to Columbia, 1st west do.
Jay street, from Eagle to Lark, 3d south Stale.
John street, from river to Franklin, 1st north Ferry.
Jefferson street, from Eagle to Delaware Square, 1st south Lydius.
Knox street, from Elk to southern boundary, 1st west Lark.
Lark street, from southern boundary to Patroon,4th west Eagle.
Lawrence street, from river to Broadway, 1st north canal basin.
Lewis Alley, from Grand west.
Lumber street, from river to western boundary, 3d south canal basin.
Lydius street, from river to western boundary.
Lancaster street, from Eagle to western boundary, 2d south State.
Lodge street, from Beaver to Columbia, 2d west North Pearl.
Liberty street, from Hudson to Lydius, 1st west Broadway.
Maiden Lane, from river to Eagle, 1st north State.
Mercer street, from Delaware turnpike to Alms House Square.
Montgomery street, from Steuben to northern boundary.
Morris street, from Delaware Square to northern boundary.
Morton street, from Clinton to Dove.
Mulberry street, from river to Franklin, 3d south Lydius.
North Ferry street, from Bath ferry to Broadway.
North Lansing street, from river to Broadway, 2d south canal basin.
North Pearl street, from Slate to northern boundary.
North Square, fronts on Lark, Canal, Knox and Elk.
Norton street, (late Store Lane,) from Green to South Pearl.
Nucella street, from river to Gansevoort.
Ontario street, northern to southern boundary, 2d west Alms House.
Orange street, from river to Hare, 4lh north State.
Park street, from State to Lancaster, 1st west Eagle.
Partridge street, from southern boundary to Schenectady turnpike.
Patroon street, from Broadway to western boundary, 6th north State.
Perry street, beginning at Alms House Square, southern to northern
boundary. Pier, runs from foot of Hamilton, north 4323 feet, and 80 feet broad
to the foot of Lawrence street, forming a basin of an area of 32 and
1-lOth acres.
Pine street, from Chapel to Eagle, 2d north of State. Philip street, from Lydius to Hudson, 3d west South Pearl. Plain street, from South Pearl to Philip, 1st south Hudson. Pleasant street, from Western to Schenectady turnpike. Plumb street, from river to Franklin, 1st south Bassett.
28 Wards.
Providence street, from Delaware turnpike to Alms House Square.
Quackenbush street, from river to Broadway.
Quail street, from northern to southern boundary, 1st west Alms House.
Quay street, along the dock, from " to Orange street.
Kensselaer street, from river to South Pearl, 2d south Ferry.
Robin street, from Alms House Square to Washington, 1st west Snipe.
Rose street, from Hamilton to Lydius, 1st west Green.
Sand street, from Lark to western boundary.
Schuyler street, from river to Clinton, 4th south Ferry.
Second street, from Ten Broeck to western boundary.
South Lansing street, from river to Franklin, 1st south Herkimer.
South Pearl street, from State to Gansevoort.
Spencer street, from river to Broadway, 1st south Lumber.
Spruce street, from Eagle to Lark, 1st north Elk.
State street, from river to western boundary.
Steuben street, from river to Eagle, 2d north State.
Snipe street, beginning at Alms House, to northern boundary.
Swan street, from southern to northern boundary, 2d west Eagle.
Ten Broeck street, from Patroon to Colonie, 1st west North Pearl.
Third street, from Ten Broeck to western boundary.
Union street, from Lydius to Hudson, 2d west Broadway.
Van Tromp street, from Broadway to North Pearl, 1st n. Columbia.
Van Schaack street, from North Pearl to Cross, 1st west Canal.
Van Woert street, from Broadway to western boundary.
Van Zandt street, from South Pearl to Philip, 1st north Lydius.
Vine street, from river to Franklin, south Nucella.
"Warren street, from Eagle to Alms House Square, 2d south Ferry.
Washington St., from Academy and Capitol Parks to western boundary.
Washington Square, fronts on Stale. Knox, Lydius and Willett.
Water street, from northern boundary to Steubea, 1st west Quay.
Westerlo street, from river to Delaware Square, 2d south Lydius.
William street, from Hudson to Howard, 1st west South Pearl.
Wilson street, from Broadway to Ten Broeck, 1st south Lumber.
Willett street, from State to Lydius, 1st west Lark.
Yates street, from Delaware Square to western boundary.
AN ACT
For the Division and Equalization of the Wards of the City of Al- bany , and for other purposes. Passed March 3Qth, 1841.
FIRST WARD. — Beginning at a point where the south bounds of the city intersect the west line of Rensselaer street; thence running north along the east bounds of the city to a point opposite the centre of Arch street; thence westerly through the centre of Arch street to the cen. tre of Hallenbake street; thence northerly through the centre of Hal- lenbake street to the centre of ^rch street from the west; thence westerly through the centre of Arch street to the centre of Eagle street; thence southerly through the centre of Eagle street to the south bounds of the city; thence easterly along said south bounds to the place of beginning.
Wards. 29
SECOND WARD. — Beginning at the intersection of the centre of Arch street with the east bounds of the city, and running thence northerly along the said bounds of the city to a point opposite the centre of Her- kiraer street; thence westerly along the centre of Herkimer street to the centre of Pearl street: thence southerly along the centre of Pearl street to the centre of Westerlo street; thence westerly along the centre of Westerlo street to the centre of Hallenbake street; thence northerly along the centre of Hallenbake street to the centre of Westerlo street from the west; thence westerly along the centre of Westerlo street to the centre of Eagle street; thence southerly along the centre of Eagle street to the centre of Arch street; thence easterly along the centre of Arch street to the centre of Hallenbake street; thence southerly along the centre of Hallenbake street to the centre of Arch street from the east; thence easterly along the centre of Arch street to the east bounds of the city and place of beginning.
THIRD WARD. — Beginning at a point in the easterly bounds of the city opposite the centre of Herkimer street, and running thence northerly along said east bounds to a point opposite the centre of Hamilton street; thence westerly along the centre of Hamilton street to the centre of Eagle street; thence southerly along the centre of Eagle street to the centre of Westerlo street; thence easterly along the centre of Westerlo street to the centre of Hallenbake street; thence southerly along the centre of Hallenbake street to the centre of Westerlo street from the east; thence easterly through the centre of Weslerlo street to the centre of Pearl street; thence northerly through the centre of Pearl street to the centre of Herkimer street; thence easterly along the centre of Herkimer street to the place of beginning.
FOURTH WARD, '—Beginning at a point in the east bounds of the city opposite the centre of Hamilton street, and running thence northerly along said east bounds to a point opposite the centre of State street bridge; thence westerly through the centre of State street bridge and State street to the centre of Eagle street; thence southerly along the cen- tre of Eagle street to the centre of Hamilton street; thence easterly along the centre of Hamilton street to the east bounds of the city and place of beginning.
FIFTH WARD. — Beginning at a point in the east bounds of the city opposite the centre of State street bridge; thence running northerly along said east bounds to a point opposite the centre of Columbia street bridge; thence westerly along the centre of said bridge and of Columbia street to the centre of Pearl street; thence northerly along the centre of Pearl street to the centre of Fox street; thence westerly along the centre of Fox street to the centre of a street thirty-six Ryland feet in width, and leading from Fox to Spruce streets; thence southerly through the cen- tre of said street to the centre of Spruce street; thence easterly through the centre of Spruce street to the centre of Eagle street; thence southerly through the centre of Eagle street to the centre of State street; thence easterly along the centre of State street and of the State street bridge to the east bounds of the city and place of beginning.
SIXTH WARD. — Beginning at a point in the east bounds of the city opposite the centre of the Columbia street bridge, and running thence northerly along said east bounds to a point opposite the centre of Lum- ber street; thence westerly along the centre of Lumber street to the cen- tre of Ten Broeck street; thence southerly along the centre of Ten Broeck
30 Wards.
street to the centre of Patroon street; thence easterly along the centre of Patroon street to the centre of Chapel street; thence southerly along the centre of Chape! street to the centre of Canal street; thence easterly along the centre of Canal street to the centre of Pearl street; thence southerly along the centre of Pearl street to the centre of Columbia street; thence easterly along the centre of Columbia street and the Columbia street bridge to the east bounds of the city and place of beginning.
SEVENTH WARD. — Beginning at a point in the east bounds of the city opposite the centre of Lumber street, and running thence northerly along the east bounds of the city until it strikes a point opposite a red cedar post with brick around it, standing on the west bank of the Hudson river, which post is distant twenty-two chains and thirty-six links from the south-east corner of the storehouse of Stephen Van Rensselaer, on a course, north forty degrees and twenty minutes west; thence westerly to the said cedar post; thence north forty-eight degrees west to the west bounds of the late town of Colonie; thence southerly along said west bounds to the centre of Lumber street; thence easterly along the centre of Lumber street to the east bounds of the city and place of beginning.
EIGHTH WARD. — Beginning at the intersection of the centre of Canal and Chapel streets; thence running northerly along the centre of Chapel to the centre of Patroon street; thence westerly along the centre of Pa- troon street to the centre of Ten Broeck street; thence northerly along the centre of Ten Broeck street to the centre of Lumber street; thence westerly along the centre of Lumber street to the west bounds of the late town of Colonie; thence southerly along said west bounds to the centre of Patroon street; thence easterly along the centre of Patroon street to the centre of Lark street; thence southerly along the centre of Lark street to the centre of Spruce street; thence easterly along the cen- tre of Spruce street to the centre of a street leading from Spruce to Canal streets, of thirty-six Ryland feet in width; thence northerly along the centre of said street to the centre of Canal street; thence easterly along the centre of Canal street to the place of beginning.
NINTH WARD. — Beginning at the intersection of Eagle and State streets, and running thence northerly along the centre of Eagle street to the centre of Spruce street; thence westerly along the centre of Spruce street to the centre of Lark street; thence northerly along the centre of Lark street to the centre of Patroon street; thence westerly along the centre of Patroon street to the west bounds of the late town of Colonie; thence southerly to the south side of Patroon street; thence westerly along the north range of the city to the west bounds thereof; thence southerly along said west bounds to the centre of Lydius street; thence easterly along the centre of Lydius street to the centre of Main Avenue; thence northerly through the centre thereof to the centre of State street; thence easterly along the centre of State street to the place of beginning.
TENTH WARD. — Beginning at the intersection of the centre of Eagle street with the south bounds of the city, and running thence north through the centre of Eagle street to the centre of State street; thence westerly through the centre of State street to the centre of Main avenue; thence southerly through the centre of Main avenue to the centre of Lydius street; thence westerly along the centre of Lydius street to the west bounds of the city; thence southerly along said west bounds to the south bounds of the city; thence easterly along said south bounds to the place of beginning.
Banks. 31
BANKS.
The banks are open every day in the year, from ten A. M. to two p. M., except Sundays and holidays. The interest for discount in the banks in this city, is fixed at 7 per centum per annum. Three days of grace are allowed, and the discount taken for the same. Every bill or note offered for discount, must be delivered the day preceding: the day of dis- count. Bills or notes lodged at the banks for collection, when protested for non-payment, the person lodging the same pays the charge of pro- test. Deposits of money, or notes for collection, must be entered in dealer's book at the time of deposit. No interest allowed on deposits.
BANK OF ALBANY, No. 42 State street: incorporated April 10, 1792; charter expires in 1855; capital, $240,000; shares, $30 each; dividends, May and November; discount day, Thursday. Jacob H. Ten Eyck, pre- sident; Jellis Winne, jr., cashier; J. H. Ten Eyck, Teunis Van Vechten, Harmon Pumpelly. Henry Bleecker, Volkert P. Douw, William Walch, Benjamin Tibbitts. David Newland. J. Winne, jr., Andrew D. Lansing, Daniel Cady, directors; E. R. Phelps, teller; N. Bleecker, jr., book- keeper; John Sill, discount clerk; Charles Lansing and Henry Wilkin- son, clerks.
Reminiscences.— A great many projects were on foot in the year 1792. The capi- talists were eager for a bank, and a meeting: was called on the 3d of February, at Lewis's Tavern, (south side of State street, corner Pearl,) to discuss the subject. There was at this time, it is believed, but one bank in the state, the Bank of Few York, the stock of which was fifty per cent, above par. It was decided that the interests of the northern part of the state required the location of a bank at Albany. Some one writing for the newspapers, confidently asserted that a hundred thousand dollars would be Kubscribed in a few hours in the city alone; but it was libernlly resolved that the neighboring places should be permitted to share in the honors and emoluments of the enterprise. At a subse- quent meeting, the outlines of a plan for the establishment of a bank were piesented. The name of the institution to be The Albany Bank; the capital, $75,f>00, to be divided into 500 shares, of 8150 each: $15 to be paid on subscribing, and the remainder in three in- stalments ; 13 directors to constitute the board, 9 of whom to be residents of the city. Jeremiah Van Ren*selaer, Jacob Vanderheyden, and Barent Bleecker, were to open the books for subscriptions in the week following, and to close them as soon as five hundred shares should be subscribed. Accordingly the committee opened the books on the 17th of February, and the stock was overrun in amount in less than three hours Alter the books were closed, offers of 10 per cent, advance were made on the stock, and on Satur- day, the day following, it rose to one hundred per cent. cash. Application was immedi- ately made to the legislature for a charter, and as the prospect of its being granted was more or less doubtful during the progress of the bill, the price of the stock rose r,r fell, creating no little excitement and speculation in this quiet region, where stock transac- tions were quite a novelty. At one lime it is said to have stood at $100 premium on a share upon which only $15 had been paid. Sit-phen Van Rensselaer was elected presi- dent. Towards the close of the session the act of incorporation became a law. The first election of directors was held on the 12th of June, at the City Tavern, and resulted as follows: Abraham Ten Broeck, Cornelius Glen, Stephen Van Kensselaer, Jeremiah Van Rensselaer, John Maley, Abraham \ an Vechten, Henry Cuyler, John Stevenson, James Caldwell, Jacob Vandei heyden, Goldsbrow Banvar, Daniel Hale, Elkanah W at- son. At a meeting of the directors thus chosen, Abraham Ten Hroeck was elected pre- sident. The bank was opened for deposits on the 16th of July, and began to discount on the 17th. The rate of interest was 6 per cent. In September notice was given that notes of 45 davs only would be discounted. 'I he act of incorporation limited the capital stock to S'260,000; each share to be 400 Spanish milled dollars, or its equivalent This did not exhaust the idle capital, and those who were unable to get bank stock, proposed to build an aqueduct. Whether they designed to throw cold water on the farmer project does not appear, but it will be allowed that their scheme promised to furnish an equally useful circulating medium.
In 1797 a report was published in the New Vork papers that the Albany Bank had fail- ed, on account of the great influx of counterfeits of its own bills. The bank had now been in operation five years, aiid there bad not yet been a counterfeit discovered. Its af-
32 Banks.
fairs appear to have been managed with great prudence and considerable ability, and in proportion to its capita], possessed more specie than any other bank in the country. The current price of its stock was from 45 to 50 per cent, above par. The banking house was originally located in Pearl street, and afterwards removed to the building next to the Mansion House on the south; in February, 1S10, it was removed to the north rast corner of State and Court streets, the present *ite of the Exchange; and when the latter building was erected, the bank was removed to No. 42 State street, where it now remains.
NEW YORK STATE BANK, No. 69 State street: incorporated in 1803 ; charter expires in 1851 ; capital, $369,000; shares, $28; dividends, 5 per cent, serni-annually, in March and September; discount day, Monday. Rufus H. Kins:, president; J. B. Plumb, cashier; Rufus H. King, G. Y. Lansing, JoefRathbone, M. T. Reynolds, William Adams, R. Boyd, P. Gansevoort, W. E. Bleecker, W. C. Miller, L. Chapin, J. B. Plumb, A. Mclntyre, directors; H. A. Allen, teller; John S. Leake and H. S. Lan- sing, book-keepers; John H. Van Antwerp, corresponding clerk; William McHarg and John Strother, clerks; Isaac Fondey and James A. Chest- ney, western department.
Reminiscences, — This bank was incorporated with a capital of $460,000. At a meeting of the directors on the 25th of March, 1803, John Taylor was chosen president, and John W. Yales cashier. It commenced business on Wednesday, Sept. 7; banking hours from 9 to 12, and from 2 to 4. Notes offered for discount were to be drawn payable at the bank, unless the drawer resided in the city of Albany or New York. Discounts were made for 86 days. In December the bank altered its hours of business, opening at 9, and closing at 2. On the 10th of May, 1904, they commenced business in their new banking house, where they have ever since continued. By the act of incorporation, the comptroller, to- gether with John Taylor, Thomas Tillotson, Abraham G. Lansing, Peter Gansevoort, Jr., Elkanah Watson, John R. Rleecker, Francis Bloodgood, John Robinson, Gilbert Stewart, John D. P. Douw, Richard Lush, and Thomas Mather, were constituted the first directors. The business was to be confined to the city of Albany, the rate of inte- rest to be 6 per cent., and the state reserved the^right of subscribing 3000 shares.
MECHANICS' AVD FARMERS' BANK, corner of Broadway and Exchange street: incorporated in 1811; charter expires in 1853; capital, $442,000; shares, $17; dividends, semi-annually, in May and November; dis- count days, Tuesdays and Fridays. Thomas W. Olcott, president; Samuel S. Fowler, vice-president; Edward E. Kendrick, cashier; Thos. W. Olcott, Samuel S. Fowler. Friend Humphrey, Henry Newman, Jameg Kidd, Lemuel Steele, Thomas Hillhouse, Hugh Humphrey Harmanus Bleecker, W. W. Forsyth, James B. Jermain, Robert Shepherd, directors; Thomas Olcott, teller; O. M. Beach, second teller; Theodore Olcott, 2d, third teller; Constantine Kowalski, general book-keeper; William Mc- Hench, discount clerk; James A. Pratt, entry clerk; Edmund Winne, clerk; John F. Jenkins, notary; John Highland, porter; T. W. Olcott, pension agent; Lemuel Jenkins and Robert Shepherd, accountants.
Reminiscences. — The history of the origin and infancy of this institution, would be quite interesting to the present generation, since there were some phases in banking ope- rations at that remote period, which are unknown now. The capital stock was limited to 600,000 dollnrs. The first election for directors was held on Monday, June 1, 1812. It seems to have been very generally understood among the stockholders for some time previous, that two federalists should be admitted into the board, tho directors named in the law being all democrats; but wl ose seats should be vacated for their admission, was not so easily agreed upon. The election opened at 10 o'clock, at the Columbian Hotel, in Court street, and was continued to a late hour in the afternoon. It was a warm and animated contest, and finally resulted in the election of the following: Solomon South- wick, president; Benjamin Knowcr, Elisha Dorr, Isaac Denniston, Benjamin Van Ben- Ihuysen, William Fowler, George Merchant, Thomas Lennington, Giles W. Porter, Willard Walker, Walter Weed, Peter Boyd and Isaac Hutton. The two latter were elected in the place of Spencer Stafford and John Bryan. Of that board it is believed there are three or four survivors. At the next annual election Isaac Hutton was elected president, and the direction consisted of Thomas Lennington, Peter Boyd, Benjamin
Banks. 33
Knower, Russell Forsyth, William Fowler, William Boyd, Elisha Dorr, Walter Weed, Giles W. Porter, Benjamin Van Benthuysen, Charles E. Dudley and Thomas Herring. This bank has ever been conducted with signal ability and success.
