: ■CM \CO = (7> ICO = C0 = 00 ■[>• CO " I Hfek^M, Memorials of the Counties of England General Editor : Rev. P. H. Ditchfield, M.A., F.S.A. Memorials of Old Dorset ?45H xr» MEMORIALS OF OLD DORSET EDITED BY THOMAS PERKINS, M.A. Late Rector of Turnworth, Dorset Author of " Wimborne Minster and Christchurch Priory" ' Bath and Malmesbury Abbeys" " Romsey Abbey" b*c. AND HERBERT PENTIN, M.A. Vicar of Milton Abbey, Dorset Vice-President, Hon. Secretary, and Editor of the Dorset Natural History and Antiquarian Field Club With many Illustrations LONDON BEMROSE & SONS LIMITED, 4 SNOW HILL, E.C. AND DERBY 1907 [All Rights Reserved] TO THE RIGHT HONOURABLE LORD EUSTACE CECIL, F.R.G.S. PAST PRESIDENT OF THE DORSET NATURAL HISTORY AND ANTIQUARIAN FIELD CLUB THIS BOOK IS DEDICATED BY HIS LORDSHIP'S KIND PERMISSION PREFACE THE editing of this Dorset volume was originally- undertaken by the Rev. Thomas Perkins, the scholarly Rector of Turnworth. But he, having formulated its plan and written four papers therefor, besides gathering material for most of the other chapters, was laid aside by a very painful illness, which culminated in his unexpected death. This is a great loss to his many friends, to the present volume, and to the county of Dorset as a whole ; for Mr. Perkins knew the county as few men know it, his literary ability was of no mean order, and his kindness to all with whom he was brought in contact was proverbial. After the death of Mr. Perkins, the editing of the work was entrusted to the Rev. Herbert Pentin, Vicar of Milton Abbey, whose knowledge of the county and literary experience as Editor of the Dorset Natural History and Antiquarian Field Club enabled him to gather up the threads where his friend Mr. Perkins had been compelled to lay them down, and to complete the work and see it safely through the press. As General Editor of the series, I desire to express my most grateful thanks to him for his kind and gracious services in VII viii Preface perfecting a work which had unfortunately been left incomplete; and all lovers of Old Dorset and readers of this book will greatly appreciate his good offices. Few counties can rival Dorset either in natural beauty or historic interest, and it deserves an honoured place among the memorials of the counties of England. In preparing the work the Editors have endeavoured to make the volume comprehensive, although it is of course impossible in a single volume to exhaust all the rich store of historical treasures which the county affords. After a general sketch of the history of Dorset by the late Editor, the traces of the earliest races which inhabited this county are discussed by Mr. Prideaux, who tells of the ancient barrows in Dorset, and the details of the Roman occupation are shown by Captain Acland. Dorset is rich in churches, and no one was more capable to describe their chief features than Mr. Perkins. His chapter is followed by others of more detail, dealing with the three great minsters still standing — Sherborne, Milton, and Wimborne, the monastic house at Ford, and the memorial brasses of Dorset. A series of chapters on some of the chief towns and " islands " of the county follows, supplemented by a description of two well-known manor-houses. The literary associations of the county and some of its witchcraft-superstitions form the subjects of the concluding chapters. The names of the able writers who have kindly contributed to this volume will commend themselves to our readers. The Lord Bishop of Durham, the Rev. R. Grosvenor Bartelot, Mr. Sidney Heath, Mr. Wildman, Mr. Prideaux, Mr. Gill, Mrs. King Warry, and Preface ix our other contributors, are among the chief authorities upon the subjects of which they treat, and our thanks are due to them for their services ; and also to Mr. William Pye for the beautiful coloured frontispiece, to Mr. Heath for his charming drawings, and to those who have supplied photographs for reproduction. We hope that this volume will find a welcome in the library of every Dorset book- lover, and meet with the approbation of all who revere :he traditions and historical associations of the county. P. H. DlTCHFIELD, General Editor. CONTENTS Historic Dorset .... The Barrows of Dorset The Roman Occupation of Dorset The Churches of Dorset The Memorial Brasses of Dorset Sherborne Milton Abbey Wimborne Minster Ford Abbey Dorchester . Weymouth . The Isle of Portland The Isle of Purbeck Corfe Castle Poole . Bridport Page By the Rev. THOMAS Perkins, M.A. . . i By C. S. Prideaux . 19 By Captain J. E. Acland 28 By the Rev. Thomas Perkins, M.A. . . 44 By W. de C. Prideaux 62 By W. B. Wildman, M.A. 75 By the Rev. Herbert Pentin, M.A. . . 94 By the Rev. Thomas Perkins, M.A. . .117 By Sidney Heath . . 131 By the Lord Bishop of Durham, D.D. . . 145 By Sidney Heath . . 157 By Mrs. King Warry . 177 By A. D. Moullin . 187 By Albert Bankes . 200 By W. K. Gill . . 222 By the Rev. R. Grosvenor Bartelot, M.A. . . 232 XI :xn Contents Shaftesbury Piddletown and Athelhampton . Wolfeton House .... The Literary Associations of Dorset Some Dorset Superstitions . By the Rev. THOMAS Perkins, M.A. By Miss Wood Homer . By Albert Bankes By Miss M. Jourdain . By Hermann Lea . Page 240 257 264 273 292 Index 307 INDEX TO ILLUSTRATIONS Ringstead and Holworth Frontispiec {From a water-colour sketch by Mr. William Pye) Page, or Facing Page Bronze Age Objects from Dorset Round Barrows . . . 20 {From photographs by Mr. IV. Pouncy) Part of the Olga Road Tessellated Pavement, Dorchester . 38 {From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) Tessellated Pavement at Fifehead Neville .... 41 St. Martin's Church, Wareham 48 (From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) The Chapel on St. Ealdhelm's Head 5° (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) Brass to William Grey, Rector of Evershot .... 70 (From a rubbi?ig by Mr. W. de C. Prideaux) Sherborne Abbey . . (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) j6 The Entrance to Sherborne School 86 (From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) Milton Abbey . . (From a photograph by the Rev. T.Perkins) 94 The Paintings in Milton Abbey 95 Milton Abbey: Interior (From a photograph by Mr. S. Gillingham) 96 The Tabernacle in Milton Abbey „ „ „ 97 Abbot Middleton's Rebus 101 St. Catherine's Chapel, Milton Abbey 104 (From a photograph by Mr. S. Gillingham) Holworth Burning Cliff in 1827 106 (From a coloured print by Mr. E. Vivian) xiii xiv Index to Illustrations Page, or Facing Page LisCOmbe Chapel . .(From a photograph by Mr. S. Gillingham) \OJ Milton Abbey in the year 1733 no (From an engraving by Messrs. S. and N. Buck) The Seal of the Town of Milton in America . . . . 116 Wimborne Minster . . (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) 1 1 8 The Chained Library, Wimborne Minster . . . .128 (From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) Ford Abbey . . (From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) 1 32 Details from Cloisters, Ford Abbey 134 (From drawings by Mr. Sidney Heath) The Chapel, Ford Abbey (From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) 1 36 Panel from Cloisters, Ford Abbey . . . . . .136 (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) The Seal Of Ford Abbey (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) 140 High Street, Dorchester (From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) 1 46 Judge Jeffreys' Lodgings, Dorchester 149 (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) Comhill, Dorchester. . (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) I 53 "Napper's Mite," Dorchester „ „ „ 155 The Quay, Weymouth . „ „ „ 158 Chest in the Guildhall, Weymouth „ „ ,, 164 Sandsfoot Castle, Weymouth „ „ „ 166 Doorway, Sandsfoot Castle „ „ „ 167 Some Weymouth Tokens „ „ „ 169 The Arms of Weymouth „ „ ,, 170 Old House on North Quay, Weymouth 171 (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) An Old Chair in the Guildhall, Weymouth . . . .172 (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) The Old Stocks, Weymouth (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) 1 76 Portland Cottages . „ „ „ 185 " Kimmeridge Coal Money" 192 (From a photograph by Mr. A. D. Moullin) Corfe Castle . . . (From a photograph by ttu Rev. T. Perkins) 200 The Town Cellars, Poole . „ „ „ 222 Index to Illustrations XV Page, or Facing Page Shaftesbury . . . {From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) 240 Gold Hill, Shaftesbury . „ „ „ 248 Piddletown Church . „ „ „ 258 Athelhampton Hall . „ „ „ 262 Wolfeton House . ,, „ ,, 264 The East Drawing Room, Wolfeton House .... 268 (From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) William Barnes . . . (From a photograph by Messrs. Dickinsons) 280 Thomas Hardy . . . (From a photograph by the Rev. T. Perkins) 284 Came Rectory . . . (From a drawing by Mr. Sidney Heath) 29 1 HISTORIC DORSET By the Rev. Thomas Perkins, M.A. HE physical features due to the geological formation of the district now called Dorset have had such an influence on the inhabitants and their history that it seems necessary to point out briefly what series of stratified rocks may be seen in Dorset, and the lines of their outcrop. There are no igneous rocks, nor any of those classed as primary, but, beginning with the Rhsetic beds, we find every division of the secondary formations, with the possible exception of the Lower Greensand, represented, and in the south-eastern part of the district several of the tertiary beds may be met with on the surface. The dip of the strata is generally towards the east ; hence the earlier formations are found in the west. Nowhere else in England could a traveller in a journey of a little under fifty miles — which is about the distance from Lyme to the eastern boundary of Dorset — cross the outcrop of so many strata. A glance at a geological map of England will show that the Lias, starting from Lyme Regis, sweeps along a curve slightly concave towards the west, almost due north, until it reaches the sea again at Redcar, while the southern boundary of the chalk starting within about ten miles of Lyme runs out eastward to Beechy Head. Hence it is seen that the outcrops of the various strata are wider the further away they are from Lyme Regis. B 2 Memorials of Old Dorset Dorset has given names to three well-known forma- tions and to one less well known : (i) The Portland beds, first quarried for building stone about 1660; (2) the Purbeck beds, which supplied the Early English church builders with marble for their ornamental shafts ; (3) Kimmeridge clay ; and (4) the Punfield beds. The great variety of the formation coming to the surface in the area under consideration has given a striking variety to the character of the landscape : the chalk downs of the North and centre, with their rounded outlines ; the abrupt escarpments of the greensand in the neighbourhood of Shaftesbury ; the rich grazing land of Blackmore Vale on the Oxford clay ; and the great Heath (Mr. Hardy's Egdon) stretching from near Dorchester out to the east across Woolwich, Reading, and Bagshot beds, with their layers of gravel, sand, and clay. The chalk heights are destitute of water ; the streams and rivers are those of the level valleys and plains of Oolitic clays — hence they are slow and shallow, and are not navigable, even by small craft, far from their mouths. The only sides from which in early days invaders were likely to come were the south and east ; and both of these boundaries were well protected by natural defences, the former by its wall of cliffs and the deadly line of the Chesil beach. The only opening in the wall was Poole Harbour, a land-locked bay, across which small craft might indeed be rowed, but whose shores were no doubt a swamp entangled by vegetation. Swanage Bay and Lulworth Cove could have been easily defended. Weymouth Bay was the most vulnerable point. Dense forests protected the eastern boundary. These natural defences had a marked effect, as we shall see, on the history of the people. Dorset for many centuries was an isolated district, and is so to a certain extent now, though great changes have taken place during the last fifty or sixty years, due to the two railways that carry passengers from the East to Weymouth and the one that brings them from the North Historic Dorset 3 to Poole and on to Bournemouth. This isolation has conduced to the survival not only of old modes of speech, but also of old customs, modes of thought, and superstitions. It may be well, before speaking of this history, to state that the county with which this volume deals should always be spoken of as " Dorset," never as " Dorsetshire " ; for in no sense of the word is Dorset a shire, as will be explained further on. We find within the boundaries of the district very few traces of Palaeolithic man : the earliest inhabitants, who have left well-marked memorials of themselves, were Iberians, a non-Aryan race, still represented by the Basques of the Pyrenees and by certain inhabitants of Wales. They were short of stature, swarthy of skin, dark of hair, long-skulled. Their characteristic weapon or imple- ment was a stone axe, ground, not chipped, to a sharp edge ; they buried their dead in a crouching attitude in the long barrows which are still to be seen in certain parts of Dorset, chiefly to the north-east of the Stour Valley. When and how they came into Britain we cannot tell for certain ; it was undoubtedly after the glacial epoch, and probably at a time when the Straits of Dover had not come into being and the Thames was still a tributary of the Rhine. They were in what is known as the Neolithic stage of civilisation ; but in course of time, after this country had become an island, invaders broke in upon them, Aryans of the Celtic race, probably (as Professor Rhys thinks, though he says he is not certain on this point) of the Goidelic branch. These men were tall, fair- haired, blue-eyed, round-skulled, and were in a more advanced stage of civilisation than the Iberians, using bronze weapons, and burying their dead, sometimes after cremation, in the round barrows that exist in such large numbers on the Dorset downs. Their better arms and greater strength told in the warfare that ensued : whether the earlier inhabitants were altogether destroyed, or 4 Memorials of Old Dorset expelled or lived on in diminished numbers in a state of slavery, we have no means of ascertaining. But certain it is that the Celts became masters of the land. These men were some of those who are called in school history books " Ancient Britons " ; the Wessex folk in after days called them " Welsh " — that is, " foreigners " — the word that in their language answered to fidpfiapoi and " barbari " of the Greeks and Romans. What they called themselves we do not know. Ptolemy speaks of them as " Durotriges," the name by which they were known to the Romans. Despite various conjectures, the etymology of this word is uncertain. The land which they inhabited was, as already pointed out, much isolated. The lofty cliffs from the entrance to Poole Harbour to Portland formed a natural defence ; beyond this, the long line of the Chesil beach, and further west, more cliffs right on to the mouth of the Axe. Most of the lowlands of the interior were occupied by impenetrable forests, and the slow- running rivers, which even now in rainy seasons overflow their banks, and must then, when the rainfall was much heavier than now, have spread out into swamps, rendered unnavigable by their thick tangle of vegetation. The inhabitants dwelt on the sloping sides of the downs, getting the water they needed from the valleys, and retiring for safety to the almost innumerable encampments that crowned the crests of the hills, many of which remain easily to be distinguished to this day. Nowhere else in England in an equal area can so many Celtic earthworks be found as in Dorset. The Romans came in due course, landing we know not where, and established themselves in certain towns not far from the coasts. The Celts were not slain or driven out of their land, but lived on together with the Romans, gradually advancing in civilisation under Roman influence. They had already adopted the Christian religion : they belonged to the old British Church, which lived on in the south-west Historic Dorset 5 of England even through that period when the Teutonic invaders — Jutes, Angles, Saxons — devastated the south- east, east, north, and central parts of the island, and utterly drove westward before them the Celtic Christians into Wales and the south-west of Scotland. Dorset remained for some time untouched, for though the Romans had cleared some of the forests before them, and had cut roads through others, establishing at intervals along them military stations, and strengthening and occupying many of the Celtic camps, yet the vast forest — " Selwood," as the English called it — defended Dorset from any attack of the West Saxons, who had settled further to the east. Once, and once only, if we venture, with Professor Freeman, to identify Badbury Rings, near Wimborne, on the Roman Road, with the Mons Badonicus of Gildas, the Saxons, under Cerdic, in 516, invaded the land of the Durotriges, coming along the Roman Road which leads from Salis- bury to Dorchester, through the gap in the forest at Woodyates, but found that mighty triple ramparted stronghold held by Celtic Arthur and his knights, round whom so much that is legendary has gathered, but who probably were not altogether mythical. In the fight that followed, the Christian Celt was victorious, and the Saxon invader was driven in flight back to his own territory beyond Selwood. Some place Mons Badonicus in the very north of England, or even in Scotland, and say that the battle was fought between the Northumbrians and the North Welsh : if this view is correct, we may say that no serious attack was made on the Celts of Dorset from the east. According to Mr. Wildman's theory, as stated in his Life of St. Ealdhdm — which theory has a great air of probability about it—the Wessex folk, under Cenwealh, son of Cynegils, the first Christian King of the West Saxons, won two victories : one at Bradford-on-Avon in 652, and one at the " Hills " in 658. Thus North Dorset was overcome, and gradually the West Saxons passed on 6 Memorials of Old Dorset westward through Somerset, until in 682 Cent wine, according to the English Chronicle, drove the Welsh into the sea. William of Malmesbury calls them "Norht Wakes," or North Welsh, but this is absurd : Mr. Wildman thinks " Norht " may be a mistake for " Dorn," or " Thorn/' and that the Celts of Dorset are meant, and that the sea mentioned is the English Channel. From this time the fate of the Durotriges was sealed : their land became part of the great West Saxon kingdom. Well indeed was it for them that they had remained independent until after the time when their conquerors had ceased to worship Woden and Thunder and had given in their allegiance to the White Christ ; for had these men still been worshippers of the old fierce gods, the Celts would have fared much worse. Now, instead of being exterminated, they were allowed to dwell among the West Saxon settlers, in an inferior position, but yet protected by the West Saxon laws, as we see from those of Ine who reigned over the West Saxons from 688 to 728. The Wessex settlers in Dorset were called by themselves " Dornsaste," or " Dorsaete," whence comes the name of Dorset. It will be seen then, that Dorset is what Professor Freeman calls a " ga " — the land in which a certain tribe settled — and differs entirely from those divisions made after the Mercian land had been won back from the Danes, when shires were formed by shearing up the newly recovered land, not into its former divisions which the Danish conquest had obliterated, but into convenient portions, each called after the name of the chief town within its borders, such as Oxfordshire from Oxford, Leicestershire from Leicester. The Danes did for a time get possession of the larger part of Wessex, but it was only for a time : the boundaries of Dorset were not wiped out, and there was no need to make any fresh division. So when we use the name Dorset for the county we use the very name that it was known by in the seventh century. It Historic Dorset 7 is also interesting to observe that Dorset has been Christian from the days of the conversion of the Roman Empire, that no altars smoked on Dorset soil to Woden, no temples were built in honour of Thunder, no prayers were offered to Freya ; but it is also worth notice that the Celtic Christian Church was not ready to amalgamate with the Wessex Church, which had derived its Christianity from Papal Rome. However, the Church of the Conquerors prevailed, and Dorset became not only part of the West Saxon kingdom, but also of the West Saxon diocese, under the supervision of a bishop, who at first had his bishop-stool at Dorchester, not the Dorset town, but one of the same name on the Thames, not far from Abingdon. In 705, when Ine was King, it received a bishop of its own in the person of St. Ealdhelm, Abbot of Malmesbury, who on his appointment placed his bishop- stool at Sherborne : he did not live to hold this office long, for he died in 709. But a line of twenty-five bishops ruled at Sherborne, the last of whom — Herman, a Fleming brought over by Eadward the Confessor — transferred his see in 1075 to Old Sarum, as it is now called; whereupon the church of Sherborne lost its cathedral rank. The southern part of Dorset, especially in the neigh- bourhood of Poole Harbour, suffered much during the time that the Danes were harrying the coast of England. There were fights at sea in Swanage Bay, there were fights on land round the walls of Wareham, there were burnings of religious houses at Wimborne and Wareham. Then followed the victories of Alfred, and for a time Dorset had rest. But after Eadward was murdered at " Corfesgeat " by his step-mother ^Elfthryth's order, and the weak King ^Ethelred was crowned, the Danes gave trouble again. The King first bribed them to land alone ; and afterwards, when, trusting to a treaty he had made with them, many Danes had settled peacefully in the country, he gave orders for a general massacre — men, women and children — on St. Brice's Day (November 13th), 8 Memorials of Old Dorset i 002. Among those who perished was a sister of Swegen, the Danish King, Christian though she was. This treacherous and cruel deed brought the old Dane across the seas in hot haste to take terrible vengeance on the perpetrator of the dastardly outrage. All southern England, including Dorset, was soon ablaze with burning towns. The walls of Dorchester were demolished, the Abbey of Cerne was pillaged and destroyed, Wareham was reduced to ashes. Swegen became King, but reigned only a short time, and his greater son, Cnut, succeeded him. When he had been recognised as King by the English, and had got rid of all probable rivals, he governed well and justly, and the land had rest. Dorset had peace until Harold had fallen on the hill of Battle, and the south-eastern and southern parts of England had acknowledged William as King. The men of the west still remained independent, Exeter being the chief city to assert its independence. In 1088 William resolved to set about to subdue these western rebels, as he called them. He demanded that they should accept him as King, take oaths of allegiance to him, and receive him within their walls. To this the . men of Exeter made answer that they would pay tribute to him as overlord of England as they had paid to the previous King, but that they would not take oaths of allegiance, nor would they allow him to enter the city. William's answer was an immediate march westward. Professor Freeman says that there is no record of the details of his march ; but naturally it would lie through Dorset, the towns of which were in sympathy with Exeter. Knowing what harsh and cruel things William could do when it suited his purpose, we cannot for a moment doubt that he fearfully harried all the Dorset towns on the line of his march, seeking by severity to them to overawe the city of Exeter. In the wars between Stephen and Maud, Dorset was often the battle-ground of the rival claimants for the throne. Wareham, unfortunate then, as usual, was taken Historic Dorset 9 and re-taken more than once, first by one party, then by the other ; but lack of space prevents the telling of this piece of local history. King John evidently had a liking for Dorset. He often visited it, having houses of his own at Bere Regis, Canford, Corfe, Cranborne, Gillingham, and Dorchester. In the sixteenth year of his reign he put strong garrisons into Corfe Castle and Wareham as a defence against his discontented barons. In the wars between his son, Henry III., and the Barons there was fighting again in Dorset, especially at Corfe. Dorset, among other seaside counties, supplied ships and sailors to Edward III. and Henry V. for their expeditions against France. The Wars of the Roses seem hardly to have touched the county ; but one incident must be mentioned : On April 14th, 1 47 1, Margaret, wife of Henry VI., landed at Weymouth with her son Edward and a small band of Frenchmen ; but she soon heard that on the very day of her landing her great supporter, though once he had been her bitterest enemy, Warwick the King-maker, had been defeated and slain at Barnet. This led her to seek sanctuary in the Abbey at Cerne, about sixteen miles to the north of Weymouth ; but her restless spirit would not allow her long to stay in this secluded spot, and she started with young Edward, gathering supporters as she went, till on May 4th her army was defeated at Tewkesbury, and there her last hopes were extinguished when King Edward IV. smote her son, who had been taken prisoner, with gauntleted hand upon the mouth, and the daggers of Clarence and Gloucester ended the poor boy's life. We hear nothing of resistance on the part of Dorset to the Earl of Richmond when he came to overthrow Richard III. Probably, as the Lancastrian family of the Beauforts were large landowners in Dorset, Dorset sympathy was enlisted on the side of the son of the Lady Margaret, great-granddaughter of John of Gaunt. io Memorials of Old Dorset Like all the rest of England, Dorset had to see its religious houses suppressed and despoiled ; its abbots and abbesses, with all their subordinate officers, as well as their monks and nuns, turned out of their old homes, though let it in fairness be stated, not unprovided for, for all those who surrendered their ecclesiastical property to the King received pensions sufficient to keep them in moderate comfort, if not in affluence. Dorset accepted the dissolution of the monasteries and the new services without any manifest dissatisfaction. There was no rioting or fighting as in the neighbouring county of Devon. Dorset did not escape so easily in the days of the Civil War. Lyme, holden for the Parliament by Governor Creely and some 500 men, held out from April 20th to June 1 6th, 1644, against Prince Maurice with 4,000 men, when the Earl of Essex came to its relief. Corfe Castle and Sherborne Castle were each besieged twice. Abbots- bury was taken by Sir Anthony Ashley Cooper in September, 1644. Wareham, also, was more than once the scene of fighting. In the north of Dorset a band of about 5,000 rustics, known as " Clubmen," assembled. These men knew little and cared less for the rival causes of King and Parliament which divided the rest of England ; but one thing they did know and greatly cared for : they found that ever and again bands of armed horse- men came riding through the villages, some singing rollicking songs and with oaths on their lips, others chanting psalms and quoting the Bible, but all alike treading down their crops, demanding food, and sometimes their horses, often forgetting to pay for them ; so they resolved to arm themselves and keep off Cavaliers and Roundheads alike. At one time they encamped at Shaftesbury, but could not keep the Roundheads from occupying the Hill Town ; so they, to the number of 4,000, betook themselves to the old Celtic camp of Hambledon, some seven or eight miles to the south. Historic Dorset ii Cromwell himself, in a letter to Fairfax, dated August 4th, 1645, tells what befell them there : We marched on to Shaftesbury, when we heard a great body of them was drawn up together about Hambledon Hill. I sent up a forlorn hope of about 50 horse, who coming very civilly to them, they fired upon them ; and ours desiring some of them to come to me were refused with disdain. They were drawn into one of the old camps upon a very high hill. They refused to submit, and fired at us. I sent a second time to let them know that if they would lay down their arms no wrong should be done them. They still — through the animation of their leaders, and especially two vile ministers! — refused. When we came near they let fly at us, killed about two of our men, and at least four horses. The passage not being for above three abreast kept us out, whereupon Major Desborow wheeled about, got in the rear of them, beat them from the work, and did some small execution upon them, I believe killed not twelve of them, but cut very many, and put them all to flight. We have taken about 300, many of whom are poor silly creatures, whom, if you please to let me send home, they promise to be very dutiful for time to come, and will be hanged before they come out again. From which we see that " Grim old Oliver," who could be severe enough when policy demanded it, yet could show mercy at times, for throughout this episode his dealings with the Clubmen were marked with much forbearance. Charles II., after his defeat at Worcester, September 3rd, 165 1, during his romantic wanderings and hidings before he could get safe to sea, spent nearly three weeks in what is now Dorset, though most of the time he was in concealment at the Manor House at Trent, which was then within the boundaries of Somerset, having only recently been transferred to Dorset. This manor house belonged to Colonel Francis Wyndham. Hither on Wednesday, September 17th, came Jane Lane, sister of Colonel Lane, from whose house at Bentley, Worcester- shire, she had ridden on a pillion behind one who passed as her groom, really Charles in disguise, with one attendant, Cornet Lassels. Jane and the Cornet left Trent the next day on their return journey, and Charles was 1 One of these was the Rev. Mr. Bravel, Rector of Compton Abbas. 12 Memorials of Old Dorset stowed away in Lady Wyndham's room, from which there was access to a hiding-place between two floors. His object was to effect his escape from one of the small Dorset ports. Colonel Wyndham rode next day to Melbury Sampford, where lived Sir John Strangways, to see if either of his sons could manage to hire a boat at Lyme, Weymouth, or Poole, which would take Charles to France. He failed in this, but brought back one hundred pounds, the gift of Sir John Strangways. Colonel Wyndham then went to Lyme to see one Captain Ellesdon, to whom he said that Lord Wilmot wanted to be taken across to France. Arrangements were then made with Stephen Limbrey, the skipper of a coasting vessel, to take a party of three or four royalist gentlemen to France from Charmouth. Lord Wilmot was described as a Mr. Payne, a bankrupt merchant running away from his creditors, and taking his servant (Charles) with him. It was agreed that Limbrey should have a rowing-boat ready on Char- mouth beach on the night of September 22nd, when the tide was high, to convey the party to his ship and carry them safe to France, for which service he was to receive £60. September 22nd was " fair day " at Lyme, and as many people would probably be about, it was necessary that the party should find some safe lodging where they could wait quietly till the tide was in, about midnight. Rooms were secured, as for a runaway couple, at a small inn at Charmouth. At this inn on Monday morning arrived Colonel Wyndham, who acted as guide, and his wife and niece, a Mrs. Juliana Coningsby (the supposed eloping damsel), riding behind her groom (Charles). Lord Wilmot, the supposed bridegroom, with Colonel Wyndham's confidential servant, Peters, followed. Towards midnight Wyndham and Peters went down to the beach, Wilmot and Charles waiting at the inn ready to be called as soon as the boat should come. But no signs of the boat appeared throughout the whole night. It seems that Mrs. Limbrey had seen posted up at Lyme Historic Dorset 13 a notice about the heavy penalty that anyone would incur who helped Charles Stuart to escape, and suspecting that the mysterious enterprise on which her husband was engaged might have something to do with helping in such an escape, she, when he came back in the evening to get some things he had need of for the voyage, locked him in his room and would not let him out ; and he dared not break out lest the noise and his wife's violent words might attract attention and the matter get noised abroad. Charles, by Wyndham's advice, rode off to Bridport the next morning with Mistress Coningsby, as before, the Colonel going with them ; Wilmot stayed behind. His horse cast a shoe, and Peters took it to the smith to have another put on ; and the smith, examining the horse's feet, said : " These three remaining shoes were put on in three different counties, and one looks like a Worcester shoe." When the shoe was fixed, the smith went to a Puritan minister, one Bartholomew Wesley, and told him what he suspected. Wesley went to the landlady of the inn : " Why, Margaret," said he, " you are now a maid of honour." " What do you mean by that, Mr. Parson ? " said she. " Why, Charles Stuart lay at your house last night, and kissed you at his departure, so that you cannot now but be a maid of honour." Whereupon the hostess waxed wroth, and told Wesley that he was an ill-conditioned man to try and bring her and her house into trouble ; but, with a touch of female vanity, she added : " If I thought it was the King, as you say it was, I should think the better of my lips all the days of my life. So, Mr. Parson, get you out of my house, or I'll get those who shall kick you out." However, the matter soon got abroad, and a pursuit began. Meanwhile, Charles and his party had pressed on into Bridport, which happened to be full of soldiers mustering there before joining a projected expedition to capture the Channel Islands for the Parliament. Charles's presence of mind saved him. He pushed through 14 Memorials of Old Dorset the crowd into the inn yard, groomed the horse, chatted with the soldiers, who had no suspicion that he was other than he seemed, and then said that he must go and serve his mistress at table. By this time Wilmot and Peters had arrived, and they told him of the incident at the shoeing forge ; so, losing no time, the party started on the Dorchester road, but, turning off into a by-lane, got safe to Broadwinsor, and thence once more to Trent, which they reached oh September 24th. On October 5th Wilmot and Charles left Trent and made their way to Shoreham in Sussex. But they had not quite done with Dorset yet ; for it was a Dorset skipper, one Tattersal, whose business it was to sail a collier brig, The Surprise, between Poole and Shoreham, who carried Charles Stuart and Lord Wilmot from Shoreham to Fecamp, and received the £60 that poor Limbrey might have had save for his wife's interference. Dorset was the stage on which were acted the first and one of the concluding scenes of the Duke of Monmouth's rebellion in 1685. On June nth the inhabitants of Lyme Regis were sorely perplexed when they saw three foreign- looking ships, which bore no colours, at anchor in the bay ; and their anxiety was not lessened when thty saw the custom house officers, who had rowed out, as their habit was, to overhaul the cargo of any vessel arriving at the port, reach the vessels but return not again. Then from seven boats landed some eighty armed men, whose leader knelt down on the shore to offer up thanksgiving for his safe voyage, and to pray for God's blessing on his enter- prise. When it was known that this leader was the Duke of Monmouth the people welcomed him, his blue flag was set up in the market place, and Monmouth's undignified Declaration — the composition of Ferguson — was read. That same evening the Mayor, who approved of none of these things, set off to rouse the West in the King's favour, and from Honiton sent a letter giving information of the landing. On June 14th, the first blood was shed in a Historic Dorset 15 skirmish near Bridport (it was not a decisive engagement). Monmouth's men, however, came back to Lyme, the infantry in good order, the cavalry helter-skelter ; and little wonder, seeing that the horses, most of them taken from the plough, had never before heard the sound of fire- arms. Then Monmouth and his men pass off our stage. It is not for the local Dorset historian to trace his marches up and down Somerset, or to describe the battle that was fought in the early hours of the morning of July 6th under the light of the full moon, amid the sheet of thick mist, which clung like a pall over the swampy surface of the level stretch of Sedgemoor. Once again Dorset received Monmouth, no longer at the head of an enthusiastic and brave, though a badly armed and undisciplined multitude, but a lonely, hungry, haggard, heartbroken fugitive. On the morning of July 8th he was found in a field near Horton, which still bears the name of Monmouth's Close, hiding in a ditch. He was brought before Anthony Etricke of Holt, the Recorder of Poole, and by him sent under escort to London, there to meet his ghastly end on Tower Hill, and to be laid to rest in what Macaulay calls the saddest spot on earth, St. Peter's in the Tower, the last resting-place of the unsuccessfully ambitious, of those guilty of treason, and also of some whose only fault it was that they were too near akin to a fallen dynasty, and so roused the fears and jealousy of the reigning monarch. Everyone has heard of the Bloody Assize which followed, but the names and the number of those who perished were not accurately known till a manuscript of forty-seven pages, of folio size, was offered for sale among a mass of waste paper in an auction room at Dorchester, December, 1875.1 It was bought by Mr. W. B. Barrett, 1 Proceedings of the Dorset Nat. Hist, and Antiquarian Field Club, vol. v., p. 99. 