COMMERCIAL BANK, No 40 State street: incorporated in 1825; charter expired in 1847, and the institution is now under the general banking law; capital, $300,000; shares, $20; dividends, July and January; discount days, Mondays and Thursdays. John Townsend, president; John L. Schoolcraft, vice-president; James Taylor, cashier; John Town- send, J. L. Schoolcraft, John Gott, James Homer, Augustus James, Giles Sanford, James D. Wasson. Robert H. Pruyn, Andrew White, Anthony M. Strong, Anthony Gould, William C. Durant; John B. Was- son, teller; Frederick S. Pease, book-keeper; George C. Lee, Charles Lansing, James G. Stafford, clerks; John F. Batchelder, discount and Savings Bank clerk.
Reminiscences — On the 20th of October, 1813, John Bogart, George Webster, E. F. Backus, Joseph H. Webb and Vinal Luce gave notice of application to ihe legislature for a charter to incorporate the Albany Commercial Bank, with a capital of 81, 250,000. The banking capital of the state was at this time £20,350 000, exclusive of 9810,000 which the state reserved the privilege of subscribing; making an aggregate $21,160,000. Noticed of application were now given for eighteen more hanks, with an aggregate capital of $15,- 250,000. Three of these were from Albany, viz.: the Merchants' Hank, Commercial Bank, and North River Bank; in New York, Millers' Bank, Grocers' Bark, Commission Company, Coal Company, Patent Cloth Manufacturing Company, Nortii River Compa- ny, Vermont Mining and Smelting Company; also one at Utica, Schenectady, Johnstown, Cooperstown, Auburn, Canandaigua, Geneva and Oxford, No bank, however, was chartered in Albany until 1825, when the Commercial Bank went into operation, having no connection with the one above contemplated The present bauk has at different times lost nearly the whole amount of its capital by peculation, but by extraordinary good ma- nagement recovered itself again, and enjoys a high reputation for its soundness and tbo ability of its officers.
CANAL BANK, No. 40 State street: incorporated in 1829; charter ex- pires in 1854; capital, $300,000; shares, $20. This bank failed in July, 1848, the first bank failure in Albany, and its affairs are in the hands of a receiver.
ALBANY CITY BANK, No. 47 State street: incorporated in 1834; char- ter expires in 1864; capital, $500,000; shares, $100; dividends, April and October; discount days, Tuesdays and Fridays. Eraslus Corning, pre- sident; Watts Sherman, cashier; Erastus Corning, Ellis Baker, Martin Van Alstyne, Bradford R. Wood, William Seymour, John V. L. Pruyn, John Knower, James M. Cook. Watts Sherman, William Smith. William Humphrey, H. H. Martin, Eli Perry, directors; C.L. Garfield, teller; D. W. C.Rice and John T. Marshall, book-keepers; Isaac Fondey, discount clerk and notaryp ublic; Simeon J. Leake, corresponding clerk; T. A. Knower, in western department; Jacob Downing, jr., Dudley Van Vliet, F. Van Vliet and Story, clerks.
ALBANY EXCHANGE BANK, No. 3 Exchange Building: certificates filed December 11, 1838, to continue 662 years; capital $311.100, with privilege to increase to $10,0 0,000; dividends, January and July; dis- count days, Tuesdays and Fridays. George W. Stanton, president; Noah Lee, cashier; George W. Stanton, Samuel Stevens, James Me- Naughton, John Taylor, Oliver Steele, John M Newton, Ichabod L. Judson, Samuel Pruyn, Galen Batchelder, Gaylor Sheldon, L. G. Tay- lor, William McElroy, F. J. Barnard, directors; Andrew McElroy teller ; Joseph M. Lovelt, bookkeeper; Wm. H. Lee, discount clerk; John Ward, clerk.
34 Insurance Companies.
ALBANY SAVINGS BANK: incorporated in 1820 ; being the oldest in the state. Open at the Commercial Bank, No. 40 State street, every day, to receive deposits. It pays an interest of 5 per cent, per annum to de- positors, payable half-yearly, on the third Wednesday in January and July. John Townsend, president ; Teunis Van Vechten, 1st vice-presi- dent; Samuel Stevens, 2d vice-president; John L. Winne, 3d vice presi- dent ; William Fewton, William McHarg, James Taylor, Rufus H. King, Jacob H. Ten Eyck, Gerrit Y. Lansing, John I. Boyd, Frederick I. Bar- nard, Benjamin Tibbits, James Stevenson, William E. Bleecker, Robert H. Pruyn, Harmon Pumpelly, James D. Wasson, Friend Humphrey, di- rectors ; James Taylor, treasurer : Robert H. Pruyn, secretary. Open, during banking hours, from 10 to 2 o'clock.
INSURANCE COMPANIES.
ALBANY INSURANCE COMPANY, No. 56 State street: incorporated March 8, 1811; charter expires 1851; capital, $300,000; shares, $60. Teunis VanVechten, president; Stephen Groesbeck, secretary; Gerrit Y. Lan- sing, Rufus H. King, Augustus James, Marcus T. Reynolds, Lewis Benedict, Archibald Mclntyre, John Townsend, Wm. C. Miller, Henry Bleecker, Jacob H. Ten Eyck, Herman Pumpelly, John T. Cooper, di- rectors.
The original charter fixed the shares at 8100, and limited the number at 500. The di- rectors named in the actof incorporation were, Elisha Jenkins, Philip S. Van Rensselaer, Isaiah Townsend, Dudley Walsh, Henry Guest jr., Charles Z. Plan, Simeon De Witt, Stephen Lush, Chas. D. Cooper, Thomas Gould, John Woodworlh, Peter Gansevoort, Christian Miller.
FIREMEN'S INSURANCE COMPANY, corner of State and Green streets; Incorporated in 1831; charter expires 1861; capital, $150,000; shares, $10. James Stevenson, president; Richard Van Rensselaer, secretary; John Taylor, Peter Gansevoort, Thomas McElroy, Hush Humphrey, George \V. Stanton, Lemuel Steele, Egbert Egberts, William Adams, Lansing Pruyn, John M. Newton, Lyman Chapin, Benjamin Tibbits, Stephen Van Rensselaer, Henry Newman, Gerrit V S. Bleecker, Joel Rathbone, E. P. Prentice, A. E. Brown, Joseph Davis, J. H. Ten Eyck, C. A. De Forest, Andrew White, S. S. Peck, A. Van Vorst, directors.
MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF ALBANY, No. 450 Broadway: incorporated in 1836; charter expires 1856. Eras- tus Corning, president; Matthew Trotter, secretary; B. P. Staats, Eli Perry, Watts Sherman, Daniel Fry, H. H. Martin, Giles Sanford, John Knower, J. G. Cotrell, Peter Relyea, Ellis Baker, John Van Valken- burgh, Jared A. Post, directors.
MUTUAL BENEFIT LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY, S. Groesbeck, agent, No. f>6 State street.
AMERICAN MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY, William C. Miller, agent. No. 56 State street.
NATIONAL LOAN FUND LIFE ASSURANCE SOCIETY OF LONDON, Wm. Lacy, agent, Argus Office.
FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY OF HARTFORD, CT., D. S. Durrie, agent, Albany.
Clergy.
EQUITABLE LIFE INSURANCE, ANNUITY AND TRUST COMPANY, L. Birdseye, agent, No. 59 State street.
CITY FIEE INSURANCE COMPANY or NEW YORK, P. W. Groot, agent, No. 49 State street.
-<£TNA FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY OF HARTFORD, CT., John F. Jen- kins, agent, No. 7 Commercial Buildings.
PROTECTION INSURANCE COMPANY OF HARTFORD, CT., John F. Jen- kins, agent, No. 7 Commercial Buildings.
PROTECTION INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW JERSEY, L. Norton, agent, No. 10 Douw's Buildings.
EAGLE LIFE AND HEALTH INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW YORK, C. W. Bentley, No. 80 Quay street; Wm. C. Schuyler, No. 10 Douw's Buildings; S. P Carter, at Wells & Co.'s Express Office, agents.
MUTUAL SAFETY INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW YORK, J.W. Ford, agent, No. 460 Broadway.
LEXINGTON FIRE AND MARINE INSURANCE COMPANY, Heminway 8c Dowd, agents, No. 2. Exchange, first floor.
COLUMBUS INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW YORK, H. C. Southwick. agent, No. 15 Exchange, first floor.
NORTH AMERICAN FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY, S. Groesbeck, agent, No. 56 State street.
CAMDEN FIRE AND MARINE INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW JERSEY, C. \V. Bentley, agent, No. 80 Quay street.
NATIONAL FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY, E. Satterlee, agent, No. 61 State street.
LEXINGTON FIRE AND MARINE INSURANCE COMPANY, agent.
FIRE AND MARINE INSURANCE COMPANY AT SOMERVILLE, Lambert Norton, agent, No. 10 Douw's Buildings.
HOPE MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY OF HARTFORD, CT., Henry R. Gosman, agent, No. 440 Broadway.
NORTH WESTERN INSURANCE COMPANY, J. W. Ford3 agent, No. 460 Broadway.
CLERGY.
J. W. Belknap, Arbor Hill Meth., J. Miles, Bethel,
S. D. Brown, Washingston st. " S. F. Morrow, Associate Pres.,
J N. Campbell, 1st Presbyterian, J. Newbourg, Bethel Jacob,
W. H. Campbell, South Dutch, H. N. Pohlman, Evan. Eb. Luth.,
W. S. Clapp, Green st. Baptist, H. Potter, St. Peter's,
J. Clark, Hudson st. Methodist, Wm. Putnam, St. Mary's,
J. J. Conroy, Ct. Joseph's, T. R. Rawson, City Missionary,
B. M. Hall, Garretson Station, L. A. Sandford, Ferry st. Meth.,
E. A. Huntington, 3d Presbyterian, F. W. Schmidt, Ger. Evan. Luth.,
D. Kennedy, North Dutch, E. Selkirk, Trinity,
W. I. Kip, St. Paul's, W. B. Sprague, 2d Presbyterian,
T. A. Kyle, St. Mary's, R. Warren, State st. Baptist,
M. Lawer, German Methodist, B. T. Welch, North Pearl "
J. Lowrey, Wesleyan u Barry, South '' "
B. M. Martin, 4th Presbyterian, I. Wise, Synagogue,
J. McCloskey, bishop, Cathedral, I. N. Wyckoff, Middle Dutch.
P. McCloskey, St. John's,
36
Practicing Attorneys.
PRACTICING ATTORNEYS.
Otis Allen,
C. L. Austin,
R. L. G. Bancroft,
D. D. Barnard, W. Barnes,
Nicholas Hill, Jr., Robert J. Hilton, W. J. D. Hilton, L. D. Holstein, Thomas D. James,
L.Benedict, Jr., Sur'gateCharles M. Jenkins,
Lucien Birdseye, A. Blanchard, Charles H. Bramhall, Dudley Burwell, J. B. Brinsmade, Jr., James Brown, John I. Burton, Peter Cagger, J. Callanan. Jr.,
D. Campbell, William R Cantine, William Cassidy, John Cole,
John A. Collier, Joseph S. Colt, A. J. Colvin, S. Daniels, Jr., Amos Dean,
E. F. De Lancey,
E. A. Doolittle, Isaac Edwards, James Edwards,
F. S. Edwards, M. Fairchild,
B. P. Johnson. R. L. Joice, N. G. King, Hale Kingsley, James L'Amoreaux, W. L. Learned, Charles B Lansing, L. J. Lansing, Jacob Lansing, E. C. Litchfield, John A. Livingston, J. D. Livingston, H. H. Martin, H. S. McCall, W. C. McHarg, Matthew McMahon, D. McMartin, Orlando Meads, W. D. Morange, A. Morrell, John Newland, Richard H. Northrup, John Olcott, J. F. OToole,
Wm. W. Frothingham, William S. Paddock,
Dennis B. Gaffney, Albert Gallup, Peter Gansevoort, F. W. Gibb, Stephen Groesbeck, William J. Hadley,
S. Paddock, Jr., Levi H. Palmer, William Parmelee, S. H. H. Parsons, George W. Peckham, R. W. Peckham,
S.H.Hammond, Dis.dtty Calvin Pepper,
Nathan Hawley, Ira Harris, Hamilton Harris, John E. Hermans, S. F. Hisgins, John J. Hill,
Calvin Pepper, Jr., John Percy, John K. Porter, John V. L. Pruyn, Robert H. Pruyn, C. A. PugsJey, Marcus T. Reynolds,
Julius Rhoades, A. D. Robinson, James R. Rose, James B. Sanders, M. Sanford, William C. Schuyler, George Scoville, Jacob M. Settle, S. O. Shepherd, E. J. Sherman, Cyrus Stevens, John C. Spencer, Samuel Stevens, Alfred B. Street, J. B. Sturtevant, Azor Taber, Cornelius Ten Broeck, A. Ten Eyck, M. Trotter, John J. Tyler, T. B. Van Buren, J. S. Van Rensselaer, S. D. Van Schaack, Teunis Van Vechten, Abraham Van Vechten, H. C.VanVorst,
C. C. Wasson, Robert D. Wasson. Wm. G. Weed, Robert H. Wells, J. I. Werner, Henry G. Wheaton, James M. Whelpley, A. D. L. Whipple, William D. White, Jonas Wickes, John Q. Wilson,
G. L. Wilson, E. S. Willett, Bradford R. Wood,
D. Wright, Recorder, Horace Wyman,
T. G. Younglove, Wm. A. Young.
DENTISTS.
J. C. Austin, Josephus Brockway, Jr., J. Monroe, Alexander Nelson, Robert Nelson,
David Newcomb, N. B. Sherwood, S. Van Namee, U. H. Wheeler. J. S. Wood.
Practicing Physicians.
37
PRACTICING PHYSICIANS.
James H. Armsby, William Bay, U. G. Bigelow, James P. Boyd, James M. Brown,
Carhart.
J. H. Case,
Edward H. Clark,
Mason F. Cogswell,
James Cox,
Dr. Curtis,
H. B. Fay, dims House. Physician,
D. E Fonda,
John 0. Flagler,
Samuel H. Freeman,
Edmund E. W. Gale,
Patrick Gannon,
C. C. Griffin,
Otto Heinsius,
John W. Hinkley,
Thomas Hun,
Abel Lyon,
James McNaughton,
Peter McNaughton,
Alexander McNaughton,
Alden March,
Nicholas Markey,
David Martin,
John V. P. Quackenbush,
Barent P. Staats, Peter P. Staats,
B. A. Sheldon, Rufus B. Spcrry, John Swinburne, R. H. Thompson, John F. Towrnsend, John H. Trotter, Peter Van Buren, John Van Buren, Peter Van OLinda,
C. C. Waller, Peter Wendell, Herman Wendell, David Wiltsie, Joel A. Wing, William I. Young, E. D. Jones,
J. A. Paine,
Henry D. Paine,
Horace M. Paine,
J. M.Ward,
Noah S. Dean,
John Fondey,
Andrew W. Russell, }• Botanic,
William B. Stanton, |
Gerrit Westervelt, J
George Cooke, Lock Hospital,
Dr. Lacroix, Lock Dispensary.
Hom&opalhic,
ALBANY CHARTER OFFICERS.
The original charter of the city of Albany was granted by Gov. Don- gan, on the 22d of July, 1686, and the following persons were the first who officiated under the charter.
Aldermen.
Peter Schuyler, Mayor, Dirk Wessels, Isaac Swinton, Recorder, Jan Jans Bleecker, Robert Livingston, Clerk, David Schuyler, Jan Bleecker, Chamberlain, Johannis Wendell,
Lavinus Van Schaack, Adrian Garretse.
These were good substantial Dutch burghers, as their names indicate. The charter has undergone important alterations since that day, and the city councils are filled with the descendants of all nations and tongues upon earth. The succession of mayors from 1686 to 1848, will be found on page 25. The annual election takes place in April, and the follow, ing are the present city officers, who hold their places until April, 1349.
Richard Pretty, Sheriff, James Parker, Marshal.
Assistant Jlldermcn- Joachim Staats, John Lansing, Isaac Verplanck, Lawrence Van Ale, Albert Ruyckman, Melgert Winantse.
38 Officers of the City of Albany.
OFFICERS OF THE CITY OF ALBANY.
Clerk— L. D. Holstein.
Chamberlain — Christopher W. Bender.
Deputy Chamberlain— H. H. Hickcox.
Attorney— Hooper C. Van Vorst.
Surveyor— George W. Carpenter.
Assistant Surveyor — Samuel McElroy.
Marshal — Nelson Scovel.
Overseer of the Poor — Thomas Kirkpatrick.
Superintendent of the dims Hoiu>e — John Morgan.
Superintendent of the N. D. — David Benson.
Superintendent of the S. D.— Geoige H. Herbert.
Police Justices — John O. Cole and S H. H. Parsons.
Deputy Excise Officer- C. W. Bender.
Superintendent of the Markets — Jacob Featherly.
Chief Engineer of the Fire Department — James P. Gould.
dssiitant Engineers — P. B. Leddy, J. Parker. S. P. Winne, R. J. Grant, G. W. Burdick.
dims House Physician — Henry B. Fay.
City Physicians— 1st district, James M. Brown; 2d, John Swinburne; 3d, Alexander W. McNaughton; 4ih, Alfred Clark; 5th; B. A. Sheldon.
Police Constables — George Brainard, EJisha Mack 3d, Thomas Cowell, Charles Phillips, B. B. Whalen, Robert Nixon.
Ciiy Inspectors — 1st and 2d wards, John Milliman; 3d and 4th, Wm. Leggat; 5ih and 6th, Harmon G. Wynkoop; 7th and 8th, S.V. A. Hilton} 9th and 10th, Richard Bygate.
Captains cf the Night Police — John Vandervolgen, Absalom Sharp, Henry Poltenburgh, Levi Ewing, John N. Parker, Walter Coleman.
Assistant Captains — James L. Coley, Nicholas W. Groot, William F, Peacock, Henry Hubbell, Royall Thompson, Joseph Coughlry.
Inspector of Weights and Measures — Paul C. Barney.
Fence Viewers — John Morgan, Barent Sanders,.
Receiver of Taxes — H. H. Hickcox, deputy chamberlain.
Supervisors— 1st ward. Richard Parr; 2d, Matthew McMahon; 3d, J, Hurdis; 4th, Franklin Townsend; 5th, Wm. White; 6th, Samuel Pruyn; 7th, George W. Welch; 8lh, Oliver Wallace; 7th, James A. Tiemere; 10th, Adam Van Allen.
Assessors — 1st ward. Philip Foy; 2d, Abraham M. Purdy; 3d, James P. Gould; 4th, Cyrus L. Woodruff: 5th, Levi Chapman; 6th, Garret L. Winne; 7th, Josiah Patterson; 8th, Myers Henderer; 9th, Sylvester Rathbone; 10th, Job R. Borden.
Ward Constables — 1st ward, John McDonald ; 2d, John Kinney ; 3d, Daniel Van Buskirk; 4th, Amos Dodge; 5th, John R. Peacock; 6th, Ar- chibald Thompson ; 7th, Samuel Winchester; 8th, FiancisBray; 9th, William Pearcey; 10th, S V. R. Braytcn.
School Commissioners — Gerrit V. S. Bleecker, John O. Cole, John Simpson, Eli Perry, Henry B. Haswell, John O. Flagler, James Maherj George W. Carpenter, Thomas Me Elroy.
• Justices of the Justices' Court — Abraham Morrell, Conrad A. Ten Eyck, David Russell; David Kussell, clerk.
Harbor Master — Thomas Hillson, Jr.
Dock Matter — John L. Hyatt.
U. S. Collector of Customs— Albert Gallup.
Common Council and Standing Committees.
COMMON
John Taylor, Mayor. Deodatus Wright, Recorder. 1st ward — Wm. L. Osborn,
Lucien B. Laney. 2d ward — George B. Riggs,
John \V. Harcourt. 3d ward— Charles W. Godard,
Stephen T. Thorn. 4t h ward— George T. Ladue,
Abram Koonz. bthward — Henry Bleecker,
COUNCIL.
James McNaughton. Qlhward — J. A. Livingston,
Charles M. Jenkins. lihward — John Benson,
William Gillespie. 8th ward— P. M. McCall,
John Harrison. 9thward — William Gumming,
Richard H. Thompson, Wth ward— Michael Artcher,
Daniel E. Basselt.
STANDING COMMITTEES.
.Academies and Schools — Thompson, Gillespie, Godard. Accounts — Bleecker. McCall, Thompson.
.Applications to the Legislature — McNaushton, Harcourt, Bleecker. dims House — Artcher, McCall, McNaughton. Board of Health — Mayor, Recorder, McNaughlon, Laney, Riggs. Board of Magistrates— Recorder, Livingston, Jtnkins, Osborn, Har- rison. Cummins.
City Hall— Mayor, Recorder, Harrison, Benson, Bassett, Artcher. Engines — Gumming, Harrison, Thorn. Fcrry-r-Thorn, Riggs, Lad UP. Finance — Jenkins, Lanev, Bleecker.
Flagging and Paving, Af. D. — Livingston, McCall, Bleecker. Flagging and Paving, S D. — Bassett, Laney, Koonz, Lamps — Koonz, Benson, Jenkins. Law — Recorder, Osborn, Jenkins. Levels — Godard, Harcourt, Cumminr, Markets — Ladue Gillespie. Koonz. Navigation — Godard, Harcourt, Ladue. Night Po/iee— Artcher, Osborn, Lad'ie. Police — Gumming, Harrison, Koonz. Streets— Bassett, Rigss, Godard. Wells and Pumps — Thompson, Gillespie, Thorn, — Livingston, McCall, Bleecker.
ALBANY GALLERY OF FINE ARTS.
The following gentlemen were elected trustees at the annual meeting held on the evening of the 1st of January, viz: John L. Schoolcraft, E. Satterlee, J. McD. Mclntyre, Dr. Herman Wendell, Wm. W. Forsylh, Orlando Meads, Dr. David Ncwcornb, James Kidd, Dr. J. A. .Armsby.
ALBANY EXCHANGE COMPANY.
Directors. — John Townsend, John O. Wilson, James McNaughton, Samuel Stevens, R. H. King, Andrew White, Friend Humphrey,
40 Incorporated Companies, fyc.
ALBANY WATER WORKS COMPANY.
The officers and trustees of the Albany Water Works are as fol- lows:
O. Meads, Treasurer. John Meads, Robert Boyd, Eli Perry, Wm. E. Bleecker, Deo-
datus Wright, recorder (ex offi- cio), Trustees.
ALBANY HYDRANT COMPANY.
The following are the trustees of this company for the year commenc- ing July, 1848. John Townsend. Erastus Corning, Watts Sherman, James D. Wasson, Rufus W. Peckham, John Taylor, John C. Spencer.
DE WITT CLINTON ENGINE NO. 2.
At an annual meeting of this company, held at their house, Dec. 23, 1848, the following were the officers elected for the ensuing year:
Wm. O'Brien, Foreman. Wm. Kilbourne, 1st Assistant. Peter Donelley, 2d Assistant.
James Jones, Clerk. Richard Waddy, Steward.
EAGLE ENGINE CO. NO. 7.
At a meeting of Eagle Engine No. 7, held December 27th, 1848, the following persons were elected officers for the enguing year:
Edward Stevens, Foreman. Julius Tremper, 1st Assistant. C. M. Beach, 2d Assistant. L. W. Murray, Clerk.
J S. Harrison, Steward. Edmund Stevens, T. A. Johnstone, Delegates to Fire Department.
NEPTUNE ENGINE CO. NO. 10.
At a meeting of Neptune Engine Co. No. 10, held at their house on the evening of December 22, 1848, the following gentlemen were elected officers of said company for the ensuing year:
Archibald Young, Foreman. Benjamin Turner, 1st Assistant. Sylvester Lawler, 2d Assistant.
Samuel N. Payn, Clerk.
Jno. Hayden, Steward.
Patrick McLaughlan, Treasurer.
ALBANY AND COHOES RAIL ROAD COMPANY, The following were elected officers of this company; M. T. Reynolds, John L. Schoolcraft, E. P. Prentice, James Edwards, Theodore Olcolt, Archibald McClure, James Kidd, A. White, C.F.Crosby, David Ha- milton, Egbert Egberts, Wm. N. Chadwick.
MOHAWK AND HUDSON RAIL ROAD.
Directors. — John T. Norton, Watts Sherman, Rufus H. King, Gerrit Y. Lansing, Edward C. Delavan, Harmen Pumpelly. H. H. Martin, Au- gustus James, Isaac Newton.
Office, — Dean streetj above Maiden lane.
Benevolent Societies, fyc. 41
FIRST GREAT WESTERN TURNPIKE.
Directors. — Gerrit Y. Lansing, Teunis Van Veehten, Gideon Hawley, John V. L. Pruyn, John Townsend, C. Y. Lansing, R. J. Hilton, Henry Bleecker, John T. Cooper, Jacob H. Ten Eyck, Robert H. Pruyn, \Vm. C. Miller, Stephen Groesbeek.
ALBANY AND BETHLEHEM TURNPIKE. Directors.— Marcus T. Reynolds, Rufus H. Kin?, Philip S. Van Rens- selaer, Wm. McHarg, Joel Rathbone. John V. L.'Prvyn, Robert Boyd, Ezra P. Prentice, George Dexter.
CHRISTIAN MUTUAL BENEFIT ASSOCIATION. Officers for the year 1849.
Friend Humphrey, President. Isaac P. Hand, Edward B. Slason, Vice-Presidents.
Thos. W. Valentine, Rec'g Sec'y. Wm. Tuton, Financial Secretary. Noah Lee, Treasurer.
Abram Kirk, Corresponding Sec'y.
Place of meeting, Sons of Temperance Hall, No. 7 North Pearl street, on the 1st and 3d Tuesday evenings in each month.
BOARD OF TRADE.
This association of dealers commenced business on tie 15th of May, 1848. The following are its officers:
William Chapman, President. Benj. C. Raymond, 1st Vice- Pres. Thos. Schuyler, 2d Vice-President. David H. Carey, Sec'y.
Rufus K. Viele, Treasurer.
Chas. Wright, M. H. Read, 0. N. Chapin, T. P. Crook, John Tweedle, Com. of Reference.
HIBERNIAN PROVIDENT SOCIETY.
On the 17th April, 1833, Jas. Halliday, Jas. Maher, Patrick Cassidy, William L. Osborne, Peter C. Doyle, Thomas Gough, Wm. O'Donnell, Michael Cagger, and others, were incorporated under the name of the Hi- bernian Provident Society, the avowed objects of which were charitable; " to create a fund by a general subscription among the members, which should contribute to their mutual advantage; if, by reason of sickness, they should at any time become destitute of the conveniences of life; and also to organize in one body a numerous class of Irishmen residing in this city, and to concentrate their moral energies, so as to bring fairly before the American people the republican features of their national character; that a number of individuals should combine and reserve a portion of the fruits of their industry, while enjoying health and happi- ness, for the establishment of a fund for their support, when overtaken by misfortunes or infirmities; especially, that a body of men who have been oppressed in their native land, by a despotic government, and who are influenced by the same associations and sympathies, and are led on by the same devotion in the path of freedom, should associate together for the purpose of vindicating their national character, and of procuring
42
Benevolent Societies.
for themselves, in a proper time, the privileges of American citizeas." The officers of the society for the year 1848, are as follows:
Patrick Grady, President. John Reynolds, 1st Vice-president. Joseph Clinton, 2d do. John Daly, Recording Secretary.
Michael Fives, Corresponding Se- cretary.
Richard Brown, Treasurer. Nicholas Markey, Physician.
ST. ANDREW'S SOCIETY.
This society held its 47th anniversary, on the 30lh of November last. It was organized on the 10th of October, 1803, and celebrated the na- tivity of its patron saint on the 30th of November following. At the first election of officers, the following persons were chosen; John Stevenson, president, Geo Ramsey, vice-president; Andrew Brown, 2d vice-presi- dent; Rev. John McDonald, chaplain; Dr. Wm. McCelland, physician; William Milroy, treasurer; Archibald Mclntyre, secretary; Peter Boyd, assistant secretary; and Daniel Cumming, Peter Sharpe, John Kirk, John Grant, George Pearson, Thomas Barker, Wm. French, John D. Cunningham, managers. It will be perceived that but one of the above is now left among us, but their names will be familiar to the older citi- zens. The avowed object of the society} was to afford relief to poor and unfortunate Scottish immigrants, without regard to religious or po- litical distinctions; and we are informed that its finances are in a very flourishing condition, and that a large amount is anually dispensed for benevolent purposes. At a meeting held at the City Hotel, on the 9th Dec., 1848, the following were elected officers of the Society for the en- suing year:
James Taylor, President. Andrew Kirk, 1st Vice President. D. D. Ramsay, 2d Vice President. Peter Bullions, Chaplain. James McNaughton, Physician. William Gray, Treasurer.
James Dickson, Secretary. Daniel Campbell, Assistant Sec'y. Alexander Gray, Peter Smith, Na«
than Algie, Hugh Dickson, Geo,.
Young, Managers.
MECHANICS' BENEFIT SOCIETY.
At the annual election of this Society, held on the 7th Aug., the fol- lowing persons were elected for the ensuing year:
Eli Abby, President.
W. A. Carr, Wm. Vosburgh, Vice-
Presidents.
Jas. A. Buckbee, Treasurer. R S. Cushman, Secretary. S. L. Hodgkins, Assistant Secrt tary.
J.W. Hinkley, Physician.
S. G. Mink, Alex. Selkirk, L. G. Hoffman, J. P. Wilson, Thos. E. Lee, T. M. Sulliff, J. H. Bowne, Oliver Houlle, Wm. A. F. Mo Nab, Wm. A. Rice, Stewards.
ALBANY SOCIETY OF BROTHERLY LOVE. This Society of Israelites, was incorporated by net of legislature, May 7, 1844, its avowed objects being charitable and benevolent, to afford relief to its members in case of sickness and infirmity. The persons named in the act oi incorporation, were Moses Schloss, Solomon Mark, Isaac Cohen, Lewis Sporborg, and Myer Stern.
Religious Societies, fyc. 43
ALBANY CITY TRACT SOCIETY.
The annual meeting of the Society, for the election of officers and di- rectors for the ensuing year was held on the 26th Oct., 1843.
Friend Humphrey, President.
Hugh Humphrey, Robert Boyd, R. V. DeWitt, LemM Jenkins, Wm. C. Miller, Wm. McElroy, Vice- Presidents.
Erastus H. Pease, Secretary.
Philip Phelps, Treasurer.
Alexander Folsom. Matthew Trot- ter, Austin H. Wells, T. S. Berry,
Geo. B. Hoyt, Walter R. Bush, Wm. N. Strong, G. W. Benjamin, Jeremiah Waterman, James B. Sanders, H. S. McCall, Daniel Campbell, Abram Kirk, Daniel Fry,G.C.Treadwell,T.R.Ra\Y- son, William Gibson, Rufus K- Viele, Directors.
ALBANY COUNTY Officers for 1848.
Rev. Wm. B. Sprague, D. D., Pre- sident.
Rev. J. N. Campbell, D.D., 1st Vice- President.
Rev. I. N. Wyckoff, D. D., 2d Vice- President.
Philip Phelps, Rec'g Sec'y.
Lemuel Jenkins, Cor'g Sec'y.
William C. Miller, Treasurer.
Rev. Ezra A. Huntington, D. D., Duncan Kennedy, D. D., William H Campbell, D. D., Henry N.
BIBLE SOCIETY.
Pohlman, D. D., F. W. Schmidt, Andrew Witherspoon, Luman A . Sandford. Thomas Armitage, J. W, Belknap, Messrs. Archibald Mclntyre, Rensselaer Weslerlo, Nathaniel Davis, Israel Smith, Daniel Fry, Abraham Keyser, George W. Benjamin, Managers. Rev. Dr. J. N. Campbell, Wm. C. Miller, Nathaniel Davis, Dan'l Fry, Ex. Com.
ALBANY COUNTY MEDICAL SOCIETY.
At an annual meeting of the Albany County Medical Society, held at the City Hall, November 14th, 1848, the following named persons were elected as its officers, viz:
James McNaughton, President. John Swinburne, Vice President.
B. A. Sheldon, Secretary.
C. C. Walker, Treasurer. C. C. Griffin, Librarian.
P. McNaughton, Jas. H. Armsby, U. G. Bigelow, J. H. Case, and David R. Burris, County Censors.
Richard H. Tompson, delegate to State Medical Society for 4 years.
ALBANY AND RENSSELAER HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.
Joel Rathbone, President.
D. Thos. Vail, Herman Wendell,
E. P. Prentice, V. P. Douw, Vice-
Presidents.
B. P. Johnson. Secretary. A. E. Brown, Treasurer.
Annual meeting in July.
Amos Bris:ss, S. E. Warren, J. M. Lovett, Wm. Bruswell, J. McD. Mclntyre, James Henry, William Newcomb, James Wilson, A, Osborn.
44 Military Companies.
ALBANY REPUBLICAN ARTILLERY. The following persons are the officers for 1848:
Edward Riley, 1st Lieutenant. Philip Guardenier, 2d Lieutenant. Michael Bennett, Orderly Serg't. Hiram Putnam, Geo. Fredenrich,
John Murdon, Sergeants. Wm. H. Guardenier, Joseph Baker,
CIVIL.
George Fredenrich, President. Joseph Baker, Vice- President. Edward Riley, Secretary. Jacob Fredendall, Treasurer.
MILITARY.
Jacob Fredendall, Captain.
John Guardenier, Edward Gre- gory, Corporals.
ALBANY BURGESSES CORPS. The officers of this company are as follows:
W. K. Whitney, Orderly Sergeant. J. Whalen, J. Hogan, F. H. Kee-
ler, Sergeants.
James Weed, John Duff, S. Wil- kins, R. Henly, Corporals.
CIVIL.
John F. Schults, President. Wm. H. Low, Vice- President. J. C. Cuyler, Secretary. S. W. Whitney, Assistant Sec'y. F. H. Keeler, Treasurer.
MILITARY.
Wm. J. Thomas, Captain. E. J. Lansing, 1st Lieuteuant. E. R. Brower, 2d Lieuteuant. C. Jordan, 3d Lieutenant.
STAFF.
Cyrus Stevens, Quarter Master. H. Van OLinda. Pay Master. J. F. Schults, Surgeon. Wm. Davis, Chaplain.
ALBANY EMMET GUARDS. The following are the officers for 1848-9:
CIVIL. N. Hussey, 1st Lieutenant.
James W. Morange, President. Wm. Dwyre, Vice-President. P. T. Hewett, Secretary. Mich'l O'Sullivan, Assistant Sec'y. P. Maher, Treasurer.
MILITARY. John Osborn, Captain.
P. H. Griffin, 2d Lieutenant. John Dunden, 3d Lieutenant. Thos. Kellett, Orderly Sergeant. P. O'Conner, M. Cassidy, J. Me-
Manus, Sergeants. Wm. Maloy, B. Cooney, J. Feeney, Michael O'Suliivan, Corporals.
ALBANY WASHINGTON RIFLEMEN. The following are the officers of this company:
CIVIL. Wm. P. Faff, 1st Lieutenant.
Wm. P. Paff, President.
Lochner, Secretary.
Fr. Shadelle, Treasurer.
MILITARY.
Chris. Triger, President.
Hen. Schweitzer, 2d Lieutenant.
J. Huber, Orderly Sergeant.
G. Lochner, Th. Hoffman, Dl.
Frederick, Sergeants. J. Ranseler, Wrn. Smite, J. Roshe,
J. Bahmer, Corporals.
Odd Fellows — Sons of Temperance — Masons. 45
1. 0. OF 0. F.
American No. 32, Wednesday evening, at Cooper's Building.
City Degree No. 11, Tuesday evening, Broadway, cor. Steuben.
City Philanthropic No. 5, Fiiday evening, at Cooper's Building.
Clinton No. 7, Monday evening, corner of Broadway and Steuben.
En-Hakkore Encampment No. 5, meets on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month, at Cooper's Building.
Excelsior Degree No. 15, meets on the first and third Fridays of each month, at Odd Fellow's Hall, corner of Green and Beaver.
Fireman's No. 19, Friday evening, Odd Fellow's Hall, corner of Green and Beaver.
German Colonial No. 16, Monday evening, Odd Fellow's Hall, corner of Green and Beaver.
Herman's Degree No. 31, meets first and third Wednesdays of each month, in Church, near Ferry.
Hope Lodge No. 3, meets Tuesday evening, at Cooper's Building.
Mount Carmel No. 349, Thursday evening, Church, near Ferry.
Mount Hermon No. 38, Monday evening, Church, near Ferry.
New York Encampment No. 1, meets on the first and third Satur- days of each month, nl Cooper's Building.
Phoenix No. 41, Tuesday evening, Odd Fellows' Hall, cor. Green and Beaver.
Samaritan No. 93, Monday evening, at Cooper's Building.
Scho-negh-ta-da No. 356, Thursday eve., Broadway, cor. Steuben.
Union No. 8, Thursday evening, at Cooper's Building.
SONS OF TEMPERANCE.
Albany Division No. 24, meets Monday evening, at Hall in State. Clinton No. 76, Thursday evening, at Commercial Building. Eagle No. 306, Thursday evening, at No. 3 North Pearl. Empire Temple No. 33, Friday evening, at Commercial Building. En Hakkore No. 129, Wednesday evening, at No. 7 North Pearl. Fort Orange No. 187, Thursday evening, at No. 7 North Pearl. Tivoli Temple No. 22, Friday evening, at S. of T. Hall, State. Mutual Alliance No. 130, Monday evening, at No. 7 North Pearl.
MASONIC BODIES.
Mount Vernon Lodge No. 3, corner of Broadway and Steuben. Master's Lodge,
Temple Chapter No. 5, St. John's Hall, Broadway, cor. Steuben. Temple Lodge, corner of Broadway and Steuben. Unitas — Concordia — Fratrum, Washington Lodge,
46 Custom House — Mohawk (J- Hudson Rail Road.
CUSTOM HOUSE.