1 6 Memorials of Old Dorset and he found that it was a copy of the presentment of rebels at the Autumn Assizes of 1685, probably made for the use of some official of the Assize Court, as no doubt the list that Jeffreys had would have been written on parchment, and this was on paper. It gives the names of 2,611 persons presented at Dorchester, Exeter, and Taunton, as having been implicated in the rebellion, the parishes where they lived, and the nature of their callings. Of these, 312 were charged at Dorchester, and only about one-sixth escaped punishment. Seventy-four were executed, 175 were transported, nine were whipped or fined, and 54 were acquitted or were not captured. It is worth notice that the percentage of those punished at Exeter and Taunton was far less than at Dorchester. Out of 488 charged at Exeter, 455 escaped; and at Taunton, out of 1,811, 1,378 did not suffer. It is possible that the Devon and Somerset rebels, having heard of Jeffreys' severity at Dorchester, found means of escape. No doubt many of the country folk who had not sympathized with the rebellion would yet help to conceal those who were suspected, when they knew (from what had happened at Dorchester) that if they were taken they would in all probability be condemned to death or slavery - — for those " transported " were really handed over to Court favourites as slaves for work on their West Indian plantations. It is gratifying to know that it has been discovered, since Macaulay's time, that such of the trans- ported as were living when William and Mary came to the throne were pardoned and set at liberty on the application of Sir William Young. Monmouth was the last invader to land in Dorset ; but there was in the early part of the nineteenth century very great fear among the Dorset folk that a far more formidable enemy might choose some spot, probably Weymouth, on the Dorset coast for landing his army. Along the heights of the Dorset downs they built beacons of dry stubs and furze, with guards in attendance, Historic Dorset 17 ready to flash the news of Napoleon's landing, should he land. The general excitement that prevailed, the false rumours that from time to time made the peaceable inhabitants, women and children, flee inland, and sent the men capable of bearing arms flocking seaward, are well described in Mr. Hardy's Trumpet Major. But Napoleon never came, and the dread of invasion passed away for ever in 1805. In the wild October night time, when the wind raved round the land, And the back-sea met the front-sea, and our doors were blocked with sand, And we heard the drub of Dead-man's Bay, where bones of thousands are, (But) knew not what that day had done for us at Trafalgar. 1 The isolation of Dorset, which has been before spoken of, has had much to do with preserving from extinction the old dialect spoken in the days of the Wessex kings. Within its boundaries, especially in " outstep placen," as the people call them, the old speech may be heard in comparative purity. Let it not be supposed that Dorset is an illiterate corruption of literary English. It is an older form of English ; it possesses many words that elsewhere have become obsolete, and a grammar with rules as precise as those of any recognised language. No one not to the manner born can successfully imitate the speech of the rustics who, from father to son, through many generations have lived in the same village. A stranger may pick up a few Dorset words, only, in all probability, to use them incorrectly. For instance, he may hear the expression " thic tree " for " that tree," and go away with the idea that " thic " is the Dorset equivalent of " that," and so say " thic grass " — an expression which no true son of the Dorset soil would use ; for, as the late William Barnes pointed out, things in Dorset are of two classes : (i) The personal class of formed things, as a man, a tree, 1 The Dynasts, part i., p. 179. 1 8 Memorials of Old Dorset a boot ; (2) the impersonal class of unformed quantities of things, as a quantity of hair, or wood, or water. " He " is the personal pronoun for class (1); "it" for class (2). Similarly, " thease " and " thic " are the demonstratives of class (1); "this" and "that" of class (2). A book is " he " ; some water is " it." We say in Dorset : " Thease tree by this water," " Thic cow in that grass." Again, a curious distinction is made in the infinitive mood : when it is not followed by an object, it ends in " y " ; when an object follows, the "y" is omitted: — "Can you mowy?" but " Can you mow this grass for me ? " The common use of " do " and " did " as auxiliary verbs, and not only when emphasis is intended, is noteworthy (the "o" of the "do" being faintly heard). "How do you manage about threading your needles ? " asked a lady of an old woman engaged in sewing, whose sight was very dim from cataract. The answer came : "Oh, he" (her husband) "do dread 'em for me." In Dorset we say not only " to-day " and " to-morrow," but also "to-week," " to-year." " Tar'ble " is often used for " very," in a good as well as a bad sense. There are many words bearing no resemblance to English in Dorset speech. What modern Englishman would recognise a " mole hill " in a " wont-heave," or " cantankerous " in " thirtover " ? But too much space would be occupied were this fascinat- ing subject to be pursued further. National schools, however, are corrupting Wessex speech, and the niceties of Wessex grammar are often neglected by the children. Probably the true Dorset will soon be a thing of the past. William Barnes' poems and Thomas Hardy's Wessex novels, especially the latter, will then become invaluable to the philologist. In some instances Mr. Barnes' spelling seems hardly to represent the sound of words as they are uttered by Dorset, or, as they say here, " Darset " lips. THE BARROWS OF DORSET By C. S. Prideaux !HE County of Dorset is exceedingly rich in the prehistoric burial-places commonly called barrows. At the present time considerably over a thousand are marked on the one-inch Ordnance Map, and, considering the numbers which have been destroyed, we may surely claim that Dorset was a populous centre in prehistoric times, owing probably to its proximity to the Continent and its safe harbours, as well as to its high and dry downs and wooded valleys. The long barrow is the earliest form of sepulchral mound, being the burial-place of the people of the Neolithic or Late Stone Age, a period when men were quite ignorant of the use of metals, with the possible exception of gold, using flint or stone weapons and implements, but who cultivated cereals, domesticated animals, and manufactured a rude kind of hand-made pottery. Previous to this, stone implements and weapons were of a rather rude type ; but now not only were they more finely chipped, but often polished. The round barrows are the burial-places of the Goidels, a branch of the Celtic family, who were taller than the Neolithic men and had rounder heads. They belong to the Bronze Age, a period when that metal was first introduced into Britain ; and although comparatively little is found in the round barrows of Dorset, still less has been discovered in the North of England, probably owing to the greater distance from the Continent. 19 20 Memorials of Old Dorset Hand-made pottery abounds, artistically decorated with diagonal lines and dots, which are combined to form such a variety of patterns that probably no two vessels are found alike. Stone and flint implements were still in common use, and may be found almost anywhere in Dorset, especially on ploughed uplands after a storm of rain, when the freshly-turned-up flints have been washed clear of earth. In discussing different periods, we must never lose sight of the fact that there is much overlapping ; and although it is known that the long-barrow men had long heads and were a short race, averaging 5 ft. 4 in. in height, and that the round-barrow men had round heads and averaged 5 ft. 8 in.,1 we sometimes find fairly long-shaped skulls in the round barrows, showing that the physical peculiarities of the two races became blended. Long barrows are not common in Dorset, and little has been done in examining their contents. This is probably due to their large size, and the consequent difficulty in opening them. They are generally found inland, and singly, with their long diameter east and west ; and the primary interments, at any rate in Dorset, are unburnt, and usually placed nearer the east end. Some are cham- bered, especially where large flat stones were easily obtain- able, but more often they are simply formed of mould and chalk rubble. Their great size cannot fail to impress us, and we may well wonder how such huge mounds were constructed with the primitive implements at the disposal of Neolithic man. One near Pimperne, measured by Mr. Charles Warne, is no yards long, and there are others near Bere Regis, Cranborne, Gussage, and Kingston Russell ; and within a couple of miles of the latter place, besides the huge long barrow, are dozens of round barrows, the remains of British villages, hut circles, stone circles, and a monolith. 1 Excavations in Cranborne Chase, by Lieut. -General Pitt-Rivers, F.R.S., vol. ii., p. 62. PLATE I. Figs, i 32 465 Bronze Age Objects from Dorset Round Barrows I Scale. (IN THE DORSET COUNTY MUSEUM). PLATE //. Figs, i 3 2 Bronze Age Objects from Dorset Round Barrows * '?m^- (in the dorset county museum). The Barrows of Dorset 21 The late Lieut-General Pitt-Rivers, in 1893, removed the whole of Wor Barrow, on Handley Down,1 and made a very exhaustive examination of its contents, which pre- sented many features of peculiar interest. This barrow, with ditch, was about 175 feet long-, 125 feet wide, and 13 J feet high; inside the mound on the ground level was an oblong space, 93 ft. by 34 ft., surrounded by a trench filled with flints. The earth above the trench bore traces of wooden piles, which were, no doubt, originally stuck into the trench with the flints packed around to keep them in place, thus forming a palisade ; the wooden piles in this case taking the place of the stone slabs found in the stone- chambered long barrows of Gloucestershire and elsewhere. Six primary interments by inhumation were discovered at the south-east part of the enclosure, with a fragment of coarse British pottery. Three of the bodies were in a crouched position. The remaining three had been deposited as bones, not in sequence, the long bones being laid out by the side of the skulls ; and careful measurement of these bones shows that their owners were the short people of the long-headed or Neolithic race, which confirms the first part of Dr. Thurnam's axiom : " Long barrows long skulls, round barrows round skull Nineteen secondary interments of a later date were found in the upper part of the barrow and in the surrounding ditch, with numerous pieces of pottery, flint implements, fragments of bronze and iron, and coins, proving that the barrow was used as a place of burial down to Roman times. In Dorset the round barrows are generally found on the summits of the hills which run through the county, more particularly on the Ridgeway, which roughly follows the coast line from near Bridport to Swanage, where may be seen some hundreds of all sizes, from huge barrows over 100 feet in diameter and 15 feet in height to small mounds, so little raised above the surface that only the tell-tale 1 Excavations in Cranborne Chase, by Lieut.- General Pitt-Rivers, vol. iv\, pp. 62-100. 22 Memorials of Old Dorset shadows cast by the rising or setting sun show where a former inhabitant lies buried. In the western part of the county they may be traced from Kingston Russell to Agger-Dun, through Sydling and Cerne Abbas to Bulbarrow, and in the east, from Swanage Bay to Bere Regis ; and also near Dorchester, Wimborne, Blandford, and other places. In the Bronze Age cremation and inhumation were both practised ; but in Dorset burials by cremation are the more common. The cremated remains were sometimes placed in a hole or on the surface line, with nothing to protect them from the weight of the barrow above ; at other times they were covered by flat slabs of stone, built in the form of a small closed chamber or cist. Often they were placed on a flat piece of stone, and covered with an inverted urn, or put in an urn, with a covering slab over them ; and they have been found wrapped in an animal's skin, or in a bag of some woven material, or even in a wooden coffin. The inhumed bodies are nearly always found in a con- tracted posture, with the knees drawn up towards the chin ; and a larger number face either east, south or west, than north. In the case of an inhumation, when the body was deposited below the old surface level, the grave was often neatly hewn and sometimes lined with slabs of stone, and it was the common custom to pile a heap of flints over it, affording a protection from wild animals ; above the flints was heaped the main portion of the mound, which consisted of mould and chalk rubble. A ditch, with or without a causeway,1 usually surrounds each barrow, but is so often silted up that no trace of it can be seen on the surface ; it probably helped to supply the chalk rubble of the barrow. Bronze Age sepulchral pottery, which is hand-made, often imperfectly baked and unglazed, has been divided into four classes : the beaker or drinking vessel, the food 1 Excavations in Cranborne Chase, by Lieut. -General Pitt-Rivers, vol. iv., p. 144. The Barrows of Dorset 23 vessel, the incense cup, and the cinerary urn. The two former are usually associated with inhumations ; the two latter with cremations. As a type of prehistoric ceramic art in Britain, the Hon. J. Abercromby says that the beaker is the earliest, and the cinerary urn the latest.1 Plate II., fig. 2, is a typical drinking vessel or beaker which was found in the hands of a skeleton during altera- tions to the Masonic Hall at Dorchester. It is made of thin, reddish, well-baked pottery, and from the stains inside it evidently contained food or liquid at some time. The beaker is more often met with than the food vessel, being found on the Continent as well as in England. The food vessel, on the other hand, is a type unrepresented outside the British Isles, and is entirely wanting in Wilt- shire,2 although common in the North of England, Scotland, and Ireland. In the Dorset County Museum at Dorchester there are several fine examples found in the county, and Plate I., fig. 1, represents one taken from a barrow near Martinstown.3 It is of unusual interest, as one-handled food-vessels are rare. In this inhumed primary interment the vessel was lying in the arms of the skeleton, whilst close by was another and much smaller vessel, with the remains of three infants. The terms " drinking-vessel " and " food-vessel " may possibly be accurate, as these vessels may have held liquids or food ; but there is no evidence to show that the so-called " incense cups " had anything to do with incense. The more feasible idea seems to be that they were used to hold embers with which to fire the funeral pile, and the holes with which they are generally perforated would have been most useful for admitting air to keep the embers alight.4 These 1 Jour, of the Anthropolog. Inst., vol. xxxii., p. 373. 2 Guide to Antiquities of Bronze Age in Brit. Mus., by C. H. Read, F.S.A., p. 45. 3 Proceedings Dorset Nat. Hist, and A ntiquarian Field Chib, vol. xxvi., p. 18. 4 British Barrows, by Greenwell and Rolleston, p. 81. 24 Memorials of Old Dorset small vessels are usually very much ornamented, even on their bases, with horizontal lines, zigzags, chevrons, and the like, and occasionally a grape-like pattern. They are seldom more than three inches in height, but vary much in shape, and often are found broken, with the fragments widely separated, as if they had been smashed purposely at the time of the burial. Plate II., figs. 3 and 4, are from specimens in the Dorset County Museum, which also con- tains several other Dorset examples. There can be no doubt as to the use of the cinerary urn, which always either contains or covers cremated remains. The urn (Plate II., fig. 1) is from the celebrated Deverel Barrow, which was opened in 1825 by Mr. W. A. Miles. The shape of this urn is particularly common in Dorset, as well as another variety which has handles, or, rather, perforated projections or knobs. A third and prettier variety is also met with, having a small base, and a thick overhanging rim or band at the mouth, generally ornamented. It is rare to find curved lines in the ornamentation of Bronze Age pottery, but sometimes concentric circles and spiral ornaments are met with on rock-surfaces and sculptured stones. Mr. Charles Warne found in tumulus 12, Came Down, Dorchester, two flat stones covering two cairns with incised concentric circles cut on their surfaces.1 There is no clear evidence of iron having been found in the round barrows of Dorset in connection with a Bronze Age interment ; but of gold several examples may be seen in the County Museum, and one, which was found in Clandon Barrow, near Martinstown, with a jet head of a sceptre with gold studs, is shown in Plate I., fig 2. Others were discovered in Mayo's Barrow and Culliford Tree.2 Bronze, which is an alloy of copper and tin, is the only other metal found with primary interments in our Dorset round barrows. 1 Celtic Tumuli of Dorset, by Charles Warne, F.S.A., p. 37. 2 Ibid., p. 18. The Barrows of Dorset 25 The County Museum possesses some excellent celts and palstaves ; a set of six socketed celts came from a barrow near Agger-Dun, and look as if they had just come from the mould. They are ornamented with slender ridges, ending in tiny knobs, and have never been sharpened (two of them are figured in Plate I., figs. 3 and 4) ; another celt, from a barrow in the Ridgeway, is interesting as having a fragment of cloth adhering to it. Daggers are found, generally, with cremated remains, and are usually ornamented with a line or lines, which, beginning just below the point, run down the blade parallel with the cutting edges. The rivets which fastened the blade to the handle are often in position with fragments of the original wooden handle and sheath.1 These daggers seem to be more common in Dorset than in the northern counties, and many examples may be seen in the County Museum, and two are illustrated in Plate I., figs. 5 and 6. Bronze pins, glass beads, amber and Kimmeridge shell objects, bone tweezers and pins, slingstones and whetstones, are occasionally met with ; but by far the most common objects are the flint and stone implements, weapons, and flakes. In making a trench through a barrow near Martinstown,2 more than 1,200 flakes or chips of flints were found, besides some beautifully-formed scrapers, a fabricator, a flint saw, most skilfully notched, and a borer with a gimlet-like point. Arrow-heads are not common in Dorset, but six were found in a barrow in Fordington Field, Dorchester. They are beautiful specimens, barbed and tongued ; the heaviest only weighs twenty-five grains, and the lightest sixteen grains. Mr. Warne mentions the finding of arrow-heads, and also (a rare find in Dorset) a stone battle-axe, from a barrow on Steepleton Down. 1 Proceedings of Dorset Nat. Hist, and Antiquarian Field Club, vol. xxvi., p. 15. 2 Ibid., p. IO. 26 Memorials of Old Dorset Charred wood is a conspicuous feature, and animal bones are also met with in the county, and in such positions as to prove that they were placed there at the time of the primary interment. Stags' horns, often with the tips worn as though they had been used as picks, are found, both in the barrows and in the ditches. So far only objects belonging to the Bronze Age have been mentioned ; but as later races used these burial- places, objects of a later date are common. Bronze and iron objects and pottery, and coins of every period, are often found above the original interment and in the ditches. This makes it difficult for an investigator to settle with certainty the different positions in which the objects were deposited ; and unless he is most careful he will get the relics from various periods mixed. Therefore, the practice of digging a hole into one of these burial-mounds, for the sake of a possible find, cannot be too heartily con- demned. Anyone who is ambitious to open a barrow should carefully read those wonderful books on Excavations in Cranbome Chase, by the late Lieut-General Pitt-Rivers, before he puts a spade into the ground ; for a careless dig means evidence destroyed for those that come after. Most Dorset people will remember the late curator of the County Museum, Mr. Henry Moule, and perhaps some may have heard him tell this story, but it will bear repeating. A labourer had brought a piece of pottery to the Museum, and Mr. Moule explained to him that it not only came from a barrow, but that it was most interesting, and that he would like to keep it for the Museum. The man looked surprised, and said, " Well, Measter, I've a-knocked up scores o' theasem things. I used to level them there hipes (or heaps) an' drawed away the vlints vor to mend the roads ; an' I must ha' broke up dozens o' thease here wold pots ; but they niver had no cwoins inzide 'em." Those who knew Mr. Moule can imagine his horror. Much more remains to be done by Dorset people in The Barrows of Dorset 27 investigating these most interesting relics of the past, for we know little of the builders of these mounds ; and, as Mr. Warne says in his introduction to The Celtic Tumuli of Dorset: — If the Dorsetshire barrows cannot be placed in comparison with many of those of Wiltshire ... or Derbyshire, they may, nevertheless, be regarded with intense interest, as their examination has satisfactorily established the fact that they constitute the earliest series of tumuli in any part of the kingdom ; whilst they identify Dorset as one of the earliest colonised portions of Britain. THE ROMAN OCCUPATION By Captain J. E. Acland Curator, Dorset County Museum LTHOUGH we are dealing with historic and not prehistoric times in describing the occupation of the County of Dorset by the Romans, it is to the work of the spade and not of the pen that we must turn for the memorials of that most interesting and important period, which lasted nearly four hundred years ; when the all-powerful, masterful race, the conquerors of the world, held sway, enforced obedience to their laws, and inaugurated that system of colonisation which was perhaps the best the world has ever seen — a system designed and developed according to exact regulations, which savoured more of military discipline than of that civil liberty which we associate with the profession of agriculture. The Roman occupation was indeed an admirable combination of military and civil rule ; and the memorials fall naturally into two distinct classes, corresponding with two distinct periods. There is, first, the period of conquest, embracing the years during which the Roman Legions drove back the native levies, and captured their strongholds ; not in one summer campaign we may well believe, but year after year, with irresistible force, until the subjugated tribes laid down their arms and yielded the hostages demanded by the conquerors. Then followed the period of peace, of civilisation, and of colonising ; of improving the roads, and marking out of farms ; the days 28 The Roman Occupation 29 of trade and commerce, and of building houses, temples, and places for public amusement. Now both aspects of the occupation are to be seen as clearly at this day as if they were described in the pages of a book ; and yet what is the fact ? Scarcely a sentence can be found of written history which deals with it. General Pitt-Rivers, who, living in Dorset, devoted many years of his life to antiquarian research, asserts that having read with attention all the writings that were accessible upon that obscure period of history, some by scholars of great ability, nothing definite can be found to relate to the Roman Conquest. It is, however, generally assumed that it fell to the lot of Vespasian, in command of the world-famous " Legio Secunda," to commence, if not to complete, the subjugation of the Durotriges, the people who are believed to have inhabited the southern portion of the county. The only reference to Vespasian's campaign by contemporary historians is made by Suetonius. He says that Vespasian crossed to Britain, fought with the enemy some thirty times, and reduced to submission two most warlike tribes and twenty fortified camps, and the island (Isle of Wight) adjacent to the coast. In this statement, which is all too brief to satisfy our curiosity, may lie the main facts of the passing of Dorset into Roman power. The work begun by Vespasian may, indeed, have been completed by others — by Paulinus Suetonius, the Governor of Britain about the year 60, and by Agricola ; and where so much is left to conjecture, it is at least worth while to give once more the theory propounded by the well-known antiquary, the late Mr. Charles Warne, F.S.A. In a paper read before the Society of Antiquaries in June, 1867, he suggests that as the south- eastern parts of Britain had been previously visited by Roman armies, Vespasian directed his course further to the west, and either made the Isle of Wight the base of his operations or anchored his ships in the harbours of Swanage or Poole. Close by is the commencement of the 30 Memorials of Old Dorset long range of hills, The Ridgeway, which, with few interruptions, follows the coast line, and still shews by the number of the burial-mounds the district inhabited by the British. Mr. Warne proceeds to enumerate the various camps along this route, all at convenient distances from one another, some of which shew by their construction that they were Roman camps, and others British camps, captured by the conquering legions, as narrated by Suetonius. If Vespasian had pursued this plan of campaign, it would have had the additional advantage of enabling him to keep in touch with his transports. As one hill fortress after another was captured in the march westward along the Ridgeway heights, so the fleet might have changed its anchorage from Swanage Bay to Lulworth, from Lulworth to the shelter of Weymouth and Portland, and finally to the neighbourhood of Charmouth or Lyme Regis. There is this also to be said in favour of Mr. Warne's conjecture. An attacking force must find out and capture the strongholds of the defenders, which would naturally be made more strongly, and therefore last longer than the camps of the invaders. And this is what we see in the suggested line of the Roman advance. First, on the east, Flowers, or Florus Bury Camp, and Bindun, then Maidun (Maiden Castle), after that Eggardun, and finally, at the western limit of the county, Conig's Castle and Pylsdun. All these are (as far as can be seen now) British camps of refuge ; all of them must have been captured before the Roman generals could feel secure in their own isolated position on a foreign shore. That they were one and all occupied by the conquerors is also most probable, and would account for the discovery of Roman relics within their areas. No Roman camps can be seen at all approaching in strength or size these magnificent hill fortresses. It is, of course, well known that the armies of Rome never halted for a night without forming an The Roman Occupation 31 entrenchment of sufficient size to include not only the fighting men, but the baggage train, and though traces of these still remain on the hills of Dorset, the majority have long ago disappeared. Perhaps the most interesting example of the military occupation of the two races is to be seen at Hod Hill, near Blandford, where a well-defined Roman Camp is constructed within the area of a previously occupied British fortress, and here have been found spear heads, arrow heads, spurs and portions of harness, rings and fibulas, and fragments of pottery, all indicating the Roman occupation ; iron was found more generally than bronze, and the coins are those of the earlier emperors, including Claudius, in whose reign Vespasian made his conquests. Badbury, four miles north-west of Wimborne, Woodbury, near Bere Regis, and Hambledon, five miles north of Blandford, may be referred to as memorials of the time of the Roman occupation, though not of Roman con- struction. Poundbury Camp, with its Saxon appellation, deserves special mention, for, being situated on the outskirts of Dorchester, it has been studied more frequently perhaps than any other earthwork in the county. It has the form of an irregular square, with a single vallum, except on the more exposed west side, where it is doubled, and traces have been discovered of other ramparts now obliterated. On the north the camp overhangs the river and valley, once probably a lake or morass, and here the defences are slight. The area within the vallum is about 330 yards from east to west, and 180 yards from north to south. Some authorities affirm that it was raised by the Danes about A.D. 1002, when they attacked Dorchester. Stukeley regards it as one of Vespasian's camps when engaged in his conquest of the Durotriges, while other antiquarians claim for it a British origin, prior to the Roman invasion. Mr. Warne, whose opinions are always worthy of most careful consideration, " holds it to be a 32 Memorials of Old Dorset safer speculation to regard it as a Roman earthwork," and, no doubt, in form and general outline and size it is very similar to other Roman camps, and altogether different to the magnificent British fortress Maiden Castle, not two miles away. Many Roman relics have been found, including coins ranging from the times of Claudius to Constantine, and a tumulus is still to be seen within the vallum, which alone would be an argument against its Celtic origin. Poundbury is insignificant indeed when compared with Mai-dun, and it is impossible by mere description to convey an adequate impression of this great earth fortress, singled out by many as the finest work of its kind. It certainly surpasses all others in the land of the Durotriges, and probably nowhere in the world can entrenchments be seen of such stupendous strength. This camp, which is said to occupy 120 acres, is in form an irregular oval, embracing the whole of the hill on which it stands ; its length is nearly 800 yards, and width 275 yards. On the north, facing the plain, there are three lines of ramparts, with intervening ditches, the slopes being exceedingly steep, and measuring over 60 feet from apex to base. On the south the number of ramparts is increased, but they are not so grand, and, indeed, as Mr. Warne remarks, they appear to have been left in an unfinished condition. At the east and west ends are the two principal entrances, and here the ingenuity of the designer is manifested in a surprising manner. At one end five or six ramparts, at the other as many as seven or eight are built, so as to cover or overlap one another ; vallum and fossa, arranged with consummate skill, to complete the intricacies of entrance, and to compel an enemy to undertake a task of the utmost difficulty and danger. In later times this camp was, no doubt, occupied by Roman troops as summer quarters, its healthy position rendering it very suitable for the purpose. Perhaps, still later, it became the residence of some Roman magnate, The Roman Occupation 33 who selected that fine eminence for his country villa ; at any rate, there should be no difficulty in accounting for the discovery of Roman coins and implements, or even of villas, on the sites of the camps and castles of the British. Many a hard fought battle must have raged around their earthen walls. Ever and anon, with host to host, Shocks, and the splintering spear, the hard mail hewn, Shield breakings, and the clash of brands, the crash Of battle axes on shattered helms. Many a shout of victory must have been heard as the conquering legions forced their way over the ramparts and planted their eagles on the summit of the captured fortress. And once captured they must have been retained, at first perhaps by a fairly large garrison sufficient to prevent re-capture, then as the tide of battle ebbed from the neighbourhood the numbers might have been reduced ; but the sites, always in some commanding position, would have been long utilised as points of observation and centres of control over the conquered tribes. No revolt is recorded as taking place in the west of Britain such as that led by Queen Boadicea in the east, in the year 61 ; so in looking back to the Roman occupation, it is reasonable to suppose that before the end of the first century it was reduced to the condition of a Roman province. Trade would soon commence with this, the latest, addition to the Empire, and the soldiers, no longer necessary except as garrisons and guardians of the peace, would be employed in improving the means of communication. The warlike Briton (in these parts at any rate) was transformed into a peaceful husbandman, who sowed and reaped, and paid his taxes, grumbling perhaps, but on the whole contented with his lot. Roads, or trackways, of some kind there certainly were in use by the British, linking tribe to tribe, or camp to camp, and, judging by the line of what we now term D 34 Memorials of Old Dorset Roman roads, it is most probable that to a very great extent the ancient routes were taken as the foundation of the new system developed by the Romans. The details of this system are given by an authority of contemporary date in The Itinerary of Ant vine, which is believed to have been compiled in the third century, and possibly corrected and added to later. In this work we find, as regards the County of Dorset, a description of roads which are easily recognised to-day, roads which are still in use throughout a considerable portion of their length. It must not be lost sight of that these roads are in very close connection with some of the principal British hill-fortresses, which fact would stamp them as being originally constructed by the British race, though to all appearance they are grand examples of Roman skill and energy. The main road, the Via Principalis, of the third and fourth centuries, comes to Dorset from Old Sarum, in Wiltshire, one of the grandest of British camps ; it passes close to Badbury Camp, and then makes for Maiden Castle, and onwards to Eggardun, all of earlier date than the Roman invasion But notwithstanding this obvious connection, the roads as we see them now bear witness to the power of Rome, and are, perhaps, some of the most obvious of the memorials of the past. They are described in the XV. Iter, of Antoninus, with the names of the Roman stations and the distances between them along the road from Silchester (Calleva) to Exeter (Isca Dumnoni), which forms a portion of the great Via Iceniana. After passing Old Sarum, this road crosses the north-east border of the modern county of Dorset at a small hamlet called Woodyates (near Cranborne), taking a south-westerly course ; it passes over Woodyates and Handley Down, and is described by Sir R Colt Hoare as being at that point " the finest specimen of a Roman road I know." It runs by Badbury Camp, and thence to Dorchester, where the direction changes to due west, I be Romab [ : ruPATi :. • h the coast hne :: leaving the cottr. r Lyme ] :: Deeds bt rds E netex I: most oot be s mposed dial . 