ALBERT GALLTTP, DEPUTY COLLECTOR, 407 BROADWAY. The Custom House was established in 1833, and was thought by some persons to be a proper subject for a little ridicule. In truth the bu- siness of conducting it was not very arduous for the first year. There were then but two vessels trading regularly to Boston, namely the schooner Visscher and sloop George Washington, owned by Davis & Centre, whereas now there are above a hundred. Besides, there are several lines of steam propellers trading to different ports, which have come on the river quite recently, of which we believe the Mohawk was the pioneer. There is a line of steam packets between Albany and Hartford, doing a brisk business, and another to Philadelphia. One has recently been established between this city and New London and Norwich. And when it is considered what an enormous quantity of freight is taken overland by the rail road, it is remarkable that the packet business should increase so rapidly. Mr. William Seymour was the first collector, and the first license entered on his book is under the date of July 12, 1833. Afier this became a port of entry, the government made en appropriation for the improvement of the navigation of the river. It was contemplated to carry a dyke up from a point 25 miles below the head of tide water, at an estimated cost of $860,000, which would effect* ually relieve the channel of the bars that now obstruct it, and relieve the business men scattered over an immense region of country of the vex- ations and embarrassments caused in various ways by the daily detention of vessels. The dyke was constructed a part of the distance contem- plated, and there abandoned. But it was of great advantage to our com- merce, enabling schooners of over 200 tons to reach the city, and steam boats of far greater tonnage make their regular trips at low water, The dyke however is fast going to ruin. A few hundred dollars would have repaired the first breach, but it will now require many thousands, and public attention will probably be effectualiy aroused to remedy the evil only by some unexpected and overwhelming calamity, arising from the neglect. But a part of the vessels trading to this port are registered here; hence the whole number registered~since the first January 1841, does not much exceed 500. The Rochester steam boat is the largest vessel licensed at our port, being nearly 500 tons. The vessel of the largest tonnage that arrives here is the steam boat Isaac Newton, of about 1,300 tons.
MOHAWK AND HUDSON RAIL ROAD.
This was one of the first rail roads constructed in the state. On the 17th April, 1826, Stephen Van Rensselaer, George W. Featherstone- haunh, and others received a charter from the state, for the purpose of constructing a rail road between the Mohawk nnd Hudson rivers; the capital stock was fixed at $300,000, with permission to increase it to $500,000, or about $31,000 per mile, and the time for completins the road was. limited to six years. The work was commenced in 1830, and %
Mohawk §• Hudson Rail Road. 47
double track completed in 1333. It was originally constructed with an inclined plane at each end of the road; the one ai Albany a little more than hall' a mile in length, and both of them having a rise of 1 loot in 18. The road was laid out 15' miles in length, 6 of which were at a level, and the rest of it, with the exception of the two inclined planes, had an ascending giade of about 1 foot in 250. The width of the excavations is 36 feel, that of the embankments 26 feet. The deepest excavation is 47 feet, and the highest embankment 44 feet. Greatest altitude 353 feet above tide water at Albany. Stone blocks were placed three feet apart, from centre to centre, laid on broken stone, and cross sleepers of wood rested upon them, 7 inches in diameter and 8 feet long, support- ing the timber rails, on which were placed iron bars, three- fifths by two and a half inches, with the upper corners rounded to 1£ inches width; and the width between the rails 4 feet 9 inches. When the road had been constructed in this manner, it was found to have cost $1,100,000, or upwards of $70,000 per mile, for the double track. The stock sold at one time for 30 per cent premium, but subsequently went down to 25 cents on the dollar, and the road in unskilful hands, was on the point of being abandoned. At this juncture some of our enterprising men took the matter in hand, bought up the stock, and with the assistance of a loan from the city corporation, set about a complete reconstruction of the road. The inclined planes were abandoned, and by a little more circuitous ascent of ihe rising ground at each terminus, and the use of heavy locomotives, it has become a popular and profitable concern. The company relaid the road with a heavy rail in part in 1843, and fully completed relaying it during the last season. The distance is now about 17 miles. On the 22d Sept., a train of three cars, filled with passengers by invitation, crossed the road from Albany in 30 minutes, and returned in 24 minutes, the speed being at the rate of 1 mile in 1m. 25s.. or 42£ miles an hour.
The following table shows the comparative condition of the company's operations in 1846 and 1847.
1846 1847
No. passengers, 174,653 229,401
Receipts from passengers, $92,194 $110,051
" freight, &c., 33,641 51,323
$125,835 $164,374
Repairs and running road, 41,766 60,310
Miles run by passenger trains, 45,357 49,674
" Ireight, &c,, 16,515 22,821
Cost of construction to Jan. 1 , 1847 $1, 472, 966
'* Jan. 1, 1848, 1,473,253
The receipts of the road in 1843 were $60,595; 1844, $89,882; 1845, $93,494. The receipts of 1848 were upwards of $175.000.
The road is fully equipped, as the company own six locomotives, thirty first class passenger cars, twenty-two second class passenger cars, ihiriy six freight cars, and thirty-four baggage cars. With good ma- nagement and economy the company was enabled to resume its dividends in October, 1847, nnce which it has continued to pay regular dividends, every six monihs.
48
City Income and Expenditures.
-5
*s
s
1
5
sss
sss §
b-VTo"
O O 00 <O C5 CO
§o o o o
O
o
<N O
s s§ss
oco o t-
oo o o o
^sfgf
o o o
SO CO o to
to"j^t-T
OOOO XQ O O O OS O O O
SSS 8888
S* o o^o" o o o
1-1 O O O
§o o O 00
o o to tcTt-Tj>*
<N o
«Tt^i^ «r
Sin 00
o to
00
o' o
ss
S8
ss
o o
GO
CO
I
5*
I
|
O Ot- •<* Tf CO O CO |
xO CO |
|
|
oo' oo |
Oi ^ CO OO Tf O iO CJ C^ C^ O O5 |
to s ^ |
|
t^ 1C Tf O O 00 O5 -^ |
? |
|
|
oo |
^ to oo ^ <N I"- OO OO ooo to S |
8 |
|
»-< ^}< |
9 |
|
|
<N C5 CO Oi •^ r}< OO 00 |
1-1 |
|
|
to" |
Ci O G^ O5 |
oi |
|
00 |
oc or- to to |
<N |
|
l0,^ |
CO |
|
|
O4 to C2 Csj 00 00 O (ft |
-*1 oo |
|
|
00 |
»* (N <N 00 O Cl OO O5 00 ^* O 00 |
i |
|
«-i CO |
^ |
|
|
-** •^t1 00 |
<N 00* CO* J^ »-i r^< |
(N o cT Tf |
|
r^ rf »rj oo O 00 00 <N |
CO O) |
|
|
CO 00 |
^ CO O5 CO |
oo |
|
coto~to"o |
aT |
|
|
J3 U |
||
|
"o |
.2 1 |
|
|
-» o ^3 O |
«£• "c o< |
|
|
o £'6 *r |
e J3 "^ G |
|
|
to'o o 1 1 s$ |^s.s |
For contingent e> all sums paid 1 government, . . , |
County Officers.
49
COUNTY OFFICERS.
Clerks.
Lawrence Van Deusen Martin Butts John C. IVIoore Francis E. Baillett Etienpzer B. Cobb I Matthew P. Bemus Green M. Tuthill Burr B. Andrews Charles H. Jones James Storm Samuel Hotchkiss Wm. McLaughry Joseph T. Adriance Moses Bristol Edmund T Williams Henry S. Brewster Stephen Wait Samuel C. Holden Isaac Van Schaack John C. Holmes Slandish Barry James G. Lynde John M. Hicks Lucian Clark William H. Whiting A. Scott Sloan John C. Nash Chester S. Brumley James Conner John Van Horn Patrick Mahon Vivus W. Smith Alex. H. Howell Albert S. Benton Herman Goodrich Jabez H. Gilbert Charles McLean Reuben D. Barnnm Abraham D. Snedeker Ambrose H. Sheldon Joshua Mersereau, Jr. Isaac A. Blauvelt Martin Thatcher Jas. W. Horton Silas H. March Stephen Maham Ebenezer Ingalls Paul C. Cook J. Wickham Case Matthew Decker, Jr. Moses Stevens I Norman Crittenden 'Benj. M. Hasbrouck IThomas Archibald Henry Shipherd Alex. B. Williams Munson I. Lock wood Abel Webster Russell R. Fargo
This and seme other lables are subject to important change?; they can only be given as they are at the time of printing,
5
|
Counties. |
Sheriffs. |
|
Albany Allegany |
Oscar Tyler Joshua Rathbun |
|
Broome |
Benj. T. Miller |
|
Cattaraugus Cayuga |
Alonzo A Gregory Joseph P. Swift |
|
Chautauque |
Jarvls B Hice |
|
Chemung |
Wm. Skellenger |
|
Chenango |
Wm. Church |
|
Clinton |
Harvey Bromley |
|
Columbia |
Jacob R. Hollenbeck |
|
Cortlar.d |
George Ross |
|
Delaware |
De Witt C. Thomas |
|
Dutchess |
David N. Seaman |
|
Erie |
Timothy A. Hopkins |
|
Essex | Norman Page |
|
|
Franklin | Benjamin W. Clark |
|
|
Fulton |
Daniel Potter |
|
Genesee |
John Sprague |
|
Greene |
Robert Fulton |
|
Hamilton |
Robt. G. Ostrander |
|
Herkimer |
Wm. I. Skinner |
|
Jefferson |
Walter Collins |
|
Kings |
Daniel Van Voorhis |
|
Lewis Livingston |
George Shepard Wm. Scott |
|
Madison |
Wm. R. Brand |
|
Monroe Montgomery New York |
George Hart David W. Erwm John J. V. Westervelt |
|
Niagara Oneida |
Franklin Spalding Lester Barker |
|
Onondaga Ontario |
Joshua C. Cuddeback Phineas Kent |
|
Orange |
Edward L. Welling |
|
Orleans |
Austin Day |
|
Oswego |
Alvin Laurence |
|
Otsego |
John Brown |
|
Putnam |
Wm. W. Taylor |
|
Queens |
Isaac Willetts |
|
Rensselaer |
Gilbert Cropsey |
|
Richmond |
Jacob M. Guyon |
|
Rockland |
Asbury De Noyelles |
|
St. Lawrence |
Josiah Waid |
|
Saratoga |
Thomas Low |
|
Schenectady |
John G. Van Voast |
|
Schoharie |
Tobias Bouck |
|
Seneca |
Hugh Chapman |
|
Steuben |
Henry Brother |
|
Suffolk |
David R. Rose |
|
Sullivan |
Neal Benson |
|
Tioga |
John J. Sackett |
|
Tompkins |
John P. Andrews |
|
Ulster |
Charles Brodhead |
|
Warren |
James Lawren |
|
Washington |
Daniel T. Payne |
|
Wayne Westchester |
George W. Barnard James M. Bates |
|
Wyoming |
Abraham Smith |
|
Yates |
Martin Holmes |
Surrogates. Lewis Benedict, Jr. Wm. G. Angel E. C. Kattel Rensselaer Lamb Jacob R. How Orton Clark J. W. VVisner S. M. Purdy Lemuel Stetson C. B. Dutcher Daniel Hawks Edwin More John P. H. Tallman Peter M. Vosburgh H. H Ross J. R. Flanders John Wells H. U. Soper L. Tremain John Dunham Ezra Graves L. H. Brown
A. B. Hodges Francis Seger Scott Lord James W. Nye Moses Sperry S. fielding, Jr. Charles McBean H. Gardner
0. S. Williams
1. T. Minard M. H. Sibley
B. F. Duryea H. R. Curtis O.H.Whitney Hiram Kinne Azor B. Crane Henry I. Hagner G. T. Blair
H B. Metcalf W. F. Fraser
B. G. Baldwin J. C. Hulbert S. W. Jones Demosthenes Lawyer
'J. K. Richardson David McMaster ,A. T Rose I A. Dimmick
C. P. A very Alfred Wells Wm. Masten
E. H. Rosekvans Joseph Boies G. H Middleton L. C. Platt VV. Riley Smith Andrew Oliver
50
Counties, Towns and Post Offices
ALPHABETICAL LIST of the COUNTIES, TOWNS and POST OFFICES in the State of New York, and the Distances of the County Towns from Albany.
|
ALBANY COUNTY. |
CATTARAUGUS CO |
Hanover Ripley |
|
ALBANY City fall's Mills |
Ash ford Machias |
Harmony Salem Cross |
|
Berne Helderbergh Bethlehem Knowersville |
Bucktoolh Mansfield Burlon Napoli |
Irving Roads Jamestown Sheridan |
|
Cedar Hill Knox |
Carrol ion New Albion |
Levant Sherman |
|
Clarkesville New Salem Coeymans New Scotland |
Chapelsburgh North Perrys- Cold Spring burgh |
Magnolia Silver Creek MAYVILLE 336Smith's Mills |
|
Coeymans Preston Hol- Hollow low |
Connewango Olean Dayton Otto |
Mina Stockton Nashville Union Ellery |
|
Cohoes Reidsville |
Delavan Perrysburgh |
North Clymer Van Buren |
|
Cooksburgh Rensselaervill |
East Leon Persia |
Oregon Harbor |
|
Dormansville South Berne |
East Otto Portville |
Panama Vermont |
|
Dunnsville do. Westerlo East Berne Watervliet |
Elgin Randolph ELLICOTT- Rice |
Poland Villenovia Pom fret Volusia |
|
Guilder! and Centre |
VILLE, 292 Sandusky |
Portland Westfield |
|
Guilderland Westerlo |
Fairview Seelyburgh |
CHEMUNG COUNTY. |
|
Centre West Troy |
Farmersville Sociality |
Baldwin Millport |
|
ALLEGANY CO. |
Franklinville South Valley |
Beaverdams Moreland |
|
Alfred Hobbieville Allen Centre Hume |
Freedom Ten Mile Sp'g Great Valley Tunungwant |
Big Flats No. Chemung Catharines Post Creek |
|
Almond Hunt'sHollow |
Hinsdale Mills |
Catlin Salubria |
|
Amity Independence Andover Little Genesee ANGELICA 256 INIixville |
Humphrey Versailles Kill Buck W'stHinsdale Leon Yorkshire |
Cayuta Seeley Creek Chemung Southport Dix Townsend |
|
Belfast New Hudson |
Little Valley |
ELMIRA 198 Van Ettenville |
|
Birdsall Nile |
CAYUGA COUNTY. |
Erin Veteran |
|
Black Creek North Almond Bolivar Oakland |
AUBVRN, 172 Niles Aurelius Nine Corners |
Fairport Wellsburg Martin's Hall West Cayuta |
|
Burns Ossian |
Aurora North Sterling |
CHENANGO CO. |
|
Canakadier Philip's Creek |
Brutus O \vasc o |
Bainbridge New Berlin |
|
Caneadea Philipsville |
Cato Poplar Ridge |
do Centre Centre |
|
Centre Almond Pike |
Cato 4 CoruersPort Byron |
Columbus N'th Norwich |
|
Centre hide- Porlageville |
Cayuga Scipio |
Coventry NORWICH 110 |
|
pendence Richburgh |
Conquest Scipioville |
Coventryville Otselic |
|
Centreville Rockville |
East Genoa JSemproniiis |
East Greene Oxford |
|
Clarksville Rushford |
Five Corners Sennet |
East Guilford Pharsalia |
|
Cuba Scio |
Fleming Sherwood's |
E.M'DonoughPitcher |
|
Eagle Short Tract |
Fosterville Corners |
EastPharsalia do Springs |
|
East Hill Spring Mills |
Genoa South Venice |
Geneganlslet Plymouth |
|
East Koy Wellsville |
Ira Springport |
German Preston |
|
East Pike West Almond |
Kellogsville Square |
Greene Sherburne |
|
Friendship do Clarksville |
King's Ferry Sterling |
Guilford SmithvilleFlats |
|
Genesee do Genesee |
Ledyard Summer Hill |
do Centre Smyrna |
|
do Valley Whitesville |
Levanna Throopsville |
King's Settle- S. Bainbridge |
|
Granger WhitneysVal- |
Little Sodus Union Springs |
mem S . New Berlin |
|
Grove Wirt ley |
Locke Venice |
Linklaen South Otselic |
|
BROOME COUNTY. |
Marlville Victory |
McDonough W. Bainbridge |
|
Barker OsbornHollow M>n1z ^eed^r1 B1NGHAMTON145, Port Crane | Montezuma WeslNiles |
Mount Upton WestLinklaen New Berlin White's Store |
|
|
Castle Creek Sandford |
Moravia |
CLINTON COUNTY. |
|
Centre Shawsville |
CHAUTAUQUE CO. |
An Sable Pe-as'eyville |
|
Chenango SoutliWindsor |
Arkwright Clymer |
KeekmantownPerry's Mills |
|
do Forks Susquehannah |
Barcelona Cljmer Centre |
Black Brook Peru [1G2 |
|
Colesville Triangle |
Blockville De Wittville |
Cadyville PLATTSBURGH |
|
Couklin Union |
Busli Dunkirk |
Champlain Retlford |
|
Corbetlsvillc Union Village |
Carroll Ellery |
Chazy Rouse's Point |
|
Harpersville Upper Lisle |
Cassadaga Ellicolt |
Clinton Saranac |
|
Kattelville ValloniaSp'gs |
Centre tther- Ellington |
Clintonville Schuyler's |
|
Lisle Vestal |
man Fluvanna |
Coopersville Falls |
|
Maine W. Colesville |
Charlotte Fredonia |
Ellenburgh Union Falls |
|
Nanticoke Whilney's |
Chautauque French Creek |
Farrell Place West Chazy |
|
New Ohio Point |
Cherry Creek Frewsburgh |
Mooers West PI alls- |
|
Niuevah Windsor |
Clear Creek Gerry |
New Sweden burgh |
in the State of New York.
•51
|
COLUMBIA COUNTY |
Attlehury North East |
WestMoriah Wilmington |
|
Ancram HUDSON 29 Ancram Lead Kinderhook Mines Livingston Austerlitz MaldenBridge' Canaan MellenviHe |
Barrytown do Centre Beekman Pauling Campbellville Peeksville ChaimingsvillePine P.ains ChesnutRidgePleasan! Plains |
\Vestport Woodwards- Willsborough ville FRANKLIN COUNTY Biingor F'rtCovington Belmont Franklin |
|
CanaanCentreAIoffet's Store '^">r _a,° val!^h do 4 CornersXew Britain ClintonHollowPo'KEEPSiE ,3 Chatham New Concord glove Poughquag do Centre Ne w Lebanon Crum Elbow Pulver's Cor- |
Bombay flarrietstown Brandon Hogansburgh Burke M ALONE 212 Chateaugay Merrillsville |
|
|
do 4 CornersNew Lebanon Claverack Centre |
jjover ners Federal Store Quaker Hill |
Constable Moira Dickinson S'thDickinson |
|
Clermont New Lebanon Copake Springs Elizaville Niverville Flatbrook N'thChatham Gallatin Smoky Ho! low Gallatinville Spencertown Germantown Stockport Ghent Stuyvesant Greenport do Falls Green River Taghkanic Harlemville Valatie Hillsdale W.Taghkanic Hoffman's Gate |
Fishkill Red Hook do LandingRhinebeck do Plains Rock City FreedomPlainsSalt Point Glenham Schultzville Hart'sVillage Shenandoah Hull's Mills South Amenia Hyde Park South Dover Jackson Cor- Sprout Creek ners Staatsburgh La Grange Stanford Leedsville Stanfordville Litharow Stormville Mabbettsville Tivoli |
Duane W. Constable EastConstableWestville FULTON COUNTY. Bleecker Mill's Corners Broadalbin Newkirk's Brocket's Mills [ners Bridge Newton's Cor- Caroga Northampton Cranberry Northville Creek Oppenheim Ephratah Osborn's Garoga Bridge Gloversville Perth |
|
CORTLAND CO. 1 Blodget'sMillsKeeney's Set- Cincinnatus tlement |
Manchester Union Vale Milan IBridgeUp'rRedHook VewHacken- Verbank |
Hoesville Riceville JOHNSTOWN45 Sammonsville Kingsborough Union Mills |
|
Cortlandville Little York |
sack Wellington |
Lassellsville Vail's Mills |
|
CORTLAND Marathon VILLAGE 140McGrawsville Cuyler Preble East Homer Scott East Solon Solon East Virgil SouthCortland Freetown Truxton do CornersUnion Valley Hartford Virgil |
N. Hamburgh do Hollow ERIE COUNTY. Akron Hamburgh on Alden the Lake Amherst Harris's Hill Angola Holland Aurora Lancaster Black Rock Morton's Cor- |
Mayfield West Perth GENESEE COUNTY Alabama Elba Alexander Le Roy BATAVIA 283 Linden Be rgen N o rt h Be rgen Bethany OakfieM Brookville Pavilion |
|
Homer Willett |
Boston ners |
Byron do Centre |
|
DELAWARE CO. |
Brant Newstead |
Corfu Pembroke |
|
Andes Middletown Arkville Moresville Barboursville New Road Bloomville North Harp- Bo vina e r>fi el d |
BUFFALO 325 North Boston Cheektowaga N'th Clarence Clarence Reservation Golden Sardinia Collins South Wales |
Darien Centre South Byron East Bergen Stafford East Bethany Stone Church E. Pembroke West Bergen |
|
BovinaCentre N'th Kortright Cabin Hill Pappakunk' Cannonsville Partridge's |
do CentreSpringville Uoncord Tonawanda East Evans Town Line |
GREENE COUNTY, Acra Lexington Athens do Heights |
|
Clovesville Island |
E. Hamburgh Wales |
Big Hollow Medway |
|
Colchester Pepacton |
Eden Wales Centre |
BushnellsvilleNew Balti- |
|
Davenport Roxbury do CentreShavertown |
Eleysville Water Valley P^vans Williamsville |
Cairo more CATSKILL 34 Oak Hill |
|
DELHI 77 Sidney |
Griffin's Mills Willink |
Cornwallville Palenville |
|
Deposit Sidney Centre |
Hamburgh Zoar |
Coxsackie Prattsville |
|
East Branch Sidney Plains |
ESSEX COUNTY. |
Durham Scienceville |
|
East Franklin S'th Kortright Franklin Stamford Hamden Stratton's Falls |
AuSableForksNewcomb Chesterfield Port Henry |
Kast Durham South Cairo East Kill South Durham E. Lexington Tannersville |
|
Hancock Tompkins Harpersfield Trout Creek |
ELIZABETH- Port Kent TOWN 126 St Armand |
Gny Head Union Society Greenville West Kill |
|
Hobart Walton |
Essex Schroon Lake |
Hunter W. Lexington |
|
Kortright West Daven- |
Kiskatom Windham |
|
|
Masonville port Meredith W.Meredith |
Keene Split Rock Keeseville Ticonderoga |
Leeds do Centre HAMILTON CO. |
|
DUTCH ESS COUNTY. |
Lewis Upper Jay |
A rietta Hope |
|
Adriance Amenia Union |
Minerva Wadham's |
Benson Hope Centre |
|
Amenia Arthursburgh |
Moriah Mills |
Gilman Lake Pleasant |
52
Counties, Towns and Post Offices
|
Long Lake Sageville |
LEWIS COUNTY. |
Parma Centre South Chili |
|
Morehouse Wells Morehouseville |
Brantlngham Lyonsdale Collinsville MARTINS- |
Penfield Spencerport Perrinton Sweden |
|
HERKIMER CO. |
Constableville BURGH 142 |
Pittsford Webster |
|
Cedarville Mohawk Cold Brook Newport Columbia Newville Crain'sCornersNorway |
Copenhagen Monterey Croghan Osceola Deer River Pinckney Denmark Stow's Square |
Riga Wesi Greece ROCHESTER WT. Henrietta Rush [251 West Webster Scoltsville Wheatland |
|
Danube Ohio |
Diana Turin |
MONTGOMERY CO. |
|
Dennison's Ohio City Corners Page'sCorners Devereux Payne's Cor- |
Greig Watson Harnsburgh West Leyden Houseville W'stLowville |
Ames Hagaman's Amsterdam Mills A nrif»cvill A TJall«vi!l<» |
|
East Schuyler ners [low |
Indian River West Martins- j p^P ' VrTna viii« |
|
|
Eatonville Payne's Hol- |
Leyden burgh |
Burtonville Minden |
|
Fairfield Pottsville |
Lowville West Turin |
Canajoharie Palatine |
|
Frankfort Russia Frankfort Hill Salisbury Germanflats do Centre HERKIMER 80 Schuyler Jlion Stark Jacksonburgh Starkville Jordanville VanHornsville Litchfield Warren Little Falls WestSchuyler Manheim W.Windfield do Centre Wil mot |
LIVINGSTON CO. Avon Mivonie Caledonia Moscow Conesus Mount Morris Cuylerville N'thDansville Dansville Nunda East Avon Portage East Spring Ridge Water River Road Fowlersville Forks |
Charleston do Bridge do 4 CornersPort Jackson Cranesville Root Flatcreek St. Johnsville FONDA 42 Salt Spring- Fort Hunter ville Fort Plain Spraker's Freysburg Basin Fultonville Stone Arabia Glen Tribes' Hill |
|
Middleville Windfield |
GENESEO 238 Scottsburgh Gibbonsville South Avon |
NEW YORK. Haerlem NEwYoRKl45 |
|
JEFFERSON CO. Adams North Wilna Adams Centre Omar Alexandria Orleans do CentreOxbow Antwerp Pamelia Bel ville do 4 Corners Black River Perch River |
Greigsville Sparta Groveland Spottswood do CentreSouth Avon HemlockLakeSpring Water Kysorville Union Corners Lakeville West Conesus Leicester West Sparta |
King's Bridge NIAGARA COUNTY. Cambria Olcott Chalmers Orange Port County Line Pekin Hartland Pendleton Hickory Cor- Porter |
|
Brownville Philadelphia Burr's Mills Pierrepont Cape Vincent IVtanor |
Livonia MADISON COUNTY. |
ners Ransom ville Johnson'sCr'k Revnales' Lewiston Basin |
|
Carthage Pillar Point Champion Piesis [la |
Bennett's Cor-Lenox ners Madison |
LOCKPORT 300 Ruyalton Locust Tree Somerset |
|
Clayton Point Peninsu- Depauville Redwood Dexter Robert's Cor- |
Bouckville Morrisville Bridgeport Nelson Brookfield New Wood- |
Middleport So Royalton MountCambriaWheatneld New Fane Wilsons |
|
East Rodman Rodman [ners Ellisburgh Rutland Evans' Mills Sackett'sHar- Felt's Mills bor [ners Great Bend Sanford'sCor- Henderson Smithville Hounsfield South Rutland Lafargeville Sterlingville Le Ray Stone Mills Le Raysville Stowell'sCor- Limerick ners Lorraine Theresa Lyme Three Mile |
Canastota stock Cazenovia No. Brookfield Chittenango Oneida Clockville Oneida Lake De Rtiyter Or.eidaValley Earlville Perryville East HamiltonPeterboro' EATON 103 Poolville Erieville Pratt's Hollow Fenner Siloam Georgetown Smithfield Hamilton Stock-bridge Lebanon Sullivan |
Niagara Falls Youngstown ONEIDA COUNTY. Alder Creek Kirkland Annsville Lairdsville Augusta Lee Ava Lowell Babcock Hill McConnells- Big Brook Marcy [ville Boonville Marshall Bridgewater NewHartford Camden New London Cassville N.York Mills Clinton North Bay |
|
Mannsville Bay Military Road WATER- |
MONROE COUNTY. Adams's Hanforcl's |
Deansville North Gage Deerfield N'th Western |
|
Millen's Bay TOWN 160 Nat uralBridge Wilna North Adams Woodville |
Basin Landing Brighton Henrietta Brockport HoneoyeFalls |
Delta Oneida Castle Durham ville Oriskanv East Florence do 'Falls |
|
KINGS COUNTY. |
Charlotte Irondequoit |
Florence Paris |
|
BROOKLYN 146Flatlands |
Churchville Mendon |
Floyd [nersParis Furnace |
|
Bushwick Fort Hamilton |
Clarkson Mumford |
Greene's Cor- Pine |
|
East New Gravesend |
do CentreNorth Chili |
Higginsville Prospect |
|
York New Utrecht |
Egypt O'Connelville |
Hizerville Remsen |
|
Flatbush Williamsburg |
Greece Parma |
H ol 1 and Patent Rome |
in the State of New York.
|
Sangerfield Verona |
ORANGE COUNTY. |
West Monroe West Wil- |
|
Sauquoit Vienna Sconondoa Walesville South TrentonWaterville Steuben West Branch Stokes West Camden |
Accommoda- Monroe tionville do Works Amity Montgomery Bloomingrove Mount Hope Bullville Newburgh |
Williamstown liamstown OTSEGO COUNTY. Burlington Otego do FlatsOtsego Butternuts Otsdawa |
|
Taberg Western Trenton Westernville do Falls Westmoreland UTIPA 93 West Vienna Vernon WHITES- do Centre TOWN 96 |
Canterbury NewHampton Chester New Miltbrd Coldennam New Vernon Cornwall New Windsor! Craigsville Otisville Crawford Oxford Depot |
Cherry Valley Pitlsfield Colliersville Plainfield CoopERSTowNRichfield Decatur [66 do Springs Sast Spring- Rose boom field SchuylerLake |
|
ONONDAGA CO. |
Cuddehackvill P .ilipsburgh Deer Park Poit J or vis |
3ast Worces- South p]dmcs- ter ton |
|
Amber Manlius Centre |
Edenville Riclgebury |
".dmeston South Valley |
|
Apulia Marcellus |
Farmingham St Andrews |
3xeter do Worces- |
|
Baldwinsville do Falls |
Finchville SalisburyMills |
^arrattsville ter |
|
Belle Isle Marietta |
Florida Scotchtown |
jilbertsville Springfield |
|
Borodino Mottville |
Gaines Slate Hill |
Martwick Unadilla |
|
Brewerton Navarino |
GOSHEN 105 South Middle- |
do Seminary do Centre |
|
Camillus Onondaga |
Hamptonburg town |
liaurens do Forks |
|
Canal do Hollow Cardiff Oran |
Highland MillsSugar Loaf Huguenot Turners |
Slaple Grove West Burling. Vlaryland ton |
|
Cicero Otisco |
Kendall Unionville |
Middle field West Edmes. |
|
Clay Plainville |
Knowlesville Walding |
do Centre ton |
|
Delphi Plank Road |
Little Britain Walkill |
Vlilford West Exeter |
|
De Witt Polkville |
Lyndonville Warwick, |
do Centre West ford |
|
Elbridge Pompey |
Medina Wells' Corner |
VTount Vision West Laurens |
|
Euclid do Centre |
Middle Hope West Point |
New Lisbon do Oneonta |
|
Fabius Salina |
Minisink West Town |
Daksville Westville |
|
Fairmount Skaneateles Fayetteville So. Marcellus Geddes So. Onondaga Hartsville Spafford Howlet Hill do Hollow Jack's Reef SYRACUSE 146 Jamesville Tully Jordan TullyValley Kirkville Van Buren Lafayette do Centre Liverpool Vesper Lysander Watervale Mandana Wellington |
ORLEANS COUNTY. ALBION 257 Murray Barre North Ridge- Barre Centre way Carlton Oak Orchard Clarendon Ridge way East Carlton Shelby East Gaines Shelby Basin Gaines South Barre Hindsburgh Waterport Holley ' West Carlton Hul burton, West Gaines |
Oneonta Worcester PUTNAM COUNTY. DARMEL 106 Milltown Hold Spring Patterson Doanesburgh Philips! own Farmers' MillsPutnamValley Haviland Hoi-Red Mills low South East £ent Towners QUEENS COUNTY. Astoria Jericho Buckram Manhasset |
|
Manlius Windfall |
Kendall \ ates TVTillxrill A |
College Point Merrick |
|
IVllUVlllC |
East NorwichNewtown |
|
|
ONTARIO COUNTY. |
OSWEGO COUNTY. |
Farmingdale North Hemp- |
|
Allen's Hill Naples Bristol North Bloom- Bristol Centre field Canadice Norton's Mills CANANDAT- Oak's Corners |
Albion Palermo Amboy Parish Boyleston Phoenix Butterfly Port Ontario Central SquareRedfield |
Flushing stead Glen Cove Oyster Bay Hempstead South do Branch Oyster Bay JAMAICA 158 Rockaway |
|
GUA 222 Orleans |
Cleveland Richland |
Jerusalem Roslyn |
|
Centrefield Phelps |
Colos.se Roosevelt |
South Syosset |
|
Chapinville Port Gibson |
Constantia Salmon River |
RENSSKLAER CO. |
|
Cheshire Reed's Cor's |
Fulton Sand Bank |
Alps Grafton |
|
EastBloomfielRichmond |
Gilbert's Mills Sandy Creek |
Berlin Greenbush |
|
Farminarton do Mills |
Granby Schroeppel |
Brunswick Hoag's Corner |
|
Flintcreek Rushville |Greenboro' Scriba |
Brainard's Hoosick |
|
|
Geneva Seneca 'Hannibal South Albion |
Bridge Hoosick Falls |
|
|
Gorham Seneca Castle Hastings do Richland |
Castleton Junction |
|
|
Hall's Corners South Bristol Hinmansville, Texas |
Centre Berlin Lansingburgh |
|
|
Honeoye Victor Hull's CornersUnion Settle- |
Defriestville Nassau |
|
|
Hopewell AVest Bloom- Kinney's4Cor ment |
Eagle Mills North Steven. |
|
|
Larned's Cor- field Mexico Union Square |
East Green- town |
|
|
ners West Farm- New Haven Vermillion |
bush Petersburgh. |
|
|
Manchester ington Orwell Volney |
East Nassau do 4 Corners |
|
|
do Centre .OSWEGO 167 West Amboy |
East SandlakePittstown |
Counties, Towns and Post Offices
|
Poestenkill South Scho- |
Ketcham Cor-Rexford Flats |
Ervvin Centre Pond Settle. |
|
Potter Hill dack |
ners Saratoga |
Gibson ment |
|
Prospect Hill South Steven |
Malta do Springs |
Goff's Mills Prattsburgh |
|
Ray merlon town |
Maltaville Schuylerville |
Greenwood Pultney |
|
Saudlake Tomhannock |
Mechanicsvill South Corinth |
Hammond's Purdey Creek |
|
Sc aghticoke TROY 6 |
Milton Stillwater |
Mills Rathboneville |
|
Schodack West Sandlak |
Moreau Visscher Ferry |
Hartsville Reading |
|
do Centre do Stephen- |
Mt Pleasant Waterford |
Haskenville do Centre |
|
do Lantl'g town |
North Galway West Charlton |
Hornby Shannon |
|
Stephentown Wynantskill |
Northumber- do Day |
Hornellsville South Came- |
|
RICHMOND CO. |
land do Greenfield |
Howard ron |
|
Castleton Southfield |
Pope'sCorners do Milton |
Hunter's LandSouth Dansvill |
|
Northfield Stapleton North Shore Tompkinsville RICHMOND 158\Vestfield |
Porter's do Whiteskle's Providence Corners Quaker SpringWilton |
Jasper do Hill Kenned ysville do Pultney Lindley Sugar Hill |
|
Rossville |
SCHENECTADY CO. |
Lindleytown Tlturston |
|
ROCKLAND CO. |
Braman's Cor.Mariaville |
Mt Washing-Tobehanna |
|
Clarkstown Orangetown Haverstraw Piermont Mousey Ramapo Nanuet RocklandLake North Haver- Scotland |
Duanesburgh Niskayuna East GlenvillePrincetown Glenville Quaker Street HoffmansFer-Rotterdam [15 ry SCHEXECTADY |
ton Towlesville Mud Creek Troupsburgh North Cohoc- Tyrone ton Urbana North Reading Wayne do Thurston"West Addison |
|
straw Tappantown |
SCHOHARIE CO. |
do Urbana do Greenw'd |
|
Nyack West Hemp- do Turnpike stead |
Argosville Gilboa 3arnerville Hyndsville |
Orange do Troups- Painted Post burgh |
|
ST. LAWRENCE CO. |
Blenheim Jefferson |
Palchin's Mills West Union |
|
Brasher Morley |
Bruckabeen Lawyersville |
Peltonville Wheeler |
|
Brasher Fa 11 Morristown |
Broome Leesville |
Pine Grove Woodhull |
|
Back Bridge Nicholviile CANTON 206 Norfolk Colton Oak Point |
Byrneville Livingstonvill Carlisle Middleburgh Central BridgeMorseville |
Pineville Wormleys SUFFOLK COUNTY. |
|
De Kalb Ogdensburgh De Peyster Oswegatchie East Pierpont Parishville Edwards Pierpont Edwardsville Pitcairn |
>harlotteville North Blen- Cobleskill heim do CentreRichmondville ?onesville SCHOHARIE 32 SastCobleskillSeward |
Amagansett Miller's Place Babylon Moriches Baiting Hollo'Mount Sinai Bellport New Village Bridghampton Northport |
|
Flackville Potsdam |
3sperei.ce Sharon |
Brookhaven Orient |
|
Fine Rackett River Fowler Raymondville Fullersville Richville |
?ranklinton do Centre "'ulton Sloanville Fultonhara Summit |
3entreport Patchogue Cold Spring Port Jefferson Harbor Quogue |
|
Gallupville Waldensville |
Uommack Riverhead |
|
|
Hammond Russell |
Gardnersville Wright |
Horam Sag Harbor |
|
Helena Shingle Creek Hermon Somerville Heuvelton South Canton |
SENECA COUNTY. ^anoga Seneca Falls Covert Sheldrake |
Cutchogue Sayville Dix Hills Setauket East HamptonShelter Island |
|
Hopkintown do Edwards Lawrenceville do Hammond |
Banner South Lodi ?ayette Townsendvill |
Fireplace Smithtown Flanders Southampton |
|
Lisbon Southville |
lunius Tyre |
3ood Ground Southold |
|
Louisville Stockholm Macomb Waddington |
L,odi Varick do Centre Waterloo |
Greenport Speonk HermitageDe- Stony Brook |
|
Madrid WcstPotsdam Massena do Stockholm |
DVID 197 West Fayette Romulus do Junius |
pot Success Huntington SUFFOLK 226 |
|
Matildaville Wrightsburgh SARATOGA COUNTY |
STEUBEN COUNTY. Addison Cohocton |
[slip Upper Aque- Jamesport boque Vtanorville Wading River |
|
BALLSTON 30 East Line |
Arkport Cold Spring |
Mattituck West Hills |
|
do CentreEdgecombe's Barkersville Corners |
Avoca Mills BATH 216 Cooper'sPlains |
Middle Island Yaphauk |
|
Bemis' HightsEdinburgh |
Bennett CreekCorning |
SULLIVAN COUNTY. |
|
Blenheim Fortsville |
Bradford Cossville |
Barryville Collikoon |
|
Burnt Hills Galway |
BrimmersvilleDansville |
Beaverbrook Fallsburgh |
|
Charlton Grangerville |
Cameron Doty's Corner |
Beaverkill Forestburgh |
|
Clifton Park Greenfield |
Campbell East Cameron |
Bethel Fosterdale |
|
Corinih do Centre |
do Creek do Canisteo |
BloomingburgGales |
|
Coveville Hadley |
do Town do Painted |
Bridgeville Glen Wild |
|
Day Half-Moon |
Canisteo Post |
Burlingham Grahamsville |
|
Dean's CornerJoiiesville |
Catoii Erwin |
Cochecton Hartwood |
in the State of New York.