3 lan be traced ex Far from it the hand >1 I itroyer has been hea e relics :: th h a pr: rr :: time ind .1 It is rften the case _ ;.. " irn r :: Doonty road has ir^r. made m th ry site :: the indent : : \ :- Bed to g idth. aes : ton ^r_i the ads :: i ire ma of its too. r.:: re.es .y en I I downs true ] - jh covered r iii ::' the . t may be learnt and recog stations count; ■ the : »e is short by neari - Th r - are and C am dirler xi of the roanex :: these plaif f I - r. :i : rkable for ti pr: r oortance. Here we ind nc less - meeting Ere st, and Vialc the others are roads of less import . ■ - - R - ■ . : Teresa. Hill near f rth ssrng Strati star Other branch roc,:; were i ade as nee ssrt - - :fi in dirfere:.. . roai ' a " s, near I ry. :: rznnec: with the harbc o r . : 7 . ting Ere ; e point, i ^ eds - is cons :ir?ed to have made a very ml - og and clever [fiscovery :: a stal ssang .V t Ante 36 Memorials of Old Dorset The distance there given between Vindogladia and Durnovaria is quite obviously too short by some fourteen miles. But on Kingston Down, near Bere Regis, the cultured eyes of the learned Dorset antiquarian discovered traces of a Roman settlement, and on due investigation being made, it was considered that there was sufficient proof to establish at this point a station called Ibernium, referred to by other writers as existing in the county. The position of Vindogladia, though a subject of long and frequent debate, and though stated by some to have been at Badbury, by others at Wimborne Minster, has now been accepted as on Gussage Down, not far from the north-west border of the county where crossed by the Via Iceniana. This is due to the researches of Sir R. C. Hoare, and stands on a par with Mr. Warne's discovery of the other Roman station on the great military road. We come now to a very interesting period of the Roman occupation, when we may imagine the military operations at an end, a firm and beneficial government established, and the colonists (at any rate), who usually obtained a third part of the conquered territory, becoming rich and enabled to build those houses that must have been the envy and admiration of the native population, with their decorative floors and walls,, and ample comforts for seasons of heat or cold. Still, as we have said before, it is not to any printed records that we can turn for its history, but rather to the result of careful excavation and the relics unearthed after fifteen centuries' burial in the soil : in a word, we trust to the use of the spade for bringing before our minds the life of the past and restoring the memorials of ancient Dorset. In Warne's map of the county, prepared in the year 1865 after most patient research and personal investiga- tion, there are more than fifty sites given where relics of the Roman colonisation have been found, exclusive of The Roman Occupation 37 Durnovaria. Mr. Moule, writing in 1893, says : "Roman work of one kind and another has been found here in Dorset in eighty places, and that for the most part casually." But year after year this number is increased, and, truth to tell, so frequent are the discoveries that in Dorchester the ordinary labourer, when excavating in the streets, or elsewhere, is ever on the alert, and many a treasure rewards his watchful care ; and even children whose eyes have been trained aright will find, when digging in some neglected corner of garden or field, a bit of common pottery, a fragment of Samian ware, or perhaps a coin bearing the image of an Emperor of Rome. And thus our history is written : a word discovered here, a sentence there, until the story of the life of those days may be once more told afresh. The frequency of these discoveries is so far interesting that it draws attention to the large area over which the Roman settlers were distributed. No doubt they found this land of the Duro- triges a pleasant land to dwell in, as we do now in this twentieth century. But here may be said, in passing, that Roman colonists were partly at least a Roman garrison. They were frequently old soldiers intended to keep in check the conquered nation, and liable to be called back to active service. But if there was no fear of a hostile rising, the military character of the colony would gradually be lost. And that, no doubt, soon happened here, for the very great majority of the relics of the Roman occupation are signs of its peaceful character. The discovery of the sites of Roman villas scattered in more or less isolated positions throughout the county tend also to prove this, and especially when the villa is shown to have possessed one of those beautiful mosaic floors which can only have belonged to a prosperous and wealthy colonist or to a British landowner left undisturbed in his possessions, and who employed the Roman crafts- men to build him a house. These tessellated floors have been frequently exposed to view in various parts of 38 Memorials of Old Dorset Dorset, and too frequently, alas ! through ignorance or carelessness, been neglected or destroyed ; others, again, have been examined, plans or drawings made, and been covered up once more. Among those which have been described may be mentioned : Thornford and Lenthay Green, near Sherborne ; Halstock, six miles south of Yeovil ; Rampisham, twelve miles north of Dorchester ; Frampton, six miles north of Dorchester ; Preston, near Weymouth ; Creech, near Wareham ; Fifehead Neville, north-west of Blandford ; Hemsworth, five miles north of Wimborne ; and in Dorchester itself no less than twenty different pavements, either complete or in portions, besides one on the upper area of Maiden Castle. It is difficult to assign a date, even approximately, to these villas, for the coins found amidst the debris cover practi- cally the whole period of Roman occupation, and the other objects generally discovered on the site are not of much assistance. There are no records of inscribed stones being found, which might have helped ; and, as a rule, the more valuable part of the building materials, such as cut stones, roof slabs, and timbers, must have been taken away when the houses were left ; but the wells and refuse pits are the happy and profitable hunting-ground of the antiquary. The tessellated pavements are so interesting and attractive that it is worth while to describe them in detail. The system adopted in their construction seems to have been as follows : — If no provision was made for heating the rooms by means of a hypocaust or hot-air flues, the ground was prepared by rough levelling, and 6 to 8 inches thick of flints rammed, or coarse, gravelly mortar or concrete laid ; on this 3 or 4 inches of better class white cement, and above some fine cement to take the tessellae ; and after these were laid a liquid cement would be run into the interstices before the final polishing was commenced. The system of laying is well shewn in the a a X y a S a a H < o < < The Roman Occupation 39 annexed illustration, taken of a pavement in situ, before removal to the Dorset County Museum. The tessellas themselves, as generally found in Dorset, consist of small cubes of stone or brick, but vary in size from about f or \ inch to \\ inch; the smaller are used for the decorative portions ; the larger for the borders, or for passages, or for the floors of houses of a humbler character. The colours are for the most part only four — namely : white, dark slate (or blue-black), red, and a sort of drab or grey ; occasionally yellow is found, but not often. The materials of which the tessellas are composed has given rise to much discussion and, indeed, much difference of opinion ; but, as a general principle, it may be assumed that, wherever possible, local stone was used. The red tessellas are merely brick or tile of a fine description ; but, as a means of obtaining a scientific opinion of the other stones, microscopic sections have been cut from the tessellas and submitted to an expert mineralogist, who has given them the following names. The very dark stone is a fine-grained ferruginous limestone ; the grey is also a fine-grained limestone ; the drab or yellow is an oolitic limestone ; and the white is a hard chalk, showing foraminifera very well. It is believed that the colour may be altered by submitting the stone to heat, an opinion held by Professor Buckman, and explained in a very interesting chapter of his book, Roman Art in Cirencester. The mosaic floors found in Dorchester are, as a rule, of very simple but effective design, consisting of geometrical arrangements of the single guilloche, the twist or plait, the double guilloche (which is extremely hand- some in mosaic work), and the ordinary fret. These, being arranged as c ..dines of intersecting squares and circles, leave spaces of varying dimensions, spandrels, or trefoils, which are utilised for the introduction of many diverse emblems, such as the fylfot or swastika, the duplex, sprays of foliage, urns, and interlacing knots. In the County Museum may be seen laid on the floor (in which 4o Memorials of Old Dorset position alone can full justice be done to the skill of the Italian artist) two nearly complete mosaic pavements. One of these shows the area of three adjoining rooms, with entrances or vestibules ; the other pavement, found in 1905, is in excellent preservation, measuring 21 feet by 12 feet 6 inches, and is remarkable for two ornamental vases, with two serpents issuing from each. The pavement at Preston, near Weymouth, still in situ, was discovered in 1852, the coins found near the villa dating from the middle of the third century. At Jordan Hill, close by, is the Roman settlement, Clavinio, which has been productive of a large number of very interesting relics. At the entrance to the village of Preston, coming from Weymouth, may be seen an arch spanning a small stream. The form and masonry of the arch, as well as its proximity to the other remains here noticed, point to the probability of Roman construction, and is of special interest,, as examples of Roman masonry are but rarely found still existing in the county. The pavement at Lenthay Green was discovered in 1836, and was carefully removed to the dairy of Sher- borne Castle. It contains a representation of a sitting figure playing on a lyre, and a second figure dancing and playing a pipe. The villa on Maiden Castle was discovered by Mr. Cunnington in 1882, and as a result of his excavations he sent to the County Museum many interesting objects : fragments of mosaic floor, wall-plaster, and roof tiles, a curious bronze plate (repousse work) representing" a helmeted figure holding a spear, and coins from Helena, A.D. 290, to Arcadius, A.D. 408. A mosaic floor at Frampton is remarkable for the introduction into the design of the Christian monogram £, known as the Labarum. Extensive excavations were made here at the end of the eighteenth century, and four different pavements were found. They contain numerous The Roman Occupation 4i representations of heathen deities, Neptune being especially favoured ; a motto worked into one of the borders runs : " Neptuni vertex regmen sortiti mobile ventis" and some other words partly lost. The introduc- A/\/\A/^ Tessellated Pavement at Fifehead Neville, Dorset. tion of the monogram of Christ is probably of a later date than the original work. The pavement is now covered up, but Mr. Lysons, who superintended the excavations in 1797, obtained accurate drawings of the whole site, the 42 Memorials of Old Dorset mosaic work being shown in correct colours on seven large plates which were published, together with an accurate description. The pavements uncovered at Fifehead Neville are also of great interest. The first was discovered in 1881, measuring about 14 feet by 12 feet, the design consisting of an urn, or vase, in the centre, around which seven small fish are depicted, and outside them are four sea-monsters, like dolphins. Coins found here date from A.D. 270 to 340. The second pavement, found in 1903, requires no description, as we are permitted, by the Editor of the Dorset Field Club, to reproduce an illustration which appears in the Club's Proceedings. The general plan of the design is almost identical with a pavement found in Dyer Street, Cirencester, though the details are altogether different. They may well have been designed by the same artist. Very little has been said, so far, of Dorchester itself, and yet the modern town is full of memories of the Roman Durnovaria. It lies within the boundaries of the ancient walls, their position, still plainly discernible in many places, being marked by broad walks and avenues of trees. One small portion of the masonry of the wall itself may still be seen in the West Walk. The position of the gates is also fairly easy to decide, though no vestige of them remains. The roads which issued from them have been referred to at a previous page. It has been asserted recently — and, indeed, proved to the satisfaction of many local authorities — that the course of a Roman aqueduct can be traced here and there to the west of Dorchester skirting the adjacent valleys and hills. It is believed to have been an open water-course, obtaining its supply from the source of a small stream some twelve miles distant. Perhaps, however, the most remarkable relic of the Roman occupation is the amphitheatre, said to be the best The Roman Occupation 43 preserved in Britain. It is larger than the so-called " Bull Ring " of Cirencester, and, being quite free from trees and bushes, stands out more boldly than the similar work at Silchester. It is built of chalk, now covered with grass, somewhat elliptical in plan, the height of the sides being given as about 30 feet, and the internal measurements 218 feet by 163 feet. On each side of the entrance there are walks which ascend gradually to the centre of the mounds, where there are small platforms as if for seating the principal spectators or judges, but there are no traces of steps or ledges for the accommodation of the general public ; and, judging by the remarks of early Roman writers, it is very probable that the people were obliged to stand throughout the public games. But in addition to these more obvious relics of a bygone age, the subsoil of Dorchester is full of treasures that emphasise the Roman occupation. It would be impossible to describe in these pages even the most interesting of the objects that have been brought to light in recent years, but it is fortunate that they find their way very frequently to the County Museum, of which the people of Dorset are justly proud. It must suffice at the present time to mention that in its cases may be seen a fine collection of objects made of Kimmeridge shale ; glass hairpins, brooches and bracelets, and a metal mirror ; pottery of all kinds ; many examples of mosaic floors, fragments of wall plaster retaining their brilliant colouring, three curious antefixae, a Roman sword handle, which is believed to be almost unique, and a base and capital of a column of a temple. In looking at these memorials of the past, and stepping the while on the ancient pavements, the mind is taken back with irresistible force to the men and women who made use of them in their daily occupations — the Romans, who for a period of four hundred years exercised their wise and beneficial influence over the people of Britain. THE CHURCHES OF DORSET By the Rev. Thomas Perkins, M.A. UT of about three hundred churches which are to be found in Dorset, three stand out as far ahead of all the rest — the church (once collegiate, now parochial) of Wimborne Minster ; the church of the Benedictine Abbey at Sherborne, now the parish church ; and the great Benedictine Abbey Church at Milton, now in parochial use. These three, which receive separate treatment in the present volume, are the only three Dorset churches that can rank with the great parish churches of England. There were before the Reformation many religious houses, each with its own church, in the county, but at the time of the Dissolution, in the reign of Henry VIII., most of these, as being of no further use, fell into decay, and their ruins were regarded as quarries of hewn stone whenever such material was needed in the neighbourhood. Of the Benedictine nunnery of Shaftesbury, once one of the most wealthy religious foundations in the kingdom, nothing remains save the foundations, which recent excavations have disclosed to view ; of Cistercian Bindon, only the gatehouse and a few ivy-clad walls, rising only a few feet above the ground ; of Benedictine Cerne, a splendid barn and a beautiful gatehouse, and a few fragments incorporated in some farm buildings ; of its daughter abbey at Abbotsbury, a still larger barn, testifying to the wealth of the community, and some ruined walls — this is all that remains to mark the spots 44 The Churches of Dorset 45 where day after day through many centuries the words of prayer and praise rose almost without ceasing, and monks and nuns lived their lives apart from the busy world, spending their time in meditation, in adorning their churches with the carving of capital and boss or miserere, in copying and illuminating manuscripts, in teaching the young, in giving alms to the needy, in tilling their lands in the days while yet they cherished the high ideals of the founders of their orders, before they lapsed into luxury and riotous living. A few monastic barns remain in other places, as at Tarrant Crawford and Liscombe. These owe their preservation to the fact that they could at once be utilized ; for those who received grants of abbey lands, no less than their predecessors, required buildings wherein to store their corn ; whereas the refectory, dormitory, cellars, and other domestic buildings designed for a community of monks or nuns were useless when such communities no longer existed ; and the churches, unless they could be turned to account as parish churches, would also be of no use. After the three great ministers already mentioned there is a wide gap, for though many of the Dorset parish churches are of architectural or archaeological interest, either generally or because they contain some special object — a Saxon font, a Norman doorway, a Decorated Easter sepulchre, a canopied tomb, or the effigy of a noble who fought in the French wars of the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries — yet as a rule the churches are com- paratively, if not actually, small, and are for the most part built in the Perpendicular style, the most prosaic and uninteresting of the mediaeval styles of architecture, though in mason-craft it can hold its own against all the rest. And, moreover, Dorset Perpendicular is not equal to that which is to be found in the neighbouring county of Somerset. We look in vain for the splendid fifteenth century towers which are the glory of the 46 Memorials of Old Dorset Somerset churches ; here and there in isolated places, and, strange enough, not on the Somerset border, we find traces of the Somerset influence ; but for the most part the Dorset towers are utilitarian appendages, not structures carefully designed with a view to beauty of outline and richness and appropriateness of ornament, as the finest of the Somerset towers are. Spires of mediaeval date are rare in Dorset. There are but two — one at Winterborne Steepleton, near Dorchester, and one at Trent, a parish added for administration purposes to the County of Dorset in 1895; there is a spire also at Iwerne1 Minster, but it cannot be called a mediaeval one, for though the tower of this church was formerly surmounted by a beautiful spire, yet that to be seen to-day is only a reproduction, built of some of the stones of the old spire, which was taken down at the beginning of the nineteenth century. The upper part above the lower of the two moulded bands, preserves the original slope ; the lower has a different slope, as the builder had, in a vertical distance of about ten feet, to connect the base of the original spire with the horizontal section of the upper part, which was originally about thirty feet above the base. The original spire was forty feet in height ; the present one is only twenty feet. The stone not used in the re-building was sold to a road contractor for metalling the roads. The hand of the restorer has been laid very heavily on Dorset churches. In some cases, where there was absolutely no necessity for it, old churches were entirely destroyed to make room for smart new buildings ; others have been restored — a few judiciously, the majority injudiciously ; a few only, so far, have entirely escaped. Many causes in Dorset, as elsewhere, have led to extensive restoration — the desire to adapt the building to the form of worship fashionable at the time, or to put back, as it is called, the church into what was supposed to be 1 Pronounced U-ern or You-ern. The Churches of Dorset 47 its original form, as if such a thing- were possible ; the love of uniformity, which has led to the removal of seventeenth and eighteenth century additions, such as pulpits and galleries, which were supposed to be out of keeping with the main portion of the church ; by which removals much interesting history has been destroyed. Oak pews, sometimes carved, have been swept away in order to put in more comfortable benches of pitch pine ; encaustic tiles have taken the place of the old stones, which, if they had become uneven, might have been relaid ; ancient plaster has been stripped from walls, and the stones pointed ; churchyards have been levelled, and, in some cases, the paths have been paved with old head- stones. Unfortunately for Dorset, there has been found no lack of money to carry out these supposed " improve- ments," so that the work of " restoration " has been done most thoroughly throughout the length and breadth of the county, and there is now little more that is likely to be done. It is, indeed, almost too late to utter the prayer of Thomas Hardy : — From restorations of Thy fane, From smoothings of Thy sward, From zealous churchmen's pick and plane, Deliver us, good Lord ! l But despite the fact that Dorset is architecturally much poorer at the beginning of the twentieth century than at the beginning of the nineteenth, there is still much that the archaeologist may take joy in, though his joy may be mingled with regret at treasures of old time that have vanished for ever. One of the most interesting ecclesiastical buildings in Dorset is the little church, disused for many years save for an occasional service, of St. Martin, at Wareham. Some of it is probably of Saxon date ; in size and propor- tion it bears a remarkable likeness to St. Ealdhelm's 1 " The Levelled Churchyard," in Poems of the Past and Present. 48 Memorials of Old Dorset recently re-discovered church of St. Lawrence, at Bradford-on-Avon. This is specially interesting, as it is said that St. Ealdhelm founded a monastery or nun- nery at Wareham, and the similarity of this church to that which he built at Bradford gives some confirmation to the belief that this church also was built by him during the time of his episcopate at Sherborne (705-709). Some authorities, while recognising the church as of Saxon foundation, would date it approximately 1050. The chancel arch is low, like that at Bradford, but not so narrow; the nave, though subsequently lengthened, is short, narrow, and high — long and short work may be seen in the coigns of the walls ; all these seem to indicate its Saxon origin. The church, however, has been en- larged from time to time; the north aisle is divided from the nave by round-headed arches; the windows at the east of the chancel and aisle, now walled up, are of the Perpendicular period ; and a window in the south wall of the nave is of Decorated date; but an early Norman one may be seen on the north side of the chancel. The tower, with a gabled roof, is an early addition to the building. When, in 1762, a great fire destroyed about a third of the town of Wareham, many of those whom this disaster rendered homeless found a refuge within the walls of the little church, which even then had ceased to be used for service. Beneath the church a vast number of burials took place; it would seem that the limited space within the walls was used over and over again for this purpose. Among other examples of Saxon work to be found in Dorset may be mentioned a walled-up doorway, with triangular head, on the south wall of Worth Matravers church, in the Isle of Purbeck ; a fragment of herring-bone work in Corfe Castle, which may possibly be a portion of a wall of the chapel founded here by St. Ealdhelm, though it may, on the other hand, be of Norman date; and fonts at Toller Fratrum and Martinstown; and the St. Martin's Church, Wareham. The Churches of Dorset 49 carved stone over the doorway of Tarrant Rushton, the chancel arch of which church is also probably of pre- Conquest date. Norman work is naturally more abundant. The church at Studland, in the Isle of Purbeck, is no doubt the most complete example to be met with in the county. It is also a fine example of restoration at its best. The church was in great danger of falling, owing to the sinking of an artificial bed of clay on which the foundations of some of the walls were laid ; wide cracks had opened in the walls, in the chancel arch, and other places ; the mortar of the core of the walls had perished ; but by underpinning the walls, grouting with cement, the insertion of metal tie-beams, and stopping the cracks, the church has been made safe. There is little work of post-Norman date, but it is by no means certain that the Norman builders built the church from its foundations ; there is good reason to suppose that a previous church of rude rubble masonry existed here, and that a great part of the original walls was left standing, and that the Norman builders cut out portions of the old walls to insert their own more perfect work in various places. It is a long, narrow church, without aisles ; a low central tower, probably never completed, covered with a gable roof, stands between the nave and chancel. The tower arches are low, and the roof is vaulted. The Norman work probably dates from about 1 130. The church bears some resemblance to the well-known church at IfHey, but the decoration is not so elaborate. Next to Studland in interest comes the church of Worth Matravers, also in the Isle of Purbeck. Here, however, the tower stands at the west end. The chancel is Early English, the roof is of wood ; but the chancel arch is elaborately carved, as is also the door within the south porch. In the parish of Worth stands a unique building — the chapel of St. Ealdhelm, on St. Ealdhelm's (or, as it is often incorrectly called, St. Alban's) Head. It E 50 Memorials of Old Dorset shares with the later chapel of St. Catherine, near Abbots- bury, the peculiarity of being built, within and without, walls and roof alike, of stone. The chapel of St. Ealdhelm stands four square, with a pyramidal roof, now surmounted by a cross, which has taken the place of the cresset in which the beacon fire blazed on nights of storm or national danger. No doubt it showed one of the " twinkling points of fire " of Macaulay's ballad when the Armada had been sighted off Alderney. There is a legend that it was built by St. Ealdhelm, who, finding that he could not by land get at the heathen of what we now call Dorset, came in a boat and climbed the cliff, and afterwards founded this chapel to mark the spot where he landed. That he landed here is probable enough, but the style of archi- tecture— Norman — shows that it was built long after St. Ealdhelm's time. It is far more likely that his chapel was built on the hill at " Corfesgeat," now crowned with the ruins of Corfe Castle. Another more romantic story tells us that this chapel on St. Eald- helm's Head was founded by the Norman Lord of the Manor, who, when his daughter, who had just been married, set out from Poole Haven to sail down channel to her home, came to this high spot to watch the vessel that bore her pass, and saw it wrecked on the rocks below. Hence it is said that he built this chapel so that masses might be said there for her soul's rest. Be this as it may, it is certain that for many centuries the chaplain received his yearly stipend of fifty shillings from the Royal Treasury, and the chapel was a seamen's chantry, where prayers for their safety might be offered, and whose flaming beacon served as a lighthouse. A narrow Norman window, or, rather, a slit, near the north- west corner of the east wall, alone admits light. A Norman doorway, in the opposite wall, is the only entrance. The stone vault is supported by ribs springing from a central pier, an arrangement similar to that common in polygonal chapter houses. The local name for the building was The Churches of Dorset 51 at one time " The Devil's Chapel," and people sought to gain their objects by some process of incantation, one part of the rite being the dropping of a pin into a hole in the central pier, a custom not altogether abandoned even now. On Worth " club walking day," in Whitsun week, the building was used as a dancing room ; at other times of the year as a coast-guard store. It has, how- ever, been refitted as a chapel, and service for the coast- guard station is held at stated times by the rector of Worth. It is neither possible nor desirable to mention all the Norman work which is to be found in Dorset, but attention must be called to that at Bere Regis. In this church may especially be noticed some curious carved heads on some of the capitals ; on one, an arm comes down from above, and the hand raises the eyelids — evidently the gift of sight is here indicated ; on another in like manner the fingers open the mouth — probably the gift of speech is here represented, although the carving might be intended to represent the gift of taste. Work of the Early English period (thirteenth century) is not very common in Dorset. We meet with it, however, in the east end of Wimborne Minster, in the churches of Knighton, Cranborne, Corfe Mullen, Portesham, and Worth, among others. Nor is the Decorated style more fully represented. The best examples are Milton Abbey Church, which is almost entirely in this style, and the aisles of Wimborne Minster ; but it may also be seen in Gussage St. Michael, Tarrant Rushton, and Wooton Glanville, and at St. Peter's, Dorchester, a well-preserved arch for the Easter sepulchre of this period may be seen. It was customary in such arches to set up at Easter a movable wooden structure representing the grave in Joseph's garden, where certain rites commemorating the Burial and Resurrection were performed. These sepulchres were very elaborate, and associated with them were figures, of course of small 52 Memorials of Old Dorset size, representing Christ, the Father, the Holy Ghost, the armed guard, and angels and devils. The great majority of the Dorset churches are of Perpendicular date, and in churches of earlier date there are few that do not contain some addition or insertion made after the time when this peculiarly English style had had its birth in the Abbey Church at Gloucester, and had been adopted by William of Edington and William of Wykeham in the transformation of the Norman Cathedral Church at Winchester during the latter half of the fourteenth century. Why was it that so many churches were built during the fifteenth century? Probably because con- ditions had changed, and the building was no longer the work chiefly of the bishops or of the religious orders as it had been up to the thirteenth century, or of the nobles as it had been in the fourteenth,, but of the people. The French wars of Edward III. emptied the purses of the nobles and the monasteries ; the Black Death also counted many monks among its victims, and had entirely swept away many of the smaller religious houses, and decreased the numbers of brethren in the larger ; * and the middle class rose after the Black Death to a position that it had never occupied before. This class demanded parish churches, as well as trade halls and guild chapels, and built them, too — that is, supplied money to pay masons. Architecture became more of a trade and less of an art. Norfolk and Somerset were especially rich districts at a time when England exported the raw material, wool, and not, as now, manufactured goods ; and hence in these two counties some of the largest and grandest parish churches were built. And Dorset, lying as it does on the Somerset border, showed, though 1 The heads of religious houses, being landowners, suffered financially, as other landowners did, from the great increase in wages that farm labourers were able to demand, because so many labourers having died, the supply fell far short of the demand. The Churches of Dorset 53 in less degree, the results of the new conditions. It has no churches of this period to match in size St. Mary Redcliffe at Bristol, or St. Mary Magdalene's at Taunton ; it has no Perpendicular towers to rival those of Shepton Mallet, St. Cuthbert's at Wells, or Huish Episcopi ; but it has some fine examples, nevertheless, distinctly traceable to Somerset influence. The parent design in Dorset may perhaps be seen in Piddletrenthide, 1487 ; Fordington St. George, the top of which tower has not been very wisely altered of late, is a little more in advance ; St. Peter's, Dorchester, and Charminster are still further developed ; the two last probably are the finest individual towers in the county. Bradford Abbas may be thought by some more beautiful, but the builder borrowed details from the Quantock group of churches. The tower at Cerne is probably by the same builder as Bradford, judging from the similarity of the buttresses and pinnacles in the two churches. Beaminster also has a fine tower, and so has Marnhull, though the general effect of the latter is ruined by the clumsy modern parapet. Milton Abbey tower has good details. In all these cases, excepting Cerne, there are double windows in the belfry stage ; but this arrangement is not so common in Dorset as in Somerset, and the writer knows no instance of triple windows. A Somerset feature that is very commonly met with in Dorset is an external stair-turret, an arrangement not found in the East of England. The Somerset builders often placed pinnacles on the offsets of their buttresses ; these are rarely seen in Dorset. Generally, the Dorset towers are not so richly ornamented as those of Somerset. It has been said before that there are only two Dorset churches with spires built before the Reformation. A few words may not be out of place descriptive of the two. Steepleton is a long, narrow church, with nave and chancel, but no aisle. A blocked-up Norman arch, and a pointed one, similarly blocked, in the north wall of the nave, indicate that originally a chapel, or chapels, stood 54 Memorials of Old Dorset here. A curious stone, carved with the figure of a floating angel, probably taken from the interior, was at some time built into the exterior of the south wall of the nave. It has by this means escaped destruction, but the damp has caused lichen to grow on it. It bears a strong resemblance to the angel to be seen over the chancel arch of St. Lawrence's Church at Bradford-on-Avon. It is not unlikely that the corresponding angel is on a stone that has been used in blocking one of the arches mentioned before. They possibly date from pre-Conquest days, or, at any rate, from a time before the pre-Conquest style had died out in this remote village, and may have formed part of a representation of the Ascension. The western stone may possibly date from the fourteenth century, as a window in its east face, now covered by the raised roof, shows geometrical tracery ; the windows in the other faces are much later — probably they have been altered. The main octagonal spire that rises from the tower does not seem to have been part of the original design. On the four spaces between the corners of the tower and the spire are four spirelets ; these do not stand as pinnacles of the tower, nor are they used, as sometimes spirelets were used, to hide the awkward junction of a broad spire with a square tower, for this is not a broad, but rises, as fourteenth century spires generally do, from the tower roof, though here a parapet hardly exists. Trent Steeple, standing midway on the south side of the church, is a very beautiful one ; the tower has double- light windows, with geometrical tracery, and a pierced parapet, with pinnacles, from which rises a very graceful spire, the edges of which have a circular moulding. The spire is slightly twisted from some subsidence, and cracks have occurred in the tower. The church has no aisles, but the projecting tower, the lower part of which serves as an entrance porch, on the south, and the chapel and organ chamber on the north, give it a very picturesque appearance. A modern addition is a distinctly pleasant The Churches of Dorset 55 feature, namely, an octagonal baptistery, which stands beyond the church at the west end of the nave. The interior is also pleasing. There are bench ends of oak, black with age, a reading desk on the north side, of like material, and a fine oak chancel screen. The carved wooden pulpit, if not entirely modern, is very largely so. In the churchyard are the steps and base of a churchyard cross. It is an exceedingly beautiful church, and the few houses in its immediate neighbourhood, with stone mullioned windows, are all in keeping with the church. The straggling cottages, the winding lanes, render it one of the most picturesque villages in the county. It was a distinct loss to Somerset and gain to Dorset when this parish was transferred from the former to the latter county. This sketch of the Dorset churches would be incomplete without reference to some of the note- worthy features to be met with in the fittings of some of them. The cast-lead font of St. Mary's, Wareham, on which figures of the Apostles are still distinguishable from each other, despite the rough usage to which they have been subjected, may possibly date from Saxon days, and from the resemblance it bears to the font in Dorchester Abbey, Oxfordshire, they may well have been contemporaneous. If so, it gives counte- nance to the belief that this font dates from the time when, as yet, the whole Wessex kingdom was one diocese with its Bishop-stool at the Oxfordshire Dorchester — that is, sometime between the conversion of Cynegils by St. Birinus in 635 and the division of the diocese into the two separate sees of Winchester and Sherborne in 705 ; as after this event the Oxfordshire Dorchester would have little to do with Dorset. The church at Piddletown has escaped the drastic restoration that has destroyed the interest of so many of our Dorset churches. Archaeologists may well rejoice that the gallery and pews have not been swept away 56 Memorials of Old Dorset with ruthless zeal, and will pray that they may, for many years to come, stand as witnesses of what was being done in Dorset at a time when the storm was gathering that was destined for a while to overthrow the power of king and priest. In Bloxworth Church there still remains in its stand the hour-glass by which the preacher regulated the length of his sermon. This probably was placed in its position about the middle of the seventeenth century. The people in those days liked sermons, and expected to be able to listen to one for at least an hour, though sometimes the preacher, when all the sand had run into the lower half of the hour-glass, would give his congregation another hour, turning the glass ; and sometimes yet once again the glass was turned. As we look on this relic of sermon loving days, we cannot help thinking of the eyes of the weary children, doomed to sit under these long-winded preachers, turned on the slowly trickling sand, and the sense of relief they must have felt when the last grain had run down, and the hour of their enforced listening was at an end. To this same seventeenth century may be ascribed many of the elaborately carved oaken pulpits which are to be found in Dorset, as, for instance, those at Beaminster, Netherbury, Charminster, Iwerne Minster, and Abbotsbury. In the last may still be seen two holes caused by bullets fired by Cromwell's soldiers when the church was garrisoned by Royalists under General Strangways. At Frampton a stone pulpit, of fifteenth century date, much restored,, still exists. At Corton Chapel a fine pre- Reformation stone altar stands, which escaped destruction when the order for the removal of stone altars was issued in 1550, because Corton was one of those free chapels which had been suppressed and deprived of its revenue three years before by the Chantry Act of 1 Edward VI. In the neighbouring church at Portesham a window on the north side of the nave shews signs of the influence The Churches of Dorset 57 which on the Continent led to the Flamboyant style. A fine Jacobean screen may be seen at West Stafford Church, which was removed from its original position and put further to the east when the church was lengthened a few years ago. In Hilton Church there are twelve noteworthy mediaeval panel paintings, each more than six feet high, representing the Apostles. These once belonged to Milton Abbey. When Tarrant Rushton Church was restored, on the eastern face of the chancel arch were found two earthen- ware vases. Their use is a matter of doubt, but an idea formerly prevailed that such vessels gave richness to the voice, and from this idea they were sometimes let into the walls, and were known as acoustic vases. Dorset is fairly rich in monumental effigies in stone and alabaster. One of the most beautiful and best preserved of the latter is that erected in Wimborne Minster by the Lady Margaret, in memory of her father and mother, John Beaufort, Duke of Somerset, and his wife. Cross- legged effigies are to be seen in Wareham, Bridport, Piddletown, Wimborne Minster, Dorchester, Trent, Horton, Wimborne St. Giles, and Stock Gaylard. The first four bear a close resemblance to one another. The knight wears a sleeved tunic or hauberk of mail, a hooded coif, and over this a helmet. This costume in- dicates a date before the middle of the twelfth century. The feet rest upon an animal. At one time the fact that the legs were crossed was held to indicate that the person represented was a Crusader ; if the legs were crossed at the ankles it was supposed that he had made one pil- grimage to the East ; if at the knees, two ; if higher up, three. But all this is probably erroneous, for on the one hand some known Crusaders are not represented with their legs crossed, while others who are known not to have gone to the Holy Land are so represented. And even a stronger proof may be adduced, namely, that some of the crossed-legged effigies represent knights who lived after 58 Memorials of Old Dorset the Crusades were over; for example, that found on the tomb of Sir Peter Carew at Exeter, who died in 1 57 1. In Mappowder Church there is a miniature cross-legged effigy, about two feet long. This is often spoken of as a "boy crusader" — a child who is supposed to have gone with his father to the Holy Land, and to have died there. But this is probably a mistake. Similar diminutive effigies are found in divers places; for instance, that at Salisbury which goes by the name of the " Boy Bishop," and Bishop Ethelmer's (1260) at Winchester. Many authorities think that, as it was customary in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries to bury different parts of the body in different places, these effigies mark the spot where the heart was buried. The figure at Mappowder holds a heart in its hands,, and this certainly lends coun- tenance to this theory. A similar monument formerly existed at Frampton, but it has disappeared. At Trent is a crossed-legged effigy of a " franklin " — a civilian who was allowed to wear a sword. There are two figures in St. Peter's, Dorchester, laid on the sills of windows ; it is said they were removed from the old Priory Church. These are of later date, namely, the end of the fourteenth century. They wear plate armour, and on their heads pointed bassinets, while the great helms that were worn over these serve as pillows for their heads to rest on. At West Chelborough there is a curious monument without date or name : a lady lies asleep on a bed with a child enveloped in the folds of her drapery ; probably this indicates that she died in giving birth to the infant. Another curious monument is met with in Sandford Orcas Church, whereon may be seen William Knoyle kneeling with one of his wives in front, and one behind him, and behind the latter, four corpses of children ; the knight and first wife have skulls in their hands, to indicate that they were dead when the monument (1607) was erected ; the second wife is dressed in black to show her The Churches of Dorset 59 widowhood ; her seven children are also represented, the four girls by her, and the three boys behind the father. It will be noticed that the recumbent figures of earlier time gave place to kneeling figures in the sixteenth century, when the husband and wife were often represented opposite to each other, with their children behind them in graduated sizes. These are far less pleasing than the monuments of earlier date ; but worse was to come, an example of which may be seen at St. Peter's Church, Dorchester, in the monument of Denzil, Lord Holies, so well known in the history of the reign of Charles I. A bare mention must suffice for other monuments. In Marnhull, Thomas Howard (1582), a man of huge stature, lies between his two wives, small delicate women, who are absolutely alike in person and dress. It would seem as if their effigies were mere conventional representa- tions. In the neighbouring church of Stalbridge lies an emaciated corpse in a shroud without date or name. In Netherbury is a mutilated alabaster figure with " S.S." on the collar ; at Melbury Sampford the alabaster efhgy of William Brounyng, who died 1467, wears plate armour and the Yorkist collar. At Charminster are several canopied tombs of the Trenchards, in Purbeck marble, of a form found in many Wessex churches, and the figure of a daughter of Sir Thomas Trenchard, wife of Sir William Pole, who died in 1636. She kneels before a book lying open on a desk, and wears a fur tippet. In Chideock Chapel may be seen a knight in plate armour, possibly Sir John Chideock, who died in 1450. In Came Church are the recumbent figures of Sir John Miller and his wife Anna (1610). In Farnham, over the altar, is a plain stone in memory of one Alexander Bower, a preacher of God's Word, who is said to have died " in the year of Christes incarnation (1616)" This is interesting as showing the unabridged form of the possessive case. Built in the wall over the door of Durweston Church 60 Memorials of Old Dorset is a piece of carving, which originally was above the altar and beneath the east window, representing a blacksmith shoeing a horse ; and over the west door of Hinton Parva is a carving of an angel, a cross, and a butterfly. The finest timber roof in the county is undoubtedly that of Bere Regis nave. It is said that Cardinal Morton placed this roof upon the church when he was Archbishop of Canterbury. He was born near, or in, this village, and after the battle of Towton was attainted. In the central shield on the roof the arms of Morton are impaled with the arms of the See of Canterbury ; this gives the date of the erection somewhere between i486 and 1500, but a Cardinal's hat on one of the figures limits the date still further, as it was not until 1493 that Morton became a Cardinal. The figures, which project from the hammer beams and look downwards, are popularly known as the Apostles, but the dress precludes this idea, as one is habited as a Deacon, and one, as said above, wears a Cardinal's hat. The painting of the roof is modern, done when the roof was restored. One of the most remarkable buildings of the fifteenth century is St. Catherine's Chapel, on the lofty hill which overlooks the sea near Abbotsbury. In the construction of this, wood plays no part — all is solid stone. The roof is formed of transverse ribs, richly bossed where ridge and purloin ribs intersect them, and each of the two rectangular compartments between every pair of ribs on either side thus formed is simply foliated like blank window lights. There is not a thin stone vault below a stone outer roof above with a space between them, but it is stone through- out, and on St. Catherine's wind-swept hill the chapel has stood uninjured since the Benedictine Monks of Abbotsbury built this chantry nearly five hundred years ago. The massive buttresses, from which no pinnacles rise, the parapet pierced by holes for letting out the water, the turret with its flat cap, in which once the beacon fire used to be lighted in its iron cresset, render the chapel The Churches of Dorset 6i still more unique. Nowhere else in England, save on St Ealdhelm's Head, can such a solidly-built structure be found. The simple tracery of the windows remains, but the glass has disappeared. The windows are boarded up to keep out the rain, and the interior is bare. Resting on a hill top, washed by the pure breezes, such a chapel is fitly dedicated to St. Catherine of Alexandria. THE MEMORIAL BRASSES OF DORSET By W. de C. Prideaux ORSET is by no means rich in the number of its monumental brasses. Haines, in his list (1861), gives their number as thirty-three, distributed over twenty -four churches ; but recent researches and alterations in the county boundaries have rendered his list no longer strictly accurate. Yet only about one hundredth of the brasses to be found in England are preserved in Dorset, though its area is about one fiftieth of the area of England ; and so it will be seen that the number of its brasses is considerably below the average, although it must be remembered that brasses are very unequally divided, the Eastern counties having by far the largest proportion. The earliest known brasses in England date from the latter part of the thirteenth century; and for three centuries this form of memorial was in great favour. Brasses had many advantages over carved effigies in stone ; they occupied less space, formed no obstruction in the churches, were more easily executed, and possibly cheaper. Fortunately, also, they have lasted longer, and have preserved a wealth of valuable detail relating to costume and heraldry far in excess of any other form of monument. 62 The Memorial Brasses of Dorset 63 Monumental brasses may be divided roughly into two classes : those in which the figure is engraved on a rectangular plate, the background being plain or filled in with diapered or scroll work, which is seen to such great advantage on many Continental brasses, and those in which there is no background, the plate being cut around the outline of the figure, and fastened down into a similarly shaped shallow matrix or casement in the stone slab. Examples of both kinds are found in Dorset ; but none of our examples are of very early date. One of the oldest, commemorating Joan de St. Omer, dated 1436 (an engraving of which may be seen in Hutchins' Dorset, vol. ii., p. 380, and a rubbing by the late Mr. Henry Moule in the library of the Society of Antiquaries, London1), has disappeared from St. Peter's Church, Dorchester, although the matrix still remains. The Oke brass at Shapwick, if of contemporary workmanship, may be older. Sometimes brasses were pulled out and sold by the churchwardens for the value of the metal.2 Sometimes, indeed, brasses which had commemorated some warrior, priest, or worthy of former times were taken up, turned over, re-engraved, and made to do duty in honour of someone else, as may be seen in the retroscript brasses at Litton Cheney ; but in several cases the brass, after weathering the stormy times of the civil wars, and escaping the greed of those whose business it was to guard their church from the mutilation, were lost through the gross neglect of the nineteenth century restorer. The writer knows of several specimens now loose and in danger. 1 Showing the horned head dress and gown, the whole almost identical in outline and size with the Alyanora Pollard effigy, 1430, at Bishop's Nympton, Devon. 2 Extract from the Stratton Churchwardens' Account, 1753, April 26th — "Two brasses not wey'd at 7d. p. pound sopos'd to wey 12 pound they wey'd but 9 lbs. 0.5.3." There are no brasses at Stratton now. 64 Memorials of Old Dorset The following is a list of all the known brasses in Dorset : — Beaminster. — Ann, the wife of Henry Hillary, of Meerhay, 1653- Elizabeth, the wife of William Milles, and daughter of John Hillary, of Meerhay, 1674. Mrs. Ann Hillary, died 1700. William Milles, Esq., of Meerhay, and Mary, his wife. He died 1760, aged 82 ; she died 1771, aged 95. And outside the wall of south aisle, inscriptions to— Elizabeth Smitham, 1773, aged 61. Rev. Edmund Lewis, 1766, aged 40. Joseph Symes, gent., 1776, aged 75 ; also Frances, his wife, 1737, aged 47. And on a large slab in the floor of south aisle,, formerly on an altar tomb — Pray for the soule of Sr John Tone,l Whose bodye lyeth berid under this tombe, On whos soule J'hu have mercy A Pat'nost' & Ave. All small inscriptions only. Bere Regis. — J. Skerne and Margaret, his wife, 1596. Kneeling figures, with heraldic shield and an eight- line engraved verse, on altar tomb. Robert Turberville, 1559. Inscription only. Bryanston. — John Rogers and Elizabeth, his wife, 1528. Inscription below matrices of their effigies and heraldic shields. Cecilia Rogers, wife of Sir Richard Rogers, of Bryanston. A ten-line verse below matrices of her effigy and heraldic shields, 1566. Br id fort. — Edward Coker, gent. Inscription only, 1685. 1 According to tradition, a Knight of Malta. The Memorial Brasses of Dorset 65 Caandle Purse. — William Longe, 1 500 ; Elizabeth Longe, 1527; Richard Brodewey, rector, 1536. All small effigies, the two latter with inscriptions ; and all loose when seen by the writer, with the exception of a small plate to Peter Hoskyns, 1682,, above Longe altar tomb. Compton Valence. — Thomas Maldon, rector, rebuilder of church, 1440. Half effigy, from which issue two scrolls, with words from Ps. li. I. Chesilborne. — A small inscribed brass to John Keate, 1 552> and Margaret, his wife, 1554. Corfe Mullen. — A small effigy of Richard Birt. Below this there is a mutilated inscription to Ricardus Birt and Alicia, his wife, 1437. Crickel, Moor. — Isabel Uvedale, 1572. An effigy with a ten-line engraved verse. William Cyfrewast, Esquyer, 1581. Inscription and two six-line verses. Crichel, Long. — Johan' Gouys. A small inscription only. Cranborne. — Margaret, daughter of Henry Ashelie, the wife of William Wallop, 1582. Inscription only. There is another inscribed plate bearing date 163 1 ; otherwise illegible. Dorchester, St. Peter. — Inscription and scroll to the lost figure of Joan de St. Omer, widow of Robert More, 1436. William and Johanna Sillon. Part of inscription. Inscription to John Gollop. Ever shot. — William Grey, rector, 1524, with chalice and host. Inscription below effigy composed of quite a different alloy. Fleet Old Church. — Robert and Margaret Mohun, with seventeen children, 1603. Maximillian Mohun, his son, showing his wife and thirteen children. F 66 Memorials of Old Dorset Holme Priory. — Richard Sidwaye, gent., 1612. Knowle. — John Clavell, 1572, and two wives ; the first with three sons and one daughter ; the second wife, Susan, daughter of Robert Coker, of Mappowder, is kneeling alone. Litton Cheney. — Ralph Henvil, of Looke,, 1644. Anne Henvill, daughter of Richard Henvill, of Looke, 1681. Inscriptions only. There is also an interesting retroscript brass, in two pieces, having three inscriptions : — 1. — Johes Chapman, ffysch m5ger, 1471. 2. — Alexandriam (?) Warnby, i486. 3. — Johis Newpton et Thome Neupto. Lytchett Matravers. — Thomas Pethyn (als. Talpathyn), rector, in shroud, c. 1 470. Margaret Clement, " generosa, specialis benefactrix reedifkacionis huius ecclesie," 1505. A matrix of a very large fret (the arms of Matravers), with marginal inscription, to Sir John Matravers, 1365. Langton. — John Whitewod, gent, and his two wives, Johanna and Alicia ; three effigies, with inscription, bearing dates 1457, 1467, and portion of scrolls. Melbury Sampford. — Sir Gyles Strangwayes, 1562, in tabard. Two shields, with thirteen and fourteen quarterings respectively, and inscriptions to Henry Strangwayes, Esq., who " died at the syege of Bolleyne," and his wife, Margaret, daughter of Lord George Rosse ; and to Sir Gyles Strangwayes and his wife, Joan, eldest daughter of John Wadham, Esq. There are also strip brasses around recumbent marble effigies of Sir Gyles Strangwayes the elder, and William Brunyng, and a rectangular brass plate to Laurencius Sampford, miles, and another to John and Alicia Brounyng, with three coats of arms. The Memorial Brasses of Dorset 67 Milton Abbey. — Sir John Tregonwell, D.C.L., 1565, in tabard, with heraldic shields and inscription. John Artur, a monk of the Abbey. A small brass of about the middle of the fifteenth century. Milborne St. Andrew. — John Morton, Esq., 1521, son of Richard Morton, and nephew of John Morton, Cardinal. Brass plate on altar tomb, below matrix of a knight in armour. Moreton. — James Frampton, 1523. He is shown kneeling, with text on scrolls. Owcrmoigne. — John Sturton, Esq., 1506. Inscription, " causyd this wyndowe to be made." On a loose plate, now lost, Nicholas Cheverel, Esq., and Jane, his wife, who both died in the year 1548. Piddlehinton. — Thomas Browne, parson for 27 years, in hat and clerical habit, having staff and book, with a twelve-line verse and inscription, 161 7. There was formerly a brass inscription to John Chapman, 1494, in the north aisle. Piddletown. — Roger Cheverell, 15 17. Half effigy, with inscription and two shields of arms. Christopher Martyn, Esq., 1524. Kneeling effigy, in tabard, with shield of arms and partial representation of the Trinity. Nicholas Martyn, Esq., and wife, 1595, with three sons and seven daughters, with armorial brass and inscription between effigies, on back of altar tomb. Pint feme. — Mrs. Dorothy Williams, wife of John Williams, curate, 1694. A very curious effigy, with skeleton below. " Edmund Colepeper fecit." Puncknowle. — William Napper, Esq., brother of Sir Robert Napper, in armour ; by his wife, Anne, daughter of Wm. Shelton, Esq., of Onger Park, he had six sons. Brass engraved c. 1600, before his death. 68 Memorials of Old Dorset Rampisham. — Thomas Dygenys and his wife Isabel. Two figures, with inscription at their feet, " gud benefactors to this churche." Both died in 1523. Shaftesbury, St. Peter. — Inscription to Stephen, son and heir of Nicholas Payne, steward of the Monastery, 1508. On the slab are matrices of four brass shields. This was removed from the Abbey. In Holy Trinity churchyard is half a large blue slab, having thereon the matrix of a large brass which local tradition says was to King Edward the Martyr. Sha-pwick. — Inscription to Richard Chernok, als. Hogeson, vicar, 1538. A fine effigy of Maria, heiress of Lord de Champneys, and wife of John Oke. The inscrip- tion is to the latter ; the former has a dog at her feet. Her first husband was Sir William Tourney, and she married William Oke in the reign of Richard II. ; so it is quite likely that this brass is of the fourteenth century. Sturminster Marshall. — An effigy of Henry Helme, vicar, in gown, with moustache and pointed beard. He was the founder of Baylye House (the vicarage), 1581. The inscription is a ten-line verse. The brass is fastened on a black marble slab. Also, " Here lyeth Wylla' Benett, on whose sowle Gode have merci." (No date.) Swanage, als. Swanwich. — William Clavell (effigy lost), with Margaret and Alicia, his wives, c. 1470. John Harve, 15 10. Inscription only : — Suche as I was, so be you, and as I am, so shall you be, And of the soule of John Harve God have mercy. Henry Welles, of Godlinstone, 1607, and Marie, his first wife, 1560. Inscriptions only. The Memorial Brasses of Dorset 69 Susan Cockram, wife of Brune Cockram, parson of Swanwch, 1 64 1. Thomas Serrell, the sonn of Anthony Serrell, of Swanwhich, 1639. Swyre. — John Russell, Esq., and Elizabeth, his wife, daughter of John Frocksmer, Esq., 1505. Inscription, with arms. James Russell, Esq. (son of John Russell), and Alys, his wife, daughter of John Wise, Esq., 15 10. Inscription, with arms.1 George Gollop, of Berwick, tenth son of Thomas Gollop, of Strode, Dorset; brass, c. 1787. Long inscription only, to many of this family. Tincleton. — Inscription to Thomas Faryngdon, armiger, 1404. Tarrant Crawford. — In the year 1862, a small brass plate was found on the Abbey site in memory of " d'ns Joh'es Karrant." Thomcombe. — Sir Thomas and Lady Brook. Two fine effigies, with long inscription. Sir Thomas died 1419; Lady Brook, 1437; "on whose soules God have mercy and pite that for us dyed on the rode tree. Ame'." Upwey. — William Gould, 168 1. Inscription only, on outer side of north wall of chancel, opposite altar tomb. West Stafford. — Inscription to Giles Long, 1 592, " then Lord of Frome Bellett and patrone of the parsonage and Stafford." Wimborne Minster. — St. Ethelred, King of the West Saxons, martyr, "Anno Domini 873 (871?) 23 die Aprilis per manus dacorum paganorum occubuit." Half effigy, engraved c. 1440; inscription restored c. 1600. 1 This James Russell was the father of John Russell of Berwick, K.G., created Baron Russell of Cheneys, 153S-9, and Earl of Bedford, 1550. ;o Memorials of Old Dorset Woolland. — Mary, daughter of Robert Williams, of Herringston, and wife of Robert Thornhull, and then of Lewis Argenton, 1616. The inscription of twelve lines is curious and descriptive, beginning: — Here lyeth our landladie loved of all, Whom Maty Argenton last wee did call. Yetminster. — John Horsey, Esquire, 1 53 1, Lord of the Manor of Clifton, and Elizabeth, his wife, Lady of the Manor of Turges Melcombe. Two fine effigies, with scrolls at sides and inscription at foot. Of the foregoing brasses, the following deserve a longer notice: — Bere Regis. — J. Skerne and Margaret, his wife. This monument consists of two kneeling figures, fourteen inches high, cut round the outline, and represented as kneeling on the pavement ; between them is a rectangular plate, with coat of arms (Skerne impaling Thornhull), and an inscription on another plate below. Skerne wears a long gown, with sleeves nearly touch- ing the ground ; his wife, a dress, with ruff and a widow's wimple. The inscription states that the memorial was erected by the aforesaid Margaret in 1596. In the same church there is an inscription to Sir Robert Turberville, 1559. There are also remains of three altar tombs, all with empty matrices ; two in the south aisle probably mark the last resting-places of members of the Turberville family. It is of these that John Durbeyfield, in Thomas Hardy's Tess, boasted, " I've got a gr't family vault at Kingsbere and knighted forefathers in lead coffins there." Caundle Purse. — The brass of W. Longe, 26 ins. high, represents a man in armour, with long flowing hair ; the head is inclined to the right. Its matrix v/as found by the writer in the North, or Longe, Chantry. 