55
|
Hasbrouck Purvis |
Rondout The Corner I South Butler West Wai- |
|
|
Liberty Rockland |
Rosendale Tuthill [South Sodus worth |
|
|
Lumberland Sandburgh |
Saugerties Ulsterville Walworth Williamson |
|
|
Monticello Thompson Mamakating Thompsonville |
Shandaken Warwarsing West Butler Wolcott do Centre West Camp |Westburgh |
|
|
Narrowsburg West Broak- |
Shawangunk do Hurley |
WESTfHESTER CO. |
|
Neversink ville |
Shokan Woodstock |
BEDFORD 130 Port Chester |
|
Parksville White Lake |
Southwick |
Cortland Poundridge |
|
Philipsport Woodbourne Pond Eddy Wurtsboroug' |
WARREN COUNTY. Athol Hyde |
Cortlandtown Rye Cross River Salem Centre |
|
TIOCA COUNTY. |
Bolton Johnsburgh |
Croton Falls Scarsdale |
|
Apalachin Nichols |
CALDWELL 62 Luzerne |
Dobb's Ferry Shrub Oak |
|
Barton OWEGO 167 |
Chester Pottersville (East Chester Sing Sing |
|
|
Berkshire Richford |
Chestertown Queensbury j Greenburgh Somers |
|
|
Campbell Sliawnee |
Glen's Falls Stony Creek Harrison South Salem |
|
|
Candor Smithsboro' |
Hague The Glen |
LewisboroughTarrytown |
|
Canfield's South Owego Corners Spencer |
Horicon Warrensburg |
Mamoroneck The Purchase Moringville Tuckahoe |
|
Factoryville Tioga |
WASHINGTON CO. |
Mt. Pleasant Verplanck |
|
Flemineville Tioga Centre |
Anaquascook Hartford |
New Castle Vista |
|
HalseyValley West Candor Newark West Newark |
Argyle Hebron Bartenviile Jackson |
do RochelleWestchester North Castle West Farms |
|
do ValleyWillseyville |
Buskirk's Kingsbury Bridge Lake |
do Salem do Somers Ossinsinsr WHJTEPLAINS |
|
TOMPK1NS CO. Burdett Mecklinburgh |
Cambridge LowHampton,Peeksville Whitlockville Centre Cam- Middle Gran- Pelham Yonkers |
|
|
Caroline Mott'sCorners |
bridge ville |
Pine's Bridge Yorktown |
|
do CentreNewfield |
Centre White North Argyle |
Plessantville |
|
Cayutaville North Hector |
Creek do Easton |
WYOMING COUNTY. |
|
Danby do Newfield |
Comstock's do Granville |
A ttio.i ATidi) !.•! in r\' |
|
Dryden do Lansing East Lansing Peruville Enfield Reynoldsville |
Landing do Greenwich %£*£ Centre N^hj'ava Dresden do Hebron Bennillgton do Sheldon E. GreenwichNorth White n.«.JuT Hn w«th*>rs_ |
|
|
do Centre Searsburgh |
Easton Creek |
,-,,. ,. , , |
|
Etna Seneca Groton Slaterville |
East Salem Patten's Mills Fort Ann Putnam |
Covington Orangeville |
|
Hector South Danby ITHACA 170 do Lansing Jacksonville Speedsville |
Fort Edward Salem Fort Edward SANDYHILLSO Centre Shusan |
Dale Perry Eagle do Centre Eist China Pike |
|
Lake Ridge Trumansburg Lansing Ulysses Lansingville Varna Logan Waterbury Ludlowville West Dryden |
Fort Miller South Argyle Galesville do Easton Granville do Granville Greenwich do Hartford Griswold'a West Hebron |
do Java Sheldon Gainesville Strykersville Genesee Falls Varysburgh Hermitage Vernol Java \VARSAW 303 |
|
McLean West Groton |
Mills White Creek |
do Village Wethersfield |
|
ULSTER COUNTY. |
Hampton Whitehall |
Johnsburgh do Spring |
|
Accord MarMetown |
WAYNE COUNTY. |
La Grange Wyoming |
|
Amesville Marlborough |
Alloway Marion |
YATES COUNTY. |
|
Beach Hill Milton |
Arcadia Newark |
Barrington Middlesex |
|
Bruynswick Modena |
Butler Ontario |
Benton Milo |
|
Esopus Napanock |
Clyde Palmyra |
do Centre do Centre |
|
Glasco New Hurley |
East Palmyra Port Glasgow |
Big Stream North Middle- |
|
High Falls New Palts |
Fairville Pultneyville |
Point sex |
|
Hurley Landing |
Galen Red Creek |
Branchport Penn Yan |
|
KINGSTON 98 New Paltz |
Huron Rose |
Dundee Potter |
|
Kyserike Olive |
Locke Berlin Salmon Creek |
Ferguson Cor Rock Stream |
|
Lackawack do Bridge |
LYONS 181 Savannah |
Italy South Milo |
|
Lake Hill Plattekill |
Macedon Sodus |
do Hill Starkey |
|
Lloyd River Side |
do Centre do Centre |
do Hollow West Dresden |
|
Maiden Rochester |
Marengo do Point |
Jerusalem Yatesville |
The longest day in Great Britain is 17 hours and 2 minutes. In the United States, it is only 14 hours and 50 minutes. The shortest day in Great Britain is 7 hours and 20 minutes, in the United States it is 9 hours and 10 minutes.
56 Stage and Mail Routes.
STAGE AND MAIL ROUTES IN OLDEN TIME. In June, 1785, a company of stage proprietors undertook to make the land passage to New York from Albany, " the most easy and agree- able, as well as the most expeditious," by performing the journey in two days, at 3d. a mile; but in the fall of the year, " for the ease of the passengers," the time of running was changed to three days, and the price raised to 4d. a mile, " agreeably to act of assembly." This was a chartered company, the legislature having in the above year granted to Isaac Van Wyck, Talmage Hall and John Kinney, the exclusive right " to erect, set up, carry on, and drive," stage wagons between Albany and New York, on the east side of the Hudson river, for a term of ten years, and restrained all opposition under a penalty of £200. They were to have at least two covered wagons, each drawn by four able horses, the fare was limited to 4d. a mile, and the trips to be performed once a week, under the penalty of the forfeiture of their charter. At this time the post office at Albany served not only for the adjoining towns, as Sche- nectady and Greenbush, but also for Orange and Dutchess counties, Cherry Valley, &c., and letters were advertised even for Vermont. By the post office arrangements of January, 1786, the New York mail ar- rived twice a week, Wednesdays and Saturdays. The post office busi- ness at this time could not have been very extensive, there being but two mails in the week, one from New York, and the other from Spring- field, which were so unimportant that for several years after the routes were called cross-roads in the government contracts, and terminated at the city. The communication with the neighboring counties and states was kept up by post riders, wrho met at certain points and interchanged letters and papers, and when the business was not sufficient to support them, subscriptions were raised for the purpose among such citizens as were interested in their continuance In 1789 a stage commenced run- ning from Platt's Inn in Lansingburgh, to Lewis's City Tavern, Albany, three limes a week, Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. The bill of
fare down and back was 4s.; fare one way 3s In 1790 a post of this
kind left Albany on Monday afternoon, and reached Schenectady the same day; was at Johnstown on Tuesday, at Canajoharie on Wednesday, at Fort Plain on Thursday, at Fort Hunter and Warrensbush on Friday, and arrived at Albany, on its return, Monday forenoon. The post to Vermont left the city on Monday evening, arrived at Pittstown on Tues- day, at Bennington on Wednesday, at Little White Creek and Cambridge on Thursday, at Tomhannic and Schaghticoke on Friday, and at Hoosic on Saturday. This was also the mode, and almost the only means, of
circulating newspapers at that day It was mentioned at this time
( 1790) , that the trade and commerce of the United States had been greatly benefitted by the regulations at the general post office, whereby the mail was transported five times a week between New York and Philadelphia; and the post master general had signified his intention to make the same arrangements between New York and Baltimore, at the beginning of the
next year In February, 1790, the legislature granted Ananias Platt
the exclusive right of running a stage between Albany and Lansing- burgh. Four years later, Mr. Platt, " grateful for public custom," un- dertook to run his stage twice a day from Lansingburgh to Albany and back. In the winter of 1795 he had increased the number of daily trips
Stage and Mail Routes. 57
to six. In the summer of 1796, the amount of travelling had increased so much as to employ twenty stages daily between Waterford, Lansing- burgh, Troy and Albany, averaging more than 150 passengers a day... .In 1791, the post master general was authorized by law to extend the post route from Albany to Bennington, Vt.; and the first mail reached that place on the 25th of March, the anniversary of the settlement of the town thirty years before. The printers complained of the careless and irregular manner in which the New York mail was carried. It appears that the contract required the mail to be carried but once a week, though the carriers generally took it twice, and thereby exceeded their con- tract It may be here remarked, that the length of all the post routes
in the state, is now, 1848. above 13,000 miles In 1792, by the act of
congress for extending post roads, and fixing the rates of postage, the mail route from Albany to Bennington was extended through the state of Vermont to the north part of this state on Lake Chatnplain; and a post road established from Albany through Schenectady to Canajoharie. The rates of postage on newspapers were about the same as they are now, with the exception of the odious three cent appendage. A post was established in the same year from Albany to Whitestown, as a pri- vate enterprise, which performed the route once a fortnight Several gentlemen in the Genesee country, established another to meet the one at Whitestown, by which a communication was opened between Albany and the far went. The latter post passed through Geneva, Canandar- qua, Canawargus and Williamsburgh. Towns were then few and far between. There were but 7 in Saratoga county, 3 in Herkimer, and 4 in Montgomery. Postmaster General Pickering's advertisements for contracts to carry the mails, also proposed to extend the post road w*st of Albany, " from Connojorharrie to Whitestown, and thence to Kanan- darqua." About the same time a private post was established from Niagara to the Genesee river, where it met the one previously mentioned, and interchanged letters and papers. By this means a chain of com- munication was opened through the whole extent of the state, and the Messrs. Webster in Albany received and forwarded letters gratuitously to every part of the country where there were no mails. Some one pro- posed this year to establish a line of stages from Albany to Whitestown, a project which the editor of the Gazette says, would have been ridi- culed at an earlier day, but which the great intercourse with the west- ern country might justify, and answer a valuable purpose, if the pro- prietors could succeed in contracting for the mail. In the spring of 1793- Moses Beal c> erected a stage," to use his own words, " for the accom, modation of passengers from Albany to Schenectady, Johnstown, and Canajohary, once a week." It left Albany at 6 o'clock on Friday morning, and arrived at Canajoharie the next day. The fare was 3c. a mile. It returned on Tuesday. He proposed to go occasional!) as far as Little Falls, if desired! The success of these enterprises embold- ened others; and we find that one John Hudson, inn keeper, established a line of stages to run between Albany and Schenectady, three times a week; and John Rodgers, of Ballston, ran a line from that place to con- nect with it, by which a regular communication was now first established for the convenience of those who visited the springs. The fare was 4s. to Schenei-tady; those who continued through were charged 3d. a mile. A still bolder scheme was undertaken, to connect the city with the val- ley of the Connecticut, by a line of stages to Northampton. Arrange-
58 Stage and Mail Routes.
ments having been made in the fall of the above year, a stage started from each end of the line on Tuesdays and Fridays, in the morning, and met at Pittsfield in the evening, accomplishing the entire route in two days. The proprietors, in their appeal to the public for patronage, re- mark, that the difficulty of extending a line of stages across the moun- tains, had always been considered insurmountable, but reflecting that such an establishment would complete the line of an expeditious and sure communication from " Portland, in the province of Maine," through a rich and flourishing country, to Whitestown, in the western part of the state of New York, a distance of upwards of 400 miles, they had de- termined to make the experiment. The fare was 4c. a mile. ... In 1794 the post routes from Albany, or centering in Albany, had increased to five, as follows, preserving the post master general's orthography. 1st. Form Albany to Kinderhook, Hudson. Clermont, Redhook, Rhine- beck, Poughkeepsie, Fishkill, Pickskill and Newr York, once a week. 2d. From Albany to Lansingburgh, Bennington, Manchester, Rutland, Middleburgh, Vergennes and Burlington, once a week. 3d. From Alba- ny to New Lebanon, Pittsfield, Worthington, Northampton and Brook- field, once a week. 4tb. From Albany to Kinderhook, Stockbridge and Springfield, once a week. 5th. From Albany to Scheneclady, Johns- town, Canajohary, German Flatts, Whitestown, Old Fort Schuyler, On- ondaga, Aurora, Scipio, Geneva and Kanandaigua, once in two weeks. A branch ran from Canajohary through Cherry Valley to Cooperstown,
once a week In January, 1795, Mr. John Hudson ran two stages, one
of four horses and the other of two, daily between Albany and Sche- nectady, and Ananias Platt soon after went upon the same line, making four trips a day. The fare to New York by stage this year, was re- duced to 3.£ 4s. ($3). It is understood that the price was usually $10. In the following year it was reduced to $6 in the summer; the fare from
Albany to Fort Schuyler was $2'50; to Whitestown. $3 In the same
year also (1796), the mails made the transit between Albany and Phila- delphia, a distance of about 260 miles, in three days, and from Boston to Philadelphia in four days, from Savannah to Philadelphia in thirteen
days The post roads diverging from Albany were further increased
in 1797, through northern towns. A list of the roads and distances in various directions from Albany, this year, was as follows:
ALBANY TO HARTFORD AND NEW HAVEN.
Miles.
Sheffield, 4
Canaan, 8
Norfolk, 6
Dr. Bid well's, 4
Phelps's (Green Woods) , 5
Austin's (New Hartford), 5
Case's (Symsbury), 7
Northington, 4
West Hartford, 5
Hartford, 4
Middletown, 15
New Haven, 23
138
Miles. Col.Visscher's and JohnStaats's
Greenbush, 1
McKown's, 4
Smith's 6
John Miller's 1
Kinderhook Plains, 4
Kinderhook Mills, 2
Buck's Tavern, 5
Spencertown, 7
Green river 5
Derby's, 5
Egremont, foot of Nabletown
mountain, 1
Cook's, 4
Baker's, in Gt. Barringlon ... 1
Stage and Mail Routes.
59
Carpenter's • Buck's
ALBANY TO NIAGARA. Miles.
Humphrey's Tavern, 2
McKown's, 3
Douw's, 2
Truax's, 5
Schenectady, 4
Groat's 12
John Fonda's, 12
Conally's, 7
Roseboom'sFer.(Can'joharie), 3
Hudson's (Indian Castle),.. .. 13
Aldridge's (German Flatts),.. 11
Brayton's, 13
Old Fort Schuyler 3
Whitestown, 4
Home (Fort Stanwix), 12
Whitestown to Laird's Tavern, 9
Oneida Castle, 8
Wemp's, 5
John Denna's, 7
ALBANY TO
Flatts, 5
Waterford, 7
Half-Moon, 6
Sti 11 water, 4
Ensign's, 6
Du Mont's Ferry, 8
Fort Edward, 12
Sandy Hill, 2
Fort Ann, 10
Skeensborough, 12
Dr. Smith's, 8
Miles.
Foster's, 5
Morehouse's, 6
Keeler's or Danforth's, 5
15 3
Goodrich's, 8
Huggins's, 4
Cayuga, v 7
Seneca, 3
Geneva, 11
Amsden's, 6
Wells's, 8
Sanburne's (Canandarqua),. .. 4
Sears's & Peck's, 13
Genesee river,
14
40
Indiantown Tonawanda,...
Niagara, 35
310
MONTREAL.
Burlington, 70
Sandbar, 14
John Martin's 14
Savage's Point, 6
Windmill " 6
Isle au Noix, 12
St. John's, 14
Laperara, 18
Montreal, 9
232
McKown's, 5
Strong's,
Schermerhorn's,
Lebanon Springs,
Pittsfield,
Partridgetield
Worthington
ALBANY TO BOSTON.
Northampton, 13
Belchertown, 15
Brookfield, 15
Leicester, 13
Worcester, 13
Boston, 44
Chesterfield," 7 177
Note. — From Worcester to Boston the country is almost one continued village, and houses of entertainment in no instance of two or three miles.
ALBANY TO NEW YORK AND PHILADELPHIA.
Greenbush.
McKown's. 4]
Smith's J Miller's,
Kinderhook, » 4
Claverack, 14
Livingston's Manor, 7
Swart's, 15
Kinderhook Plains, 4l|Rhinebeck, 9
60
Stage and Mail Routes.
Miles.
Staatsburgh, 6
Poughkeepsie, 11
Fishkill, 14
Nelson's (Highlands), ... 11
Peekskill, 9
Odell's, 10
Miles.
Conklin's, 12
Kingsbridge, 12
New York, 15
Philadelphia, 95
260
So little improvement was made in regard to speed, that in 1804 a line of stages commenced running between Albany and New York, which occupied three days in the journey, lodging the first night at Rhinebeck, and the next at Peekskill. The avowed object of this line was the ease of the traveller, who was allowed all the time requisite to make the pas- sage agreeable. As far as time was concerned, surely no one could de- sire to be longer on the road. Fare $8. The steam boats soon after this introduced a new mode of conveying travellers and the mail, with ease
and comfort to the passenger, and a considerable increase of speed In
1811 a line of stages was formed from Albany to Niagara Falls, which accomplished the journey in three days, at the following rales: from, Albany to Utica, $5'50; Utica to Geneva, $5; Geneva 1o Canandaigua, $5 75; and from thence to Buffalo at 6c. a mile. . . .In 1814 a line of stages was established by a Mr. Hicks, to run between Albany and Brattle- boro', to carry the mail twrice a week, but to make the trip between the two places in one day. It was thought the journey to Boston could be
performed with greater safety by this route than any other In 1818
a line of stages commenced running between Albany and Montreal, on the west side of Lake Champlain, transporting the mail three times a week. By continued gradations, Albany became the centre of a large amount of stage travel, which increased from year to year until about 1830, the dawning of the rail road era. Lines of stages diverged to every point of the compass, and its streets were thronged with vehicles de- parting and arriving at all hours of the day and night. There were several lines daily to Buffalo, to Montreal, to New York, and to Boston. There was a line to Boston by the way of Charlestown, N. H., one by Brattleboro', Vt., one by Greenfield, Mass., and one by Springfield, Mass , and one by Hartford, Ct. Besides these there were numerous less im- portant lines. The firms of Thorp & Sprague, and Baker & Walbridge, owned an incredible number of stage coaches, which were subsequently laid up on the completion of the rail roads, and other improvements in traveling, and many hundreds of worn out horses went to their rest. The glory of this business has departed; its tired horses and tired men have been superseded by the iron horse, which never tires. Troy is now the seat of staging operations in this region; a few straggling lines take the northern routes over the mountains, and short lines penetrate sections of the country remote from the rail roads. One line still occupies the route, over the Cherry Valley turnpike, terminating at Syracuse; through in 24 hours; fare $2'75, or thereabout. This route accommodates such as halt at by-places, or are a little doubtful of their entire personal sa/ety behind a locomotive. Mr. Joseph Webster, who is the veteran stager of the day. also traverses the Helderberg ridge with a six horse team, to Rensselaerville, and another line leaves the Clinton Hotel, keeping up a communication with Schoharie.