4wnM m miiimwccccCflTin William Grey, 1524. Rector of Evershot. The Memorial Brasses of Dorset 71 The brass is heavy, being f -in. thick ; it is poor in execution, and is, unfortunately, away from its slab. The monument of Richard Brodewey, rector, is far more interesting. The head has been broken off ; the figure, only ten inches high, represents the priest as laid out for burial, clad in eucharistic vestments. This brass is specially noteworthy, because it is the only known memorial in England in which the maniple is represented as buttoned or sewn, so as to form a loop to prevent it from slipping off the wrist. This was the final form that the maniple assumed ; in earlier times it simply hung over the arm without attachment. Evershot. — The brass commemorating William Grey is rather larger than that at Caundle Purse, and is in better condition. Like Brodewey, Grey is represented as laid out in his eucharistic vestments — amice, alb, maniple, stole, and chasuble ; between his raised hands he holds a chalice, with the host (similar to Henry Denton, priest, Higham Ferrers, 1498). There are only about a dozen representations of chaliced priests in England, so that this memorial may be classed among rare examples. It was customary to bury a chalice (usually of some secondary metal) with all ecclesiastics in priests' orders.1 Fleet. — The two brasses in this church are engraved on rectangular plates. In each, the husband kneels on the opposite side to the wife (he dexter, she sinister), with a prie Dieu between them. Their many sons and daughters kneel behind the father and mother respectively. Milton Abbey. — Sir John Tregonwell is represented, kneeling, in a tabard ; and this is the latest tabard brass in England. Another very interesting and almost unique brass 1 A coffin chalice and paten have, within recent years, been dis- covered at Milton Abbey and Abbotsbury. ?2 Memorials of Old Dorset in the Abbey is that to John Artur, of this place " monacfais." Brasses to monks are exceedingly rare. Moreton. — The inscription on the monument of James Frampton is unusual ; the letters are raised above the background, instead of being sunk in it. Piddletown. — The effigy of Roger Cheverell has only the upper part left — ioi in. by 6 in. in size. The dress is that of a civilian of good standing, for the cloak is lined with fur ; the head is bare and the hair long. Christopher Martyn's brass is engraved on a rectangular plate. The lower half is occupied by the inscription ; above it kneels the figure in conventional armour, with a tabard bearing arms over. A scroll comes from the mouth, bearing, in abbreviated form, the prayer, " Averte f aciem tuam a peccatis meis, et omnes iniquitates meas dele." Two shields, one low on the right side of the figure, another high above the left shoulder, bear the well-known Martyn arms ; and above the former, the All Father sits on a throne, with two fingers of the right hand raised in blessing, and the left hand holds between the knees a Tau- shaped cross, on which the Son is nailed. There is, however, no dove, so that it cannot be regarded as a complete representation of the Trinity. At Bere Regis there is a matrix of an enthroned figure of almost identical outline. The memorial to Nicholas Martyn and his wife belongs to the other type of brass. In the centre, indeed, are two rectangular plates, one bearing the heraldic shield (Martyn impaling Wadham), the other the inscription ; but the other plates are cut round the figures, and have little background. On the right or dexter side, the husband, clad in armour, but not wearing a helmet, kneels, with hands clasped in prayer, before an altar covered with a fringed cloth, on which lies an open The Memorial Brasses of Dorset 73 book ; behind him kneel his three sons, wearing cloaks, with ruffs around their necks. On the left- hand side, Margaret, his wife, kneels before a similar altar and book ; behind her are her seven daughters, all engaged in prayer. They all wear Elizabethan costume — hoods, large ruffs, long bodied peaked stomachers and skirts, extended by farthingales of whalebone. Thorncombe. — The brasses to Sir Thomas and Lady Brooke, of Holditch and Weycroft, are two of the most distinguished to be found of the fourteenth century. He was sheriff of Somerset, 1389, and of Devon, 1394, and is shown clad in a long gown with deep dependent sleeves, guarded with fur around the skirt, and pulled in at the waist by a belt studded with roses ; within the gown a second garment appears, with four rows of fur around the skirt. His hair is short, and his feet rest on a greyhound couchant, collared. Lady Brooke wears a long robe, fastened across the breast by a cordon with tassels, over a plain gown ; her hair is dressed in semi-mitre shape, and confined by a richly jewelled net, over which is placed the cover-chief, edged with embroidery and dependent to the shoulders. At her feet is a little dog, collared and belled. Sir Thomas and his wife each wear the collar of SS. ; their arms are in tightly- fitting sleeves, and the hands are raised in prayer. The inscription around the effigies has been restored, and plain shields inserted in place of originals, which would have shown Gules on a chevron argent a lion rampant sable ; Brooke with, among others, Cheddar, Mayor of Bristol, 1 360-1, and Hanham. Wimborne Minster. — The Ethelred efhgy here is only half length. The king is represented, in part, in priestly vestments. (" As kings by their coronation are admitted into a sacred as well as a civil character, 74 Memorials of Old Dorset the former of these is particularly manifested in the investiture with clerical garments.") Though the brass commemorates a king of the West Saxons, it dates only from 1440. The inscription is on a copper plate, and' the king's death is said thereon to have occurred in 873, two years too late. A brass plate on which the date is correctly given is preserved in the Minster Library. It is supposed that the figure and the plate bearing the inscription were removed from the matrix and hidden for safety in the time of the Civil Wars, and that the plate could not be found when the figure was replaced, so that the copper one now on the slab was engraved to take the place of the one lost, which, however, was afterwards found, but not laid on the stone. It is a noteworthy fact that the effigy is fastened to the stone with nails of copper, not of brass ; doubtless these are contemporary with the copper plate which bears the inscription. The Ethelred brass is the only brass commemorating a king that is to be found in England, and is so illustrated in Haines' Manual, p. 74. Wraxall. — Elizabeth Lawrence, wife of Mr. William Lawrence, 1672. A six-line verse and an impaled coat of arms. Y etminster. — This brass, one of the finest in Dorset, was at one time loose at East Chelborough Rectory, but it has now been fixed to a slab on the south wall of the church. It was originally laid on a large stone in the floor of the chancel. John Horsey is repre- sented in full and very richly ornamented armour ; his wife is in a graceful gown and mantle, with dependent pomander, and fine head-dress. SHERBORNE By W. B. Wildman, M.A. HERBORNE, as far as we can tell, owes its existence as a town to the fact that it was chosen in 705 to be the site where the bishop-stool was fixed of St. Ealdhelm, the first bishop of Western or Newer Wessex. Sherborne, like its daughter-towns Wells and Salisbury, is a Bishop's town ; but, unlike them, it was also, from 998 to 1539, the seat of a Benedictine Monastery. Thus Sherborne has suffered two distinct shocks in its career ; the first came upon it when it lost its bishop in 1075 ; the second, when its Abbey was dissolved in 1539. Another point worth mentioning concerning the past dignity of the town is this, that Sherborne, or at any rate, a part of it — Newland — was once actually a borough, as was also what we may call the suburb of Castleton. This part of Sherborne is still called the Borough of Newland ; it was given burghal privileges by Richard Poore, Bishop of Sarum, in 1228, and, according to Hutchins, it actually sent members to the House of Commons in 1343. But long after Newland got rid of this then burdensome privilege it still kept the name and other privileges of a borough, and both it and Castleton were for administrative purposes outside the Hundred of Sherborne ; they kept their own tourns twice a year, and their own courts every three weeks ; they had their own view of frank-pledge quite apart from 75 76 Memorials of Old Dorset the rest of the town and Hundred. It is not known to what bishop Castleton owed its title and dignity of burgus. When Sherborne came into being, the surrounding country bore a very different look from that which we see to-day. It lay on the western edge of the great forest of Selwood, a fragment of which still remains to us here in Sherborne Castle Park. There were then no trim water-meadows, and the course of our river was marked by moor and marsh. Here, in the last fold of the Wessex hills, under which lies the great plain of Somerset, Ealdhelm's seat was fixed, in a site central and convenient for the new district, which had barely a quarter of a century before been added to the West Saxon realm. Sherborne was never a walled town ; it lay under the protection of the fortified palace of its bishop-, and in troublous times of Danish inroad its site was a safe one. The story that Swegen ravaged the town rests on nothing like contemporary evidence ; on the other hand, the safety of its position, coupled with the fact that it was once the second city of Wessex, accounts for its being chosen by King ^Ethelbald for his capital, so to speak, when Winchester, in 860, was laid waste by the Danes ; indeed, the change may have taken place soon after 856. Sherborne continued to be the capital of Wessex till about the year 878. During a considerable part of that time we may well believe that King Alfred spent his boyhood here, almost certainly during King ^Ethelberht's reign ; and here, in this centre of education which Ealdhelm had founded, he may well have received such education as he got during his boyhood. There is no other centre of education which has so good a claim to him ; here were buried his two brothers, ^thelbald and ^Ethelberht, who successively reigned before ^Ethelred and himself. ^Ethelberht was his guardian after his father's death. Alfred must have known Sherborne well ; he was a benefactor of our church, and we claim his boyhood. jeap,. ■' :-'fV#^i - yf\* • vSilJ JE-'-Xp^ ■ i ,/ / .-war EL £ Sherborne yj But besides Alfred and Ealdhelm, early Sherborne claims other heroes ; Ealhstan, our bishop, the first West Saxon general to win a decisive victory over the Danes, was the right-hand man of Kings Ecgberht, ./Ethelwulf, ^Ethelbald, and yEthelberht ; he was the most powerful man of his time. Here, in Sherborne, he lies buried beside iEthelbald and ^Ethelberht. We claim, too, among our Sherborne bishops, St. Heahmund, who fell fighting against the Danes at Merton (probably Marden, Wilts.) ; Asser, the biographer of King Alfred, who is said to lie buried among us ; Werstan, another warrior who fell in battle ; St. Wulfsy and St. Alfwold, names rather forgotten now, but great and famous in their day. St. Osmund, who compiled the Use of Sarum, was one of our abbots ; and St. Stephen Harding, the author of the Carta Caritatis, and the real founder of the Cistercian Order, is the earliest scholar of Sherborne School whom History records as such. Nor can Sherborne forget what it owes to the great Roger Niger, that dark, stalwart Bishop of Sarum, who built the Norman Castle here and the Norman part of our Abbey Church, who organized the English Court of Exchequer, was the trusted adviser of the " Lion of Justice," Henry I., and deserved a better end than to break his heart in a contest with such a poor creature as King Stephen. Our Abbot, William Bradford, will not be forgotten by lovers of architecture, for under his rule in the fifteenth century the choir of our Abbey Church was rebuilt ; while to another Abbot, Peter Ramsam, we owe, later in the same century, the restoration of our nave. To Abbot Mere we are indebted for a little building, which every visitor to Sherborne knows, the Conduit, which stands in our old market-place, now called by the somewhat affected name of the " Parade." This conduit, though it was built, as we have said, by Abbot Mere (i 504-1 535), is described by one of those omniscient gentlemen who have lately 78 Memorials of Old Dorset been enlightening us about the beauties of Wessex, as " a structure of the fourteenth century." It originally stood on the north side of the nave of the Abbey Church, inside the Cloister Court, which is now a part of Sherborne School ; but it was removed to its present site, or nearly its present site, by the school governors in the latter part of the sixteenth century. It is to this day the property of the school. And so we are brought to the time when our ecclesiastical lords, the Bishop of Sarum and the Abbot of Sherborne, passed away from us, and their places were taken by lay lords. Here, too, we meet with famous names. We have the Protector Somerset, to whom, indirectly, Sherborne School may owe its post-Reformation endowment. We have, also, Henry, Prince of Wales, that " young Marcellus of the House of Stuart," the eldest son of James I., whose hatchment, as that of a squire of Sherborne, still hangs in our Abbey Church ; we have Walter Ralegh, that restless, strenuous soul, whose dearly- loved home Sherborne was, where he would gladly have been buried ; we have John Digby, first Earl of Bristol, whose name stands high among those of English worthies in the reigns of James I. and Charles I., a man worthy to have lived in a better age, and to have hazarded his all in a better cause. And another name insistently presents itself to anyone who has followed Sherborne history — that of Hugo Daniel Harper. To him Sherborne town and school owe much that is precious and enduring. That a little town like ours has kept something of its ancient state, that here we can still so easily call back the past of Wessex, can still see standing in beauty and dignity these buildings which the Middle Age has left us — all this is in no small degree owing to that famous headmaster of Sherborne School and to his successors. We now proceed to write more particularly of the most interesting of these ancient buildings and institutions. Sherborne 79 They are four in number : the Abbey Church, the School, the old Castle, and the Almshouse. With the exception of a small part of the west front of the Abbey Church, there is, so far as we can tell, not a single piece of wall standing now in Sherborne which was standing in the year 1107, when Roger of Caen became Bishop of Sarum and Abbot of Sherborne. We know that the doorway, now blocked up, on the north side of the west front of the church, and, therefore, also some of the adjoining wall, is older than Bishop Roger's time ; but with that exception, we are forced to admit that the Norman from Caen pulled down all the rest of Ealdhelm's church. If he left any more of it, either time has destroyed this, or he so used the walls that they cannot now be recognised with any certainty. At the same time there is a piece of outside wall at the north end of the north transept, in the old slype, which looks very like pre-Norman work. The church which Roger built extended as far east as the present church does, excluding the lady chapels ; for the lady chapel of the thirteenth century must have abutted on the Norman east end, just as it now does on the Perpendicular ambulatory. The church extended probably rather further to the west than the present church does, for there exists evidence to show that, before the parish church of All Hallows was built on to the west end of the Abbey Church in the fourteenth century, the west front of the Abbey Church was embellished with a large porch of Norman work. The chief traces of Roger's work still existing in the church are the piers and arches that carry the tower, the transept walls, the arches leading from the transept into the side aisles of the nave, and the walls of these aisles. Other interesting traces of Roger's work will be found in the little chapel which projects eastwards from the north transept ; also in the south and west walls of the early English chapel on the north side of the north aisle 80 Memorials of Old Dorset of the choir, commonly called Bishop Roger's Chapel, and now used as the vestry ; these Norman walls were outside walls of Roger's church before this early English addition was made. There is also the jamb of a window to be seen on the outside of the east wall of the south transept, the only relic which gives us an idea of what the Norman clerestory was like. The choir of Roger's church extended west of the central tower, and to allow room for the stall-work, the shafts of the east and west tower arches were corbelled off above the line of the stalls, as may still be seen in the existing church. That part of the Abbey nave which lay to the west of the Norman choir was used, until the building of All Hallows, as the parish church ; and the fine Norman south porch, which has been rather over-restored in the nineteenth century, was, no doubt, a parochial porch, for it faces the town, not the monastic buildings, which are on the north side of the church. The tower up to the floor of the bell-chamber is Norman. Over the pier-arches which carry it, except on the east side, there is a passage in the thickness of the wall, with an arcade of semi-circular arches resting on circular and octagonal shafts, eleven inches in diameter. On the east side the Norman pier-arch was removed at the re-building of the choir in the fifteenth century, and the removal of this arch so weakened the tower that its condition in the course of years became dangerous. The tower was made secure in 1884-5, and these shafts on the north-west and south sides of the lantern, which had been concealed by the fifteenth century masonry, were again displayed to view. A large lady chapel was added in the thirteenth century ; the fine Early English arch, by which it was entered from the church, may still be seen in the east wall of the ambulatory. The centre of this arch is to the south of that of the fifteenth century arch, and hence the corbels of the Perpendicular vaulting do not Sherborne 8i correspond at all with the Early English arch ; one of them is actually constructed to hang as a pendant, free of this arch altogether. The changes made inside the church in the fourteenth century were so slight as to need no mention. Outside the church, however, a great change took place, for towards the end of this century the church of All Hallows was built. The great west porch was pulled down so that All Hallows might stand directly against the west front of the Norman church. There are still to be seen remnants of All Hallows, viz., the lower part of the north wall of the north aisle, and four responds built into the west wall of the Abbey Church. When All Hallows was standing with its pinnacled western tower, one would have seen a church some 350 feet long, with a central and a western tower. This latter tower had a ring of bells of its own, at least five in number ; and it was to this ring of the parish, not to the Abbey, that Wolsey gave our great bell. In the fifteenth century Sherborne saw great things in the way of building; not only was the Almshouse then built, but the church also underwent those changes which gave it the appearance it keeps to-day. The choir was taken down during the last year or two of Abbot John Brunyng's rule, and rebuilt from the ground by his successor, William Bradford (1436-1459). During this same century the smaller lady chapel, called the Bow Chapel, was built, and the nave restored in the style of the time by Abbot Peter Ramsam (1475- 1504). To these two men we owe our present splendid fabric. Any visitor to Sherborne Abbey can for himself easily perceive the differences which mark off the choir as a building from the nave. The choir from floor to vault is one harmonious piece of work, so lovely, so complete, that the wit of man could scarcely design anything finer ; while the nave is a compromise, for in the nave yet stand the old Norman piers cased in Perpendicular panelling, and the effect G 82 Memorials of Old Dorset which the nave gives us is that of two stories distinctly marked off the one from the other, the lower story bearing strong traces of its Norman origin, the upper or clerestory plainly a Perpendicular work, and worthy of the companion clerestory of the choir. The pillars of the southern arcade of the nave are not opposite those of the northern arcade, and the arches are of different widths ; the clerestory arches of the nave, on the other hand, are of equal widths, and hence the clerestory arches are not directly above the arcade arches. This compromise has, however, been effected so cleverly that few people notice the irregularity. The rebuilding of the Abbey Church choir in the fifteenth century recalls to our mind the great quarrel between the Abbey and the townsfolk, which came to a head in the year 1437. It has already been noted that in ancient times the townsfolk had been allowed by the Abbot and Convent to use the western part of the Abbey Church nave as a parish church. Thus the Abbey Church had become a divided church — part was conventual, part parochial. But as time went on this arrangement ceased to please one or other, or both, parties, and the consequence was that All Hallows was built at the west end of the Abbey Church for the use of the parishioners. After this addition was made, the large Norman doorway at the west end of the south aisle of the Abbey Church nave was narrowed by the insertion of a smaller doorway. Now, All Hallows had not the status of a parish church ; technically, the parish church was still the western part of the Abbey Church nave, and here it was still necessary for all Sherborne children to be baptised in the font, which originally stood where the present font stands. The parishioners, to get to the font, had to enter All Hallows' Church, and pass thence into the Abbey Church through the Norman doorway, which had been narrowed. This the parishioners regarded as a grievance. It appears, also, that the Abbot had moved the font from the place where it now stands to some Sherborne 83 other site which the parishioners regarded as inconvenient. The parishioners, therefore, in 1436, took the law into their own hands, and eight of them are charged before the bishop with having set up a font in All Hallows. The Abbot, of course, regarded this as a usurpation of the rectorial rights of the Convent ; he complained, also, of another grievance, to wit, that the parish bells rang to matins at too early an hour, and disturbed the morning slumbers of the monks. For though they got up at midnight to sing matins and lauds, they went to bed again, and slept till the hour for prime, somewhere between 6 and 7 a.m. Abbot Bradford, therefore, appealed to the Bishop of Sarum, Robert Nevile, who came to Sherborne and held an inquiry on the 12th November, 1436, in what is now the chapel of the school, but was then the Abbot's hall. He examined one hundred or more of the parishioners, many of whom had not approved of the high-handed course taken in the matter of the font. After a thorough investigation, the Bishop, by the advice of his counsel learned in the law, gave his decision from his manor of Ramsbury, on the 8th January, 1437. It was to this effect — {a) that the font in All Hallows was to be at once utterly destroyed and removed and carried out of the church by those who had caused it to be set there ; (b) that the ringing of the bells to matins for the parishioners throughout the year was not to be made till after the sixth hour had struck on the clocka or horologium of the monastery, except on the following solemn feasts : All Saints, Christmas, Epiphany, and Easter ; (c) that the font of the Abbey Church was to be replaced in its old accustomed position, and all infants born or to be born in Sherborne were, as of old, to be baptised therein ; (d) that the intermediate door and entrance for the pro- cession of parishioners to the font was to be enlarged and arched so as to give ample space and bring it to its original form ; (e) that the manner of the procession and other ceremonies about the font were to be observed 84 Memorials of Old Dorset in the old and wonted way ; (/) that there must be made, at the expense of the monastery, in the nave of the monastic church, close to the monks' choir, a partition, so that there should be a distinct line of separation between the monks and the parishioners ; (g) that the replacing of the Abbey Church font in its wonted place, and the enlarging of the door, must effectually be completed before the following Christmas. This admirable judgment was not received by the disputants with the respect which it deserved ; delays and evasions on both sides brought about a violent termination of the dispute. The monks induced " one Walter Gallor a stoute Bocher dwelling yn Sherborne" to enter All Hallows, where " he defacid cleane the Fontstone ; the townsmen, aided by an Erie of Huntindune lying in these Quarters . . . rose in playne sedition . . . a Preste of Alhalowes shot a shaft with her into the Toppe of that part of St. Marye Church that divided the Est Part that the monks usid ; and this Partition chauncing at that tyme to be thakked yn the Rofe was sette a fier, and consequently al the hole Chirch, the Lede and Belles meltid, was defacid." After the fire the monks were induced to agree to the legal transformation of All Hallows' Chapel into the parish Church, in order to get rid of the parishioners altogether. The monks never removed the smaller doorway by which the old Norman entrance was narrowed ; there it stands to this day, a monument of that stormy time, and connected with it there is still a curious tale to tell. Among the eight parishioners who, " casting behind them the fear of God," set up the obnoxious font in All Hallows, and complained of the narrowed doorway, there was a certain Richard Vowell. Anyone who now examines this doorway will notice that the wall, which now blocks it up, is almost wholly occupied by a large monumental tablet to the memory of Benjamin Vowell, who died in 1783, and to his three wives; thus, as Professor Willis Sherborne 85 neatly showed, the doorway which in the fifteenth century Richard Vowell felt to be too narrow, Benjamin Vowell in the eighteenth blocked up altogether. The " partition " referred to, which was being thatched, must have been the tower, which was being raised in height, and was covered with a temporary roof of thatch to keep out the rain ; no doubt, also, the new choir, which was already built as high as the springing-stones of the vault, was also thatched for the same purpose. The reddened stones in the choir and tower still bear witness to this fire. John Barnstaple, last Abbot of Sherborne, surrendered the Abbey into the hands of King Henry VIII. on the 1 8th March, 1539. He received a pension of £100 a year, and the Rectory of Stalbridge in 1540; this living had been in the patronage of the Abbot and Convent. He died in 1 560 ; we know neither the place of his death nor of his burial, but he certainly was not buried at Stalbridge ; he left a small legacy to Sherborne School. Henry VIII. sold the Abbey Church, and the demesne lands of the Abbey, to Sir John Horsey, of Clifton Maybank ; Sir John, in 1540, sold the Abbey Church to the parishioners ; the lead, however, with which the church was roofed, had not been granted to Sir John, and the parishioners had to buy that through him from the King. The parishioners appear to have begun at once to sell All Hallows for building stone. The parish accounts for 1540 and 1 541 are missing, but that for 1542-3 shows the process of selling going merrily on, until, finally, in the account for 1548-9, we get the last of it in such entries as these : " George Swetnam, for vi. yerds off one syde off the Tower, xxs. ; Robert ffoster, for foundation stones of ye Northe Syde of ye Tower, xiiis. ; Mr. Sergyer, for a yard off the grace table off the sowthe syde and for the dore yn the north syde off ye Towr, xs." ! It may be interesting to set down here what the parishioners paid for the Abbey Church and lead. We have already noted that the parish accounts for 1540 and 86 Memorials of Old Dorset i 541 are missing. They were not missing, however, in the eighteenth century, as is evident from an entry in the parish account book in use from 10th April, 1 721, to 4th April, 1809. This entry is due to Francis Fisher, a Sherborne attorney, who was steward to the Governors of the School during the years 1720- 1730. He tells us that by an indenture made the 28th September, 1545, between the' King on the one part and Sir John Horsey on the other, the parishioners paid £230 for the body of the church and tower and for the lead. He adds that the parish account rolls give us the following information : In 1540 the parish paid £40 for the church, in 1541 £26 13s. 4d. for the same, in 1541 £17 17s. 6d. for the bells of the Abbey, in 1542 £100 for the lead, in 1544 £%o in full payment for the church and lead. So that, if the King got in 1545 £230, and the parish actually paid £264 1 os. iod., Sir John put into his pocket the balance. However we may regard this matter, the parishioners of Sherborne made an excellent bargain. No man can doubt but that the dissolution of the monastery meant serious loss to Sherborne. Its Abbots had ruled wisely and well, as far as we can judge, a strip of territory stretching, though not in an unbroken line, from Stalbridge to Exmouth. Anyone who will make for himself a map of the manors in Dorset and Devon belonging to our Abbey, will see that this is so ; and besides these, our Abbey held other lands as well, so that when Sherborne ceased to be the caput of this fair estate, much that had once come our way ceased to come hither any more. Though the presence of the school here has in later times done much to redeem this loss, one cannot say that it has entirely done so. Of all the ancient institutions in Sherborne, that one which has kept its dwelling-place longest, which is to-day what it was before Wessex became one with England, is Sherborne School. The old Castle is a ruin, the Almshouse dates only from the fifteenth century, the The Entrance to Sherborne School. Sherborne 87 Abbey Church became the parish church only in 1540. But the School, though it suffered pecuniary loss in 1539 by the dissolution of the monastery, suffered no breach of continuity ; it was in existence when the Almshouse was founded, it educated St. Stephen Harding in the eleventh century, and we have no reason to think that its existence suffered any break from Ealdhelm's day till then. A school with such a history may well call forth some reverence from those who love Wessex and know something of its history. Our school has roots which stretch down into the very beginnings of things Christian among the West Saxons, and there is certainly no existing school in Wessex that can rival its claim to antiquity. Sherborne School is fortunate in possessing many ancient documents illustrative of its history ; among these special mention must be made of a series of accounts commencing in 1553 and continuing to the present time. Only eleven are missing. Till towards the end of the eighteenth century they are written on rolls of parchment, and are for the most part in excellent condition. Besides these there are a few early court rolls of the school manors at Bradford Bryan and Barnesby, Lytchett Matravers and Gillingham, and schedules and leases of its other lands. Among these documents, too, are records belonging to the old chantries, with the lands, of which Edward VI. endowed the school ; some of these go back to the reign of Henry VII. There is no existing minute book of the governors' proceedings older than that which begins in 1 592 ; but, luckily, a draft of minutes exists relating to the years 1549 and 1550, relating, that is to say, to the time of transition from the old condition of things which obtained before the dissolution of the monastery, to the new condition created by the charter granted to the school by Edward VI. The series of minute books from 1592 onward is complete. 88 Memorials of Old Dorset From the school statutes much can be gathered about the character of the education given in the school. The oldest statutes of the post-Reformation epoch are lost ; they were based, as we learn from the accounts, on those drawn up by Dean Colet for his school, once attached to St. Paul's Cathedral. In 1592, however, a new set was drawn up for the School of Sherborne by its visitor, Richard Fletcher, Bishop of Bristol, who, as Dean of Peterborough some years before, had imposed on him the terrible task of attending Queen Mary Stuart on the scaffold. Great stress is laid in these statutes on the " abolishing of the Pope of Rome and all fforrein powers superiorities and authorities." From time to time after this new statutes were made to suit the changing educational and political views. The statutes all still exist, except those made in 1650 by the Puritans ; of these all trace is lost, except the bill for engrossing them, which amounted to 25s. Statutes were drawn up in 1662 by Gilbert Ironside, Bishop of Bristol, which the Governors were unwilling to accept, because by these statutes the headmaster was protected from arbitrary interference on the part of the Governors. It was not till 1679 that Bishop William Gulston succeeded in making them accept a new body of statutes, which contain almost all that Gilbert Ironside proposed, together with some additional matter. In Bishop Ironside's draft and Bishop Gulston's statutes, it is laid down that it is never lawful " for subjects to take up armes ag1 theire Soveraigne upon any pretence whoever." The language used in and out of school in all official matters was Latin, and no scholar was to go about the town alone, but with " a companion one of the Schollars that may be a witness of his conversation and behaviour under penalty of correction." The system of monitorial rule has always been in vogue in the school ; in 1592 these rulers are called Impositores — a somewhat awkward term one must admit ; in 1662 and 1679 they are called Prepositores ; nowadays they are called Sherborne 89 Prefects. In 1679 they were four in number: "One for discipline in the Schoole, to see all the Schollars demeane themselves regularly there, the Second for manners both in the Schoole and abroad any where, the Third for the Churche and Fields, the Fourth to be Ostiarius, to sitt by the doore, to give answere to strangers and to keepe the rest from running out." When the assizes were held at Sherborne, the judge sat in what is now the schoolhouse dining-hall — it was then the big schoolroom ; and just before the assizes took place, we get from time to time an entry of the following kind in the school accounts : " for washinge of ye King, 6d." The King referred to is the statue of Edward VI., which still adorns the room ; it is of painted Purbeck marble, and is the work of a certain Godfrey Arnold ; it cost £g 5s. 4d., and was set up in 1614. The two royal coats of arms, which may still be seen on the south wall of the old house of the headmaster, and over the south door of the schoolhouse dining-hall, were taken down by order of a Commonwealth official in 1650 ; but they were carefully preserved, and were restored to their old positions at the Restoration. That on the old house dates from 1560; that on the dining-hall from 1607. They used to be bright with tinctures and metals, but since 1670 they have been "only washed over with oil or some sad colour, without any more adorning." The chronogram on the dining-hall is unique, for it can be made to give two different dates, according to the ways in which the significant letters are taken. Mr. Hilton, our chief authority on chronograms, knows of no other which gives two dates in this fashion. The first date which our chronogram gives is 1550, the date of the granting of the charter ; the second date which it gives is 1670, that of the rebuilding of the dining-hall. Among other school buildings of ancient date we must not omit the library, partly of the thirteenth century, but certainly restored in the fifteenth ; and the school 90 Memorials of Old Dorset chapel, with its undercroft of the twelfth century, and its upper story of the fifteenth. The undercroft is a very precious relic of the past, but the school chapel, which was once the Abbot's Hall, has undergone changes and additions ; it still keeps its fine fifteenth century timber roof. The library, on the other hand, has gone through little change. It was the Guest House of the Monastery, and has kept its timber roof of the fifteenth century. It is curious that the windows on the east side of the room are not quite opposite those on the west side, nor is the divergence uniform ; the large window in the south end of the room is not in the middle of the wall, but rather towards the west side. The modern buildings of the school harmonize well with the older work, for they are all built of the same lovely stone, and the style in which they are built, though it is in no sense an imitation of this older work, is yet in harmony with and worthy of it. One of these buildings deserves more than passing notice, viz., the new big schoolroom, completed in 1879. The whole group of buildings, with its surroundings, classrooms, museum, laboratory, drawing school, music house, Morris tube range, bath and fives courts, deserves more attention than it usually gets from visitors to Sherborne. These sojourners often forget that the north side of the exterior of the church is likely to be as interesting as the south side ; if once they take the trouble to get to this north side, they will be surprised to find how much fine work, ancient and modern, is to be seen there. Sherborne Old Castle is situated on an elevated piece of ground to the east of the town ; this ground is about 300 yards long by 150 yards broad ; the surface has been made level, and an oval area, 150 yards long by 105 yards broad, has been traced out, and its edges scarped to a steep slope, with a ditch about 45 feet deep. The material taken away in forming this scarp and ditch has been thrown outward, so that the counter scarp is formed Sherborne 91 of a mound more or less artificial. It was within this area, above described, that our Pageant of 1905 was given. The remains of the Castle are as follows : parts of the curtain wall, with the gatehouse, the keep, the chapel and hall, along with other parts of the domestic buildings — all ruinous. The builder of this castle was Bishop Roger ; and William of Malmesbury, who knew it well, has described the masonry in glowing terms. All that remains is of this Norman period, though it was somewhat restored and altered in the fifteenth century. The keep belongs to the class of square keeps. To judge from two windows of the chapel which still remain in a fragmentary condition, that building must have been of a very ornate character. The barrel vaulting of the basement of the keep is worth study, and a Norman pillar, still standing and supporting a quadripartite vault, is well known to students of architecture. There is also a Norman chimney with three flues in the gatehouse. The ruinous condition of the Castle is not so much due to time as to gunpowder, for in 1645, after the Castle was taken by Fairfax, it was blown up by order of the Long Parliament, so as to be no longer tenable as a fortress. After this, while the troops of the Parliament occupied Sherborne, their barracks were the school, and their " Court of Guard " the schoolhouse dining-hall. This is not the place to deal with the vicissitudes in the tenure of Sherborne Castle — how the Bishops of Sherborne lost and regained it. It finally passed from Bishop Henry Cotton into the hands of Queen Elizabeth in 1599. Sir Walter Ralegh had, however, been tenant of it since 1592, and when Queen Elizabeth got the fee- simple of it, she gave it to Ralegh. Ralegh, however, did not care to live in it ; other magnates in this part of the world were building fine modern houses, and he followed their example. Thus arose the modern Castle, known in former days as Sherborne Lodge, on the other side of the lake, the central and loftier part of which is due to 92 Memorials of Old Dorset Ralegh. There is no trace of any evidence that Sherborne Castle was ever besieged before the great Civil War. It was used at times in the Middle Ages as a prison ; for example, in King John's reign. King John himself stayed here in 1207 and in 12 16. After some tragic vicissitudes the Sherborne estate came to the Digbys in 161 7, and since this date, with the exception of the troublous period of the great Civil War, it has remained with them. Sherborne Castle was twice besieged during the Civil War, first in 1642, and again in 1645. The first siege was uneventful and unimportant. In 1644 Charles I. had been here after his successful campaign in the West ; Prince Rupert, too, had come, and there had been great doings with reviews of men in Sherborne Park, after which followed the second battle of Newbury and the self- denying ordinance and the creation of the New Model. The second siege, that of 1645, was more important; not only was Fairfax drawn hither by it, but Cromwell, too, came as general of cavalry. Though the Parliamentary troops destroyed much of the old castle that we should like to see standing now, we must, on the whole, acquit them of having done any great injury to the buildings of the church or school. In 1688, King William III. — then Prince of Orange — on his advance from Exeter to London, stayed in the modern castle here ; his proclamation to the English people is said to have been printed in the drawing-room at a printing-press set up on the great hearth-stone, which was cracked by it. Let us now turn to the last of our four ancient institutions, viz., the Almshouse. This institution is certainly older than the year 1437, in which year, by a license from King Henry VI. to Robert Nevile, Bishop of Sarum, to Humfrey Stafford, Kt, Margaret Goghe, John Fauntleroy, and John Baret, it was refounded in honour of St. John the Baptist and St. John the Evangelist. Sherborne 93 It is actually older than this, because some accounts of the chanty exist for a few years prior to this date. Some day, no doubt, the history of the institution will be more fully worked out than it is at present. Plenty of material exists in its account rolls which could hardly fail to throw light on old Sherborne life. According to the deed of foundation, there were, we are told, to be twenty brethren, called the Masters of SS. Johns' House — they are now called master and brethren — together with a perpetual priest to pray for the good estate and the souls of the founders and inmates. The house was to contain twelve poor men and four poor women, who were to be governed by one of them- selves, called the Prior, of their own election, and a woman of domestic ability was to buy their food and dress it, wash their clothes and make their beds, who should be called the Housewife of SS. Johns' House. The older part of the building was finished in 1448, and here still stand, not much altered from what they were then, the chapel, ante-chapel, and dining-hall, with a long dormitory over the dlning-hall ; this dormitory used to open into the chapel, so that the sick and infirm might hear the service, and, so far as they could, join in it. The chapel contains an interesting triptych of the fifteenth century by a Flemish artist, name unknown. One cannot imagine a more desirable haven of rest than this for those who are fortunate enough to become its inmates. Enough has now been told to show that among old English towns Sherborne holds a peculiarly interesting place. It still keeps much of its old-world look and ancient dignity, and its inhabitants, many of whom bear the names of the old stock who were living here in in the time of Henry VI., are a kindly race, among whom it is a pleasure and a privilege to live. MILTON ABBEY By the Rev. Herbert Pentin, M.A. IHE county of Dorset is one of the few counties in England that contain three great minsters in good repair and in parochial use — Sherborne, Wimborne, and Milton. And each of these minsters is of Saxon and Royal foundation. King Athelstan, the grandson of Alfred the Great, founded the Monastery and Collegiate Church of Milton for Secular Canons, in or about the year 938. In the year 964 King Edgar and Archbishop Dunstan of Canterbury converted the monastery into an abbey, with forty Benedictine monks, and chose a very able man, Cynewearde (or Kynewardus), as the first Abbot. This Cynewearde, a few years afterwards, to the loss of Milton, was made Bishop of Wells. The original minster built by Athelstan was a noble stone building of its time, and was very rich in shrines and relics. The King gave a piece of our Saviour's Cross, a great cross of gold and silver with precious stones, and many bones of the saints, which were placed in five gilt shrines. The bones of his mother were also brought to the church (for burial). We also know that the Saxon Minster was restored and enlarged, if not rebuilt, in Norman times. It has been reasonably conjectured that the size of the Norman Abbey was that of the choir and presbytery of the present church. Some large fragments 94 23 < z o Milton Abbey 95 of Norman masonry have been dug up,1 which show that the Norman Abbey was a building of some considerable architectural pretensions ; and encased in the south wall of the present choir and presbytery are the remains of two enriched Norman arches which escaped destruction in the fire of 1309. In that year the church was struck by lightning, and was almost entirely burnt to the ground. King Athelstan. Founder of Milton Abbey. {From a Painting in the Church.) " Athelstan's Mother." Buried in Milton Abbey. {From a Painting in the Church.) Thirteen years later, however, under Abbot Walter Archer, the present Abbey Church was commenced on the same site, but on a much larger and grander scale ; and building operations went on, from time to time, 1 One of these Norman fragments was sent in 1904, as a relic, to the parish church of Milton, near Boston, Massachusetts. The American town of Milton, incorporated in 1662, was named after Milton, in Dorset, and the crest on its corporate seal is a reproduction of the west front of Milton Abbey (see illustration at the end of this chapter). 96 Memorials of Old Dorset until within a short period before the Dissolution in 1539- The following styles of architecture are represented in the main portions of the church, built of stone from Ham Hill and Tisbury: — First Decorated, the choir and presbytery of seven bays, with aisles ; Second Decorated, the south transept ; Third Decorated, the two western piers of the " crossing " ; Perpendicular, the north transept and central tower. The Perpendicular work was under- taken by the penultimate Abbot, William de Middleton, assisted by Bishop Thomas Langton, of Salisbury and of Winchester, the Abbey of Cerne, and the families of Bingham, Coker, Latimer, Morton, and others. At the Dissolution, the Abbey estates were granted by Henry VIII. to Sir John Tregonwell, who had helped to procure the King's divorce from Catharine of Aragon ; but the whole of the Abbey Church was preserved for the parishioners, with the exception of the Ladye Chapel, which was pulled down, although some of its vaulting shafts can still be seen outside the east end of the church. The last of the Abbots (John Bradley, B.D.), after leaving Milton in Tregonwell's hands, was con- secrated Suffragan Bishop of St. Asaph, with the title of Bishop of Shaftesbury,1 and the Abbey Church of Milton then passed under the sole spiritual control of Richard Hall, Vicar of Milton, and his successors. Unfortunately, the Abbey underwent a " restoration " in 1789, when the church was despoiled of many of its fittings ; and chantry chapels and other valuable objects of interest went down under the hand of the " restorer." But Sir Gilbert Scott, in 1865, restored the church at the 1 It is curious that the first Abbot and the last Abbot of Milton should have become bishops, while none of the intervening abbots were raised to the episcopate. It is true that in 1261 William de Taunton, Abbot of Milton, was elected to the bishopric of Winchester, but he desisted from his right. A Milton monk, however, in 1292, filled the See of Salisbury (Nicholas Longspee) ; and Thomas Jan, a native of Milton, became Bishop of Norwich in 1499. ■VV. .... ■/ .'■ ■•'.. .. .... ti . . • v. , > '• ■• •• ;• '•• A v « & .* . j N Milton Abbey: Interior. Milton Abbey 97 expense of the late Baron Hambro, and left the Abbey in its present beautiful condition, and, as far as was possible, in its original state. The Tabernacle. H 98 Memorials of Old Dorset The view of the church at the beginning of this chapter will save the necessity of a description of its exterior. But the interior contains many things which demand notice. And first of all must be mentioned the " ornament," which many antiquaries consider to be a Tabernacle for reserving the Eucharist. This very beautiful and richly carved " Sacrament-house " dates from the fifteenth century, and is made of oak in the form of a spire composed of four storeys, the lowest containing the opening through which the reserved elements may have been passed. It is not in its original position, but is now fastened to the west wall of the south transept beneath the triforium. The great altar-screen is a very lofty, beautiful, and peculiarly rich construction, even though the two long rows of ornamental niches now lack the statues of the saints that once stood in them — saints with " very bluff countenances, painted in very bright colours and heavily gilded." On its lower portion there is a Latin inscription, which bids prayers for the souls of William Middleton, Abbot of Milton, and Thomas Wilken, Vicar of the parish, who worthily decorated (" honorifice depinxerunt ") the screen in 1492. The three stone sedilia in the sanctuary are fine specimens. The bosses throughout the church are of very rich design. The Abbey also contains two fifteenth century oil paintings of a crude description, one of which represents Athelstan, the founder, giving to the first head of the monastery a model of the minster (with three spires)1 over which he was to preside. The other painting is supposed to represent Athelstan's mother — Egwynna, " femina illustris" 2 1 In the thirteenth century seal of the Abbey " the Church of Midelton " is also represented with three spires. 2 See Dorset Nat. Hist, and Antiquarian Field Club's Proceedings, vol. xxvi., 201 ff. Milton Abbey 99 The tombs of the abbots within the Abbey are most interesting. In front of the altar steps there is a Purbeck marble grave-slab of the fourteenth century, which was once inlaid with the brass figure of an abbot clad in pontificalia, with a marginal Latin inscription in Lom- bardic capitals -. ABBA : VALTERE : TE : FATA : CITO : RAPVERE : TE : RADINGA : DEDIT : SED : MORS : MALE : NOS : TVA : LEDIT. This is the slab of an Abbot of Milton whose Christian name was Walter, and who was formerly a monk of Reading, probably Walter de Sydelinge, who died in 13 15. In the north transept there is a thirteenth century grave-slab of another abbot. This slab is also of Purbeck marble, but the upper portion is broken off. The remaining portion shows part of an incised figure of an abbot, with pastoral staff, chasuble, stole, maniple, alb, and an imperfect marginal inscription in Norman French : VVS ; KI : PAR ; I • CI • PASSET : PVR \ LEALME j PRIE... ...RCI i LISET j LE • PARDVN j I \ CH There are other large marble grave-slabs, without inscriptions, in the church, which are supposed to cover abbots, monks, and benefactors. On some there are the matrices of missing brasses. One, in front of the altar steps, shows the outline of a civilian in a plain gown, and his wife wearing a " butterfly " head-dress, with their five sons and four daughters, circa 1490. In St. John the Baptist's Chapel, at the east end of the north aisle of the church, there is a small fifteenth century brass to John Artur, one of the monks of the Abbey, 1 This inscription is discussed in the Dorset Nat. Hist, and Antiquarian Field Club's Proceedings, vol. xxv., 191 ff. It announces an indulgence to those passers-by who pray for the soul of the deceased abbot (possibly William de Stokes, who died in 1256). ioo Memorials of Old Dorset with a Latin inscription, which bids God have mercy on his soul. In the same chapel, a very fine coloured armorial brass over Sir John Tregonwell's altar- tomb contains the latest tabard example on a brass in England (1565).1 But to mention all the ancient or modern memorials (some of wondrous beauty, such as those of Lord and Lady Milton, and Baron Hambro) would take far too much space. A marble tablet in the vestry informs the reader that John Tregonwell, Esquire, who died in the year 1680, " by his last will and testament gave all the bookes within this vestry to the use of this Abby Church for ever, as a thankfuld acknowledgement of God's wonderfull mercy in his preservation when he fell from the top of this Church." This incident happened when he was a child ; he was absolutely uninjured, his stiff skirts having acted as a parachute.2 The chained library of sixty-six leather-bound volumes comprises the works of the Latin and Greek Fathers and other early Christian writers, and some standard theological works of the seventeenth century. The books have been kept at the vicarage for many years. The abbey now contains very little painted glass.3 1A full description of these brasses appeared in The Antiquary for March, 1904. 2 A full account of this incident and of the bequest appears in Heath and Prideaux's Some Dorset Manor Houses, pp. 199, 200. 3 In connection with the glass in the windows of Milton Abbey, it may oe of interest to add the tradition that John Milton " planned " his // Penseroso at Milton, and that the following lines in the poem are supposed to have been suggested to him by the Abbey Church : But let my due feet never fail To walk the studious cloister's pale, And love the high embowed roof With antic pillars massy proof, And storied windows richly dight Casting a dim religious light ; There let the pealing organ blow, To the full voiced quire below, In service high and anthems clear As may with sweetness, through mine ear, Dissolve me into ecstasies, And bring all heav'n before mine eyes. Milton Abbey ioi There is a large " Jesse window " by the elder Pugin in the south transept, and some coloured coats of arms and devices of kings, nobles, and abbots in some of the other windows. The dwarfed east window contains the only pre-Reformation glass in the church.1 The Abbatial Arms are emblazoned in several parts of the building. They consist of three baskets of bread, each containing three loaves. On one of the walls in the south aisle, near the vestry, there is the carved coloured rebus of Abbot William de Middleton, with the date 15 14 in Arabic numerals — the 4 being represented by half an eight. Abbot Middlkton's Rebus. It comprises the letter W with a pastoral staff, and a windmill on a large cask — in other words, a mill and a tun (Mil-ton). The old miserere seats still remain in the choir, but the carving thereon is not very elaborate, and many of them have been renewed. The inscriptions on the Communion plate (which consists of two large silver barrel-shaped flagons, a bell-shaped chalice, and a large and a small paten) tell us that " John Chappell, Sitteson and Stationer of London, 1637," and 1 A full description of this glass {temp. Henry VII.) appeared in The Antiquary for May, 1907. 102 Memorials of Old Dorset "Mary Savage, 1658," and " Maddam Jane Tregonwell, widdow, 1675," gave these to " Milton Abby." There are several other interesting things in the church, albeit not ancient — e.g., the rood-loft, the font, and the pulpit. The rood-loft, although not entirely ancient, is composed of ancient materials. When the party-walls of St. John the Baptist's Chapel, the chantry of Abbot William de Middleton, and other side-chapels, were destroyed or mutilated at the "restoration" in 1789, some of the materials were used to reconstruct the rood- loft. The eastern cornice, for instance, is probably a portion of Abbot Middleton's chantry, and bears thirteen coats of arms, including those of the Abbeys of Milton, Sherborne, and Abbotsbury, and the families of Chidiock, Latimer, Lucy, Stafford of Hooke, Thomas of Wood- stock, and others. The font of the Abbey, in the south transept, is modern, but of unusual design. It is composed of two beautiful life-sized white marble female figures, repre- senting Faith and Victory, with a baptismal shell at their feet. Near the font is an oak case containing a fourteenth century coffin chalice and paten, and fragments of a wooden pastoral staff and sandals, discovered during the restoration of the church in 1865.1 The pulpit is also modern, of carved oak ; but it is interesting, because it contains statues of all the patron saints connected with the Abbey and the parish, and of these there are no fewer than six, viz. : St. Sampson of Dol, St. Branwalader,2 St. Mary the Blessed Virgin, 1 A full description of these burial relics appeared in The Antiquary for July, 1905. 2 It is possible that Athelstan found a Celtic sanctuary at Milton dedicated to these two Celtic bishops, and retained the dedications for his new minster in order to conciliate the vanquished race. Such a graceful act would be quite in keeping with the King's imperial maxim : " Gloriosus regem facer e quam regem esse," Milton Abbey 103 St. Michael the warrior-archangel, St. Catherine of Alexandria, and St. James the Great. St. Catherine of Alexandria is the patron-saint of " King Athelstan's Chapel," which stands in the woods at the top of the hill to the east of the Abbey. And this little church has also had a history well worth the telling. When Athelstan was fighting for his throne he had to pass through the county of Dorset, and he encamped on Milton Hill, and threw up an earth- work, or made use of one already existing there, the remains of which can still be seen beyond the east end of the chapel. During the night he believed that some supernatural revelation was made to him, assuring him that he would conquer his many enemies and become King of all England. He pushed on, and at Brunanburh, " Christ helping him, he had the victory, and there slew five kings and seven earls " (Saxon Chronicle). The song commemorating this important and decisive victory is given in the Old English Chronicle ; and the first stanza of Professor Freeman's version and that of Lord Tennyson reads thus : Now ^Ethelstan King, Of Earls the Lord, In warriors the ring giver And his brother eke, Eadmund ^Etheling, Eld-long glory Won in the fight With the swords' edge By Brunanburh, The boardwall they clave, And hewed the war-linden, With hammer's leavings Offspring of Eadward. Freeman. Athelstan King, Lord among Earls, Bracelet bestower and Baron of Barons, He, with his brother Edmund Atheling Gaining a life-long Glory in battle, Slew with the sword-edge There by Brunanburh, Brake the shield-wall, Hew'd the linderwood, Hack'd the battle-shield, Sons of Edward, with hammer'd brands. Tennyson. 104 Memorials of Old Dorset Athelstan, being a thoroughly religious man, as well as a great warrior, expressed his thankfulness to God in the way usual in those times. He founded the monastery at Milton, and erected the ecclesiola, afterwards dedi- cated to St. Catherine, within the entrenchment where he received the remarkable revelation. Chapels on the top of hills were often dedicated to St. Catherine of Alexandria, on account of the legend which tells that St. Catherine's Chapel. St. Catherine's body was buried by angels on Mount Sinai. Other instances, in many places, of this dedication with its connection still remain — in Dorset, for example, at Abbotsbury and Holworth. The little church at Milton did its work in Saxon times, and then underwent a con- siderable restoration in Norman days. It also underwent a lesser restoration in the early part of the sixteenth century. As it stands at present, it consists of a nave and chancel. The main walls, which are very thick, and Milton Abbey 105 the door arches are Norman. On the west jamb of the south door there is a curious and rare inscription in Lombardic capitals relating to an indulgence : INDVLGENCIA j H' j SCI j LOCI i C : E ; X ■ DIES :l The windows in the nave are Early Norman and Perpen- dicular. The old west front was taken down for some reason in the eighteenth century, and at this time an effigy of a monk in his habit (lying along and resting on his hands, looking down at the Abbey below) was destroyed. Some paintings also perished at the same time. The chancel was also partly rebuilt, and the roof raised, but the Transition-Norman chancel-arch was preserved. On the south side of the altar is a pedestal, on which the statue of St. Catherine may have formerly stood. The encaustic tiles in the chancel were removed from the Abbey Church in the year 1865. Some of these mediaeval tiles are heraldic, and contain the arms of the See of Exeter, the Earls of Cornwall, Gloucester and Hertford, and others. A tile manufactured at Malvern has an inscription and date, 1456. In pre-Reformation days King Athelstan's Chapel was possibly used as the capella extra portas — the chapel, that is, outside the gates of the monastery, at which strangers and women who were not admitted within the gates might hear Mass. That women used St. Catherine's Chapel for another purpose is also possible. St. Catherine is the patron-saint of spinsters, and in days gone by she was supposed to have the power of finding a husband for those who sought her aid. The following Milton rhymes 1 This thirteenth century inscription is discussed in the Dorset Nat. Hist, and Antiquarian Field Club's Proceedings, vol. xxv., 187 ff. One wonders if this indulgence was granted by Robert Kilwarby, Archbishop of Canterbury, on the occasion of his visit to Milton Abbey in 1277. The indulgence was offered, presumably, to those who would contribute to the fabric fund of the chapel. 106 Memorials of Old Dorset in use to-day may be echoes of the mediaeval Latin doggerels : — St. Catherine, St. Catherine, O lend me thine aid, And grant that I never may die an old maid. A husband, St. Catherine, A good one, St. Catherine ; But arn-a-one better than Narn-a-one, St. Catherine. Sweet St. Catherine, A husband, St. Catherine, Handsome, St. Catherine, Rich, St. Catherine, Soon, St. Catherine. After the Reformation the chapel was allowed to decay and to become desecrated. In the eighteenth century there is a record that it was being used as a pigeon-house. Then, when more houses were needed in the parish, the " Chapel Royal " was turned into a labourer's cottage — the interior was whitewashed, and a ceiling added ; the chancel became a bedroom, and the nave a living room, with a kitchen grate and chimney affixed. Afterwards the little church was used as a carpenter's workshop, and then as a lumber store. But, in 1 901, the neglected building was cleaned out, and a service was held there on St. Catherine's night (November 25th). The parishioners assembled in the building, the roof of which was full of holes (admitting ivy, wind and wet), the windows had long been broken, and the south wall was dangerously bulging. Confession of wrong was made for the past desecrations, and prayers were offered that the Church of St. Catherine might for the future be reverently treated as a " holy place " (as the Indulgence- inscription calls it) ; and, happily, the building has since been most conservatively restored by Mr. Everard Hambro, the lord of the manor. Thus, the little church which commemorates a very critical event in the early history of England has been saved from further desecration and z o «5 in < C/2 Milton Abbey 107 decay ; and King Athelstan's Chapel is once again used for the service of God, while remaining a valuable historic relic of Saxon days. Another capella belonging to the Abbey, but now in private ownership, has been less fortunate. Liscombe Chapel,1 in the parish of Milton, five miles from the Abbey Church and two miles from Chesilborne, is still desecrated. This little building, built principally of flint, stone, and large blocks of rock chalk, is entire, and consists Liscombe Chapel. of chancel and nave, divided by a handsome Transition- Norman arch, with massive rounded columns. The east window and the two other chancel windows are Norman, with some later work inserted. But the chapel of Liscombe has been desecrated for a long time. The nave thereof is now used as a bakehouse (there is a large open grate, oven, and chimney in the centre), and the chancel is used as a log-house. A flight of stone stairs has been 1 A full account of Liscombe appeared in the Dorset Nat. Hist, and Antiquarian Field Club's Proceedings, vol. xxvi., 1 ff. io8 Memorials of Old Dorset erected in the chancel, which leads to the bedrooms over the bakehouse and log-house. The bedrooms have been ceiled, and the whole interior of the little church has been whitewashed, including the handsome chancel arch ; the roof of the building is of thatch. An old stone sundial is preserved in the west wall. Warne, in his Ancient Dorset, states that the chapel is credited with being " tenanted by a supernatural visitor " ; and this is still believed by the country folk. The house adjoining this desecrated sanctuary is also ancient, and built chiefly of flint and stone. It possesses several interesting win- dows of various dates (including a loup in the east wall), and an old stone sundial on its south wall. The interior contains some oak-work, portions of which may be pre-Reformation. This house is now used as a labourer's cottage ; but there is a tradition that it was formerly inhabited by the monks, who ministered (" Divina celebrant: ") in the little church. And the building itself, from its position and evident antiquity, lends colour to the tradition ; but there are marks that it became the manor farmhouse after the Dissolution. There is also a tradition that the stream which now runs through the hamlet of Liscombe was formerly larger than it is now, and that there were fish-ponds close by, and that the monks at Liscombe supplied their over-lord, the Abbot of Milton, with fresh-water fish. Milton Abbey also possessed three other Norman capellae — in Woolland, Whitcombe, and Holworth respec- tively ; but Woolland is now a separate ecclesiastical parish ; Whitcombe is a donative held by the Rector of Came (it was held for many years by William Barnes, the Dorset poet) ; and Holworth, alone of the three, still remains a part of the ecclesiastical parish of Milton. Holworth is sixteen miles from the Abbey Church, and now possesses a modern chapel, on a hill near the " Burning Cliff," known as the Chapel of St. Catherine- by-the-Sea. It is said that in days gone by the monks Milton Abbey 109 at Holworth supplied their Abbot, at Milton, with salt- water fish. The hamlet of Holworth, overlooking Weymouth Bay and Portland Roads, has been well described as resting in " a most lonely and most lovely valley by the sea, an earthly paradise, which those who have discovered cherish and dream about. It is far away from the haunts of men, and remote from the cares of life ; where the newspaper is two days' old before it invades the religious calm of a mind attuned by the most exquisite scenery to rise to thoughts above this world ; where one may walk along the undulating downs that skirt the Channel, held in place by parapets of cliff that break down straight into the sea ; where one may walk mile after mile on natural lawn and not meet a soul — just one's self, the birds, the glorious scenery, and God."1 The hamlet of Holworth is, indeed, worthy of being a portion of the parish that is acknowledged to be one of the most beautiful places in Dorset. The village of Milton lies enfolded between richly-wooded hills, at the foot of a wonderfully picturesque descent. Sir Frederick Treves, in his Highways and Byways in Dorset, says that " there is nothing like to it in any part of England." He calls it a " surprising " village, " a toy town." The first impression on seeing it " is one of amazement, for the place is both extraordinary and unexpected." Each of the houses is of the same pattern, and each is separated from the others by a chestnut tree. The builder of this unique village, as will be seen, was Joseph, Lord Milton (afterwards Earl of Dorchester). The old town of Milton lay near the south side of the Abbey Church ; but the ancient town was pulled down by Lord Milton about the 1 The loneliness of Holworth has also been remarked upon by Thomas Hardy in his smuggling story, "The Distracted Preacher" {IVessex Tales). Such a lonely spot, with its under-cliff sheltered by "White Nose" — the great white promontory jutting like an enormous Wellington nose into the sea — naturally attracted smugglers, who, as tradition says, hid their goods in the tower of the neighbouring parish church of Owermoigne. In this church there is an interesting inscription recording the will of " Adam Jones of Holworth, in the parish of Abbotsmilton " {tie), 1653. no Memorials of Old Dorset year 1780, as it was too close to his new mansion (in which he had incorporated the magnificent fifteenth cen- tury monastic refectory),! and proved an annoyance to him. The death, in 1775, of his wife ("the most noble and most excellent Lady Caroline, Lady Milton, daughter of Lyonel, Duke of Dorset, the wisest and most lovely, the best and most virtuous of women "), to whom he was passionately attached, and the suicide, in the following year, of his eldest son (the husband of " the beautiful Anne Seymour Damer " 1), probably had a hardening influence on Lord Milton's character, and made him use his giant's strength tyrannously like a giant. At any rate, he swept away the old town, and the " new town " was then built, further off, as a substitute. Some frag- mentary particulars of the old town of Milton have been gathered together,2 which perhaps are of sufficient interest to be reproduced here. The old town was one of the most ancient in Dorset. It grew up with the Abbey, and was known as Middleton (of which Milton is a contraction), because it was the middle town of the county. It contained shops of all kinds, four inns, a pre-Reformation Grammar School, alms- houses built in 1674, and a brewery, which helped to supply Weymouth, Poole, and other large towns in Dorset. Milton Abbey ales were at one time among the most famous in the county ; they could also be obtained in London. The tradesmen of old Milton were prosperous, but the "working classes" were very poor. Their staple food was barley cake ; and to keep down expenses they saved every morsel of fat and made their own candles in pewter moulds. Two, if not more, of the leading shop- keepers issued " tokens " in the seventeenth century,3 1 See Mary Craven's Famous Beauties of Two Reigns, pp. 141- 151. 