Routes of Travel. 61
PRINCIPAL ROUTES OF TRAVEL DIVERGING FROM ALBANY.
ALBANY TO TROY.
During the season of navigation there are three modes of conveyance between Albany and Troy, viz.:
1st. By stage which leaves the General Stage Office, No. 436 Broad- way, Albany, and the hotels on River street, Troy, half-hourly, from 6 A. M. to 7 P. M. Fare 12£ cents.
2d By steamboat, hourly, from the foot of State street, Albany, and the Steamboat Landins, River street, Troy. Fare 12£ cents.
3d. By the Troy and Greenbush Rail Road, hourly, from about 6 A. M. to 7 P. M., from the East Albany depot, and the east end of the rail road bridge, Troy. Fare 20 cents.
BETWEEN ALBANY AND BUFFALO.
Between Albany, Niagara Falls and Buffalo, there are several routes and modes of conveyance.
1st. By rail road to Sclvenectady, thence by rail road or packet boats running on the Erie canal.
2d. By rail road or canal to Rome, thence by stage on plank road and stearn boat, via. Oswego.
3d. By rail road, stage or canal to Syracuse, thence by rail road or canal and steam boat, via. O&wego.
4th. By rail road or canal to Rochester, thence by rail road, canal or steam boat.
At Ulica, Rome, Syracuse and Rochester, passengers can change from the cars to the packets or line boats, and vice versa, without any incon- venience. There are also many points between Schenectady and Utica, where a change may be made.
BY ERIE CANAL AND PACKET BOATS.
During the season of canal navigation, there are two daily lines of packet boats from Schenectady to Buffalo, navigating the Erie canal. Leave Schenectady for Buffalo about 9 A. M. and 9 P. M., or on the arrival of the morning and evening cars from Albany. Fare from Schenectady to Albany, by rail road, 50 cents. Leave Buffalo also about the same hours for Schenectady, arriving morning and evening in time for passengers to proceed without delay by rail road to Albany. At Lockport the packet boats connect with the cars running between Lock- port and Niagara Falls, and which connect with cars between Niagara Falls and Buffalo. Travellers who wish a more economical mode thaa by packet or cars, can travel by line boats, which afford good accommo- dations at a cheap rate. The usual charge for passage and board being about one and a half cents per mile, or one cent per mile without board. Line boats reach Buffalo from Albany in about seven days. Distance 364 miles.
5
62
Routes of Travel.
PACKET BOAT TO BUFFALO.
|
Stopping Places. |
a, o * |
5 o H |
Stopping Places. |
£< 0 £ |
ii "o H |
|
Port Schuyler, |
6 1 2 1 3 6 7 4 9 8 5 2 8 9 3 3 5 4 2 5 7 1 5 9 3 1 ! I 3 4 2 3 5 3 5 4 8 1 2 4 2 5 2 |
6 7 9 10' 13 19 26 30 39 47 52 54 57 66 69 72 77 81 83 88 95 96 101 110 113 114 117 125 127 129 132 136 133 141 146 150 153 158 162 170 171 173 177 179 184 186 |
4 1 5 1 2 6 6 5 5 4 6 1 3 5 4 3 2 2 1 1 3 3 4 6 10 2 3 3 2 5 4 6 2 1 4 4 3 3 3 2 7 7 12 8 1 3 |
190 191 196 197 199 205 211 216 221 225 231 232 235 240 244 247 249 251 252 253 256 259 263 269 279 281 284 287 289 294 298 304 306 307 311 315 318 321 324 326 333 340 352 360 361 364 |
|
|
West Troy |
|||||
|
Junction Champlain Canal, |
|||||
|
Port Byron |
|||||
|
Clyde, |
|||||
|
Lock Berlin, |
|||||
|
Lockville, |
|||||
|
Port Gibson • |
|||||
|
Fort Plain, |
|||||
|
St Johnsville, |
|||||
|
" Centre, |
|||||
|
Indian Castle . . . . • |
|||||
|
LittleFalls, |
|||||
|
Herkimer Lower Bridge... . " Upper " ... Frankfort |
Bushnell's " |
||||
|
Pittsford |
|||||
|
Billinahurst's Basin ...... |
|||||
|
thica |
|||||
|
York Mills, |
|||||
|
Adams's * ' |
|||||
|
Cooley's " |
|||||
|
Wood Creek |
|||||
|
Holley, |
|||||
|
Medina, |
|||||
|
Shelby Basin |
|||||
|
Kirkville, |
|||||
|
Manlius, |
|||||
|
Geddes, |
|||||
|
Belisle, |
|||||
|
Black Rock |
|||||
|
Peru, |
Buffalo, |
Routes of Travel.
63
BY RAIL ROAD.
Leave Albany for Buffalo and intermediate places about 7 A. M , and 1 and 7 P. M.; running through to Buffalo in about seventeen hours, and connecting at Buffalo with boats running to all ports on tlie upper lakes. Leave Buffalo for Albany about 8A.M., and 1 and 5 P. M., connecting with the morning and evening steam boats for New York, and cars for Boston, &.c.
|
Stopping Places. |
— o CM |
"5 £ |
i OJ e |
Stopping Places. |
OH O £ |
.2 o H |
1 |
|
17 |
It |
•50: |
j |
165 |
|||
|
Hoffman's Ferry, . . |
9 |
96 |
•75 |
4 |
169 |
||
|
Crane's Village, |
4 4 |
30 34 |
•90 1 00 |
Auburn, 26 miles,.. |
5 1] |
174 185 |
5-05 |
|
Tribe's Hill, |
5 ft |
39 44 |
1 15 •30 |
jSeneca Falls, Waterloo, |
5 3 |
190 193 |
|
|
Yost's |
6 |
50 |
45 |
Ga°e's .......... |
3 |
196 |
|
|
3 |
53 |
55 |
Genevq |
4 |
200 |
||
|
Palatine Bridge, — Fort Plain |
3 3 |
56 59 |
•65 •75 |
Oak's Corners, .... Vienna » |
5 3 |
205 208 |
|
|
9 |
61 |
85 |
Clifton, |
4 |
212 |
||
|
St John^ville |
1 |
64 |
90 |
4 |
216 |
||
|
East Canada Creek, |
3 |
67 |
2-00 |
3 |
219 |
||
|
Little Falls, |
7 |
74 |
2-20 |
Canandaigua, |
.3 |
900 |
|
|
Herkimer ........ |
7 |
81 |
2*40 |
10 |
?32 |
||
|
3 |
84 |
2'60' |
Fisher's |
4 |
236 |
||
|
Utica, 94* miles,.. . |
11 4 |
95 99 |
275 |
Railroad Mills,.... |
1 5 |
237 242 |
|
|
3 |
10? |
5 |
247 |
||||
|
7 |
1()9 |
Rochecter, 77 miles |
4 |
251 |
7-55 |
||
|
Green's Corners, ^. . |
5 |
114 |
Cold Water |
6 |
257 |
||
|
4 |
1IS |
Chili |
4 |
961 |
|||
|
Onei Ja . . • . . |
4 |
]99 |
Churchville ..... |
4 |
265 |
||
|
3 |
125 |
Wardville |
3 |
96* |
|||
|
3 |
]9S |
4 |
979 |
||||
|
3 |
131 |
Byron, |
4 |
976 |
|||
|
Chi ttpnan°po, |
9 |
133 |
Bata via, .......... |
7 |
283 |
||
|
Kirkville |
5 |
13S |
Alexander ........ |
8 |
991 |
||
|
]Vlanlius |
9 |
140 |
Attica 44 miles • • • |
4 |
295 |
||
|
De Witt |
^ |
145 |
Darien City |
4 |
299 |
||
|
Syracuse, 53 miles,. |
3 0 |
14S 150 |
4-25 |
Darien Centre, .... \|,Jcn |
2 6 |
301 307 |
|
|
fi |
156 |
Town Line |
4 |
11 |
|||
|
Hish Embankment, |
a |
159 |
6 |
317 |
|||
|
Half- Way House,.. Elbridse |
2 3 |
161 164 |
Cheektawaga, 'Buffalo i |
4 5 |
321 326 |
9-75 |
At a meeting of the superintendents of the several rail roads forming the line between Albany and Buffalo, in October, 1848, the following schedule was adopted, which went into operation on the 23d of that month.
64
Routes of Travel.
GOING WEST.
Leave Albany, ...... 7
Schenectady.. 8 Utica, ...... ..12
Syracuse,.... 3
Auburn ....... 4 15
Rochester,... 8 30
Arrive at Buflalo,.. .12 30 A. M.
P.M.
P.M. "
2 3
830 " 2230A.M. 230 " 9 " 1
P.M.
GOING EAST.
2 P. M.
730 "
1 15 A. M.
3
7 "
1230p.M.
1 30 "
P. M. (I
7 8
12 night, 250A/M. 345 " 9 '« 1 P.M.
9 P. M.
1 15A.M.
530 •'
7 15 "
1015 "
2 15p.M.
3 15 "
Leave Buffalo, 7 A.M.
" Rochester,.... 11 15 "
" Auburn, 3 20 p. M.
" Syracuse, 5 15 "
" Utica, 8 15 "
11 Schenectady,. .12 15 A. M. Arrive at Albany,... 1 15 " On the 1st of November, the fares on this line were reduced from $12 to $9-75. as follows: Albany to Schenectady,... $0'50|| Auburn to Rochester,... .. $250
Scheneclady to Utica, 2'25 Rochester to Buffalo, 2*25
Utica to Syracuse, ToOj
Syracuse to Auburn, '7511 Total, $9.75
It is understood that each train departs within half an hour after its arrival at each of the intermediate places mentioned in the above list.
DISTANCES FROM ALBANY TO NEW YORK,
ON THE HUDSON RIVER.
Overslaugh, 3
Castleton, 8
Schodack Landing, 10(
Coeymans 12;
New Baltimore, 14
Kinderhook Landing 18
Coxsackie, 21
Hudson, 29
Catskill, 34
Bristol, or Maiden, 43
Saugerties, 4-1
Upper Redhook, 45
Lower Redhook, 48
Rhinebeck, 55
Pelham, 6l|
Hyde Park, 65J
Poughkeepsie, 7li;
Milton, 75 j
New Hamburgh, 78; .
Newburgh,..: 84»'
New Windsor, 86
Cornwall, 88
Cold Spring, 91
West Point . 93
Culd well's Landing, 101
V'erplanck's Point, 104
Grassy Point, 106
Teller's Point, 1 10
Sing Sing 112
Tarry town,. 118
Piermont 121
Dobbs's Ferry, 123
Hastings, 125
Yonkers, 128
Spuy ten Duy vel Creek, 132
Fort Lee, N. J., 135
Man hat la nvi lie, 137
Bull's Ferry, N. J., 139
New York, 145
Routes of Travel.
|
ON THE Greenbnsh, |
EAST SIDE OF THE HUDSON RIVER. |
,. 76 |
|
|
10 |
Fishkill, |
89 |
|
|
Kinderhook .... |
. 20 |
99 |
|
|
25 |
Peekskill, |
.... 108 |
|
|
. 33 |
118 |
||
|
44 |
120 |
||
|
46 |
126 |
||
|
51 |
132 |
||
|
Lower Redhook . |
54 |
|Yonker<5 |
137 |
|
60 |
141 |
||
|
Hyde Park, |
70 |
NPW York. . |
154 |
|
ON THE Coeyroan*! . . |
WEST SIDE OF THE HUDSON RIVER. . 12 NTonr TTnrlow |
... 83 |
|
|
14 |
87 |
||
|
20 |
Walden |
90 |
|
|
Athene |
28 |
94 |
|
|
Catskill |
34 |
104 |
|
|
IMalden or Bristol |
43 |
109 |
|
|
Ulster . . . |
46 |
115 |
|
|
49 |
121 |
||
|
Kin^ton, . . . . t |
58 |
131 |
|
|
66 |
150 |
||
|
NewPallz |
74 |
174 |
|
ALBANY TO NEW YORK.
BY HOUSATONIC RAIL ROAD AVD STEAMBOAT.
|
Slopping Places. |
a, c cu |
1 H |
Stopping Places. |
« C I |
1 |
|
1 7 8 7 5 5 5 2 2 (3 7 2 3 7 4 8 |
l\ 16! 23 23 32 38 40 41 49 55 62 64 67 74 78 86 |
6 6 6 6 4 4 ,s 3 12 11 11 8 8 3 4 |
92 98 104 110 114 118 123 133 136 148 159 170 178 186 189 193 |
||
|
Schodack, |
New Milford |
||||
|
East Chatham |
|||||
|
Bottsford's |
|||||
|
West Stockbrid°pe, |
|||||
|
Black Rock, |
|||||
|
Sheffield |
Greenwich Point |
||||
|
N>w Rochelle |
|||||
|
Canaan |
Throw's Neck |
||||
|
Canaan Falls Village . ... |
I Hell Gate |
||||
|
West Cornwall, |
Blackwell's Island, |
||||
|
New York |
|||||
|
Kent, |
66
Routes of Travel.
DISTANCES FROM NEW YORK TO OREGON.
Miles. St. Louis, (shortest way, and
not by rivers,) 1, 033
Independence, 266
Blue, at Burnett's Trace, 520
Bigg Platte, 25
Up " 25
Up the same 117
Across the North Fork of the
same 31
(Jp North Fork to Cedar Grove 18
Up the same to Chimney,. ... 18
Scott's Bluffs, 20
FortLarima, 33
Big Sprine, at the foot of the
Black Hills,
Keryen North Fork,
Crossing of the same, 34
Sweet Water 55
Up same to the snow on Rocky
Mountains, 60
Main divide of the same,.... 40 Waters running to the Pacific
Ocean 2
Little Sandy, 14
Big " 14
Green river, 25
Down the same, 12
Black Fort of Green river,.. . 22
Miles.
FortBridge, • 35
Koag river, 35
Down same to the hills that
run on same, 57
Down same to the Great San- dusky 38
Partnith, first waters of the
Columbia, -,,.-» 25
Fort Hall, on Snake river,.... 58
I Partnith again, 11
I Cock Creek 87
jSolomon Falls, 42
i Crossing Snake river, 27
'Boiling Spring,
I Down the same to Fort Barse, 40
30 I Burnt River, 41
j Up the same 26
' Across to Powder to the Lame- pens, 18
Grand Round,
Utile river, over Blue Mount, 43
Dr. Whiteman's, 29
Walla- walla, 25
Dallas, 120
Fort Vancouver, 100
Mouth of the Columbia river, 120
Total, 3,440
The lime occupied in travelling the above overland, is about five months. The voyage by sea round Cape Horn, from six to eight months.
ALBANY TO KEENE.
BY STAGE
|
Stopping Places. |
Distance |
1 |
Stopping Places. |
Distance |
CJ |
|
49 |
2'25 |
88 |
3-75 |
||
|
6? |
2 75 |
Cambridgeport, |
88 |
4 00 |
|
|
66 |
3-00 |
Saxon River, |
93 |
4-25 |
|
|
70 |
3-50 |
Bellow? Falls, |
97 |
4-50 |
|
|
78 |
3 7o |
Walpoie |
4-50 |
||
|
Athens. |
82 |
3-75 |
Keene, .'. |
4-50 |
Clarendon,. . . . Shrewsbury,.. . Mount Holley,. Cavendish,. .. .
Second Route.
|
4-00 |
Chester, |
|
4 25 |
Bellows Falls, |
|
4-50 |
Walpoie, |
|
4-75 |
Kepnp. . |
4-75 5-00 5-00 5-00
Routes of Travel.
67
ALBANY TO BOSTON.
BY RAIL ROAD.
|
Stopping Places. |
a. £ |
eS § |
Stopping Places. |
a. B 51 |
3 o H |
|
Schodack, |
8 |
s |
North Wilbraham |
6 |
111 |
|
7 |
16 |
10 |
117 |
||
|
jj |
*>S |
Warren |
4 |
197 |
|
|
East Chatham, |
5 |
28 |
? |
131 |
|
|
Canaan, |
3 |
33 |
1 |
133 |
|
|
0 |
36 |
? |
136 |
||
|
State Line, |
•} |
3S |
5 |
138 |
|
|
n |
41 |
4 |
143 |
||
|
Shaker Village, |
3 |
46 |
9 |
147 |
|
|
Pittsfield, |
^ |
49 |
6 |
156 |
|
|
Dalton, |
3 |
54 |
6 |
16?, |
|
|
HinsJale, |
^ |
57 |
4 |
168 |
|
|
Washington |
3 |
6'? |
4 |
m |
|
|
Becket, |
q |
65 |
3 |
176 |
|
|
Chester Factory, |
7 |
71 |
4 |
179 |
|
|
Chester Village |
9 |
81 |
4 |
183 |
|
|
Russell,.... |
s |
84 |
4 |
187 |
|
|
Westfield, |
i |
qo |
9 |
191 |
|
|
West Springfield, |
9 |
100 |
? |
193 |
|
|
Springfield, |
fi |
102 |
5 |
195 |
|
|
Wilhrnhnm |
3 |
108 |
'Boston |
0 |
200 |
ALBANY TO SARATOGA.
BY BAIL ROAD.
Schenectady, 17; Ballston, 32; Saratoga, 39. Fare through $1'62. Leave Albany about 9AM. and 4 P. M Leave Saratoga about 6 and 11 A. M. During the winter season there is but one train, daily, be- tween Albany and Saratoga.
ALBANY TO BRATTLEBORO', VT.
BY STAGE.
|
Stopping Places. |
Distance |
I |
Stopping Places. |
Distance |
1 |
|
OR |
1 25 |
60 |
3 00 |
||
|
34 |
1 50 |
IBrattleboro, |
75 |
3-50 |
Routes of Travel.
ALBANY TO BURLINGTON.
BY STAGE.
|
Stopping Places. |
£ 2 |
o rt |
Stopping Places. |
c rt |
g |
|
E* |
pf. |
||||
|
Q |
Q |
||||
|
ino |
5-00 |
5'00 |
|||
|
110 |
7'00 |
||||
ALBANY TO HAVERHILL.
BY STAGE.
|
Stopping Places. |
Distance |
o3 1 |
Stopping Places. |
Distance |
S £ |
|
Pittsfield |
10^ |
5-75 |
Chelsea, |
136 |
6-00 |
|
Bethel, |
118 |
5-50 |
IfSfS |
6-75 |
|
|
Royalton |
J90 |
5 25 |
Haverhillj |
IfiO |
7-00 |
|
Sherburn, |
100 |
Second 14-75 |
Route. |
im |
6-25 |
|
Wood«tock |
ins |
5'50 |
h^s |
7-00 |
|
|
12S |
5-75 |
Leaves Albany Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, about 7 A. M., returning on alternate days.
ALBANY TO RUTLAND.
BY STAGE.
|
Stopping Places. |
Distance |
<u L i h |
Stopping Places. |
Distance |
8 £ |
|
19 |
1-00 |
63 |
3-00 |
||
|
^Janibrid^e. |
31 |
T25 |
71 |
3-50 |
|
|
-Ifi |
]'75 |
79 |
3-75 |
||
|
54 |
2' 25 |
Rutland |
90 |
4-25 |
Routes of Travel.
69
ALBANY TO CANADA.
Summer Routes.
During the season of navigation, there are three routes to Canada.
1st. By rail road and the Champhin canal. By this route travellers go by rail road, via. Troy to the Borough, 18 miles; thence by packet boat to Whitehall. The packet usually leaves the Borough about 3 o'- clock, P. M., and arrives at Whitehall the following morning, in time for travellers to take the steam boats running to the various ports on Lake Champlain.
2d. By rail road and stage, via. Saratoga Sprinss. By this route tra- vellers can go from Saratoga, via. Sandy Hill to Whitehall, or through Glen's Falls to Caldwell, and hy steam boat 36 miles to the foot of Lake George, thence by stage three miles to Ticonderoga.
3d. By stage, via. Troy on the east side of the Hudson river.
We are indebted for some of the preceding tables to Miller's Eastern and Western Guide Book, published by the Merriams of Troy; a useful little work for the traveler, presenting tables of routes on all the great thoroughfares, and other necessary information, for twenty-five cents.
ALBANY TO WHITEHALL.
BY STAGE.
|
Stopping Places. |
cC _o £ |
"5 1 |
Stopping Places. |
(_ 0 £ |
1 |
|
Troy, |
6 |
6 |
Fort Miller, |
8 |
41 |
|
5 |
11 |
" Edward |
7 |
48 |
|
|
7 |
18 |
Sandy Hill . |
9 |
50 |
|
|
Stillwater . |
] 1 |
25 |
Glen's Falls . |
^ |
53 |
|
Schuylerville, |
4 |
33 |
Whitehall, |
18 |
71 |
|
B West Troy, |
Y Cl 6 2 3 8 4 2 2 5 3 2 |
-IAMPL 8 111 19 23 25 27 32 40 37 |
A1N CANAL. Fort Miller, |
3 3 5 2 1 5 4 4 8 |
40 43 48 50 51 56 60 64 72 |
|
Moses's Kill |
|||||
|
Waterford |
|||||
|
Mechanicsville |
Glen'-? Falls Fr |
||||
|
Stillwater Village |
Dunham's Basin ...... |
||||
|
Bleekcr's Basin ..... |
|||||
|
Wilber's " |
Fori Ann |
||||
|
Whitehall, |
|||||
|
Saratoga Bridge, |
70
Routes of Travel.
WHITEHALL TO MONTREAL.
BY LAKE CHAMPLAIN.
|
Stopping Places. |
5 |
|
Benson, Vt., |
13 |
|
Orwell " |
7 |
|
9 |
|
|
BridCTeport " ........ |
q |
|
Chimney Pt." |
6 |
|
2 |
|
|
11 |
|
|
7 |
|
|
7 |
|
3 I H |
Stopping Places. |
s £ |
'o H |
|
13 |
Burlington, Vt., |
14 |
82 |
|
90 |
|Porl Kent, |
10 |
92 |
|
94 |
15 |
107 |
|
|
?6 |
Chazy, |
16 |
123 |
|
35 |
q |
132 |
|
|
41 4S |
Iseaux Noix C.,. . . . .. |
12 19 |
144 156 |
|
51 |
La Prairie R R |
171 |
|
|
64 |
q |
180 |
|
|
6S |
ALBANY" TO MONTREAL.
Winter Route.
|
r |
QJ |
_i c |
|||
|
Stopping Places. |
5 |
E r* |
Stopping Places. |
a |
3 |
|
— |
— |
ta |
|||
|
5 |
Q |
||||
|
7q |
3'75 |
no |
6 75 |
||
|
Sudbury . . . • |
qi |
4 50; |
Burlin°lonj |
HO |
7-00 |
|
106 |
5-001 |
°30 |
14'00 |
||
|
117 |
5-75I |
The time of arrival and departure on all the thoroughfares vary at different seasons of the year, and the fare on all is subject to fluctuation on the packet and stage lines.
A TRIP TO NEW YORK IN '97.
It is mentioned in the papers of 1797, as an instance of remarkable despatch, that Col. William Colbreath, sheriff of Herkimer, left this city on Sunday morning, May 7th, on boarJ a vessel for New York, and returned on Thursday afternoon, llth, having in a little more than four days, including a day and a half he was in New York, performed a jour- ney of three hundred and thirty miles.
Public Offices, Buildings,
71
PUBLIC OFFICES, BUILDINGS, &c.
PUBLIC BUILDINGS.
Arsenal, cor. Broadway and Law
rence.
Capitol, head of State street. Geological Rooms, corner Slate and
Lodge.
Normal School, 119 State street, State Hall, op. Academy Park.
CITY AND COUNTY.
Albany Academy, fronts Academy Park.
Alms House, Lydius street cont.
City Hall, Eagle street, fronting Washington.
Jail, corner Eagle and Howard.
Medical College, formerly Lancas- ter School, Eagle street.
Penitentiary, Delaware turnpike.
Powder House, Washington Square.
PARKS AND PLACES.
Academy Park, op. Slate Hall.
Bull's Head Course, Troy road.
Canal Basin, fronts Water, Law- rence, Montgomery and De Witt.
Capitol Park fronts on Eagle and State street.
Cemeteries, Slate, above Knox.
Centre Market, corner South Pearl and Howard.
Clinton Park, North Pearl street
Glass Works Square, corner Broad- way and Ferry.
Hay Scales and'Yard, corner Plain and Philip
Hudson Street Park, corner Hudson and Liberty,
Little Basin, above first lock.
Lydius Street Park, cor. Eagle and Lydius.
Mineral Spring Garden, 58 Ferry.
National Garden, 770 Broadway.
Newton's Corners, Shaker road.
Rural Cemetery, Troy road.
Steam Boat Landing, Broadway, between Lydius and Hamilton,
Townsend's Park, junction Wash- ington streel and turnpike.
Washington Market, foot of Colum- bia street.
PUBLICATIONS.
Albany Argus, MerchYs Exchange. Albany Atlas, cor. Broadway and
Beaver. Albany Daily Express, Green near
Slate.
Albany Daily Knickerbocker, Mu- seum Building. Albany Evening Journal, corner of
James and State streels. Albany Freeholder, 34 Washington. A Ibany Patriot, Commerc'l Build'gs. Albany Spectator, 80 Slate street. Albany Switch, Beaver street. Busy Bee, Arbor Hill. Chrisiian Palladium, Commercial
Buildings. Cultivator, 10 and 12 Green street. Horticullurist, 10 and 12 Green st. Howard's Special Term Reports, 57
Hawk street, Mechanics' Advocate, Commercial
Buildings. Odd Fellows' Literary Magazine, 11
Cooper's Buildings.
TAVERNS AND REFECTORIES.
Albany and Troy House, 31 Dean. Albion Hotel, corner of Broadway
and Herkimer.
American Hotel, 100 State street. Beardsley's Hotel, 28 Washington. Boston Hotel, 15 and 17 Dean. Boston House, cor. Broadway and
Ferry.
Broadway House 505 Broadway. Bull's Head Tavern, Lydius st. Carlton House, cor. Stale and Pearl. Cily Holel, 23 Broadway. City Hall Coffee House, cor. Eagle
and Maiden Lane. 'Clinton Hotel, cor. Pearl andBeavcr. jConsres-s Hall, fronts Washington
street and Capitol Park. Cornucopia, cor. State and Green. 'Delavan House, fronts Broadway,
Steuben and Montgomery. Eagle Street Hotel, corner Eagle
and Daniel.
72
Eastern Hotel, cor. Broadway and
John.
Franklin House, 176 State street. Hudson Street Temperance House,
Lafayette House, 19 Montgomery. Lumbermen's Exchange Hotel, 192
Water.
Mansion House, Broadway. Marhle Pillar, under Museum. McCardle's, Beaver street. Northern Hotel, corner of Broad.
way and Orange. Otseao House, 74 Washington. St. Charles, Hudson street. Saratoga House, 719 Broadway. Stauwix Hall, corner of Broadway
and Maiden Lane. Washington Hall, South Pearl.
CHURCHES.
Baptist Church, First, Green street.
between Hamilton and Division. Baptist Church, Second, cor. North
Pearl and Maiden Lane. Baptist Church, Third, State street,
opposite the Capitol. Baptist Church, Fourth, South Pear)
head of Herkimer. Baptist Church, African, Hamilton.
Public Offices, Buildings, fyc.
Episcopal Church, Grace, Spring,
above Lark.
Friends' Meeting House, Plain st. Lutheran Church, corner. Pine and
Lodge. Lutheran Church, German, State
near Swan. Methodist Episcopal Church, first,
Hudson, above Grand. Methodist Episcopal Church, second
North Pearl, above Columbia. Methodii-t Episcopal Church, third,
corner Ferry and Franklin. Methodist Episcopal Church, fourth,
corner Washington and Swan. Methodist Episcopal Church, fifth,
Swan, between Lumber & Third. Methodist African Church, State,
rear of District School IS'o. 2. Methodist Epis. Israel Church, Jef- ferson, above Eagle. Presbyterian Church, first, corner
S. Pearl and Beaver. Presbyterian Church, sec'd Chapel,
above Maiden Lane. Presbyterian Church, third, North
Pearl, opposite Clinton Square. Presbyterian Church, fourth, Broad- way, above Spencer. Presbyterian Church, Associate,
above Pearl. corner Chapel and Canal.
Bethel, Montgomery street. jSynasogue, Fulton street.
Cath.j.ic v ailiedial, cor. of Lydius Synagogue, Rose street.
an ' Kn^'e. (Unitarian Church, Division street.
Catholic, St. Mary's, corner Chapel. Universalist Church, Green, below
and Pine. I Hamilton.
Catholic, St. John's, Ferry street. | Catholic, St. Joseph's, corner North MISCELLANEOUS.
Pearl and Lumber. Catholic, German, corner Hamilton
and Philip. Dutch Reformed Church, first, cor.
Van Schaick and North Pearl. Dutch Reformed Church, second,
Beaver, above Green. Dutch Reformed Church, third, cor.
Ferry and Green. Episcopal Church, St. Peter's, cor.
State and Lodge. Episcopal Church, St. Paul's, South
Pearl, below Beaver. Episcopal Church, Trinity, Broad,
below Lydius.
Albany Museum, corner State and
Broadway. Apothecaries' Hall, cor. State and
North Pearl. Atlas Buildings, cor. Beaver and
Broadway.
B eecker Hall, 531 Broadway. Blunt's Buildings, cor. South Pearl
and State.
Commercial Buildings, cor. Broad- way and Hudson. Cooper's Buildings, cor. State and
Green. Douw's Buildings, corner State and
Broadway.
Public Offices, Buildings,
73
Orphan Asylum, head of Wash. st. do. do. St. Vincent's, North Pearl near Lumber.
G allery of Fine Arts, No. 528 Broad-
way. Gas Co.'s Office, Bleecker Hall.
Water Works Reservoir, cor. Eagle Gas Company's Works, cor. Grand and Steuben. and Arch.
General Stage Office, under Museum.
OFFICES, ETC. Justices' Court, over Centre Market.
Adjutant General's Office, State Hall Magnetic Telegraph Office, Ex- Albany Apprentices' Library, 41; change Building.
Hudson. ! Mayor's Office, City Hall.
Albany and Boston R. _R. office, Mayor's Court, City Hall.
cor. Maiden Lane and Dean.
Albany Burgesses Corps, armory in Exchange" Building,
Albany City Bank, 47 State.
Albany Emmet Guards, armory No. 32 Green street.
Albany Institute, Academy Building
Albany Insurance Co., 56 State.
Albany Republican Artillery, armo ry in Atlas Buildings.
Albany Savings Bank, 38 State.
Albany and Schenectady R. R. of fice, Dean street.
Attorney General's Office, State Hall.
Bank of Albany, 42 State.
Bank Department, State Hall.
Baths, Norton street.
Board of Trade, meet in Exchange daily.
Canal Collector's Office, 193 Water.
Canal Department, Stale Hall.
Chamberlain, City Hall.
City Marshal, City Hall.
City Surveyor, City Hall.
Commercial Bank, 38 State.
Common Council, City Hall.
Comptroller's Office, State Hall.
Clerk Court of Appeals, State Hall.
County Clerk's Office, City Hall
County Treasurer's Office, cor. Steu- ben and Broadway.
Court of Appeals, Capitol.
Crier of Courts, 327 State.
Custom House, 407 Broadway.
Deputy Sheriff (Ferguson), cor. Pa- troon and Hawk.
Exchange Bank, Merchants' Ex- change.
Firemen's Insurance Co. cor. Green and State.
Mechanics' Benefit Society, corner
Broadway and Stale. Mechanics' and Farmers' Bank, cor.
Broadway and Exchange st. Mutual Insurance Company, 450
Broadway.
National Fire Insurance Co, 61 State New York State Bank, 69 State. Pension Office, Mechanics' and Far- mers' Bank.
Police Office, over Centre Market. Post Office, Exchange Building. Secretary of Slate, State Hall. Sexton 1st Baptist Ch. 65 Green.
do. 1st Dutch, rear chuich.
do. Lutheran, rear church.
do, 1st Methodist, 146 Lydius.
do. 2d Methodist, rear church.
do. 3d Methodist, basement.
do. Middle Dutch, 38 Beaver.
do. 1st. Presbyterian, 48 Beaver.
do. 4th Pres.. 118 North Pearl.
do. St. Mary's, 58 Chapel.
do. St. Joseph's, 188 N. Pearl. Sheriff's Office, Jail. Stale Agricultural Rooms, cor. State
and Lodge.
Stale Library, Capitol. Supreme Court Clerk's Office, State
Hall. Superintendent Northern District,
City Hall. Superintendent Southern Dislrict,
City Hall.
Surveyor General, Stale Hall. Surrogate's Office, Cily Hall. Under Sheriff, 73 State. Water Works Co.'s Sec. and Treas.,
442 Broadway. VoungMen's Association, Exchange
Building.
74
District and other Schools.
ENGINE HOUSES.
No. 1, 11 Chapel. 2,43 do.
3, Alms House.
4, 75 Grand.
5, 236 Washington.
6, cor. Hawk and Fayette.
7, 41 Hudson.
8, (burnt,)
9, (torn down,)
10, 10 Wilson.
11, 106 Arch.
12, Second St., Arbor Hill.
SCHOOLS.
Albany Classical Institute, Eagle, below State.
Albany Female Academy, North Pearl, above Maiden Lane.
Albany Female Seminary, 67 Divi- sion.
Albany Medical College, cor. Lan-
| caster and Eagle,
sClassical Institute, 7 North Pearl.
'Friends' School, 10 Plain.
|C. D, Marsh, basement Universalist
, church. Hook and Ladder, No. 1, 34 Plain. Miss Allison, basement Universalist
do. do. No.2,Patroonst. church.
Tivoli Hose, 32 Plain. Misses Beekman, 56 Westerlo.
Axe Company, Steuben street. Mrs. Brinckerhoff, 112 State.
Misses Cantine. 18 Van Tromp.
DISTRICT SCHOOLS. iMiss Cassidy, 63 Chapel.
No. 1, South Pearl, south of Schuy- Mr. Center, basement 3d Pres. ch.
ler. iMiss Collier, Hudson street.
2, State street, between Hawk Miss Crane, 125 Hamilton.
and Swan.
3, Van Tromp street.
4, Union, near Lydius.
5, N. Pearl, south of Lumber.
6, Junction, west of Perry st.
7, Canal street.
8, Lydius, west of Grand.
9, Cor. Ferry and Dallius.
10, Washington street, east of Lark.
Miss Kidd, 73 Division.
Miss Pierce, Franklin House.
Miss Skerritt, 4 High.
Miss Wood bridge, 46 South Pearl.
St. John's, cor. ^Dallius and Rensse-
laer. Wilbcrforce School, in rear of Dis-
trict School House No. 2, in Ches-
nut street.
GRAMMAR SCHOOL.
Frederick Beasly, John B. Romeyn, and John M. Bradford, clergy- men in Albany, made proposals to the city in 1806, for the establishment of a grammar school, l< of such a nature that it might be easily con- verted into an academy." The first step required by the proposers was a fund of $10,000.
LANCASTER SCPIOOL.
In August, 1810, the corporation had under consideration the project of establishing a free school, on the plan of Joseph Lancaster. As yet it is believed there were no public schools in the city. The society of mechanics had a number of years previously erected a building in Chapel street, called Mechanics' Hall, and maintained a school out of their own funds, but it is presumed that its benefits were chiefly confined to the children of mechanics. The building is now occupied as a piano forte manufactory.
Albany Academy.
75
ALBANY ACADEMY.
As early as 1804, a meeting of citizens was held at the City Tavern, on the 18th March, to take into consideration the expediency of institu- ting an academy. The Lieutenant-Govenor, Mayor, Chancellor, Rev. Eliphalet Nott, Rev. John DeWitt, and Messrs. Henry and Beers, were appointed a committee to report a plan of an institution. The com- mittee's plan was submitted at a subsequent meeting, on the 5th May, and approved. It was proposed to make the academy a reorganization of the city schools, by fusing them all in one. But the project was al- lowed to slumber until, in January, 1813, the common council made an appropriation for the establishment of a city academy, and a meeting of citizens to confer upon the subject was called at the Capitol, on the 28th of that month. At that meeting Archibald Mclntyre was appointed chairman, and a committee of fourteen was chosen to devise a plan of the future institution. The project of a male academy now began to be agitated in good earnest. The board of common council offered the lot in the public square which the Academy now occupies, and also appro- priated the amount that should be received from the sale of the lot and materials of the old jail which stood in the rear of the large building now occupied by the State Normal School, and which it was antici- pated would produce $12,000. In addition to this it was thought neces- sary to raise $30,000 by private subscription, to complete the requisite sum for erecting a suitable building and establishing a permanent in- come.
The institution was incorporated by the Regents of the University, on the 4th of March in the same year, at the instance of the corporation of the city, and appropriate grants were made for its endowment. The trustees named in the charter were Stephen Van Rensselaer, John Lan- sing, Archibald Mclntyre, Smith Thompson, Abraham VanVechten, John
76 Albany Academy.
V. Henry, Henry Walton, Rev. Messrs. William Neill, John M. Brad- ford, John McDonald, Timothy Clowes, John McJimpsey, Frederick G. Mayer, Samuel Mervin, and the Mayor and Recorder ex officio.
The building was commenced in 1815. On Saturday, the 29th July, at 4 o'clock in the afternoon, the corner stone was laid by Philip S. Van Rensselaer. The copper plate deposited on this occasion had the follow- ing inscription : " Erected for an academy, anno 1815, by the corporation of the city of Albany ; Philip S. Van Rensselaer, mayor ; John Van Ness Yates, recorder ; building committee Philip S. Van Rensselaer, John Brinckerhoff, Chauncey Humphrey, James Warren, and Killian K. Van Rensselaer. Seth Geer architect, H. W. Snyder, sculpt.'7
The Academy was announced to open on the second Monday (1 Hh) of September, under Rev. Benjamin Allen, of Union College, and Messrs. Neill, Beck and Sedgwick were the committee to receive applications for admission. The courses of instruction were temporarily commenced in the large wooden building on the southeast corner of Stale and Lodge streets, belonging to Killian K. Van Rensselaer, which was burnt in 1847. The faculty under which the Academy opened, consisted of Rev. Ben- jamin Allen, principal; Rev. Joseph Shaw, professor of languages; and Moses Chapin, (now Judge Chapin, of Canandaigua) tutor.
The Academy was completed in 1817, and the school opened in it on the 1st September. The courses of instruction have been regularly pursued to the present time, 1848. In August, 1817, the trustees ap- pointed Dr. Theodric Romeyn Beck principal of the institution, which office he resigned at the close of the summer term, in 1848, having oc- cupied with distinguished ability and universal satisfaction, a station which was far from being a sinecure, during the long period of thirty- one years. His resignation was followed by that of the whole faculty,