2 See Old Milton, and Dorset Nat. Hist, and Antiquarian Field Club's Proceedings, vol. xxv., 1 ff. 3 Zanchy Harvyn, grocer, of " Abby Milton," was the second trades- man in Dorset to issue a " token" (1651). * a •? ^ Milton Abbey hi specimens of which exist ; and among the old parish papers are a number of apprenticeship indentures which bound poor boys to various tradesmen in the place. The girls of the parish were taught to spin. The handsome fifteenth century market cross was one of the finest in the kingdom, quite worthy of its position near the Abbey Church. It had an ascent of no fewer than thirty steps. Its site is marked in the present park by a very massive octagonal socket stone, which is said to be a portion of the original cross. The parish registers state that, in the days of the Commonwealth, banns of marriage were published "in the markett."1 The weekly market was well attended, it being the central market of the county, and was held around the market cross. The annual fair was held on St. Sampson's Eve and Day, July 27th and 28th, St. Sampson being the chief patron saint of the Abbey. This fair, like the market, was granted by King Athelstan ; but it was practically discontinued when the old town was pulled down. The sports in old Milton were badger-baiting under the cedar trees in the Abbey churchyard ; cock-squailing, cock-fighting, and " fives," outside the west end of the church ; bowls were played on the bowling green, and ringing was very popular. The ringers only claimed " bread and beare " for their services each year — on the Restoration Day of Charles II. (May 29th), on Guy Fawkes' Day (November 5th), and on Christmas Day. They were also paid on special occasions, such as " for ringing ye Bishope throu Towne " ; but episcopal visits were rare. During Lent the children went " shroving " and " Lent crocking." On Shrove Tuesday the children, 1 See Milton Abbey Marriage Registers, in Phillimore's " Dorset " series. But during the years 1657-8 the banns of some of the more zealous church-people were published in the church. ii2 Memorials of Old Dorset carrying sticks, knocked at the doors of the principal residents and repeated this doggerel verse : Please I've come a-shroving For a piece of pancake, Or a little ruckle cheese Of your own making. If you don't give me some, If you don't give me none, I'll knock down your door With a great marrow bone And a-way I'll run. The result of this threat was that the children were given hot half-pence, apples, eggs, a piece of pancake, or a hunch of ruckle-cheese. A ruckle-cheese was a small sour-milk home-made cheese, weighing about one pound. It could be ruckled — i.e., rolled along the ground. Hence its name. In the evening the " Lent-crocking " began. Those people who had not given the children anything when they came " a-shroving " were then punished by having pieces of crockery and pans and other missiles thrown at their doors. In this way real damage was often done, and the two parish constables do not seem to have interfered. The practice of shroving is still continued in the present village of Milton : it is one of the customs that have survived the demolition of the old town. It obtains in other Dorset parishes, but is gradually dying out. The Abbey churchyard was a very large one. Its area was about three times the area of the Abbey Church. The sports which took place therein have been already mentioned. It was also used as a public flogging-place for offenders against the law. Lord Milton, when he decided to pull down the old town, had all the headstones in the churchyard removed, broken up, or buried. In converting the churchyard into lawns, many bones of parishioners were turned up and irreverently treated ; and Milton Abbey 113 the superstitious tradition in the present village is that, in consequence of this, Lord Milton died of a gruesome disease. There was an ancient cross in the churchyard called the " Druid's Cross," and also a preaching cross.1 It is hardly necessary to add that these perished with the churchyard. The old Grammar School, founded by Abbot Middleton in 1521, was also pulled down. It was one of the chief public schools in the south-west of England, and was known as " the Eton of the West."2 It had, as a rule, between eighty to one hundred boys, mostly boarders, sons of the leading county families. There were several boarding-houses for the boys in Milton, and the existence of the school helped on the prosperity of the town. Two of its most distinguished alumni were Thomas Masterman Hardy, Nelson's favourite captain, who in after life did not forget his old friends at Milton3 ; and Thomas Beach, a native of Milton, the famous Dorset portrait painter, who from 1772 to 1800 "limned the features of everybody who was anybody." It must be admitted, reluctantly, that the Grammar School boys were an undoubted nuisance to Lord Milton. They lived within a stone's throw of his mansion, they broke into his privacy and seclusion, they scoured his gardens and plantations in every direction, stole his fruit, and disturbed his game. Records exist of the expulsion of some boys bearing the most honoured of Dorset names for persistent stone-throwing down chimneys, and for stealing cucumbers from the Abbey gardens, and game- fowl eggs for the purpose of rearing birds to compete in fighting. In the Abbey Church the Grammar School 1 See Alfred Pope's The Old Stone Crosses of Dorset, pp. 69-71. 2 See Milton Abbey and its School, chap. ii. 3 See Broadley and Bartelot's The Three Dorset Captains at Trafalgar, 124. ii4 Memorials of Old Dorset boys sat in a large gallery which stretched from the rood-loft to the west wall. This gallery was pulled down by Lord Milton's orders as soon as he had removed the school. The head-master and assistant-masters of the school, being in Holy Orders, frequently held the position of Vicar or Curate of the Abbey Church. Among them was John Hutchins, the Dorset historian, who was Curate of the Abbey and " usher " of the school.1 It must not be thought that Lord Milton's " fine quarter-deck high-handedness " aroused no outcry. The parishioners regarded his action as a cruel piece of tyranny, and they resisted it with stubborn and obstinate opposition.2 For over twenty years his lordship was involved in considerable trouble and expense while gradually getting all the houses into his possession, in order that he might raze them to the ground. Mr. Harrison, a resident solicitor, refused to sell his lease, although he was offered three times its value ; so Lord Milton let the water from the "Abbot's Pond" (a small pond which then lay just below the Abbey Church) creep around the premises. Mr. Harrison at once entered an action against his lordship for flooding his house, and the lawyer won the case. A few days afterwards Lord Milton went to London, and on his way to Blandford he heard the Abbey bells ringing. This he interpreted as a sign of parochial joy at his defeat and departure ; and nothing would satisfy him but the sale of the offending bells. The bells were really ringing to commemorate 1 During Hutchins' residence at Milton, the Lord of the Manor (Mr. Jacob Bancks, M.P.) employed him to make some antiquarian researches concerning Sir John Tregonwell ; and while making these researches Hutchins conceived the idea of writing a book on the antiquities of Dorset. He began to collect materials, and at Milton laid the plan of his monumental history. His wife, Ann Stephens, is described in the Melcombe Bingham marriage registers as belonging to the parish of Milton. 2 This fight between squire and people recalls Thomas Hardy's allusion, in The Woodlanders, to " Middleton Abbey" as being a place where one might gain strength, " particularly strength of mind." Milton Abbey 115 Guy Fawkes' Day ■ it was November 5th. But the bells had to go : " the autocrat " had spoken. And his friend, the Dean of Norwich, had said that "bell-ringing caused much idleness and drinking." There is a record that, when the parishioners saw their bells carted away, they stood at their house-doors weeping, even though two of the bells were saved for the new Church of St. James. In pulling down the old town Lord Milton preserved the Abbey Church, and employed James Wyatt to restore it. Much havoc was then wrought in the interior, but at the same time the vast building underwent a thorough repair, which it needed very badly. There is a tradition that this restoration cost Lord Milton no less than £60,000 ; but this seems a fabulous sum. With the materials from the demolished buildings of the old town Lord Milton built the present village of Milton (he also built some ecclesiastical-looking sham " ruins " in the park, which are still standing) ; l and the stone and timber from the old Abbey tithe-barn were used to construct a new church in the new village. The few interesting things in this church, which is dedicated to St. James the Great, were originally possessions of the Abbey — two bells of the fourteenth and sixteenth centuries respectively, a thirteenth century Purbeck marble octagonal font, an old pulpit, two pewter plates, two oak coffin-stools, and three elaborately-bound volumes, in black letter, of Fox's Acts and Monuments of the Christian Martyrs (1632), which aforetime were chained in the Abbey to a desk covered with " red shagg " and studded with 200 brass nails. But although St. James' Church suffers loss by comparison with the other more ancient churches in the parish, its churchyard is remarkable in that it is higher 1 A full account of these " ruins " appeared in the Dorset Nat. Hist, and Antiquarian Field Club's Proceedings, vol. xxvi., 195 ff. n6 Memorials of Old Dorset than the church itself. The dead are buried not below the level of the church, but above the level of its roof. This is certainly unusual. Yet it may be regarded as a fitting -finale for the inhabitants of a parish that has been described truly as " a curiosity, surprising, and remarkable." The Seal of the town of Milton in America. Incorporated 1662. WIMBORNE MINSTER By the Rev. Thomas Perkins, M.A. jIMBORNE MINSTER, as it is called to distinguish it from the village of Wimborne St. Giles and Monkton-up-Wimborne, is at the present day a bright, clean, prosperous- looking little market town, showing few remains of olden times save in its church. There is no doubt that its name is connected with the little river or " bourne " on which it stands, for the two villages mentioned above, bearing names of which Wimborne forms a part, stand on the same stream, which, like some other Dorset rivers — the Var or Frome, the Piddle or Trent — bears two names, the Wim or the Allen. And yet it is an ancient place. Here, early in the eighth century, Cudburh, or Cuthberga, sister of Ine, the famous King of the West Saxons, whose laws were the foundation of the liberties of his subjects, and show a spirit of tolerance hitherto unknown towards the conquered Celts, founded a nunnery. Here, in 851, the then Earl of Devon is said to have defeated the Danes ; here ^Ethelred, the brother and immediate predecessor of ^Elfred on the West Saxon throne, having died of a wound received in battle with the Danes, we know not where, was buried in 871. Hither came the Danes again, plundering the town and destroying the convent. Hither, too, after the death of Alfred, in 901, came ^Ethelwold, the ^Etheling (son of Alfred's brother,, ^Ethelred, who had been passed over as too young to rule when his 117 n8 Memorials of Old Dorset father died) rebelling against the new King, Alfred's son, Eadward the Unconquered, and possessed himself of Wimborne. Eadward marched from the south against him, and encamped within the rampart of Badbury Rings, a few miles to the west of Wimborne ; hence he sent a message to ^Ethelwold, bidding him surrender. To this ^Ethelwold returned stout answer that he would either live or die in Wimborne. But after the messenger had gone back he took counsel with himself, and decided that as the first alternative was impossible, and the second unpleasant, he would see if a third course were not open to him — namely, to live elsewhere. So he fled to Normandy, and thence to Northumberland, which was then under Danish rule, and, throwing in his lot with the enemies of Wessex, he collected a band of freebooters from beyond the sea, and received some assistance from the East Anglian Danes. But all to no purpose, for the " Unconquered " King overthrew him and his Danish allies in many fights, and recovered all the booty they had carried off. But it is the church that is the centre of interest of Wimborne. Ine, King of the West Saxons, had two sisters, perhaps more, but only two are connected with Wimborne. Cuthberga was betrothed to the Northumbrian King, ^Ecgfred, or Osric, as he is often called, but when she met him she found his rough northern manners and his intemperate habits little in harmony with her more refined disposition and mode of life. Therefore, she persuaded him to allow her to devote herself to a religious life, and retired to the nunnery at Barking ; and afterwards, at what exact date we do not know, but probably not later than 705, she founded a nunnery at Wimborne, her sister being associated with her in the work. Both of these royal ladies were buried within the precincts, and in due time canonised as St. Cuthberga and St. Cwen- berga ; the former was commemorated as a virgin on August 31st. A special service appointed for the day y. s c -. , I. '.-- I ■1 .1..' .1. Wimborne Minster 119 may still be read in a Missal kept in the Cathedral Library at Salisbury. The convent of Wimborne can boast of another illustrious lady among those who took the veil within its walls — St. Walburga, or Walpurgis. Somewhere about the end of the seventh or beginning of the eighth century, she was born in Sussex, and was educated at the newly- founded nunnery at Wimborne, and became in due course a nun ; here she stayed for yet another twenty-seven years. Then, by the desire of her uncle, St. Boniface, and her brother Wilibald, she set out with thirty other nuns to found religious houses in Germany. She first settled at Bischofsheim, in the diocese of Maintz, and in 754 became Abbess of the Benedictine house at Heidenheim, which was situated within the diocese of Eichstadt, in Bavaria, of which her brother, Wilibald, was Bishop. Another brother, Winebald, was head of the Benedictine monastery in the same place ; and when he died, in 760, Walburga received the charge of this house in addition to her own, and continued to rule both until her death in 779. She was buried in a hollow rock at Eichstadt, from which a bituminous oil, afterwards called Walpurgis' oil, exuded. This was supposed to possess miraculous powers of healing, so that her grave was much visited by pilgrims, and a church was built over it. She is com- memorated at different times in different places, but chiefly on May 1st, a day originally celebrated with heathen ceremonies, emblematical of the birth of Summer. Hence some of the heathen rites still lingered on, just as certain of our Christmas customs are of heathen origin. The readers of Goethe's Faust cannot help remembering the revels of the witches on the Brocken on Walpurgis' night. The nunnery at Wimborne perished in some plundering raid of the Danes some time during the ninth century. Whether yElfred did anything to restore it we do not know, but a king of the name of Eadward, either Alfred's 120 Memorials of Old Dorset son, the " Unconquered," or the Confessor, founded a college of secular priests at Wimborne. Again, we know not whether the church of this college occupied the site of the old convent church or not. The names of the deans from 1224 until the Dissolution, in 1547, have come down to us. The only one of these whose name is known in history is the last but one — Cardinal Pole, who held this position from 15 17 till 1537, being only seventeen years of age at the time of his appointment. When the deanery was abolished, Wimborne Minster became a Royal Peculiar, under the administration of three priest-vicars. The arrangement was a somewhat unusual one ; each of the three was responsible for the services for one week, one of the other two acted as his curate in the Minster, and the other took charge of the chapelry of Holt. The next week they changed places; and so on continually. This curious arrangement continued in force till 1876, when one vicar retired on a pension, another removed to Holt, where a parsonage had been built for him, and the third became sole vicar of the Minster and the parish attached to it. The history of the church is best read in its stones ; written records are scanty. The central part, all in Norman style, the work of the twelfth century, is the oldest ; from this the building gradually extended north, south, east, and west, as well as upwards, in the course of the next three centuries ; but the builders who enlarged did not wantonly destroy the work of their predecessors. Probably the chief cause of this was lack of funds ; there was no shrine of saint, nor tomb of martyr, nor wonder-waking relic to attract pilgrims, whose alms, had they come,, would have enriched the church, as many another church was enriched, and had to pay the penalty of over-much wealth in the form of demolition and re- construction. Wimborne Minster was simply enlarged ; the outer walls, of course, had sometimes to be pulled down. Thus in the thirteenth century the Norman east end, Wimborne Minster 121 which was probably apsidal, had to be demolished to afford space for eastward extension, and the date of this extension is determined by the character of the east window ; the windows of the aisles proclaim themselves to be of fourteenth century date ; the western tower is a century later. The church is one of the few that possess two towers, set tandem fashion, one at the crossing, the other at the west end. It is not a very satisfactory arrangement from an artistic point of view, and has in the few instances in which it has been introduced been unfortunate. Hereford had two towers thus placed, but the western one fell; Wymondham, in Norfolk, has two still standing, but the east end of the church is a ruin ; Wimborne central tower was once surmounted by a spire, but this fell. Exeter and Ottery have two towers, but these are placed in a different manner, their bases forming the north and south ends of the transept. The central tower at Wimborne is the older. It is supported on four massive Norman piers ; the east and west arches beneath it are wider than the other two ; to bring the capitals from which they spring all into one horizontal plane and the crowns of the four arches all into another horizontal plane, the builders made the wider arches segments of a circle less than semi-circles, and the narrower ones segments greater than semi-circles, giving them the shape of horse-shoes. Above this lower stage are three others — the triforium stage, with a gallery in the thickness of the wall ; above this comes the clerestory, added later ; and above it another stage, still later, because here, in place of the simple arches seen on the outside of the lower stages, we find interesting arches forming lancet-headed openings; above this is a heavy, ugly parapet and set of pinnacles, erected in 1608 after the fall of the central spire. The western tower is higher than the central one, contains the bells, and, just outside the easternmost window, on the north side of the belfry stage, there stands the wooden figure of a soldier, who 122 Memorials of Old Dorset strikes the quarter-hours on two bells, one on each side of him, and is known as the " Quarter Jack." Inside this western tower, on the face of the south wall, is a curious clock made by Peter Lightfoot, a monk of Glastonbury, in the early part of the fourteenth century. It tells not only the time of day, but the day of the month and the age of the moon. The earth is represented by a globe in the centre ; the sun by a ball on a disc, which travels round it in twenty-four hours, showing the time of day ; the moon as a globe on another disc, which revolves once in a lunar month. Half of this globe is painted black, the other half is gilt, and the age of the moon is indicated by the respective proportions of black and gilt shown, for the ball itself rotates on its axis ; when the moon is full the gilt half is entirely visible ; when new, the black half. The clock is still in working order. A screen separates the lower stage of the tower from the nave, and forms a baptistry, in which stands an octagonal font of Norman character, large enough for baptising an infant by immersion. From the west end, the church presents a very imposing appearance. The nearer pillars, it is true, are rather mean ; they are of fourteenth century date, and very plain. It has been, with some probability, con- jectured that they were brought from some other church which had been pulled down just before the time when this church was extended westward, possibly when the western tower was built. The pillars of the original nave are cylindrical and massive,, the arches of the main arcading resting upon them are pointed ; above is a plain wall ; the division between the original and the added work is shown by the different character of the mouldings of the arches, and of the string-course above them, and by the fact that to the east there are the original Norman clerestory windows, while the walls to the west are not broken by any openings whatever. The floor of the presbytery is raised considerably above Wimborne Minster 123 that of the choir, and this is itself higher than the floor of the nave, so that the altar stands at a considerable elevation. One peculiarity is noteworthy — there are no altar rails, but their place is taken by three massive oaken benches, covered at all times with the " houseling linen," fair white cloths — the use of which goes back to very early times. The benches which now stand across the presbytery floor, close to the topmost of the flight of steps leading up to it, are the remains of ten such benches, which were made in Puritan times for communicants to sit on as they received the sacred elements. When the custom of kneeling was revived, these benches were placed on the steps ; and on " Sacrament Sundays," the clerk, after morning prayer, went to the lectern and bade those who were prepared to receive the Holy Communion to draw near, whereupon intending communicants left the nave and knelt at the benches, or in the choir stalls, until the officiating clergy brought them the sacramental bread and wine. In 1852, when sundry changes were being made in the arrangements of the church, all these benches except three were removed — the three which were in use as altar-rails. The beautiful triplet of windows, over the altar, end the long vista seen from the west. Beneath the presbytery floor is a vaulted crypt. This is not, as many crypts are, dark and gloomy, but well lit by triangular windows, which from the outside are seen to be just above the level of the churchyard. This crypt does not retain its original altar, but its place is marked by a piscina on the southern side ; two arches open out into the choir aisles, through which those kneeling in the aisles might look down on the priest officiating at the altar of the crypt. There are several monuments worthy of notice, but by far the most interesting is the Beaufort altar-tomb on the south side of the presbytery. This was erected, to the memory of her father and mother, by the Lady Margaret, 124 Memorials of Old Dorset foundress of Christ's and St. John's Colleges, at Cambridge, well known for her many benefactions, and from the fact that she was the mother of Henry VII. As the history of this family — the Beauforts — is interesting, and its details little touched on by the writers of English history, it may not be out of place, especially as they were connected with Wimborne, to give an outline of it here. Everyone knows that John of Gaunt was the third son of Edward III. and the father of Henry IV., but many know only in a general way that the House of Tudor traced through him their claim to the English crown. John of Gaunt married Blanche, great-granddaughter of Edmund Crouchback, second son of Henry III., who was created Earl of Lancaster in 1257. Her father, on account of his valour in the French wars of Edward III., had been made a Duke — a new title as far as England was concerned, for the only English Duke that had been previously created was the Duke of Cornwall, better known as the Black Prince. Through Blanche, his wife, John of Gaunt succeeded to the estates of the Duke of Lancaster, among them to the Castle of Beaufort, in Anjou. He was himself in 1362 created Duke of Lancaster. Among Blanche's maids of honour was one Kate, daughter of Sir Payne Roet, and widow of Sir Owen Swynford. When Blanche died, John married Constance of Castile, but took unto himself Kate Swynford as his mistress ; by her he became the father of four children, all born at Beaufort Castle. As they were illegitimate, they took the name of their birthplace as a surname. The eldest of these was John de Beaufort, and the second, Henry, the celebrated Cardinal Beaufort. When Constance died, these four children were legitimatised by a Bull of Urban VI., then by Richard II., then by Act of Parliament. The Duke then married Kate. On January 13th, 1396, John de Beaufort was created Earl of Somerset. He died in 14 10, leaving four sons and two daughters ; the eldest, Henry, did not long Wimborne Minster 125 survive his father, and his title and estates passed to his next brother, John. He greatly distinguished himself in the French wars, and was made Duke of Somerset, Earl of Kendale, Lieutenant of the Duchy of Aquitaine and Captain-General of the whole realm of France and Normandy. In 1436 the Duke of Bedford, the Regent, died, and as the King, Henry VI., was still a minor, another regent had to be appointed. The Duke of Lancaster thought he should have obtained this important post, but it was conferred on the Duke of York, and Lancaster therefore retired from active service, and in 1440 married Margaret, widow of Oliver St. John, and daughter of John, Lord Beauchamp, of Bletsoe Manor, Bedfordshire. This John, Duke of Somerset, and Margaret, his wife, are they whose figures lie side by side in alabaster on their altar-tomb at Wimborne. Their right hands are clasped together ; angels guard their heads ; his feet rest on a dog, hers on an antelope ; he is clad in complete armour, the face and right hand alone bare ; the left hand holds the right-hand gauntlet, which he has taken off before taking the lady's hand. On the apex of the arch, above the tomb, hangs the helm which he, during his life, used to wear in tournaments. Their only child was born in 1441 — Margaret, of whom mention has been made. Her father died in 1444, aged thirty-nine years, and the Duchy of Somerset became extinct in the Beaufort family. His death took place at Kingston Lacy, an estate close to Wimborne, belonging to the Beaufort family. His widow and daughter went to live on the Bedfordshire property. In about four years time, the widow married her third husband, Lord Welles. Young Margaret, when only nine years of age, was sought by the Duke of Suffolk as a wife for his son, John de la Pole, and by King Henry VI. as wife for his half-brother, Edmund Tudor, Earl of Richmond, son of Catherine, the Queen of Henry V., by her second husband, Sir Owen Tudor. Margaret was a clever girl, well educated, knowing even then Latin 126 Memorials of Old Dorset and French ; but sorely distraught was she to know which of the two suitors to choose : so she consulted an old gentlewoman, who advised her to commit the matter to St. Nicholas. She took the advice, prayed to the saint, and fell asleep, and about four o'clock next morning, whether sleeping or waking she could not tell, saw one standing in her room, habited in a bishop's robes, who bade her accept Edmund Tudor as a husband. She told her mother, and she was betrothed to the Earl of Richmond, and they were married in 1455, when she was fourteen years of age and he twenty-four. They lived at Pembroke Castle, which belonged to Jasper Tudor, Earl of Pembroke. In 1456 her only son, Henry, after- wards Henry VII., was born, and shortly after this her husband died. He was buried at Caermarthen Abbey, and when the monastery was suppressed, his body was removed to the Cathedral Church at St. David's. His mother, anxious to keep quite aloof from party strife (for the War of the Roses had already broken out), lived on at Pembroke, educating her son. In 1459 she married her second husband, Sir Humphrey Stafford ; widowhood, for one of exalted rank, not being a desirable condition in those times of war and turmoil. It has been seen that her mother was thrice married, and Margaret followed her example, for when Sir Humphrey died in 1481, she, at the end of a year, being then about forty years of age, married Thomas, Lord Stanley. After fifteen years she separated from him with his consent, in order to devote herself to a religious life, and retired to the convent at Woking, in Surrey. It must not be supposed that she had a peaceful or happy life. Her thoughts were centred on her only son, and many were the years of separation from this son that his mother had to endure. The story of his wanderings, his dangers, his detention in Brittany, are too long to be told here — suffice it to say that Richard III. became so odious to the chief nobles that at last it was arranged that Henry Tudor, Earl of Richmond, Margaret's Wimborne Minster 127 son, should be recognised by the Lancastrian party as their leader, and should claim the throne ; and that in order to gain the adherence of those members of the Yorkist party who were opposed to Richard, a marriage should take place between Henry and Elizabeth, the daughter of Edward IV. Both the mothers agreed to the union : but the first attempt at invasion by Richmond was a failure, and Richard seemed free from all danger ; and with a view to win over his Yorkist opponents, he made up his mind to marry Elizabeth himself, although she was his own brother's child. This step led to a fresh invasion — this time a successful one — and the death of Richard on Bosworth field virtually placed the crown on Henry's head (1485). So at last the Lady Margaret's troubles were at an end, and she saw her son crowned and wedded, and the red and white roses twined together. It remains only to speak of her benefactions. Those at Cambridge are well known ; and the writer of this chapter, who once held at Christ's College one of the scholarships she founded, cherishes the memory of the royal and pious lady with all due gratitude. But it is of her benefactions at Wimborne that mention must now be made. About 1498 she built the beautiful monument to her father and mother in the Minster ; founded a chantry, where, for her own soul, and for those of her son, her parents, and ancestors, Mass was to be duly said. She founded and endowed the Grammar School, though, as its endowments were greatly added to by Queen Elizabeth, its name was afterwards changed from the Lady Margaret's to that of Queen Elizabeth's Free Grammar School. The Lady Margaret just outlived her son ; both died in the same year, 1509, but she rather later than he. Of the other monuments space forbids mention of any, save that of Anthony Etricke, if it can be called a monument, for it is really the sarcophagus that contains the body of this eccentric magistrate, who lived at Holt, and was recorder of Poole. He desired, for some 128 Memorials of Old Dorset reason, to be buried neither above the ground nor under it, neither within the church nor outside of it ; and in order to carry out this strange wish, he got permission to cut a niche in the south wall, partly below the level of the surface of the churchyard, and in it fixed a slate sarcophagus. In this he ordered his coffin to be deposited when he died ; and he made all the preparations he could beforehand, even to the painting of the date of his death on the side of the slate coffin. He had a presentiment that he should die in 1691, but he lived till 1703, so that the real date of his death had to be placed on the coffin. The other date was not obliterated, but the new one was painted on the other, and the two may be seen there to-day. The arms of his family are painted on the lid, and, as he left twenty shillings per annum to keep coffin and niche in good repair, the sarcophagus is bright and smart as paint, gilding, and varnish can make it. The chained library, as it is called, is placed in a chamber above the vestry, rebuilt when the church was restored. It was formed by the Rev. William Stone, Principal of New Inn Hall, Oxford, afterwards one of the " three vicars " of the church. By his will he left some land to St. Margaret's Hospital, and his collection of books to the Minster. These were brought from Oxford in 1686, and placed in what was then known as the Treasury. They were chiefly the writings of the Fathers, with certain other theological books, and were intended for the free use of the people of Wimborne. In these days few would care to pore over these dry and heavy tomes, or make use of the library, for it does not contain any novels, standard or ephemeral ; but there were days when it was used for study. In 1725 a catalogue was made, and the number of the books was then two hundred ; when next catalogued, about one hundred and fifty years later, the number had dropped to one hundred and eighty-five, despite the fact that ten books not mentioned in the z o < CO Z — 3 WlMBORNE MlMSTER 129 former catalogue were on the shelves. There is but one MS., bearing date 1343, "Regimen Animarum," written on vellum, and containing some illuminated initials. The majority of the books were printed between 1520 and 1710. The most interesting are: a Polyglot Bible (1657), a Breeches' Bible (1595), and Sir Walter Ralegh's History of the World (16 14). No less than one hundred and four pages of this History have had a hole burnt through them. Tradition says that Matthew Prior, the poet, was reading this book by candle light, and fell asleep ; when he awoke he found that some snuff from his candle had fallen on the book and done the mischief. He stuck small pieces of parchment over the hole in every page,, and inserted the missing letters or words with pen and ink. But the interesting tradition has been controverted in modern times. The books were originally chained to the shelves, one end of the chain being fastened to the edge of the binding, the other to a ring which would slide along a rod. Many of the books had got loose in the course of years, and lay dusty and uncared for ; but at the restora- tion, new rods were fastened along the new shelves, and the old chains repaired and put to their former use. In two oaken chests in this room many deeds relating to the Collegiate Church (the earliest dating from the time of Henry III., the latest from that of Henry VIII.) are preserved. Among them is the deed founding the Chantry and Grammar School, drawn up by the executors of the Lady Margaret's will ; and also the charter granted by Charles I. to the Governors of the church, from which they derive the powers of appointing clergy, choristers, clerk, vergers, etc., which powers they use to-day. There is one other ancient ecclesiastical foundation in the neighbourhood of Wimborne, about a quarter of a mile from the town on the road to Blandford. It is now an almshouse, where three poor married couples, three poor K 130 Memorials of Old Dorset single men, and the same number of unmarried women, are maintained ; but its original purpose was to relieve only such of the poor as were suffering from leprosy. It is generally said to have been founded by John of Gaunt, and so to have been another connection between that family and Wimborne. There is, it may be said, an old kitchen at Canford which is still called " John of Gaunt's Kitchen " ; whether he had anything to do with the building of the kitchen or the endowment of the Lazar- house we do not know, but it is certain that he did not found the latter, for, in the reign of King John, Hugo of Lingiveria gave to it an acre of land, and in 1282 the Bishop of Exeter gave an indulgence to any who would contribute to its support. A deed of the date of Henry VIII. refers to a Bull of Innocent IV., dated 1245, in which this hospital is mentioned. Various gifts of land, vestments, plate, etc., were bestowed on the hospital, to which a small chapel dedicated to St. Margaret and St. Anthony is attached. A chantry was founded here by one John Redcoddes, in order that a priest might daily say masses for his soul's welfare. The chapel, the architecture of which shows that it was originally built in the thirteenth century, still stands, and is fitted up for service. Hither once a week one of the clergy comes from the Minster to conduct a service, which the alms- house people attend. Other than the buildings already mentioned, there is little mediaeval work to be seen in Wimborne. The old Free Grammar School buildings have given place to modern ones erected in 185 1, and the school is now managed by a governing body appointed under a scheme drawn up by the Charity Commissioners. So " the old order changeth, giving place to the new " ; but, seen from far or near, the two-towered Minster, with its parti- coloured walls of deep red and drab stone, rises grand and old amid its modern surroundings — a noble memorial of the mediaeval builder's art. FORD ABBEY By Sidney Heath (ARIOUS authorities agree with Camden in stating that Ford Abbey (originally in Devon, but now included in the county of Dorset), near Chard, was founded in the year 1140, for Cistercian monks, by Adeliza, daughter of Baldwin de Brioniis, and a grand-niece of William the Conqueror. The circumstances of its origin are interesting and romantic. It appears that Adeliza's brother, Richard of Okehampton, had given, in 1 133, certain lands at Brightley, within his barony, to an Abbey of the Cistercian Order, and had secured twelve monks to dwell therein from Gilbert, Abbot of Waverley, in Surrey. This small com- munity remained at Brightley for five years, when they, " by reason of great want and barrenness, could abide there no longer," and commenced a return journey to their original home in Surrey. On their way they passed through Thorncombe, the parish wherein Ford is situated, where they encountered Adeliza, who, hearing with great regret of the failure of her brother's enterprise, exclaimed : " Behold my manor where you now are, which is very fruitful and well wooded, which I give you for ever in exchange for your barren lands at Brightley, together with the mansion-house and other houses. Stay there until a more convenient monastery may be built for you upon some other part of the estate." The site selected by the monks for the erection of the Abbey was in a valley, on the left bank of the river Axe, at a place called, according to Leland, " Hertbath " (balneum cervorum), and 131 132 Memorials of Old Dorset which, from its nearness to a ford crossing the river at this spot, subsequently became known as Ford. Such is the accepted origin of the splendid pile of buildings which sprang up in this fertile and sequestered valley in 1148, and which still, notwithstanding the pillage at its dissolution, and its many structural altera- tions, commands our admiration and our attention ; although, if we except some small portion of what is known as "the chapel," at the eastern end of the south front, nothing now remains of the original foundation erected by the pious Adeliza. The original purpose of this ancient part of the building, known as n the chapel," is somewhat obscure. It has been commonly regarded as that portion of the religious house which its name indicates, and as being the burial-place of its founder and other benefactors. Dr. Oliver, however, in the supplement to his Monasticon, speaks of it as the " Chapter House " — a likely suggestion. In his Memoir of Thomas Chard, D.D., Dr. J. H. Pring writes : That except in the deed of surrender, and a short reference made to it by Hearne, I have not been able to discover the slightest notice of "the Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Ford" in any of the numerous accounts which have been given of the abbey ; though when we read of frequent interments, some on the north, others on the south side of the choir — others, such as that of Robert Courtenay, who, we are told, was buried on the 28th July, 1242, in the chancel, before the high altar, under a stately monument exhibiting the figure of an armed knight — there can be little doubt, I think, that these took place, not in what is now known as the Chapel, but in the Abbey Church, which stood at the east end of the abbey, about two hundred feet above the chapel. This portion of the edifice, whose original uses are conjectural, shows, both inside and out, considerable vestiges which appear to suggest a Norman origin, and which we may assume were possibly erected under tlie immediate auspices, if not under the personal superin- tendence, of the Lady Adeliza. The exterior angles of the eastern end exhibit the quoins so characteristic of the Norman style of building, and the interior has many o Ford Abbey 133 fine examples of Anglo-Norman work, in the pillars, the groined stone roof, the arches at either end, of a slightly pointed character, with the well-known zig-zag or chevron moulding. The eastern window is of much later date, being Perpendicular in style, and it is believed to have been inserted by Thomas Chard, the last Abbot, as the upper panel of the left-hand side depicts a stag's head, whilst the companion panel, parallel to it, contains faint traces of the oft-repeated monogram, T. C. The next feature in point of antiquity is what is now termed the " Monks' Walk," a range of ivy-clad buildings running back for nearly four hundred feet from the eastern end of the Abbey in a northerly direction, and it is thought that a similar range ran parallel to it. The remaining wing is on the eastern side, and consists of two storeys, the lower of which possesses some beautiful Early English work, and the upper one was probably the monks' dormitory. In the centre is an archway of fourteenth century date, and along the entire length of the wing is a series of lancet windows, almost perfect on the western side, but destroyed or built up on the eastern. Hearne thus notices this wing : But now, though one of the chief uses of the cloisters was for walk- ing, yet in Religious Houses they had sometime galleries for the same end. We have an instance of it in Ford Abbey in Devonshire, which is one of the most entire abbeys in England ; in the east front whereof, which is the oldest of the two fronts (though the south front be the chiefest), there is a gallery called the Monks' Walk, with small cells on the right hand, and little narrow windows on the left. Great as is the antiquarian interest of these fragments of what we may reasonably presume to have formed part of the original foundation, the greater part of the existing fabric is the work of Abbot Chard, of whom we shall have something to say later. The best view of the building is obtained from the front, where nearly all that meets the eye affords a striking instance of the consum- mate taste and devoted perseverance of this remarkable 134 Memorials of Old Dorset man under circumstances that may well have discouraged the boldest. The storm which culminated in the dis- solution of the monastic houses was gathering ; but instead of being filled with dismay, as were so many of his fellow-churchmen, Thomas Chard spared no effort to beautify his beloved abbey, perhaps that the very glamour of her loveliness might enchant the eyes of the spoilers and turn them from their purpose of ruthless spoliation. To a great extent, his work was preserved, for, although the abbey did suffer, and that grievously, Sldncl Heotb I9°T Behilj from Cloijter/. Fordffbbey. yet it escaped the wanton wreckage by which most of these foundations throughout the land were devastated. The first portion of Chard's building to claim attention is the cloister, late Perpendicular in style, with mullions and window tracery which present an appearance at once good and bold, and show no signs of the debasement and formality that are so characteristic of the late buildings of this period. Above the windows a frieze of stonework depicts on shields the arms of various bene- factors to the Abbey — as those of Courtenay quartering Rivers, Poulett, the Bishop of Exeter, etc. ; and on many shields appear either the monogram or the name of Thomas Chard. Ford Abbey 135 An excellent account of the cloister — and, indeed, of the whole Abbey — is contained in a very rare little volume, entitled, a History of Ford Abbey, written anonymously many years "ago, but acknowledged by ecclesiologists to be the work of one who for a long period must have resided there, and who thus, by daily associations with the fabric, became more familiar with its minute archi- tectural details than could possibly be the case with anyone who had not enjoyed a similar privilege. As this volume is rare, as well as interesting and accurate in regard to its architectural information, no apology is needed for quoting certain passages from it here. In reference to the cloister we learn that : The cloister is divided by a suite of rooms and arcade from the grand porch-tower, so conspicuous for its architectural beauty, and which in days gone by was no doubt the original entrance. It is richly ornamented with first-rate sculpture, some of it obviously unfinished ; the central boss in the vaulting uncut ; and the blank shield in the centre, below the basement window, encircled by the garter, was doubt- less intended for the royal arms. The uncut shield on the sinister side, having the pelican and dolphin for supporters, was for Courtenay. The two small shields cut are charged with a lion rampant for De Redvers, and cheeky two bars for Baldwin de Brioniis. Immediately over the arch of the door is a large scroll shield of a more modern date, bearing the arms of Prideaux, impaling those of his second wife, Ivery. On the upper part of this elegant specimen of Dr. Chard's taste, in the centre shield, are his initials, T.C., with the crosier and mitre (Dr. Chard was a Suffragan Bishop); and the two smaller shields, with the T.C., crosier, and abbot's cap, alternate with the stag's head cabossed — supposed to be the bearing of the then Bishop of Exeter ; and just below the battlement of the tower is the following inscription : — AN'O D'NI MILLESIMO QUINGESIMO VICMO OCTA0. A D'NO FACTUM EST THOMA CHARD, ABB. Now, while there is no doubt that Chard united in his own person the offices of Abbot and Suffragan Bishop, the above account is at fault in attributing " the stag's head cabossed " to the then Bishop of Exeter, for it formed no part of the armorial bearings either of Bishop Oldham or of his successor, Veysey. In a letter from Dr. Chard to 136 Memorials of Old Dorset Cardinal Wolsey " the stag's head cabossed " is used as the seal, and is expressly referred to in the body of the letter as " sigillum meum," and we find the same device associated with his name or monogram in various parts of the Abbey buildings ; the most probable solution being that it relates to the ancient cognizance of the Abbey, or the site whereon it stands, which, as we have already seen, was Hertbath (balneum cervorum). Further confirmation of Dr. Chard's double office of Bishop and Abbot is found in a remarkable panel in the Panel from Cloijterf. Ford -ffbbsy. frieze (see illustratiori), which appears to have been designed for the purpose of attesting this fact, if not in actual words, yet in unmistakable and appropriate symbolism. The small top corner shields of this panel contain the letters T. C, and the lower ones an abbot's and a bishop's staff, respectively ; whilst on the hatchment- shaped panel in the centre occurs the stag's head and bishop's staff, the name " Tho. Chard " on a scroll entwined round an abbot's staff ; and above these, as a fitting termination to the whole, appears the abbot's cap, sur- mounted by the bishop's mitre. Ford Abbey 137 The entrance porch contains a fine west window of the same character as those of the adjoining great hall, which in their turn correspond with those of the cloister, and above them is a frieze of grotesque animals. To quote once more from the book already referred to : This part of the building has been shorn of its length, as, on minute inspection, will appear. The royal arms are not in the centre, as they no doubt originally were. They consist of a rose crowned, encircled with a garter, and supported by a dragon and greyhound, the badges of Henry VII. . . . Although the remaining portion of this wing has been altered, it was built by Thomas Chard, the battlements correspond- ing with the tower and chapel ; and as a more decisive proof that it was so, there is, at the western end of the building, but hid by ivy, the portcullis cut in stone, another of the badges of Henry VII. ; and to the north, or back side, are the initials T. C, with the crosier and cap. The ancient guest-chamber, so integral a part of these old foundations, appears to have been at right angles to the great hall, as it was noticed some years ago on the collapse of portions of the ceiling that the ancient timber roof was still in situ. We shall have a little to say later about the alteration and adaptation of the interior for the purposes of a modern mansion, when, happily, much of Dr. Chard's work was not disturbed ; but we have, unfortunately, no record of the condition of the fabric prior to the restorations of the above prelate, and his task seems to have been little less than the re-building of the greater part of the edifice. The antiquary Leland, visiting the Abbey during Dr. Chard's alterations, writes : " Ccenobium nunc sumptibus plane non credendis abbas magnificentissime restaiirat." l This beautiful structure had scarcely had its delicate stonework mellowed by the soft winds from the Devonshire moors, when the Dissolu- tion, long impending, burst in fury upon the larger religious houses, and on March 8th, 1539, Thomas Chard was induced to sign the surrender of his beloved Abbey l " The Abbot at incredible expense is now restoring the monastery most gloriously." 138 Memorials of Old Dorset of Ford, which was endeared to him by many sacred associations, and on which he had lavished his own private fortune and the artistic genius of a master mind. The following is a translation (according to Dr. Pring) of the document of surrender, the wording of which, we may be sure, accorded ill with the reluctant hands that attached the names and seals-. — To all the faithful in Christ, to whom this present writing shall come : Thomas Chard, abbot of the monastery or abbey, and of the Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary, of Ford, in the county of Devon, of the Cistercian order, and the same place and convent, everlasting salvation in the Lord. Per me Thoma abbem Know ye that WCj the aforesaid abbot and Wilms Rede, prior convent, by our unanimous assent and John Cosen consent, with our deliberate minds, right, Robte Yetminster. knowledge, and mere motion, from certain Johes Newman. just ancj reasonable causes especially Johes Bridgwaf. moving our minds and consciences have Thomas Stafford. freely, and of our own accord given and Johes Ffawell. granted, and by these presents do give, W. Wmsor. grant, and surrender and confirm to our Elizeus Oliscomb. illustrious prince, Henry VIII., by the William Keynston. grace 0f God, king of England, lord of William Dynyngton. Ireland, supreme head of the Church of Richard Kingesbury. England in this land, all our said monastery or abbacy of Ford aforesaid. And also all and singular manors, lordships, messuages, etc. In testimony whereof, we, the aforesaid abbot and convent, have caused our common seal to be affixed to these presents. Given at our Chapter House of Ford aforesaid, on the 8th day of the month of March, and in the thirtieth year of the reign of King Henry aforesaid. Before me, William Petre, one of the clerks, etc., the day and year above written. By me, Willmn Petre. No sooner had the document been signed than the work of pillage commenced ; but one is inclined to agree with the Devonshire historian Prince, that, " by what lucky chance he knew not, Ford Abbey escaped better than its fellows, and continueth for the greatest part standing to this day." At the same time, there is little doubt that much havoc took place, although, perhaps, not Ford Abbey 139 to the extent recorded by Risdon, who says it now merely " somewhat showeth of what magnificence once it was." It is just possible that Thomas Chard's beautiful work softened the hearts of the spoilers, and its very wealth of ornament caused it to be retained as too valuable a prize to be utterly demolished ; but, whether standing entire or razed to the ground, it appears to have been an encumbrance, for on October 28th, in the year of its surrender, it was granted by the King, " with all and singular its manors, lordships, and messuages, etc.," to Richard Pollard, Esq. At the time of its dissolution the annual revenues of the Abbey were computed at £374 10s. 6\d. by Dugdale, and at £381 10s. 6d. by Speed, and the net revenue was, no doubt, somewhere between these two sums. Born probably at Tracy, near Awliscombe, Honiton, about the year 1470, Thomas Chard was one of the most distinguished ecclesiastics of his day, and evidently, as his works attest, an accomplished architect and a most munificent man. The highly ornamental facade of the institution over which he presided as last abbot is con- sidered to be the finest example of its kind in the West of England. On entering holy orders, Chard appears to have held several livings in Somerset, Devon, and Cornwall, and was elected Abbot of Ford about 1520. Previous to this, in 1508, he was appointed Suffragan to Bishop Oldham by the title " Episcopus Solubricencis," in 1 5 13 Warden of the College of Lady St. Mary, at Ottery, and in 1515 Prior of the Benedictine or Cluniac Priory of Montacute. It has been suggested that as Dr. Chard was Warden of Ottery College about the time that the beautiful Dorset Chapel was built (15 13-18) — one of the most lovely pieces of Perpendicular building we possess — the inspiration of this eminent architect may have done much to influence the splendid design of this portion of the Church of Lady St. Mary at Ottery. 140 Memorials of Old Dorset It was Bishop Chard who officiated for Bishop Veysey, of Exeter, at the noble obsequies of Katherine Courtenay, daughter of Edward IV., and widow of William Cour- tenay, Earl of Devon, buried at Tiverton in 1527. It is thought that his choice for this office was determined by his headship of the Monastery of Ford, of which founda- tion the Courtenays had always been great patrons and benefactors. The burial place of Thomas Chard is un- known, but may possibly be in the chapel of the Hospital of St. Margaret, near Honiton. Dr. Oliver, who visited this chapel many years ago, writes : " The west door is secured by a large sepulchral slab, to which was formerly affixed a brass plate." This has long since disappeared, but many writers agree that there is little doubt that this slab covered the dust of the Abbot-Bishop. The old abbey seal,1 which had eluded the research of many antiquaries, including the editors of Dugdale's Monasticon, was discovered by Mr. Davidson, of Sector, near Axminster. It is of oval form, the usual shape for monastic seals, and is divided into three compartments, in the uppermost of which is a bell suspended in a steeple, and in the canopy beneath we see the Blessed Virgin with the Divine Infant on her knee. On one side is the shield of Courtenay, bearing — or, three torteaux, with a label of three points. On the other side is the shield MS. ize 1 Engraved in Oliver's Monasticon Diocesis Exoniensis. Ford Abbey 141 of Beaumont — barry of six, vair and gules. The lowest compartment occupies rather more than half the seal in- side the inscription, and shows an abbot standing, in his right hand a pastoral staff, and holding in his left hand a book; and at his feet are three monks kneeling, with their hands together in supplication. With this description of the seal the claims of Ford Abbey to figure in this volume of " Memorials " are practically finished, yet it may be of interest to continue a little further in the personal and architectural history of this wonderful old house. As we have seen, Henry VIII. granted the abbey and all its appurtenances to Richard Pollard, Esq., who was subsequently knighted by Henry VIII, and from this gentleman it passed to his son, Sir John Pollard, who sold it to his cousin, Sir Amias Poulett, of Hinton St. George, and Curry Mallet, who had held the office of head steward of the abbey under the regime of Dr. Chard (as had his father, Sir Hugh Poulett, before him), and who was for a short time the custodian of Mary Queen of Scots. From Sir Amias Poulett, the abbey and estates passed by purchase to William Rosewell, Esq., Solicitor-General to Queen Elizabeth, and thence to his son, Sir Henry Rosewell, who, in 1649, conveyed them to Sir Edmund Prideaux, Bart., of Netherton, county Devon. He was educated at Cambridge, and after being admitted a student of the Inner Temple was called to the Bar, 23rd November, 1623. He was returned as Burgess for Lyme Regis and took part against the King. He appears to have been a man of marked abilities, as in 1643 we find him appointed one of the Commissioners of the Great Seal, and three years later he was granted the privileges of a King's Counsel, the combined offices being worth some £7,000 a year. It is somewhat singular that, while holding the first-named office he was allowed to retain his seat in Parliament, and when he relinquished the Grent Seal, the House of Commons, as an acknowledgment of his valuable services, ordered that he should practise within 142 Memorials of Old Dorset the Bar, and have precedence next after the Solicitor- General, to which office he himself was raised in 1647. Although attached to the Parliamentary cause he took no part in the King's trial, nor in the trials of the Duke of Hamilton and others. Nevertheless, he shortly after- wards accepted from the dominant party the office of Attorney-General, a post which he retained for the re- mainder of his life. His remarkable organising abilities were shown in 1649, when, as Master of the Post Messengers and Carriers, a post he had acquired in 1644, he established a weekly conveyance to every part of the kingdom, a great improvement on the system he had found in vogue, and under which letters were sent by special messengers, one of whose duties it was to supply relays of horses at a given mileage. It is said that the emoluments accruing to his private purse from this improved postal service were not less than ;£ 15,000 a year. Sir Edmund was twice married, and by his first wife Jane, daughter and sole heiress of Henry Collins, Esq., of Ottery St. Mary, he had a daughter Mary. His second wife was Margaret, daughter and co-heir of William Ivery, of Cotthay, Somerset, and by her he had three daughters, and a son Edmund, who succeeded him at Ford Abbey. It was Sir Edmund Prideaux who brought Inigo Jones to the Abbey to carry out certain alterations, which he did by inserting square-headed windows in the walls of the state rooms, and by adding these and other classical affectations on to the old Gothic building he destroyed the harmonious composition of the whole, and it is not, perhaps, a matter of regret that this architect died in 1654, before his designs for converting this fine old house into a sham " classical " building were carried out, although the interior of the house was embellished with magnificent decorations and the whole place made into a beautiful, comfortable, and habitable mansion. Edmund Prideaux, the younger, had for his tutor John Tillotson, who afterwards became Archbishop of Ford Abbey 143 Canterbury. Although he took but little part in the grave political troubles of his day, he is remembered in history as the entertainer of the ill-starred Duke of Monmouth, who visited Ford in 1680, on his journey of pleasure to the west country, where he was royally entertained by his host, whose connection with his noble guest did not end here, as after the Rye House affair he was suspected of favouring the Duke, and the house was searched for arms. When the Duke subsequently landed at Lyme Regis in 1685, Mr. Prideaux, like a prudent man, remained quietly at home, but was visited at night by a small party of rebels requiring horses, and it is said that one of them while in the house drank to the health of Monmouth, which indiscretion becoming known in London, a warrant was issued for Mr. Prideaux's arrest, and he was taken to the Tower on a charge of high treason. Notwithstanding that nothing could be proved against him, he was kept a close prisoner until he had paid the sum of £15,000 to the infamous Jeffreys, when his pardon was signed on March 20th, 1685. On the accession of William III. he petitioned Parliament for leave to bring in a Bill to charge the estates of Jeffreys with the restitution of this money, but the Act failed to pass. The sole surviving daughter of Edmund Prideaux (and his wife, Amy Fraunceis), in 1690, married her cousin, Francis Gwyn, Esq., of Llansandr, co. Glamorgan, who thus inherited Ford Abbey, and was succeeded in the estates by his fourth son, Francis Gwyn, who, dying without issue in 1777, devised this house and all his other lands to his kinsman, John Fraunceis, or Francis, of Combe-Florey, on condition of his taking the name of Gwyn, and in this family the Abbey remained until the decease of a John Francis Gwyn, in 1846, when it was purchased by G. F. W. Miles, Esq., and afterwards by Miss Evans. It is now the property of Mrs. Freeman Roper. The famous Jeremy Bentham rented the abbey early in the nineteenth century and here he entertained 144 Memorials of Old Dorset James Mill and other social and literary magnates. One of the numerous Francis Gwyns was Queen Anne's Secretary for War, and to him Her Majesty presented the magnifi- cent tapestries now hung in the saloon. They are worked from original cartoons by Raphael, said to have been designed at the request of Pope Leo. Charles I. is said to have purchased the cartoons on the advice of Rubens, and to have removed them from Brussels in 1630. They were first placed, it is thought, at Whitehall, and William III. had them hung at Hampton Court Palace, where they remained until 1865, when they were taken to their present home, the Victoria and Albert Museum. These designs were the property of His Majesty King Edward VII., who has, I think, recently bequeathed them to the nation. It was in 1842 that, for the convenience of county business, the parish of Thorncombe, containing Ford Abbey, was transferred to the county of Dorset. DORCHESTER1 By the Lord Bishop of Durham, D.D. jF Bede is right, the Roman armies did not leave our shores till A.D. 452. Whether it was then, so near the end of the old Western Empire, or a little earlier, it must have been a dark hour for Dorset, which no doubt saw something of the embarkation; some considerable force, in that strict order which to the last the legions maintained, would no doubt march from Durno- varia to Clavinio (Weymouth) to take ship. The light of history falls faint over Dorset and Dorchester for many a year from that Roman exodus. But it is interesting to find that the " Saxons," to use the familiar term, took a century and a half to master Dorset ; our fathers must have made a stubborn fight against endless raids. It is at least possible that the victory of Badon Hill — in which, says the Arthurian legend, the Saxon hordes were ruinously beaten by the " Britons," led perhaps by a Rome-trained chief — was won in Dorset ; Badbury, near Wimborne, in the belief of Edwin Guest of Cambridge, was Badon. But Wessex in due time absorbed Dorset and Dorchester ; and now our fields and woodlands were well sprinkled with royal manors, while our town, beyond a doubt, still kept much of its old dignity and culture ; for the Saxons left the walled cities largely alone, after 1 The writer has used, among other books, the Guides of Savage and Young, Mrs. Frampton's Journal, and his brother Mr. H. J. Moule's Old Dorset and Dorchester Antiquities. L 145 146 Memorials of Old Dorset disarming their inhabitants. Durnovaria, with its name changed to Dorceastre, still stood fenced with its massive wall and still contained many a stately house, tessellated and frescoed. Kings of Wessex doubtless visited Dorset often, for the chase, and for sustenance on their manors, and to keep state at Dorceastre. Alfred, in all likelihood, was known by sight in the town. His grandson, Athelstan, allowed it the right of coinage — a sure testimony to its importance. It suffered sorely from the Danes a century later. Sweyn, in 1002, taking awful revenge for the massacre wrought by Ethelred the " Unredy "—that is to say, the " Counsel-less " — marched from Devon to Wilts by Dorset, and left Dorchester a desolation. It is said that he tore down the walls, but this, almost for certain, was not so ; they were too massive to be wrecked without long labour, which the rovers would not care to spend ; and there is large evidence for their existence far into the seventeenth century. However, Danish fire and sword must have left the town black and blood-stained within its ramparts. Half a century later, under the Confessor, Dorchester counted 1 72 houses ; the number is recorded in Domesday Book (1085-6) as large, in contrast to the eighty-eight at the date of the survey. Very likely the building of the Norman Castle (where now stands the Prison) had to do with the shrinkage ; the castle was sure to be a centre of spoliation. The restless John was in the town in 1201, and often later — hunting, no doubt, and taking his " one night's firm," the statutable sustenance due to the King and his men. Under Edward I., in 1295, we sent burgesses to the first English Parliament. Our last burgess sat from 1874 till 1885. Dorchester is now only the centre of an electoral division. In that same reign appears the first mention of our town churches : Holy Trinity, St. Peter's, and All Saints'. Not that the parishes are no older than that date ; indeed, the porch of St. Peter's contains a twelfth century fragment. High Street, Dorchester. Dorchester 147 The reign of Edward III. experienced the terror of the Great Plague, carried from China over Asia to Europe, where literally millions of people perished. It burst into England, alas ! from a ship which put in at the Dorset shore, and no doubt our town owed to that awful scourge the low state of industry recorded a little later. Things had mended by the time of Henry VI., and from then, upon the whole, the place has been prosperous. In the seventeenth century it was busy with cloth-making and, as now, with the brewing of beer. In the old times of farming it was a great centre of grain commerce. Stories are told of Dorchester fair-days, when wheat-laden wagons stood ranged in long file from Cornhill, along South Street, and far out upon the Weymouth road. The town had its troubles in " the great century." In August, 161 3, a fierce fire swept it almost clean away. The old churches of Trinity and All Saints vanished, with nearly every other building within the walls (and some outside their circuit, in Fordington), save only St. Peter's and the houses near it — among which would be that now almost solitary relic of picturesque Old Dorchester, " Jeffreys' lodgings." But the rebuilding must have been energetic, for in the Civil Wars we find Dorchester populous and active enough to be a troublesome focus of " malignity." " A place more entirely disaffected to the King, England had not," says Clarendon. One probable cause of this attitude lay in the commanding influence of John White, Rector of Holy Trinity from 1606 to 1648. White was an Oxonian, a man of culture and piety, and evidently of strong personal influence. Preachers to-day may envy, if they please, the pulpit privileges given him by the town. The borough records show, for example, that in 1630 one Nycholls was brought to justice for having " offered speeche concerning Mr. John White's preaching." White helped to plan the colony of Massachusetts, but he did not join the emigration. His power was felt 148 Memorials of Old Dorset at home, in the Westminster Assembly, and in the politics of Dorchester. In 1642 the walls were solidly repaired, and outside works thrown up at, among other points, Maumbury Ring. Watch was kept day and night at the gates and on St. Peter's Tower. But the spirit of the town strangely failed when, on the approach of the enemy, one Master Strode predicted that the walls would hold off the King's men for just half-an-hour. The Governor, Sir Walter Erie, hearing that Lord Carnarvon was coming with two thousand men, and Prince Maurice's artillery besides, promptly left the place, and the citizens opened the gates on a promise that they should be spared violence. Carnarvon would have kept the promise with chivalrous fidelity, but Maurice let his men loose, and Dorchester was so badly handled that Carnarvon threw up his command and went to serve the King in person. A little later the town behaved much more bravely, and baffled a small Irish force under Lord Inchiquin till help from Weymouth completed the rout of the Royalists. Later again Essex occupied the town in force ; and then Sir Lewis Dives, for the King, surprised it with brilliant success, but was badly beaten on a second attempt. Yet later there was a skirmish at Dorchester, when the royalist Mercurius says that no less a captain than Cromwell himself was put to flight by Lord Goring ; but the account lacks full confirmation. A story of that skirmish clings to a corner of lower Fordington, a curve in the road near Grey's Bridge, known as Tupp's, or Tubb's, Corner ; it is said that a Cromwellian hero of that name fled thereby at a speed memorable for all time. A still darker experience than that of war awaited Dorchester not long after. When Monmouth fought at Sedgemoor (1685) our Dorset peasants were among the bravest of his rude but heroic army. And when the abortive rising was over, the Bloody Assizes began, and Jeffreys sat at Dorchester. His lodgings are still shown, Dorchester 149 the most striking house-front in the town, with its black timbers and long, low windows ; and still, in the Town Hall, is kept the chair from which the terrible Chief Justice, in a court hung with red, dealt out death with grim smiles and ghastly jests. Nearly three hundred men, told that it was their only hope, pleaded guilty, but for most of them the only result was a few days' respite. Seventy-four were executed at Dorchester, with all the horrible circumstances of death for treason. For years A